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January 2022

It is my pleasure to present to you the 2020-2021 Department of Revenue Services (DRS) Annual Report. This report
offers a summary of statistical data for all taxes administered by the agency.

As the state’s tax collector, DRS collects the funds that flow to communities through state-sponsored programs. This
Annual Report illustrates the scope of the important work performed here at DRS, and can serve as a valuable and
informative resource on state tax administration.

The pandemic has been a challenge for all of us. The DRS has adapted to a remote work environment while continuing
to provide critical services and the support expected by Connecticut taxpayers. Despite these challenges the DRS
successfully launched the first two phases of a multi-year modernization initiative that will improve how we administer
taxes and transform how taxpayers interact with the agency. Additionally, in 2021, the Agency implemented a new Tax
Amnesty Program and assisted in the administration of the Back to Work CT Program.

The DRS remains focused on fair and equitable tax administration and the delivery of world class customer service.
Taxpayers can continue to count on the highest standards from the outstanding professionals here at DRS.
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The mission of the Department of Revenue Services is to
instill public confidence in the integrity and fairness of
tax collection; achieve the highest level of voluntary
taxpayer compliance; continuously improve agency
performance; contribute to the fiscal and economic well-
being of the state; and provide a positive and professional

workplace.
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LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY
2021 GENERAL ASSEMBLY REGULAR SESSION

2021 GENERAL ASSEMBLY JUNE SPECIAL SESSION

ADMISSIONS TAX

Public Act 21-2, June Special Session
Effective July 1, 2021, this bill eliminates the admissions tax for all charges other than
admissions to motion picture shows with a charge of more than five dollars.

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TAX

Public Act 21-37

This bill makes multiple changes to the Liquor Control Act, including allowing out-of-
state shipper permittees for alcoholic liquor other than beer to sell alcoholic liquor to
manufacturers and wholesaler permittees outside of Connecticut. Effective July 1, 2021.

Public Act 21-2, June Special Session

This bill reduces the excise tax on beer to 20¢ per gallon. Effective for sales on or
after July 1, 2023; and

Expands the exemptions under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412(18) & §12-412i to a
purchaser that manufactures or will manufacture beer under a manufacturer
permit for beer issued pursuant to section 30-16 of the general statutes. Applicable
to sales occurring on or after July 1, 2023.

CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX

Public Act 21-2, June Special Session

This bill extends the 10% corporation business tax surcharge for income years
commencing prior to January 1, 2023, and delays the start of the capital base phase-
out until the 2024 income year;

Allows a company to use Research and Development and Research and
Experimental Expenditures tax credits to reduce its corporation business tax
liability in excess of the standard 50.01% limitation. Liability may be reduced by
up to 60% for income year 2022 and up to 70% for income year 2023 and thereafter;
and

Increases the aggregate cap on Invest CT tax credits from $350 million to $550
million. Effective July 1, 2021.
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LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY
2021 GENERAL ASSEMBLY REGULAR SESSION
2021 GENERAL ASSEMBLY JUNE SPECIAL SESSION

MISCELLANEOUS

Public Act 21-58

This bill expands the bottle bill to include beverage containers for hard cider, plant water
or plant infused drink, juice or juice drink, tea, coffee, kombucha, and sports or energy
drink, effective January 1, 2023. Additionally, the bottle deposit is increased from 5 cents
per deposit to 10 cents per deposit effective January 1, 2024. Lastly, the bill establishes a
5¢ surcharge on the sale of 50ml bottles (“nips”). The bill requires the revenue generated
from the surcharge to be remitted to the municipalities where such sales occur.

Public Act 21-70

This bill requires marketplace facilitators to begin collecting and remitting the E 9-1-1 fee
levied on each sale of prepaid wireless telecommunications services by a retailer.
Effective July 1, 2022, and applicable to sales occurring on or after July 1, 2022.

Public Act 21-177

This bill imposes a highway use tax (HUT) on every “carrier” for the privilege of
operating, or causing to be operated, certain heavy, multi-unit motor vehicles on any
highway in the state. The HUT applies to carriers operating “eligible motor vehicles,”
which are those with a gross weight of 26,000 Ibs. or more and in classes 8 through 13 of
the Federal Highway Administration’s vehicle classification system . The HUT tax is
calculated based on a vehicle’s weight and the number of miles driven in the state.
Trucks transporting dairy or milk to and from dairy farms are excluded from the HUT
tax. Effective for calendar months beginning on or after January 1, 2023.

Public Act 21-1, June Special Session
This bill legalizes and regulates the sale of cannabis, effective July 1, 2021. The bill:

e Establishes a state cannabis tax based upon the amount of THC per milligram of
certain products. The rate is 0.625 cents per milligram of total THC for cannabis
plant materials, 2.75 cents per milligram of total THC for cannabis edible products,
and 0.9 cents per milligram of total THC for cannabis, other than cannabis plant

material or cannabis edible products;

e Establishes a 3% municipal tax on the sale of cannabis;
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LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY
2021 GENERAL ASSEMBLY REGULAR SESSION
2021 GENERAL ASSEMBLY JUNE SPECIAL SESSION

e Specifies that all state cannabis tax revenue be deposited in various funds: the
Cannabis Regulatory and Investment Account; the General Fund; the Social Equity
and Innovation Fund; and the Prevention and Recovery Services Fund;

e Subjects the sales of cannabis to the 6.35% general sales tax rate;
e Repeals the Marijuana and Controlled Substances Tax; and

e Extends the angel investor tax credit program to eligible cannabis businesses
owned and controlled by social equity applicants; allows investors to claim a 40%
income tax credit for credit-eligible investments in these businesses.

Public Act 21-2, June Special Session

This bill requires the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) commissioner to establish a
tax amnesty program for individuals, businesses, or other taxpayers that owe
Connecticut state taxes (other than motor carrier road taxes) to DRS; eligible taxpayers
may receive a 75% reduction in the interest and eliminates penalties that would otherwise
be due. The amnesty runs from November 1, 2021, to January 31, 2022, and covers any
taxable period ending on or before December 30, 2020.

Public Act 21-2, June Special Session

This bill sunsets the existing 6% ambulatory surgical centers tax on June 30, 2023, and
establishes a new 3% ambulatory surgical center tax for calendar quarters commencing
on or after July 1, 2023.

PERSONAL INCOME TAX

Public Act 21-3

This bill precludes residents from being double taxed by allowing a credit for taxes paid
to another jurisdiction regardless of whether the resident was subject to a convenience of
the employer provision or directive from the state where they physically worked pre-
pandemic. Effective upon passage (March 4, 2021) and applicable only to the 2020 taxable
year.

Public Act 21-2, June Special Session
e This bill increases the state Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) from 23% to 30.5%,
for taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2021;
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LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY
2021 GENERAL ASSEMBLY REGULAR SESSION
2021 GENERAL ASSEMBLY JUNE SPECIAL SESSION

Extends the limitation on the income tax credit for property taxes paid to taxable
years 2021 and 2022;

Extends the existing pension and annuity income tax exemption to include income
from IRAs other than a ROTH IRA, for taxable years commencing on or after
January 1, 2023; and

Allows qualifying taxpayers to take the greater of either the teacher’s retirement
or pension and annuity subtraction modifications. Effective for taxable years
commencing on or after January 1, 2021.

SALES AND USE TAXES

Public Act 21-1

This bill allows for certain sales and use tax exemptions for qualified data centers that
enter into an agreement with the Department of Economic & Community Development
(DECD). The sales and use tax exemptions apply for the duration of the agreement that
DECD enters into with the data center. Effective for sales on or after July 1, 2021.

Public Act 21-106
Requires DRS to issue guidance no later than December 1, 2021 regarding the
applicability of the sales and use tax to peer-to-peer car sharing.

Public Act 21-2, June Special Session

This bill allows film & digital media production tax credits to be claimed against
the sales and use tax at 78% of face value if there is common ownership of at least
50% between the transferor and transferee. Effective January 1, 2022;
Exempts breastfeeding supplies from sales and use tax for sales on or after July 1,
2021; and
Allows restaurants to keep 100% of their sales taxes collected on meals during one
week during Fiscal Year 2022. The one week can be selected by the establishment
from three different dates:

1. August1, 2021, to August 7, 2021;

2. December 12, 2021, to December 18, 2021; or

3. May 15, 2022, to May 21, 2022.
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CONNECTICUT TAXES

The Department of Revenue Services
collected $21.8 billion in state taxes
for fiscal year 2020-21.

The Personal Income, Pass-Through Entity,
Sales and Use, and Corporation Business
Taxes comprised 84% of all collections.

Fiscal Year 2020-2021 Revenue Sources

$3.48
All Other Taxes
$1.6B
Pass-Through Entity
$10.3B

s Personal Income

Corporation Business

$5.4B
Sales and Use Taxes
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STATE REVENUE SOURCES

FY 2018-2019

FY 2019-2020

FY 2020-2021

Admissions & Dues Tax Ch. 225

and Transportation Network Company Fee Ch. 244b

Alcoholic Beverages Tax Ch. 220

Ambulatory Surgical Centers Ch. 211a
Attorney Occupational Tax Ch. 876

Beverage Container Deposits Ch. 446d
Business Entity Tax Ch. 213a (repealed)

Cable, Satellite & Video Companies Tax Ch. 211
Cigarette Tax Ch. 214

Controlled Substances Tax Ch. 2284
Controlling Interest Transfer Tax Ch. 228b
Corporation Business Tax Ch. 208 & 209

Dry Cleaning Surcharge Ch. 211b

Electric Distribution Companies Ch. 212
Electronic Cigarette Products Ch. 214b

Estate and Gift Tax Ch. 217& 228c

Gas Companies Ch. 212

Gift Tax Ch. 228c (repealed)

Health Care Centers Tax Ch. 207

Hospitals Tax Ch. 211c

Income Tax Ch. 229

Insurance Premiums Tax, Domestic Ch. 207
Insurance Premiums Tax, Foreign Ch. 207
Insurance: Non-admitted / Unauthorized Ch. 698d
Intermediate Care Facility User Fee Ch. 211c
Motor Carrier Road Tax - Ch. 222

Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax - Gasoline Ch. 221
Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax - Special Fuel Ch. 221
Nursing Home User Fee Ch. 211c

Paid Preparer Fee Ch. 229

Pass-Through Entity Ch. 228z

Petroleum Products Gross Earnings Tax Ch. 227
Prepaid Wireless E-9-1-1 Fee Ch. 518a

Public, Educ. & Gov. Programming Tax Ch. 289
Railroad Companies Tax Ch. 210
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$46,690,427

64,145,818
18,860,333
8,868,388
36,099,594
67,873,462
46,295,532
335,205,445
59,247
12,430,499
987,363,605
605,518
156,749,530
0
225,312,679
66,665,641
120,843
2,815,820
909,319,650
9,640,161,331
23,836,161
138,306,491
7,381,718
6,756,512
12,138,677
383,029,136
114,831,017
146,848,506
168,000
1,172,054,054
318,518,185
2,364,502
3,333,321
32,396

$44,228,033

73,082,328
13,514,385
9,210,897
43,650,577
(10,420,852)
49,819,514
322,179,153
33,165
7,889,870
940,812,555
562,182
146,646,424
3,371,121
159,542,430
64,553,262
8,732
3,197,628
870,562,036
9,398,681,702
36,535,895
155,220,722
7,541,881
7,115,759
14,241,516
342,204,670
122,021,291
114,012,296
112,900
1,241,963,309
235,922,566
2,429,088
4,961,607
655,104

$40,017,155

79,111,165
17,838,566
6,948,701
43,505,264
6,550,175
45,010,159
324,060,357
10,511
10,365,593
1,144,305,750
335472
138,337,220
5,205,231
303,338,908
69,081,934
39,376
1,911,391
911,989,853
10,273,322,918
32,534,668
158,792,653
9,025,345
6,573,159
11,455,267
339,398,960
124,583,899
101,304,109
93,976
1,553,825,428
232,333,711
2,513,218
1,959,971
666,555



STATE REVENUE SOURCES (cont.)

FY 2018-2019 FY 2019-2020  FY 2020-2021

Real Estate Conveyance Tax Ch. 223
Rental Surcharge Ch. 228h

Sales and Use Taxes Ch. 219

Solid Waste Tax Ch. 446d

Succession Tax Ch. 216 (repealed)
Tobacco Products Tax Ch. 214a

Tourism Surcharge Ch. 228e

Unrelated Business Income Tax Ch. 208a

200,792,382 168,686,812 374,662,454
213,605 373,961 366,300
4,720,321,873 4,740,471,015 5,355,064,228
2,709,403 2,968,891 2,877,298
87,888 272,576 308,237
22,319,680 21,727,005 22,556,759
5,370,895 4,870,452 3,708,471
5,697,312 4,082,151 3,392,999

Total

$19,912,755,076  $19,369,516,609  $21,759,283,364
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ADMISSIONS AND DUES TAX

Revenue *
FY 2020-21 $40,017,155
2019-20 44,228,033
2018-19 46,690,427
Exemptions:
Admissions
e Under $1

Non-profit organizations

Motion pictures for not more than $5.00

Live performances at non-profit theaters or playhouses, Gateway’s Candlewood
Playhouse, and Ocean Beach Park

Daily charges for sporting or athletic activities in which patrons participate
Carnival or amusement rides

Cabarets

Interscholastic athletic events held at Rentschler Field

As of July 1, 2020, admission charges to Dunkin' Donuts Park.

Dues:

e A club where the annual dues and any initiation fee of a fully privileged member

are each $100 or less;

Lawn Bowling Clubs

Locker Rental Fees

Additional charges used to acquire open space land

Charitable, religious, governmental or non-profit educational institution

Society, order or association operating under the lodge system or local fraternal
organizations among students of a college or university

Number of Taxpayers / Filing Frequency

524 taxpayers / Monthly

Admissions 400 taxpayers
Dues 237 taxpayers

Note: 113 taxpayers collect both taxes

* Includes revenue from the Transportation Network Company Fee.
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Basis and Rate

12

Admissions

ADMISSIONS AND DUES TAX (cont.)

5% of sales occurring on or after July 1, 2019, but prior to July 1, 2020,
for any event at Dunkin Donuts Park [Exempt as of July 1, 2020].

6% of the admissions charge to motion picture shows.

7.5% of the admission charges made on or after July 1, 2019, but prior
to July 1, 2020, for the venues and events listed below:

e Any event at the XL Center in Hartford;

e Any event at Dillon Stadium in Hartford;

e Any athletic event presented by a member team of the
Atlantic League of Professional Baseball at the New Britain
Stadium;

e Any event at the Webster Bank Arena in Bridgeport;

e Any event at the Harbor Yard Amphitheater in Bridgeport;

e Any event at Dodd Stadium in Norwich;

e Any event at the Oakdale Theatre in Wallingford; and

e Any event other than an interscholastic athletic event at the
stadium facility at Rentschler Field.

5% of the admission charges made between July 1, 2020 and June 30,
2021, for the venues and events listed above. Exempt as of July 1, 2021.

10% of the admission charge to any other place of amusement,
entertainment, or recreation made on or before June 30, 2021. Exempt as
of July 1, 2021.

Dues

10% of membership dues or initiation fees to any social, athletic or
sporting club organization.
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ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES TAX

A tax is imposed on all distributors of alcoholic beverages on the sale of alcoholic beverages within
Connecticut. Distributors must report the total number of gallons of each alcoholic beverage sold
during the month, the opening and closing inventories and the amount of tax due. Sales of
alcoholic beverages are also subject to the Sales and Use Tax.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $79,111,165
2019-20 73,082,328
2018-19 64,145,818

Exemption

Effective January 1, 2020, the first 15 barrels of malt beverages which are consumed
on the premises of an establishment covered by a manufacturer’s permit are
exempt annually.

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency
945 distributors/ Monthly

Basis and Rate - Through September 30, 2019

Beer $7.20 per barrel (31 gallons)
Beer 24¢ per gallon

Still Wines 72¢ per gallon

Small Wineries 18¢ per gallon

Sparkling Wines $1.80 per gallon

Alcohol $5.40 per proof gallon
Distilled Liquor $5.40 per gallon

Liquor Coolers $2.46 per gallon
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ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES TAX (cont.)

Basis and Rate - Effective October 1, 2019

Beer

Beer

Cider
Cider

Still Wines

Small Wineries
Sparkling Wines

Alcohol

Distilled Liquor
Liquor Coolers

$7.20 per barrel (31 gallons)
24¢ per gallon*

$7.92 per barrel

$26¢ per gallon

79¢ per gallon

20¢ per gallon

$1.98 per gallon

$5.94 per proof gallon
$5.94 per gallon

$2.71 per gallon

*The tax rate for beer is reduced by 50% for beer sold for off-premises
consumption on the premises of an entity covered by a manufacturer’s permit.

Comparison of Gallonage

14

TYPE FY 2018-19 FY 2019-20 FY 2020-21
(gallons) (gallons) (gallons)

Beer - barrels 189,115 141,247 115,929
Beer - gallons 46,796,274 49,197,760 50,035,440
Still Wine 12,703,018 12,825,497 12,475,890
Small Wineries 315,834 316,265 315,522
Sparkling Wine 726,396 812,562 848,910
Distilled Liquor 7,460,026 7,769,965 8,377,013
Liquor Cooler 105,576 298,847 899,670
Alcohol 64,994 93,687 83,531
Cider - barrels* 2,122 2357
Cider - gallons* 402,422 581,994

* Prior to 10/1/2019 cider was included in beer
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AMBULATORY SURGICAL CENTERS TAX

A tax is imposed on the gross receipts of each ambulatory surgical center for each calendar quarter.
Gross receipts do not include net patient revenue of a hospital that is subject to the Hospitals Tax.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $17,838,566
2019-20 13,514,385
2018-19 18,860,333

Basis and Rate

6%

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency
50/Quarterly
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ATTORNEY OCCUPATIONAL TAX

An occupational tax is levied against any person who has been admitted as an attorney by the
judges of the superior court, and who is engaged in the practice of law in Connecticut.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $6,948,701
2019-20 9,210,897
2018-19 8,868,388

Exemptions

e Employees of the State of Connecticut including judges and referees;

e Probate court employees;

e Any attorney employed by a political subdivision of Connecticut;

e Employees of the federal government;

e Any attorney serving on active duty with the United States Armed Forces for
more than six months of a given year;

o Attorneys who received less than $1,000 in compensation during the calendar
year;

o Those engaged in practice of law exclusively outside the state;

e Those removed from the roll of attorneys;

o Those who did not work or were not employed as an attorney; and

e Any attorney who has retired from the practice of law or died during the
calendar year.

Basis and Rate

$565 per practicing attorney.

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency
11,785 Attorneys/ Annually
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BEVERAGE CONTAINER DEPOSITS

Connecticut requires all deposit initiators, certain distributors or manufacturers who engage in
the sale of beverages subject to the Connecticut bottle bill, to collect the five cent deposit per
beverage container sold to any person within Connecticut. These deposit initiators must
maintain a separate bank account in which to deposit the monies collected. The unclaimed
amount is the amount left in the account after refunds paid to customers and bank fees have been
deducted. Each deposit initiator files a quarterly report and remits the unclaimed deposits
amount to the state.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $43,505,264
2019-20 43,650,577
2018-19 36,099,594

Exemption

Any manufacturer which, on an annual basis, bottles and sells less than 250,000
noncarbonated beverage containers

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency
143 Entities/Quarterly
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CIGARETTE TAX

An excise tax is imposed on all cigarettes sold in Connecticut. Payment is indicated by affixing
stamps or heat applied decals to each pack of cigarettes. The stamps are sold to licensed dealers
and licensed distributors. Sales of cigarettes are also subject to the Sales and Use Tax.

Revenue

FY 2020-21 $324,060,357
2019-20 322,179,153
2018-19 335,205,445

Exemptions

o Cigarettes sold to any state institution other than a correctional institution.
e Cigarettes sold on armed services bases.

Number of Taxpayers/ Filing Frequency
24 taxpayers/ Monthly

Basis and Rate

217.5 mills per cigarette or $4.35 per pack of twenty

Note: The tax is reduced by 50% for any product the Secretary of the United States
Department of Health and Human Services determines to be a “modified risk
tobacco product” pursuant to 21 U.S.C. §387k.
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CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES TAX

A tax is levied on marijuana and controlled substances which creates an economic burden on drug
dealers. Payment of the tax is indicated by the affixing of stamps to the marijuana or controlled

substance. The tax is due and payable immediately upon acquisition or possession of the drug in
Connecticut by a dealer.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $10,511
2019-20 33,165
2018-19 59,247

Basis and Rate

$3.50 per gram of marijuana;
$200 per gram of controlled substance; and
$2,000 per 50-dosage unit of controlled substance not sold by weight.

Note: Effective July 1, 2021, the Controlled Substances Tax was repealed, per 2021

Conn. Pub. Acts 1, June Spec. Sess., An Act Concerning the Responsible and Equitable
Regulation of Adult-use Cannabis.
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CONTROLLING INTEREST TRANSFER TAX

A tax is imposed on the transfer of a controlling interest in a corporation, partnership, association,
trust or other entity, where an entity owns an interest, directly or indirectly, in Connecticut real
property with a value of at least $2,000. In a corporation, "controlling interest" means more than
50% of the combined voting power of all classes of stock in the corporation. For all other entities,
"controlling interest" is an amount greater than 50% of the capital, profits or beneficial interest
in that entity.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $10,365,593
2019-20 7,889,870

2018-19 12,430,499

Exemptions

e  Sales or transfers that effectuate a mere change of identity or form of ownership
or organization where there is no change in the beneficial ownership of the
entity;

e  Sale or transfer of a controlling interest in any entity which possesses an interest
in real property located in an enterprise zone;

e  Transfers of land resulting from eminent domain proceedings;

e  Deeds releasing any property which is a security for a debt or other obligation;

e  Mortgage deeds;

e  Deeds to or by the United States of America, State of Connecticut or any political
subdivision or agency thereof;

) Tax deeds; and

e  Deeds to any corporation, trust or other entity, of land to be held in perpetuity
for educational, scientific, aesthetic or other equivalent passive uses (pending
determination by the Internal Revenue Service).

Filing Frequency / Number of Taxpayers

The month following the month in which the transfer was made.
62 transfers in FY 2020-21

Basis and Rate
1.11% on the sale or transfer of a controlling interest.
An additional tax which varies between 1% and 10% on the value of open space

land, farmland, forestland, and maritime heritage land, depending on the
holding period, may also be levied.
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX

A corporation carrying on or doing business in Connecticut is subject to the Corporation Business
Tax. Most corporations in Connecticut must file returns and pay corporation business tax
although some corporations are exempt.

Corporations must calculate their tax under two alternate methods and remit the higher tax. If a
corporation owes less than $250 under both methods, it pays the minimum tax of $250.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $1,144,305,750
2019-20 940,812,555
2018-19 987,363,605

Basis and Rate

Net Income Base Method

The method under which most Corporation Business Tax revenue is derived is the
net income base. Corporations compute their Connecticut net income by starting
with federal taxable income and then applying the adjustments allowed or
required by Connecticut.

For Connecticut net income purposes, corporations must add back certain items
deducted in arriving at federal taxable income, such as:
e Exempt interest income
State and local income taxes
Royalties or interest paid to a related member
Bonus depreciation

Certain other deductions are then allowed, such as:
e Certain dividends
e Capital loss carryovers not deducted in computing federal gain
e Deferred cancellation of debt income.

Companies that conduct business in multiple states are allowed to apportion their
net income based upon the percentage of their sales made in Connecticut. Market-
based sourcing rules consider sales of services and most intangible property to be
made where the customer is located. Special apportionment rules are provided
for certain industries such as financial service companies and broadcasters.
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX (cont.)

Apportioned net operating losses incurred for income years beginning on or after
January 1, 2000, may be carried forward for 20 successive income years. The net
operating loss (NOL) deduction may not exceed 50% of the taxpayer’s net income.

Connecticut net income is taxed at the rate of 7.5%.

Capital Base Method

Corporations must also compute their tax under the capital base method. The
capital base is the total value of the average capital stock, surplus and undivided
profits, and surplus reserves, less the average values of deficits and stockholdings
in private corporations. Multi-state corporations multiply their capital base by an
apportionment fraction.

The capital base is taxed at a rate of 3.1 mils ($0.0031) per dollar. Under the capital
base method, a corporation is limited to a maximum tax of $1,000,000. Financial
service companies are excluded from the capital base method, but are subject to
the minimum tax.

Corporations are subject to tax on the greater of the net income base method or the
capital base method calculations.

Minimum Tax

If a corporation's calculation of the tax is less than $250 under both of the two
previous methods, it pays a minimum tax, which is currently $250. The majority
of corporations pay the minimum tax.

Surtax

For income years 2018 through 2022, corporations, other than those paying the
minimum tax of $250, pay a surtax in an amount equal to 10% of the tax due before
credits are applied. Corporations whose gross income is less than $100 million are
exempt from the surtax unless they file as part of a combined unitary return.

The total amount of surtax reported on income year 2019 returns was $80.9M.
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX (cont.)

Combined Unitary Reporting

Commonly owned corporations that are engaged in a unitary business, where at
least one corporation is subject to the Corporation Business Tax, are required to
tile their Corporation Business Tax returns on a combined unitary basis.

Under combined unitary filing, a combined group’s tax liability, prior to surtax
and credits, cannot exceed the amount calculated on a nexus combined basis by
more than $2,500,000. This is referred to as the aggregate maximum tax. If the
aggregate maximum tax is less than the tax on the standard combined unitary
basis, the group is subject to the aggregate maximum tax. Otherwise, the group is
subject to tax on the standard combined unitary basis.

Exemptions

e Cooperative housing corporations;

e Homeowners associations;

e Domestic international sales corporations;

e Insurance companies;

e Certain political organizations or associations exempt from federal income
taxes under §527 of the Internal Revenue Code;

e Railroad companies subject to the gross earnings tax;

e Companies whose corporate headquarters are located in the insurance and
financial services export zone in the City of Hartford and are conducting all of
their business outside the United States;

e Connecticut passive investment companies formed by financial service
companies to hold and manage loans secured by real property;

e Non-United States corporations whose sole activity conducted in Connecticut
is the trading of stocks, commodities and securities; and

e Subchapter S corporations.

Pass-Through Entity Tax Credit

Members of a Pass-Through Entity (PE) are entitled to a credit based upon their
respective shares of the PE’s tax liability. For taxable years that began on or after
January 1, 2018, but prior to January 1, 2019, the PE Tax Credit was 93.01% of the
member’s share of the PE Tax. For taxable years that begin on or after January 1,
2019, the PE Tax Credit is 87.5% of the member’s share of the PE Tax.

A corporate member may claim the PE Tax Credit against the Corporation
Business tax.
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX (cont.)

Filing Frequency

Annually with four estimated installments.

Number of Taxpayers

2019 Corporation Business Tax Returns

Number Tax Due Business Pass- Tax Due
of Before Tax | Tax Credits Through After Tax
Returns Credits Entity Tax Credits
Credits
Single Filers

Net Income 7436 | $124,252,134 | $21,979,248 |  $5,410,920 $96,861,966
Capital Base 3,360 23,012,170 3,876,068 289,673 18,846,429
Minimum Tax 15,419 3,851,520 41 57,155 3,794,324
Exempt 3,773 0 0 0 0

Combined Unitary
Net Income 2,734 687,821,036 92,709,814 6,107,127 587,714,477
Minimum Base 3,352 63,563,100 15,391,804 721,325 47,553,219
Aggregate Max. 14 78,330,614 14,513,640 1,010,875 62,806,099
Total 36,088 | $980,830,574 | $148,470,614 | $13,597,075 | $817,576,514
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX (cont.)

2019 Corporation Business Tax Returns

Number Tax Due | Business Tax Pass- Tax Due
of Before Tax Credits Through After Tax
Taxable Credits Entity Tax Credits
Returns Credits
11 Agric. Forestry, 121|  $1,457,060 $84,051 $0 | $1,373,009
Fishing & Hunting
21 Mining 33 103,329 22333 0 80,997
22 Utilities 76 9,726,122 2,740,037 750 6,985,340
23 Construction 2231 9,899,909 361,485 17,324 9,521,100
31-33 Manufacturing 3114 | 166,889,222 42870,710 | 1,195,279 | 122,842,541
42 Wholesale Trade 2213 56,695,241 3,286,784 378,319 | 53,030,138
44-45 Retail Trade 2,609 90,260,881 12,348,922 487,033 | 77,424,925
48-49 Transporting 571| 22,503,337 4,762,417 7,977 | 17,732,943
and Warehousing
51 Information 1,076 55,131,970 9,725,904 380,561 | 45,065,393
52 Finance and 2497 | 212,696,901 31,817,202 2982042 | 177,898,385
Insurance
53 Real Estate and 1789 | 14,971,368 376,416 685390 | 13,909,561
Rental & Leasing
54 Professional, 5,238 73,628,166 6,615,544 300,366 | 66,729,487
Scientific and Tech
55 Management of
Companies & 1,106 | 150,739,279 22293686 | 3522875 | 124,922,715
Enterprises
56 Administrative 994 13,500,418 421,375 103,434 | 12,975,609
& Support
61-62 Education,
Health Care and 1,280 9,026,384 1,395,948 95,901 7 534 535
Social Assistance
71 Arts, Entertain., 355 1219,627 446,905 84 637 735,984
and Recreation
72 Accom. & Food 871 5,695,959 89,097 133,200 5,473,662
Services
81-92 Other 1,918 5,815,463 130,057 122,953 5,562,455
Services
99 Not Yet 4223 80,869,937 8,681,741 | 3,099,036 | 67,777,734
Assigned
Total 32,315 | $980,830,574 | $148,470,614 | $13,597,075 | $817,576,514
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX (cont.)

2019 Corporation Business Tax Returns

Pass-
Number Tax Due Through Tax Due
Tax Due Before of Before Tax Business | Entity Tax After Tax
Credits Returns Credits | Tax Credits Credits Credits
Exempt 3,773 $0 $0 $0 $0
$250 or less 16,654 4,153,390 0 103,740 4,094,604
$251 to $999 5177 2,877,972 69,757 88,594 2,740,525
$1000 to $24,999 8,122 46,088,201 2,439,279 1,129,762 42,579,971
$25,000 to $49,999 761 27,058,418 1,885,877 752,859 24,419,682
$50,000 to $99,999 564 40,033,506 2,910,694 1,168,143 35,981,340
$100,000 to $249,999 484 75,671,998 7,434,228 2,339,517 65,981,220
$250,000 to $499,999 221 78,839,826 8,025,429 1,743,289 69,071,109
$500,000 to $999,999 156 105,554,288 13,188,651 2,761,947 89,603,691
$1M to $2 million 91 122,669,113 16,726,473 959,315 103,560,645
$2M to $5 million 60 190,269,513 26,520,679 1,094,925 162,653,911
$5 million and over 25 287,614,348 69,269,547 1,454,986 216,889,815
Total 36,088 | $980,830,573 | $148,470,614 | $13,597,077 | $817,576,513
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX CREDITS

The State of Connecticut offers many Corporation Business Tax credits which a
corporation may take advantage of to reduce its liability to the state.

Generally, the amount of tax credits allowable cannot exceed 50.01% of the amount of tax
due or reduce the amount of tax to less than $250.

Apprenticeship Training
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217g

A corporation that hires apprentices in the manufacturing trades may apply for a credit
of up to $7,500 per apprenticeship. The amount of the credit is computed by multiplying
the total number of apprentice work hours by $6 up to a maximum of either $7,500 or
50% of the total wages paid during the first half of a two-year program or three-quarters
of a four year program.

Pass-through entities may also earn this tax credit for apprenticeships in manufacturing.
Their credits may be sold, assigned or transferred in whole or part no more than three
times and may be used to offset the Corporation Business, Utilities Companies and
Petroleum Products Gross Earnings taxes.

A corporation that hires apprentices in the plastics trades may apply for a credit of up to
$4,800 per apprenticeship. The amount of the credit is computed by multiplying the total
number of apprentice work hours by $4. The credit may not exceed 50% of the actual
wages paid or $4,800, whichever is less.

Corporations that hire apprentices in the construction trades may apply for a credit of up
to $4,000 per apprenticeship completed. The amount of the credit is computed by
multiplying the total number of apprentice work hours by $2. The credit may not exceed
$4,000 or 50% of the actual wages paid over the first four years of the apprenticeship,
whichever is less.
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX CREDITS (cont.)

Digital Animation Production
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-21711

A credit is available for digital animation production activity in the state. Any state-
certified digital animation production company incurring production expenses or costs
from $100,000 up to $500,000 will be eligible for a credit equal to 10% of the production
expenses or costs. This credit percentage increases to 15% for costs more than $500,000
up to $1 million and a 30% credit for costs over $1 million.

This tax credit is administered by the Department of Economic and Community
Development (DECD). Credits may be claimed in the year the costs were incurred or the
three succeeding years after the year the costs were incurred.

Donation of Land
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-217dd and 12-217ff

This credit is available in an amount equal to 50% of the use value of the donation of land
to be permanently preserved as protected open space or for educational use. Donations
of land must be made to the state, a political subdivision of the state, or a nonprofit land
conservation organization and may include any discount in the sales price.

Unused credit for donations of land for educational use made prior to the 2013 income
year may be carried forward for 15 succeeding income years. All other unused credits
for donations of land may be carried forward for up to 25 years.

Electronic Data Processing Equipment
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217t

The Electronic Data Processing Equipment Property Tax credit provides a 100% credit for
property tax owed and paid on electronic data processing equipment.

Unused credits may be carried forward for five succeeding income years.

28 Connecticut Department of Revenue Services FY 2020-21 Annual Report



CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX CREDITS (cont.)

Film Production
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217jj

Any eligible film production company incurring qualified production expenses or costs
from $100,000 up to $500,000 is eligible for a credit equal to 10% of the production
expenses or costs. This credit percentage increases to 15% for costs more than $500,000
up to $1 million and a 30% credit for costs over $1 million. This tax credit is administered
by the Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD).

Credit vouchers may be claimed in the year the costs were incurred or the five succeeding
years after the year the costs were incurred. Tax credit vouchers issued before July 1, 2015
may be claimed in the year the expenses were incurred or in the next three income years.
These may be sold, assigned or transferred in whole or part no more than three times.

Film Production Infrastructure
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217kk

A tax credit is available to any taxpayer that invests in a capital project to provide basic
buildings, facilities, or installations needed for the functioning of the digital media and
motion picture industry in this state, provided that the project has been approved by
DECD.

A 20% credit is allowed for costs $3 million and over. Credits may be claimed in the year
the costs were incurred or the next three succeeding income years. These may be sold,
assigned or transferred in whole or part no more than three times.

Fixed Capital Investments
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217w

This credit is based on 5% of the amounts paid or incurred for any new tangible
personal property that has a class life of more than four years, is not sold or leased
within 12 months, and will be held and used in Connecticut for at least five years.
Inventory, land, buildings and mobile transportation equipment are not included.
Unused credits may be carried forward for five succeeding income years.
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX CREDITS (cont.)

Green Buildings
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217mm

This tax credit had been available for eligible construction, renovation, or rehabilitation
projects designed to meet the applicable requirements for LEED Green Building Rating
System gold or platinum certification or another equivalent certification determined by
DEEP.

Credit percentages ranged between 5% and 11% and depended on the location and
certification level of the project. Credits may be assigned to another taxpayer or
taxpayers. Unused credits may be carried forward for five succeeding income years.

The Green Buildings tax credit is sunset as of December 1, 2017.

Historic Homes Rehabilitation
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §10-416

The Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) may allocate up to
$3 million in vouchers for this credit during any fiscal year. Owners of historic homes
must incur qualified rehabilitation expenditures that exceed $15,000 in order to qualify.

After the work is performed and verified, a tax credit is allowed for 30% of the qualified
rehabilitation expenditures. The credit is limited to $30,000 per dwelling. This maximum
is increased to $50,000 for owners that are nonprofit corporations. Unused credits may be
carried forward for four succeeding income years.

Historic Preservation
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §10-416b

This tax credit was available to owners rehabilitating certified historic buildings with
mixed residential and nonresidential uses. After the rehabilitation work was performed
and verified, a credit of 25% of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures was allowed.
The credit increased to 30% of the qualified expenditures if the rehabilitated building
contained affordable housing.

DECD no longer reserves Historic Preservation tax credits. Unused credits could be
carried forward for five succeeding income years.
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX CREDITS (cont.)

Historic Rehabilitation
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §10-416¢

This tax credit, which effectively consolidated the provisions of the Historic Preservation
and the Historic Structures Rehabilitation tax credits, provides for a 25% credit for income
years beginning on or after January 1, 2014. The credit is based on the qualified
rehabilitation expenditures associated with the rehabilitation of a certified historic
structure for either 1) residential use of five units or more, 2) mixed residential and
nonresidential use or 3) nonresidential use consistent with the historic character of such
property or the district in which such property is located.

The amount of the available credit increases to 30% of the qualified expenditures if at
least 20% of the units are rental units and qualify as affordable housing or at least 10% of
the units are individual homeownership units and qualify as affordable housing.

Unused credits may be carried forward for five succeeding income years or may be sold,
assigned or transferred in whole or part no more than three times.

Historic Structures Rehabilitation
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §10-416a

This tax credit was available to owners rehabilitating certified historic structures for
residential use. DECD could allocate up to $15 million in vouchers for this credit during
any fiscal year. After the rehabilitation work was performed and verified, a tax credit
was allowed for 25% of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures not to exceed $2.7
million.

DECD no longer reserves Historic Structures Rehabilitation tax credits. Unused credits
could be carried forward for five succeeding income years.

Housing Program Contribution
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §8-395

This tax credit program enables corporations to contribute to housing programs that
benefit low and moderate income individuals and families. These programs are
sponsored, developed or managed by nonprofit corporations and must be approved by
the Connecticut Housing Finance Authority. The credit is the amount of the contribution,
not to exceed $75,000 per business. Unused credits may be carried back to the five
preceding income years and forward for five succeeding income years.
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX CREDITS (cont.)

Human Capital Investments
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217x

The Human Capital Investments credit is based on 5% of the amounts paid or incurred
for various job training and work education programs, child care subsidies to Connecticut
employees, day care facility establishment costs and donations to institutions of higher
education for improvements to technology. Unused credits may be carried forward for
five succeeding income years.

Insurance Reinvestment Fund
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §38a-88a

A credit may be applied against the corporation business tax for investments made
through a fund manager registered with the Commissioner of Economic and Community
Development (DECD). These investments must be specifically earmarked for insurance
businesses incorporated in Connecticut that occupy new facilities and create new jobs.
The credit is 10% of amounts invested in qualified insurance businesses, beginning 3
years but not later than 7 years from the date of investment. For years 7 through 10, the
credit increases to 20% of the invested amounts. Unused credits may be carried forward
for five succeeding income years or assigned to another taxpayer.

New eligibility certificates for insurance businesses which enable investors to claim a
corporation tax credit cannot be issued on or after July 1, 2010. Any new eligibility
certificates issued on or after July 1, 2010 now qualify investors for the Second Insurance
Reinvestment Fund tax credit applicable against the insurance premiums tax (Chapter
207); health care centers tax (Chapter 207); and surplus lines brokers tax (Section 38a-743).

Machinery and Equipment
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-2170

This credit is based upon the incremental increase in expenditures for machinery and
equipment acquired for and installed in Connecticut. The rate of credit is either 5% or
10% depending on the number of full time employees in Connecticut.
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX CREDITS (cont.)

Manufacturing Facility in a Targeted Investment Community/Enterprise Zone
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217e

A business may earn a credit of 50% of its allocable tax for operating a manufacturing
facility which meets certain employment criteria and is located within a designated
enterprise zone or other area designated as having enterprise zone level benefits. A credit
of 25% may be applied against the portion of the Corporation Business tax allocable to a
manufacturing facility located within a Targeted Investment Community, but not in an
Enterprise Zone.

Certification was required from the Department of Economic and Community
Development. Corporations may claim this credit for 10 years beginning with the first
year following the year of certification.

This tax credit is being sunset. Only those companies that first claimed the credit on a
return for an income year beginning before 2018, may continue to claim the credit.

Neighborhood Assistance Act Program
Reference: Chapter 228a of the Conn. Gen. Stat.

The Connecticut Neighborhood Assistance Act (NAA) tax credit program is designed to
provide funding for municipal and non-profit organizations. Businesses are granted a
tax credit of 60% of the amount contributed to certain approved programs (or 100% in
the case of energy conservation programs)conducted by municipal and non-profit
organizations. Unused credits may be carried back to the two preceding income years.

The NAA program has several statutory limits. A business is limited to receiving
$150,000 in tax credit annually. A non-profit organization is limited to receiving $150,000
in contributions in the aggregate. The minimum contribution on which credit can be
granted is $250. The program has a $5M cap, which if exceeded, results in proration of
approved donations.
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX CREDITS (cont.)

Research and Development Expenditures
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217n

A credit may be applied against the Corporation Business Tax for expenses of research
and development conducted in Connecticut. The amount allowed as credit increases
ratably from 1% of the annual research and development expenses paid or incurred,
where such expenses equal $50 million or less, to 6% where expenses exceed $200 million.
The 6% credit is extended to qualified small businesses with a gross income that does not
exceed $100 million.

Qualified small businesses may exchange unused amounts of this credit with the state
for a cash payment of 65% of the value of the credit or carry these amounts forward at
full value. Credit refunds are limited to $1.5 million in any one income year. Unused
credits may be carried forward until fully taken.

Research and Experimental Expenditures
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217j

This is a tax credit based on the incremental increase in expenditures for research and
experiments conducted in Connecticut. The amount of the credit equals 20% of the
amount spent by the corporation directly on research and experimental expenditures that
exceeds the amount spent in the preceding income year. Unused credits may be carried
forward for fifteen succeeding income years.

Qualified small businesses may exchange unused amounts of this credit with the state
for a cash payment of 65% of the value of the credit or carry these amounts forward at
full value. Credit refunds are limited to $1.5 million in any one income year.

Service Facility
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217e

This credit is available to companies with a service facility located in a Connecticut
targeted investment community which hire new employees and have an eligibility
certificate issued by the Commissioner of Economic and Community Development
(DECD). The credit is based on the portion of tax allocable to such facility and the number
of new employees working there. Credit percentages range from 15% to 50% depending
on the number of new employees. The credit period is ten years.

This tax credit is being sunset. Only those companies that first claimed the credit on a
return for an income year beginning before 2018, may continue to claim the credit.

34 Connecticut Department of Revenue Services FY 2020-21 Annual Report



CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX CREDITS (cont.)

Traffic Reduction Programs
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-217s

This is a 50% credit for traffic reduction program expenses related to the attainment of
federal Clean Air Act standards. The credit cannot exceed $250 per participating
employee. This credit is available for corporations employing 100 or more people located
in a severe non-attainment area. Currently, no such area is designated in Connecticut.

Urban and Industrial Site Reinvestment
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §32-9t

This credit is available for investments in eligible urban reinvestment projects and
industrial site investment projects. Investments may be made directly or through a
registered fund manager and must be certified by the Commissioner of Economic and
Community Development. The credit is 10% of the qualified investments, beginning 4
years but not later than 7 years from the date of investment. For years 8 through 10, the
credit increases to 20% of the invested amounts. Unused credits may be carried forward
for five succeeding income years or assigned to another taxpayer.
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX CREDITS (cont.)

The table below shows the number and amount of corporation tax credits claimed by
businesses. The figures represent credit claimed on 2019 returns and any credits carried
forward from prior years and used in 2019.

36

Tax Credits Claimed on 2019 Corporation Business Returns

Type of Credit Number of Amount

Credits Claimed
Apprenticeship Training 12 $109,471
Digital Animation 1 65,280
Donation of Land 3 94,079
Electronic Data Processing 852 11,355,760
Film Production 25 45,683,200
Fixed Capital Investments 1,341 39,788,920
Green Buildings 1 959,128
Historic Preservation 2 332
Historic Structures Rehabilitation 1 1,297,041
Housing Program Contribution 2 3,938
Human Capital Investments 72 2,471,485
Machinery and Equipment 8 780,564
Iretonent Comnaring or Eraerprise Zone 15 736,175
Neighborhood Assistance 54 1,573,204
Research & Development Expenditures 171 6,948,083
Research & Experimental Expenditures 270 32,947,819
Urban and Industrial Site Reinvestment 8 3,656,132
Total 2,838 $148,470,614
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CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX CREDITS (cont.)

The table below shows the unused credit amounts reported on 2019 corporation business
tax returns as being carried forward to the 2020 income year.

Credits Carried Forward to 2020 Income Year

Carryforward
Type of Credit Amount
Donation of Land $2,438,889
Electronic Data Processing 84,504,326
Fixed Capital Investments 373,564,589
Historic Preservation 499
Housing Program Contribution 1,143,858
Human Capital Investments 8,525,184
Research & Development 1,802,465,730
Research & Experimental Expenditures 777,412,089
Urban and Industrial Site Reinvestment 9,338,409
Total Carryforward Credits $3,059,393,573
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DRY CLEANING ESTABLISHMENT SURCHARGE

The Dry Cleaning Establishment Surcharge is used to provide grants to dry cleaning
establishments for the containment and removal or mitigation of environmental pollution
resulting from dry cleaning activity. Revenue is deposited into the Dry Cleaning Remediation
Account, which is used to provide these grants and fund other measures undertaken to prevent
pollution.

Dry cleaning establishments are required to renew their registration with DRS each October 1+.
Establishments that fail to register or renew their registration are subject to a penalty.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $335,472
2019-20 562,182
2018-19 605,518

Basis and Rate

1% of gross receipts at retail.

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency
346 taxpayers/Quarterly
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ELECTRONIC CIGARETTE PRODUCTS TAX

A tax is imposed on electronic cigarette liquid and electronic cigarette products. “Electronic
cigarette liquid” is a liquid that, when used in an electronic nicotine delivery system or vapor
product, produces a vapor that includes nicotine and is inhaled by the user of such electronic
nicotine delivery system or vapor product. “Electronic cigarette products” are defined as
electronic nicotine delivery systems, liquid nicotine containers, vapor products and electronic
cigarette liquids. The tax went into effect October 1, 2019.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $5,205,231
2019-20 3,371,121

Exemptions:

e A device used by a patient, as prescribed or directed by a licensed health care
provider in any setting;

e Any biological product, as described in 42 USC 262, and 21 CFR 600.3 authorized
for sale by the United States Food and Drug Administration;

e Any drug or device, as defined in the federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, 21
USsC 321;

e Any combination product, as described in in the federal Food, Drug and
Cosmetic Act, 21 USC 353(g); or

e Any biological product, as described in 42 USC 262, and 21 CFR 600.3 authorized
for sale by the United States Food and Drug Administration.

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency:
176 distributors/ Monthly

Basis and Rate:

The tax is imposed on the first sale or use in Connecticut of any electronic cigarette
product at a rate of either:

e $0.40 per milliliter of the electronic cigarette liquid contained within an
electronic cigarette product that is prefilled, sealed by the manufacturer and not
intended to be refillable, or

e 10% of the wholesale sales price of any other electronic cigarette product.

Tax collected at $0.40 per Tax collected at 10% of the
Fiscal Year milliliter of the e-cig liquid wholesale sales price
2020-2021 $ 4,210,694 $ 951,429
2019-2020 $ 2,798,128 $ 557,800

*Tax effective October 1, 2019
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ESTATE AND GIFT TAX

Resident and nonresident estates of decedents dying during 2021 are liable for the Connecticut
Estate Tax on the amount of the Connecticut taxable estate that exceeds $7.1 million.

“Connecticut taxable estate” is defined as the sum of the total value of the decedent’s federal gross
estate, less allowable deductions, plus the aggregate amount of Connecticut taxable gifts made on
or after January 1, 2005. A credit is granted for gift taxes paid on Connecticut taxable gifts made
on or after January 1, 2005; however, the credit cannot exceed the amount of the Connecticut estate
tax.

For Connecticut taxable gifts, a donor must pay Connecticut gift tax if the aggregate amount of
Connecticut taxable gifts made between January 1, 2005 and December 31, 2021, exceeds $7.1
million. A credit is allowed against the Connecticut gift tax for Connecticut gift taxes paid on
Connecticut taxable gifts made during calendar years beginning on or after January 1, 2005;
however, the credit cannot exceed the amount of the Connecticut gift tax.

“Connecticut taxable gifts” are defined as taxable gifts as determined for federal gift tax purposes.
These include:

- Gifts of Connecticut real property;
- Gifts of tangible personal property situated within Connecticut; or
- Gifts of intangible personal property made by Connecticut residents.

Taxpayers are required to file a Connecticut Estate and Gift Tax return to report all Connecticut
taxable gifts, even if no Connecticut gift tax is due.

The maximum amount of tax paid by the estates of decedents who die on or after January 1, 2019
is $15 million. This payment cap also applies to the gift tax amount paid by donors who make
taxable gifts on or after January 1, 2019.  The payment cap is reduced by the amount of any gift
taxes paid on taxable gifts made on or after January 1, 2016.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $303,338,908
2019-20 159,542,430
2018-19 225,312,679
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ESTATE AND GIFT TAX (cont.)

For gifts made, or the estates of decedents dying on or after January 1, 2020 to
December 31, 2020 the table below is used to compute the Estate and Gift tax:

Aggregate Amount of Connecticut Taxable Tax
Gifts or Connecticut Taxable Estate

Not over $5,100,000 None
Over $5,100,000 but not over $6,100,000 10.0% of the excess over $5,100,000

Over $6,100,000 but not over $7,100,000 $100,000 plus 10.4% of the excess over
$6,100,000

Over $7,100,000 but not over $8,100,000 $204,000 plus 10.8% of the excess over
$7,100,000

Over $8,100,000 but not over $9,100,000 $312,000 plus 11.2% of the excess over
$8,100,000

Over $9,100,000 but not over $10,100,000 $424,000 plus 11.6% of the excess over
$9,100,000

Over $10,100,000 $540,000 plus 12% of the excess over
$10,100,000

For gifts made, or the estates of decedents dying on or after January 1, 2021 to
December 31, 2021 the table below is used to compute the Estate and Gift tax:

Aggregate Amount of Connecticut Taxable Tax
Gifts or Connecticut Taxable Estate
Not over $7,100,000 None
Over $7,100,000 but not over $8,100,000 10.8% of the excess over $7,100,000
Over $8,100,000 but not over $9,100,000 $108,000 plus 11.2% of the excess over
$8,100,000
Over $9,100,000 but not over $10,100,000 $220,000 plus 11.6% of the excess over
$9,100,000
Over $10,100,000 $336,000 plus 12% of the excess over
$10,100,000
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ESTATE AND GIFT TAX (cont.)

For gifts made, or the estates of decedents dying on or after January 1, 2022 to
December 31, 2022 the table below is used to compute the Estate and Gift tax:

Aggregate Amount of Connecticut Taxable Tax
Gifts or Connecticut Taxable Estate

Not over $9,100,000 None
Over $9,100,000 but not over $10,100,000 11.6% of the excess over $9,100,000

Over $10,100,000 $116,000 plus 12% of the excess over
$10,100,000

For gifts made, or the estates of decedents dying on or after January 1, 2023, the table
below is used to compute the Estate and Gift tax:

Aggregate Amount of Connecticut Taxable Tax
Gifts or Connecticut Taxable Estate

Not over the federal basic exclusion amount None

Over the federal basic exclusion amount 12% of the excess over the federal basic
exclusion amount
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ESTATE AND GIFT TAX (cont.)

Detail of Revenue

For Fiscal Year 2020-21, total Estate and Gift Tax revenue collected was $303,338,908.
Much of this revenue is attributable to prepayments that apply against upcoming tax
returns. A breakdown of returns from estates received during Fiscal Year 2020-21
follows.

ESTATE AND GIFT TAX RETURNS
FROM ESTATES OF DECEDENTS
RECEIVED DURING FY 2020-21

Amount of Taxable Estate Number of Tax Due
More Than Not Over Returns Tax Due  After Credits *
$3 Million 59 $219,880 $219,423
$3 Million $4 Million 31 617,723 572,283
$4 Million $5 Million 41 2,388,117 2,163,369
$5 Million $6 Million 64 5,152,133 4,689,135
$6 Million $7 Million 42 7,865,952 7,166,173
$7 Million $8 Million 29 7,382,180 6,765,432
$ 8 Million $10 Million 34 14,586,544 13,868,226
$10 Million $15 Million 40 25,465,937 23,195,389
$15 Million $25 Million 23 32,989,046 30,292,543
$25 Million 20 73,940,079 58,738,111
Total 413 $156,413,197 $147,670,084

* Reflects credits for real or tangible personal property located in other jurisdictions and prior gift
tax payments.
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ESTATE AND GIFT TAX (cont.)

For Fiscal Year 2020-21, an additional amount of the estate and gift tax was attributable
to gift tax returns filed by non-decedents. A breakdown of calendar year 2020 gift tax
returns is shown below.

ESTATE AND GIFT TAX RETURNS
2020 GIFT TAX ONLY

Amount of 2020 Taxable Gifts

44

More Than Not Over Number of Returns Tax Due
$2 Million 28 515,687

$2 Million $3 Million 53 2,093,755
$3 Million $4 Million 24 2,638,064
$4 Million $5 Million 23 3,862,351
$5 Million $6 Million 35 5,823,926
$6 Million $7 Million 26 10,702,667
$7 Million $8 Million 11 4,978,514
$8 Million $10 Million 9 5,595,065
$10 Million 13 11,235,278
Total 222 $47,445,307
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INCOME TAX

Connecticut imposes a tax on income earned by resident individuals, trusts, and estates.
Nonresidents and part-year resident individuals, trusts and estates are also subject to the tax on
income derived from or connected with sources within the State. Connecticut taxable income is
defined as adjusted gross income for federal tax purposes with certain modifications and
exemptions described below.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $10,273,322,918
2019-20 9,398,681,702
2018-19 9,640,161,331

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency

1.7 million taxpayers/ Annually
Taxpayers who expect to owe more than $1,000 in income tax, in addition to income
tax withheld, are required to file four estimated tax payments.

Basis and Rate

Connecticut’s tax is levied upon Connecticut taxable income, as defined above.

Effective for taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2015:

Filing Status Rate and Basis
Single and Married 3% on the first $10,000 of Connecticut Taxable Income
Filing Separately 5% on the excess over $10,000, but not over $50,000

5.5% on the excess over $50,000, but not over $100,000
6% on the excess over $100,000, but not over $200,000
6.5% on the excess over $200,000, but not over $250,000
6.9% on the excess over $250,000, but not over $500,000
6.99% on the excess over $500,000
Head of Household 3% on the first $16,000 of Connecticut Taxable Income
5% on the excess over $16,000, but not over $80,000
5.5% on the excess over $80,000, but not over $160,000
6% on the excess over $160,000, but not over $320,000
6.5% on the excess over $320,000, but not over $400,000
6.9% on the excess over $400,000, but not over $800,000
6.99% on the excess over $800,000
Joint Filers 3% on the first $20,000 of Connecticut Taxable Income
5% on the excess over $20,000, but not over $100,000
5.5% on the excess over $100,000, but not over $200,000
6% on the excess over $200,000, but not over $400,000
6.5% on the excess over $400,000, but not over $500,000
6.9% on the excess over $500,000, but not over $1,000,000
6.99% on the excess over $1,000,000
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INCOME TAX (cont.)

Exemptions

e $15,000 for single filers. For taxpayers with Connecticut AGI in excess of $29,000,
the exemption decreases by $1,000 for each $1,000 increase in Connecticut AGI. The
exemption is phased out at $44,000;

e $12,000 for married persons filing separately and filing separately for Connecticut
only. For taxpayers with Connecticut AGI in excess of $24,000, the exemption
decreases by $1,000 for each $1,000 increase in Connecticut AGI. The exemption is
phased out at $35,000;

e $19,000 for heads of household. For taxpayers with a Connecticut AGI in excess
of $38,000, the exemption decreases by $1,000 for each additional $1,000 of
Connecticut AGI. There is no exemption if the taxpayer earns more than $56,000;
and

e $24,000 for married persons filing jointly, filing jointly for Connecticut only, or
qualifying widow (er) with dependent child. The exemption for joint filers
decreases by $1,000, for taxpayers whose Connecticut AGI exceeds $48,000, for
each $1,000 increase in Connecticut AGI. The exemption is phased out at $71,000.

Benefit Recapture

For taxpayers whose annual Connecticut Adjusted Gross Income exceeds specified
thresholds, a recapture provision is imposed to eliminate the benefits they receive
from having a portion of their taxable income taxed at lower marginal rates.

The recapture provision starting point is:
e $400,000 for taxpayers filing jointly;
e $200,000 for taxpayers filing single and married filing separately; and
e $320,000 for taxpayers filing as head of household.

The recapture amount is

e $180 per $10,000 of Connecticut adjusted gross income over the starting point for
taxpayers filing jointly, with a maximum total recapture of $6,300;

e $90 per $5,000 of Connecticut adjusted gross income over the starting point for
taxpayers filing single or married filing separately with a maximum total recapture
of $3,150; and

o $140 per $8,000 of Connecticut adjusted gross income over the starting point for
taxpayers filing as head of household, with a maximum total recapture of $4,920.
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INCOME TAX (cont.)

Common Additions

Interest on state and local obligations other than Connecticut;

Exempt-interest dividends (other than those derived from obligations of the State
of Connecticut or its municipalities);

Cancellation of debt income;

The total taxable amount of a lump sum distribution for the taxable year deductible
from gross income in calculating federal adjusted gross income; and

e Loss on sale of Connecticut bonds.

Common Subtractions

e Interest on U.S. obligations;

e Dividends from certain mutual funds consisting of U.S. obligations;

e Social Security Benefit Adjustment;

e Refunds on state and local income taxes;

e Tier 1 and Tier 2 railroad retirement benefits and supplemental annuities;

e Gain on sale of Connecticut bonds;

e For taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2019, social security benefits
for single filers and married individuals filing separately whose federal adjusted
gross income for the taxable year is less than $75,000. And social Security benefits
for married individuals filing jointly and head of household filers whose federal
adjusted gross income for the taxable year is less than $100,000. Prior to January 1,
2019, the subtraction threshold for social security benefits was $50,000 for single
filers and married individuals filing separately, and $60,000 for married
individuals filing jointly and head of household filers;

e Federally taxable military retirement pay received from the United States
government for a retired member of the Armed Forces of the United States as
defined in Section 101 of Title 10 of the U.S. Code or the National Guard, as defined
in Section 101 of Title 10 of the U.S. Code;

e Connecticut Higher Education Trust (CHET) contributions of up to $5,000 for
each individual taxpayer whose filing status is single, head of household, married
filing separately or up to $10,000 for individuals whose filing status is married
filing jointly, or qualifying widow(er) with dependent child;

e 25% of the pension payments received from the Connecticut teacher’s retirement
system, provided it was properly included in federal adjusted gross income for
federal income tax purposes. For taxable years commencing on or after January
1, 2021, the subtraction modification increases to 50% of pension payments;

e Taxpayers are allowed a subtraction modification for the amount of lost wages,
medical, travel, and housing expenses incurred in connection with the donation
of an organ for transplantation on or after January 1, 2017. The amount is not to
exceed $10,000; and
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INCOME TAX (cont.)

o Effective for taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2017, a subtraction
modification is allowed for amounts received related to certain crumbling
foundation relief.

Subtraction Modification for Certain Pensions and Annuities

Effective for the taxable year commencing January 1, 2019, any pension or annuity
income received, except for tier 1 railroad retirement benefits and Armed Forces or
National Guard retirement pay, may be subtracted at the percentages below:

e 14% for taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2019;
e 28% for taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2020;
e 42% for taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2021;
e 56% for taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2022;
e 70% for taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2023;
e 84% for taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2024;
e 100% for taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2025.

For the 2021 tax year and thereafter, taxpayers with teacher pension income may
take the 50% teacher pension exemption or, if they have qualifying incomes, the
general pension and annuity exemption (42% in 2021), or whichever is greater.

Withholding Requirement

Connecticut requires anyone who maintains an office or transacts business in
Connecticut, and who is considered an employer for federal income tax
withholding purposes, to withhold Connecticut income tax whether or not the
payroll department is located in Connecticut.

Estimated Tax Payments

Taxpayers must make estimated payments if their Connecticut income tax (after
tax credits) minus Connecticut tax withheld is more than $1,000.

Connecticut Alternative Minimum Tax

Taxpayers who are subject to, and required to pay, the federal alternative
minimum tax are subject to the Connecticut Alternative Minimum Tax. The
alternative minimum tax is computed on the lesser of 19% of the adjusted federal
tentative minimum tax, or 5%2% of adjusted federal alternative minimum taxable
income.
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INCOME TAX (cont.)

Tax Credits

Tax Credit for Property Taxes Paid to a Political Subdivision

Effective with the 2017 taxable year, Connecticut residents who attained the age of
65 before the close of the applicable tax year, or who filed a federal income tax
return for the applicable year and validly claimed one or more dependents are
eligible for an income tax credit for property taxes paid to a Connecticut political
subdivision on a primary residence and/or privately owned or leased motor
vehicle. The maximum credit is $200 per return. The credit cannot exceed the
amount of qualifying property taxes paid or the income tax liability.

Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Qualifying Jurisdictions

Connecticut residents may claim an income tax credit if any part of their income
was taxed by a qualifying jurisdiction. A qualifying jurisdiction includes another
state of the United States, a local government within another state or the District of
Columbia. A qualifying jurisdiction does not include the State of Connecticut, the
United States or a foreign country or its provinces.

Connecticut Earned Income Tax Credit

A Connecticut resident taxpayer may claim an earned income tax credit (CT EITC)
against the Connecticut income tax due for the taxable year. Starting with taxable
year 2021, the EITC increased from 23% to 30.5% of the federal credit. If the CT
EITC exceeds the taxpayer’s Connecticut income tax liability, the excess is
considered an overpayment and will be refunded without interest.

Earned Income Tax Credit

Year Number of Credits | Amount of Credit | EITC Rate
2013 191,760 $96,303,193 25%
2014 193,052 107,515,761 27.5%
2015 194,115 108,359,437 27.5%
2016 195,137 111,864,353 27.5%
2017 194,279 94,284,692 23%
2018 193,281 95,433,979 23%
2019 195,912 95,693,420 23%
2020 186,174 87,578,501 23%
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INCOME TAX (cont.)

Angel Investor Tax Credit
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-704d

An angel investor is an accredited investor, as defined by the Securities and
Exchange Commission, or network of accredited investors who review new or
proposed businesses for potential investment who may seek active involvement,
such as consulting and mentoring, in a Connecticut business.

The angel investor must apply to Connecticut Innovations, Inc. (CII) to reserve a
tax credit. The angel investor must choose from a list of Connecticut businesses
that CII has determined qualified to receive the cash investment. Tax credits
cannot be reserved for any investments made on or after July 1, 2028.

The angel investor credit provides for a tax credit for a cash investment of not less
than $25,000 in the qualified securities of a Connecticut business or a cannabis
business by an angel investor. The credit is 25% of such investor's cash investment
in a Connecticut business, or, as of July 1, 2021, 40% of such investor's cash
investment in a cannabis business. The total tax credits allowed to any angel
investor shall not exceed $500,000. The credit shall be claimed in the taxable year
in which such cash investment is made by the angel investor.

The credits may be assigned, transferred, or sold.

Credit for Prior Year Connecticut Minimum Tax for Individuals

Taxpayers may be able to claim a credit for an alternative minimum tax paid in a
prior year.

Credit for Pass-Through Entity Taxes Paid

50

Members in a Pass-Through Entity (PE) are entitled to a credit based upon their
respective share of the PE’s tax liability. The PE tax credit can be used against the
member’s Corporation Business Tax liability or Income Tax liability.

The Pass-Through Entity Tax credit is 87.5% of the member’s share of the PE Tax,
effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019.  For taxable year

2018, the credit was 93.01%.

The credits claimed in taxable year 2020 totaled $801,307,652. The credit claimed
in taxable year 2019 was $688,642,000.
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INCOME TAX (cont.)

In addition to the above referenced credits, the following credit is no longer available,
however, taxpayers who previously earned the credit may still be claiming it:

Insurance Reinvestment Fund

The insurance reinvestment fund credit is no longer available to individuals
under the personal income tax. The new Second Insurance Reinvestment Fund
Tax Credit replaces the original credit and is only available against insurance
premiums taxes. Any credits previously earned under the old insurance
reinvestment act are able to be used until they expire, not to exceed 10 years.

Personal Income Tax Credits

2020
Personal Income Tax Credits
Credit Number of Credits Amount of Credit
Claimed
Angel 280 3,785,208
Investor
Insurance
Reinvestment Fund 26 275,447
Prior Year CT 213 637,554
Minimum Tax
Total 519 $4,698,209

Personal Income Tax Credits

2019
Personal Income Tax Credits
Credit Number of Credits Amount of Credit
Claimed
Angel 216 $2,671,490
Investor
Insurance
Reinvestment Fund 27 30,829
Prior Year CT 246 734,147
Minimum Tax
Total 489 $3,436,466
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INSURANCE PREMIUMS TAX

Insurance companies, domestic and foreign, are taxed in Connecticut on the total net direct
premiums received from policies written on property or risks within the State. Total net direct
subscriber charges received on any new or renewal contract or policy by a health care center are
also taxed. The State also imposes a tax on premiums for unauthorized insurance. Specifically,
insureds who procure non-admitted insurance are required to remit tax on premiums paid to a
non-admitted insurer. Additionally, risk retention groups are required to pay tax on premiums
collected on coverages within the State. Captive insurance companies are now allowed to operate
within Connecticut. A captive insurance company is a company that is created and wholly
owned by one or more non-insurance companies to insure the risks of its owners as a type of self-
insurance.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $202,264,058
2019-20 202,496,126
2018-19 172,340,190

Exemptions

e Premiums sold for ocean and inland marine insurance of nonresident and
foreign companies;

e Medicaid, Medicare, HUSKY Plan, and State Employee Health plans from health
care centers subscriber charges; and

e New or renewal contracts or policies written to provide health care coverage to
retired teachers, spouses or a surviving spouse, employees and retired members
and their dependents, of a Connecticut municipality, nonprofit organizations or
employees of community action agencies and their dependents, and small
employer’s employees and their dependents under a plan procured pursuant to
Conn. Gen. Stat. §5-259(i), from net direct subscriber charges of health care
centers.

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency

1,193 insurance companies/ Annually with four estimated payments:
91 Domestic companies
988 Foreign companies
10 Health Care Centers
89 Non-admitted /Risk Retention Groups
15 Captive Insurers

Basis and Rate

e 1.5% of net direct premiums by domestic and foreign insurance companies. Prior
to January 1, 2018, the rate was 1.75% of net direct premiums received by
domestic and foreign insurance companies.

e 4% of gross premiums charged by non-admitted and unauthorized insurers; and
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INSURANCE PREMIUMS TAX (cont.)

e 1.5% of net direct subscriber charges of health care centers. Prior to January 1,
2018, the rate was 1.75% of net direct subscriber charges of health care centers.

Comparative Data
FY 2018-19 FY 2019-20 FY 2020-21

Domestic $23,836,161 $36,535,895 $32,534,669

Foreign 138,306,491 155,220,722 158,792,653

Health Care Center 2,815,820 3,197,628 1,911,391

Non-admitted/ 7,381,718 7,541,881 9,025,345

Unauthorized/Captive

Total $172,340,190 $202,496,126  $202,264,058
Tax Credits

The State of Connecticut provides for several tax credits which may be applied against
the Insurance Premiums Tax. Described below is the credit unique to the Insurance
Premiums Tax. Please turn to the Corporation Business Tax section of this report for
additional information on tax credits.

Insurance Department Assessment Credit
Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-202

Certain local domestic insurance companies are allowed a credit against the insurance
premiums tax in the amount of 80% of the Connecticut Insurance Department
assessment paid during the calendar year if their admitted assets do not exceed
amounts specified in Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-202.

INSURANCE PREMIUMS TAX

Calendar Year 2019 Insurance Tax Credits

Type of Credit Number of = Amount of Credit

Credits Claimed
Electronic Data Processing 79 $18,403,763
Insurance Department Assessment 8 674,740
Insurance Reinvestment 19 12,487,530
Second Insurance Reinvestment 40 20,510,570
Neighborhood Assistance 13 1,045,249
Urban & Industrial Site Reinvestment 12 7,850,033
Film Production 74 62,222,911
Film Production Infrastructure 1 283,837
Digital Animation 21 7,830,000
Total Credits 267 $131,308,633
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INSURANCE PREMIUMS TAX (cont.)

Calendar Year 2020 Insurance Tax Credits

Preliminary

Type of Credit Number of Amount of Credit

Credits Claimed
Electronic Data Processing 47 $ 10,054,069
Insurance Department Assessment 4 325,981
Insurance Reinvestment 27 12,440,945
Second Insurance Reinvestment 38 18,502,410
Neighborhood Assistance 12 935,396
Urban & Industrial Site Reinvestment 9 3,894,731
Film Production 47 25,630,278
Film Production Infrastructure 3 645,000
Digital Animation 3 799,363
Total Credits 190 $73,228,173
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MOTOR CARRIER ROAD TAX

Connecticut has participated in the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) since 1996. IFTA
is a cooperative agreement among most states and provinces of Canada that simplifies the collection

and reporting of fuel use tax by interstate motor carriers. Under IFTA, fuel tax returns are filed
in the base jurisdiction of the motor carrier. The base jurisdiction of a motor carrier is where the

vehicle is based for registration purposes and where operations are controlled and the vehicle is

operated. For IFTA fuel tax reporting, a qualified motor vehicle is a vehicle that is designed to

transport persons or property and that has: two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross
vehicle weight over 26,000 pounds; or three or more axles regardless of weight; or when used in

combination, a combined gross vehicle weight over 26,000 pounds. Motor carriers who meet this
qualification, and who travel solely within the State, are not required to file a return, but instead

are subject to the tax at the time of purchase.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $11,455,267
2019-20 14,241,516
2018-19 12,138,677

Exemption

e Any vehicle owned by the United States, the state, any political subdivision

thereof, or any school bus.

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency

2,980 IFTA filers/Quarterly
2,783 Intrastate Motor Carriers

Basis and Rate

Rate per
Gallon

Gasoline
Gasohol
Diesel Fuel 7/1/19 through 6/30/20*
Diesel Fuel 7/1/20 through 6/30/21*

Diesel Fuel 7/1/21 through 6/30/22*
Natural Gas or Propane

25¢
25¢
46.5¢
44.6¢
40.1¢
26¢

*Each fiscal year the Department is required to calculate the new diesel fuel rate
using the average wholesale price per gallon of diesel fuel for the 12 month
period ending on the preceding March 31¢, as determined by statute.
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MOTOR VEHICLE FUELS TAX

Motor fuel used or sold in Connecticut is subject to the Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax. "Fuel" includes
gasoline, diesel, gasohol, propane, or any combustible gas or liquid that generates the power needed
to propel a motor vehicle.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $463,982,859
2019-20 464,225,961

2018-19 497,860,153

Exemptions

Fuel sold to United States Government, the State of Connecticut, any Connecticut
municipality or transit district, when such fuel is used in vehicles owned and
operated, or leased and operated by any of the aforementioned entities;

Fuel sold exclusively for heating purposes and to furnish gas, water, steam or
electricity, if delivered to consumers through mains, lines or pipes;

Aviation fuel and fuel sold to owners or operators of an aircraft, or to a licensed
aviation fuel dealer whose place of business is located at an airport;

Fuel sold to a municipality for use in a school bus;

Diesel fuel sold exclusively for use in portable power system generators that are
larger than one hundred fifty kilowatts;

Fuel sold to a farmer who is the holder of a farmer’s exemption permit;

A company that uses or consumes motor fuels exclusively for hauling waste for
the Connecticut Resource Recovery Authority, Mid-Connecticut Project;

Fuels sold for use to any vessels displacing over 4,000 dead weight tons or fuel
sold for use to any vessels primarily engaged in interstate commerce; and

Dyed diesel sold to marine fuel docks for marine purposes. However, the fuel is
now subject to sales tax at the rate of 2.99%.

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency

Basis and Rate

56

910 taxpayers/Monthly
Rate per
Gallon
Gasoline 25¢
Gasohol 25¢

Diesel Fuel 7/1/19 through 6/30/20* 46.5¢
Diesel Fuel 7/1/20 through 6/30/21* 44.6¢
Diesel Fuel 7/1/21 through 6/30/22* 40.1¢
Natural Gas or Propane 26¢

*Each fiscal year the Department is required to calculate the new diesel fuel rate
using the average wholesale price per gallon of diesel fuel for the 12 month period
ending on the preceding March 31+, as determined by statute.
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MOTOR VEHICLE FUELS TAX (cont.)

Comparative Data

Number of Gallons Sold
FY 2018-19 FY 2019-20 FY 2020-21
Special Fuel* 254,693,112 247,156,061 255,677,243
Gasohol 1,518,805,882 1,380,022,956 1,324,535,051
Alternative Fuels** 3,072,233 2,489,720 2,458,591
Total Gallons 1,776,571,227 1,629,668,737  1,582,670,885

* Gallons reported under Special Fuel primarily contain diesel fuel, however, there are
minimal amounts of Natural Gas and Propane reported under this category.

** Alternative fuels consist of Compressed Natural Gas (CNG), Liquefied Natural Gas
(LNG), and Liquefied Petroleum Gas (Propane).
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PAID PREPARER FEE

The Connecticut General Assembly enacted a comprehensive law which established professional practice
standards for all tax preparers and facilitators. In addition, any person that prepares federal or state
personal income tax returns for a fee or other consideration, and is not expressly exempt, must have a
permit as of January 1, 2019. The permit must be renewed every two years.

Fee

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $93,976
2019-20 112,900
2018-19 168,000

Effective January 1, 2019, all tax preparers who are not exempt will be required to

have a permit. The initial application fee is $100. The permit expires after two years.
The renewal fee is $50.

Exempt Preparers

58

Attorneys;

Certified Public Accountants;

Enrolled Agents;

IRS qualified volunteer tax preparers participating in either a Volunteer
Income Tax Assistance (VITA) or Tax Counseling for the Elderly (TCE)
program;

Employee of an attorney preparing tax returns under the supervision of the
attorney;

Employee of a local, state or federal governmental agency preparing
returns in the performance of official duties;

Employee of, or assistant to, a tax preparer or person exempted from the
permit requirements, in the performance of official duties for such tax
preparer or exempt person; and

Individuals employed, full-time or part-time, to act as a tax preparer solely
for the business purposes of such individual’s employer.
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PASS-THROUGH ENTITY TAX

The Pass-Through Entity tax is imposed on the following entities that do business in Connecticut
or have income derived from or connected with Connecticut sources:

e Partnerships, including limited liability companies that are treated as partnerships for
federal income tax purposes, but excluding publicly-traded partnerships; and

e S corporations, including limited liability companies that are treated as S corporations for
federal income tax purposes.

Revenue
FY 2020-21  $1,553,825,428
2019-20 1,241,963,309
2018-19 1,172,054,054

Basis and Rate

There are two methods that pass-through entities (PE) may use to calculate their tax.
The tax rate of 6.99% is applied to the applicable base to determine the amount of tax
due.

Standard Base

The Standard Base is equal to a PE’s Connecticut source income from its own
activities. The Standard Base does not include income from subsidiary PE’s.

Alternative Base
The Alternative Base is equal to the portion of a PE’s CT source income from its
own activities that flows through to members who are chapter 229 taxpayers

(income tax) plus the portion of the PE’s income that flows through to members
who are Connecticut residents and that is not sourced to any state.

Filing Frequency

Annually with four estimated installments.

Number of Taxpayers

122,836 taxpayers
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PASS-THROUGH ENTITY (cont.)

Pass-Through Entity Tax Credit

Members of a PE are entitled to a credit based upon their respective shares of the
PE’s tax liability. For taxable years that began on or after January 1, 2018, but
prior to January 1, 2019, the PE Tax Credit was 93.01% of the member’s share of
the PE Tax. For taxable years that begin on or after January 1, 2019, the PE Tax
Credit is 87.5% of the member’s share of the PE Tax.

A member may claim the PE Tax Credit against taxes imposed under chapter 208
(corporation business tax) or chapter 229 (income tax).

Detail of Revenue

2019 Pass-Through Entity Tax Returns

Number of Tax Due

Tax Due Returns
Zero 60,444 $0
$1 to $999 18,152 6,805,365
$1000 to $24,999 37,431 241,946,510
$25,000 to $49,999 3,427 119,290,251
$50,000 to $99,999 1,793 124,221,053
$100,000 to $249,999 1,034 155,582,319
$250,000 to $499,999 293 100,569,529
$500,000 to $999,999 159 107,916,123
$1 million to $2 million 69 98,689,657
$2 million to $3 million 16 39,195,549
$3 million and over 18 90,705,010
Total 122,836 $1,084,921,366
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PETROLEUM PRODUCTS GROSS EARNINGS TAX

A tax is levied on the gross earnings from the first sale of companies distributing petroleum
products in Connecticut. Petroleum products include but are not limited to gasoline, aviation
fuel, kerosene, diesel fuel, number 2 heating oil, greases, lubricants, mineral oils, and motor oil.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $232,333,711
2019-20 235,922,566
2018-19 318,518,185

Exemptions

e Number 2 heating oil used exclusively for heating purposes or in a commercial
fishing vessel;

e Bunker fuel oil, intermediate fuel, marine diesel oil and marine gas oil used in
vessels displacing over 4,000 dead weight tons, and used in vessels primarily
engaged in interstate commerce;

e Kerosene used exclusively for heating purposes, when the fuel is delivered via a
truck with a metered delivery ticket, or to a centrally metered system serving a
group of homes;

e Propane gas primarily used for heating purposes;

e Paraffin and microcrystalline waxes;

e Gross earnings from the sale or use of Number 2 heating oil used exclusively in
vessels engaged in interstate commerce and Number 6 fuel oil used by
manufacturers;

e Commercial heating oil blend containing not less than 10% alternative fuels
derived from agricultural produce, food waste, waste vegetable oil or municipal
solid waste, including, but not limited to biodiesel or low sulfur dyed diesel fuel
and kerosene. Such blended products must be used for commercial heating;

e Diesel fuel other than diesel fuel to be used in an electric generating facility to
generate electricity;

e Cosmetic grade mineral oil; and

e Propane used as a fuel for school buses.

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency
622 taxpayers/Quarterly

Basis and Rate

8.1%
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PETROLEUM PRODUCTS GROSS EARNINGS TAX (cont.)

Cap on Petroleum Products Gross Earnings Tax

The petroleum products gross earnings tax has a $3.00 per gallon cap on which the tax is
calculated for the first sale for gasoline and gasohol. Petroleum products distributors are
required to calculate the tax at $3.00 per gallon even if the price exceeds said amount and
any consideration received by the distributor in excess of $3.00 is exempt from tax.

Connecticut Airport and Aviation Account

The Department of Revenue Services is required to deposit 75.3% of the petroleum
products gross earnings tax received from aviation fuel sources into the Connecticut
Airport and Aviation Account. Just under $3.3M was deposited into the account in FY21.
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PREPAID WIRELESS E-9-1-1 FEE

A Prepaid Wireless E 9-1-1 Fee is levied on each sale of prepaid wireless telecommunications
service by a retailer. A prepaid wireless telecommunications service is a wireless telephone
service that a consumer pays for in advance, and that is sold in predetermined units or dollars
that decline with use. Prepaid wireless telecommunications include prepaid wireless phone cards,
recharge or refill authorization codes, and prepaid cell phones or other prepaid wireless devices
preloaded with airtime minutes.

The fee is determined each June for the upcoming fiscal year by the Connecticut Public Utility
Regulatory Authority (PURA). All monies collected are deposited in the Enhanced 9-1-1
Telecommunications Fund. Retailers may retain 1% of the Prepaid Wireless E 9-1-1 Fees they
collect. Beginning July 1, 2022, marketplace facilitators are required to begin collecting and
remitting the E 9-1-1 fee.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $2,513,218
2019-20 2,429,088
2018-19 2,364,502

Basis and Rate

$0.66 for sales made on or after July 1, 2021.
$0.68 for sales made between July 1, 2020 and June 30, 2021.

Number of Taxpayers / Filing Frequency

273 Retailers
253 / Monthly
20 / Quarterly
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PROVIDER TAXES

There are three components to the provider taxes established under Chapter 211c of the
Connecticut General Statutes. They include: hospital user fee, intermediate care facility and
nursing home user fees. The previous fees for the Hospitals, Intermediate Care Facility User, and
Nursing Home User were sunset as of June 30, 2017. Each of the three provider types are outlined
below.

HOSPITALS

A quarterly user fee is imposed on each hospital’s net revenue for the provision of inpatient hospital
services and for the provision of outpatient hospital services.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $911,989,853
2019-20 870,562,036
2018-19 909,319,650
Exemptions
Specialty hospitals;

Hospitals which are licensed by the Department of Public Health as children’s
general hospitals;

Short-term acute hospitals operated exclusively by the State of Connecticut
(other than short-term acute hospitals operated by the state as a receiver); and
Financial hardship (outpatient services).

Basis and Rate

Effective July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2019, based upon a statutory formula, the effective
user fee rate on inpatient hospital services is 6%, and the effective user fee rate on
outpatient hospital services is 12.3325%. Effective July 1, 2019, based upon a statutory
formula, the effective user fee rate on inpatient hospital services is 6%, and the effective
user fee rate on outpatient hospital services is 12.0942%

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency
26 taxpayers/Quarterly
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PROVIDER TAXES (cont.)

INTERMEDIATE CARE FACILITY USER FEE

An intermediate care user fee is established on each residential facility for individuals with
intellectual disabilities that meet certain federal requirements, and, in the case of a private facility,
is licensed by the Department of Developmental Services.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $6,573,159
2019-20 7,115,759
2018-19 6,756,512

Basis and Rate

The intermediate care facility user fee is $27.76. The amount due from each facility is
determined by multiplying the user fee by the facility’s resident days for the calendar
quarter.

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency
66 taxpayers/Quarterly

NURSING HOME USER FEE

An nursing home user fee is established on each chronic and convalescent nursing home or rest
home with nursing supervision that is licensed as a nursing home by the Connecticut Department
of Public Health.

Revenue

FY 2020-21 $101,304,109
2019-20 114,012,296
2018-19 146,848,506

Basis and Rate

The user fee is $16.13 for municipally-owned facilities and facilities with over 230
beds and $21.02 for all other nursing homes. The amount due from each nursing
home is determined by multiplying the appropriate user fee by the home’s
resident days for the calendar quarter.

Number of Taxpayers / Filing Frequency
204 taxpayers/Quarterly
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PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANIES TAX

FY 2020-21

Exemptions

$255,055,839
266,635,911
273,076,420

e All sales for resale of water, steam, gas, and electricity to public service

corporations and municipal utilities;

e Gas and Electric sales to manufacturing in SIC codes 2000 through 3999 or NAICS

code sectors 31-33;

e Natural Gas sold to out-of-state users or entities;

e Sales by a gas company of natural gas or propane used as a motor vehicle fuel; and

¢ Retail sales of steam by utility companies.

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency

75 taxpayers:

60 Public Utility Companies/Quarterly

8 Community Antenna TV & Certified Competitive Video Provider

Companies/Quarterly
3 Satellite TV Companies /Quarterly
4 Railroad Companies/ Annually (July 1)

Basis and Rate

Community Antenna TV*

Certified Competitive Video Service Provider*

Satellite TV*
Railroad
Gas Companies

Gas sales to residential customers
Electric Distribution Companies &

Municipal Electric Utilities

5.25%

5.25%

5.25%

2-35%

5%

4%

6.8% for residential
customers

8.5% for nonresidential
customers (other than
manufacturers)

* Certified Competitive Video Service Providers, Community Antenna TV, and Satellite TV service
providers are subject to an additional 0.25% tax for a total tax rate equal to 5.25%. The additional tax is
used to fund the Public, Educational and Governmental Programming and Education Technology

Investment Account.

66
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PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANIES TAX (cont.)

Residential Credit

Companies claimed $7,551,499 in Fiscal Year 2020-21 under the one-percent
credit attributable to the sale of gas and electric power for residential use.

Manufacturing Companies Credit

$5,599,521 was claimed in credit for Fiscal Year 2020-21 for gas sales used directly
by a company engaged in a manufacturing production process.

Comparative Data

FY 2018-19 FY 2019-20 FY 2020-21

Cable, Satellite & Video $46,295,532 $49,819,514 $45,010,159
Electric & Power Companies 156,749,530 146,646,424 138,337,220
Gas Companies 66,665,641 64,553,262 69,081,934
Public, Educational & 3,333,321 4,961,607 1,959,971
Governmental Programming Tax*

Railroad Companies 32,396 655,104 666,555
Total Tax $273,076,420 $266,635,911 $255,055,839

* Additional tax on cable, satellite and video for deposit in the public, educational and governmental

programming and education technology investment account.

Fiscal Year 2020-21 Public Service Companies Tax Credits

Type of Credit Number of Credits Amount of Credit Claimed
Electronic Data Processing 4 $29,612,305
Neighborhood Assistance 1 46,783
Historic Structures Rehabilitation 1 19,935,316
Historic Homes 1 1,132,523
Urban & Industrial Site 1 22,394,550
Reinvestment

Total Credits 8 $73,121,477
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REAL ESTATE CONVEYANCE TAX

Connecticut imposes a tax on the conveyance of real property. The tax is assessed on the full
purchase price of the property and is determined by the classification of the property being
conveyed. Payment of the tax is the responsibility of the seller of the property and must be paid
before the deed can be recorded.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $374,662,454
2019-20 168,686,812

2018-19 200,792,382

Exemptions

68

Deeds which this state is prohibited from taxing under the constitution or laws of
the United States;
Deeds which secure a debt or other obligation;
Deeds to which this state or any of its political subdivisions or their respective
agencies is a party;
Deeds of release of property which is security for a debt or other obligation;
Deeds of partition;
Deeds made pursuant to mergers of corporations;
Deeds made by subsidiary corporation to its parent corporation for no
consideration other than the cancellation or surrender of the subsidiary’s stock;
Conveyance of an interest in real property pursuant to a decree of the superior
court; as the result of:

A. An annulment, dissolved marriage, or legal separation; or

B. Partition of joint and common estates;

C. Foreclosure by sale;
Certain exempt corporation transfers;
Transfers between spouses;
Instruments conveying property located in an enterprise zone or entertainment
district;
Conveyances of burial rights;
Land development rights to agricultural land under the state farmland
preservation program;
Transfers or conveyances of real estate to effectuate a mere change of identity or
form of ownership or organization where there is no change in beneficial
ownership;
Employee relocation company or employer re-sales within six months of
conveyance from relocated employee;
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REAL ESTATE CONVEYANCE TAX (cont.)

Exemptions (cont.)

e Deeds of sale in lieu of foreclosure that transfer the transferor’s principal
residence;

e Deeds pursuant to a judgment of foreclosure by market sale; and

e Conveyances made pursuant to a judgment of loss mitigation;

e Any instrument transferring a transferor’s principal residence where the gross
purchase price is insufficient to pay the sum of: the mortgages encumbering the
property transferred and any real property taxes and municipal utility or other
charges for which the municipality may place a lien on the property (such as sewer
taxes) and which have priority over the mortgages encumbering the property
transferred.

e An instrument that conveys a transferor’s principal residence with a deteriorated
concrete foundation caused by pyrrhotite, as determined by a professional
engineer. The exemption applies only to the first transfer after the engineer’s
written evaluation has been obtained by the transferor and is not available to any
seller who received financial assistance from the Crumbling Foundations
Assistance Fund.

Basis and Rate

Conveyances made on or after July 1, 2020:

Classification Rate
Unimproved Land 0.75%
Nonresidential property other than 1.25%
Unimproved Land
Residential Dwelling:
Portion $800,000 or less 0.75%
Portion between $800,000 and $2.5 million 1.25%
Portion that exceeds $2.5 million 2.25%
Residential Property other than Residential 0.75%
Dwelling
Delinquent Mortgage 0.75%
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REAL ESTATE CONVEYANCE TAX (cont.)
Fiscal Year 2020-21 Conveyances

Number of  Number of Non- Number of
Amount of Consideration Taxable Taxable Exempt Tax Due
Conveyances Conveyances Conveyances

Under $2,000 0 23,424 5,653 $ 0
$ 2,000to$ 29,999 1,571 438 81 178,710
$ 30,000 to $ 39,999 517 0 20 136,713
$ 40,000 to $ 49,999 649 0 * 219,527
$ 50,000 to $ 59,999 657 0 * 268,856
$ 60,000to$ 69,999 780 0 * 381,250
$ 70,000to $ 79,999 840 0 * 479,790
$ 80,000 to $ 89,999 914 0 18 581,882
$ 90,000 to $ 99,999 886 0 18 635,857
$100,000 to $109,999 1,022 0 13 812,475
$110,000 to $119,999 1,104 0 20 957,166
$120,000 to $129,999 1,340 0 14 1,263,838
$130,000 to $139,999 1,362 0 23 1,381,046
$140,000 to $149,999 1,341 0 26 1,459,412
$150,000 to $159,999 1,680 0 26 1,964,421
$160,000 to $169,999 1,714 0 30 2,123,597
$170,000 to $179,999 1,971 0 31 2,595,752
$180,000 to $189,999 2,030 0 22 2,825,597
$190,000 to $199,999 1,798 0 18 2,626,610
$200,000 to $249,999 10,518 0 * 17,824,138
$250,000 to $299,999 9,532 0 83 19,600,402
$300,000 to $399,999 13,069 0 67 34,032,968
$400,000 to $499,999 7,260 0 86 24,407,693
$500,000 to $599,999 4,234 0 34 17,593,307

Note that conveyances for no consideration or consideration of less than $2,000 are non-taxable.
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REAL ESTATE CONVEYANCE TAX
Fiscal Year 2020-21 Conveyances (cont.)

Number of = Number of Non- Number of
Amount of Consideration Taxable Taxable Exempt Tax Due
Conveyances Conveyances Conveyances

$600,000 to $699,999 2,701 0 18 13,311,911
$700,000 to $799,999 1,845 0 10 10,594,722
$800,000 to $899,999 1,326 0 15 8,894,006
$900,000 to $999,999 855 0 * 6,801,793
$1,000,000 to $1,100,000 478 0 * 4,443,976
$1,100,000 to $1,199,999 538 0 * 5,632,100
$1,200,000 to $1,299,999 551 0 * 6,444,907
$1,300,000 to $1,399,999 420 0 * 5,397,585
$1,400,000 to $1,499,999 338 0 * 4,799,962
$1,500,000 to $1,999,999 1,190 0 * 20,842,939
$2,000,000 to $2,499,999 654 0 * 15,552,542
$2,500,000 to $2,999,999 419 0 * 13,273,193
$3,000,000 to $3,499,999 240 0 * 10,030,023
$3,500,000 to $3,999,999 196 0 * 10,170,546
$4,000,000 to $4,499,999 111 0 * 6,684,875
$4,500,000 to $4,999,999 81 0 * 5,750,841
$5,000,000 and over 333 0 * 49,657,147
Total 79,065 23,862 6,417 $332,634,075

Note that conveyances for no consideration or consideration of less than $2,000 are non-taxable.

* Less than 10 conveyances.
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FY 2020-21 REAL ESTATE CONVEYANCE TAX BY TOWN

Non-taxable

Taxable Consideration for Taxable
Municipality Cand Exempt Conveyances Conveyances Tax Due
onveyances

ANDOVER 32 64 $17,111,964 $128,340
ANSONIA 139 315 77,608,982 586,742
ASHFORD 41 117 25,613,177 194,738
AVON 221 497 215,147,550 1,713,721
BARKHAMSTED 59 101 25,113,043 193,758
BEACON FALLS 65 143 40,434,462 323,017
BERLIN 211 402 124,613,133 1,002,288
BETHANY 33 133 48,899,448 374,908
BETHEL 178 525 223,644,751 1,797,416
BETHLEHEM 52 103 34,878,143 268,186
BLOOMFIELD 179 414 147,801,426 1,336,043
BOLTON 41 107 29,335,356 222,115
BOZRAH 26 50 14,639,671 125,909
BRANFORD 324 767 276,740,523 2,298,026
BRIDGEPORT 860 2,169 579,250,078 4,644,721
BRIDGEWATER 26 64 45,454,195 385,334
BRISTOL 515 1,372 354,389,387 2,808,709
BROOKFIELD 174 440 193,653,621 1,594,018
BROOKLYN 102 206 52,012,233 394,192
BURLINGTON 90 250 88,853,969 670,474
CANAAN 10 45 15,520,182 122,416
CANTERBURY 105 106 24,296,551 183,574
CANTON 88 267 91,431,715 717,572
CHAPLIN 20 48 9,721,621 77,223
CHESHIRE 238 528 231,881,573 1,969,069
CHESTER 47 96 36,301,365 290,330
CLINTON 184 414 154,628,119 1,245,062
COLCHESTER 126 342 109,103,950 860,036
COLEBROOK 11 56 15,978,102 120,836
COLUMBIA 67 129 40,671,739 336,258
CORNWALL 25 72 36,345,013 308,113
COVENTRY 177 343 88,317,449 670,018
CROMWELL 123 368 177,730,885 1,757,316
DANBURY 589 1,561 674,836,917 5,901,827
DARIEN 132 652 1,121,065,341 12,620,620
DEEP RIVER 57 129 41,388,361 339,664
DERBY 85 277 69,340,520 564,520
DURHAM 63 150 49,448,966 373,087
EASTFORD 32 57 18,939,669 176,470
EAST GRANBY 74 139 41,255,861 338,799
EAST HADDAM 116 287 79,224,645 616,064
EAST HAMPTON 192 404 115,782,930 885,174
EAST HARTFORD 250 902 245,299,882 2,057,869
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FY 2020-21 REAL ESTATE CONVEYANCE TAX BY TOWN (cont.)

Municipality

EAST HAVEN
EAST LYME
EASTON

EAST WINDSOR
ELLINGTON
ENFIELD
ESSEX
FAIRFIELD
FARMINGTON
FRANKLIN
GLASTONBURY
GOSHEN
GRANBY
GREENWICH
GRISWOLD
GROTON
GUILFORD
HADDAM
HAMDEN
HAMPTON
HARTFORD
HARTLAND
HARWINTON
HEBRON
KENT
KILLINGLY
KILLINGWORTH
LEBANON
LEDYARD
LISBON
LITCHFIELD
LYME
MADISON
MANCHESTER
MANSFIELD
MARLBOROUGH
MERIDEN
MIDDLEBURY
MIDDLEFIELD
MIDDLETOWN
MILFORD
MONROE
MONTVILLE
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Non-taxable
and Exempt
Conveyances

292
289
85
100
124
329
87
403
331
36
334
49
157
528
114
355
261
85
423
27
397
20
64
86
33
186
67
79
127
47
137
34
199
380
102
67
379
108
29
302
471
167
178

Taxable
Conveyances

676
520
231
283
334
911
229
1,666
678
66
844
160
282
1,704
299
747
578
218
1,206
50
1,049
48
136
211
141
447
171
171
395
107
286
94
535
1,074
288
168
1,120
262
101
949
1,251
497
419

Consideration for Taxable

Conveyances

$185,792,264
198,890,357
157,690,017
69,690,115
96,868,754
254,997,039
132,843,438
1,425,245,686
287,094,102
15,121,124
356,250,651
78,502,447
95,705,441
3,899,938,995
78,883,268
278,956,837
280,920,639
79,149,038
338,435,668
13,003,697
375,511,090
12,449,900
42,063,559
66,441,716
65,187,290
100,790,282
59,986,500
40,306,053
97,507,380
25,883,912
119,771,743
57,024,842
318,786,285
277,352,974
82,354,704
51,446,462
288,409,292
107,451,106
26,177,349
234,649,938
498,575,534
203,409,752
94,969,595

Tax Due

$1,439,772
1,616,503
1,271,590
563,609
746,925
2,214,101
1,135,340
13,044,692
2,413,706
117,684
2,877,429
702,896
731,481
51,446,013
672,215
2,361,718
2,329,383
642,448
2,746,573
106,028
3,151,083
93,374
318,227
510,263
560,534
786,397
457,319
308,880
732,155
205,129
976,938
494,204
2,659,017
2,335,146
633,133
387,098
2,354,768
853,388
201,785
1,878,091
4,069,869
1,586,133
730,788
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FY 2020-21 REAL ESTATE CONVEYANCE TAX BY TOWN (cont.)

Non-taxable Taxable Consideration for Taxable

Municipality (?(I)lr‘livlz;?:g:s Conveyances Conveyances Tax Due

MORRIS 38 88 $33,567,787 $257,008
NAUGATUCK 243 713 157,887,621 1,229,975
NEW BRITAIN 435 1,089 226,333,699 1,788,142
NEW CANAAN 174 693 1,087,131,168 11,764,541
NEW FAIRFIELD 171 421 202,925,460 1,675,983
NEW HARTFORD 74 170 49,829,624 391,622
NEW HAVEN 761 1,228 482,213,315 3,957,261
NEWINGTON 291 667 189,532,197 1,486,973
NEW LONDON 147 408 102,027,937 897,124
NEW MILFORD 273 796 293,910,458 2,419,211
NEWTOWN 271 805 370,632,004 2,909,444
NORFOLK 25 52 22,210,862 187,676
NORTH BRANFORD 121 264 83,264,506 658,508
NORTH CANAAN 25 83 25,367,708 215,009
NORTH HAVEN 211 517 181,587,795 1,430,936
NORTH STONINGTON 99 130 45,551,846 397,614
NORWALK 578 1,836 1,271,896,468 11,127,494
NORWICH 347 907 169,441,930 1,325,898
OLD LYME 181 288 142,713,680 1,173,954
OLD SAYBROOK 187 395 207,260,359 1,775,235
ORANGE 143 250 130,124,314 1,116,507
OXFORD 119 313 131,627,106 1,057,653
PLAINFIELD 162 394 98,897,247 775,725
PLAINVILLE 155 432 109,126,783 895,969
PLYMOUTH 97 279 54,397,259 412,920
POMFRET 57 82 28,744,140 230,119
PORTLAND 95 228 62,295,961 508,097
PRESTON 73 157 35,959,738 271,073
PROSPECT 83 218 64,556,532 489,299
PUTNAM 111 249 60,053,338 488,003
REDDING 81 300 199,282,665 1,636,953
RIDGEFIELD 222 851 650,286,389 5,793,937
ROCKY HILL 190 377 110,232,499 885,789
ROXBURY 49 96 85,557,602 826,887
SALEM 52 141 35,231,577 269,262
SALISBURY 75 180 156,063,800 1,526,496
SCOTLAND 19 39 8,991,849 67,439
SEYMOUR 138 375 145,739,599 1,333,350
SHARON 57 136 89,328,114 986,546
SHELTON 346 920 390,784,576 3,178,929
SHERMAN 69 133 81,158,188 681,105
SIMSBURY 215 628 218,752,766 1,699,839
SOMERS 127 229 77,728,229 628,428
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FY 2020-21 REAL ESTATE CONVEYANCE TAX BY TOWN (cont.)

Non-taxable

Taxable Consideration for Taxable
Municipality and Exempt Conveyances Conveyances Tax Due
Conveyances

SOUTHBURY 207 724 $226,275,633 $1,721,607
SOUTHINGTON 467 992 312,357,681 2,470,229
SOUTH WINDSOR 226 678 366,750,128 3,632,614
SPRAGUE 32 58 12,944,951 97,087
STAFFORD 125 347 63,710,191 521,087
STAMFORD 785 2,507 1,847,808,225 15,530,185
STERLING 42 107 22,735,035 170,628
STONINGTON 272 551 262,368,901 2,268,846
STRATFORD 452 1,357 490,224,789 3,981,360
SUFFIELD 170 375 137,021,998 1,109,446
THOMASTON 68 196 42,170,851 338,244
THOMPSON 134 245 55,875,812 423,969
TOLLAND 151 327 96,690,460 733,332
TORRINGTON 307 1,003 181,894,848 1,449,304
TRUMBULL 304 768 439,014,650 3,340,080
UNION 23 25 4,582,001 34,365
VERNON 176 604 132,438,749 1,029,935
VOLUNTOWN 41 80 19,828,525 151,048
WALLINGFORD 339 796 285,318,262 2,511,847
WARREN 34 75 63,363,233 667,439
WASHINGTON 60 163 170,160,062 1,818,210
WATERBURY 744 2,143 383,016,591 3,115,339
WATERFORD 228 610 189,003,677 1,518,325
WATERTOWN 264 478 138,542,234 1,102,669
WESTBROOK 229 314 104,473,449 844,635
WEST HARTFORD 526 1,336 618,648,949 5,226,283
WEST HAVEN 332 955 270,483,384 2,146,600
WESTON 82 379 352,628,881 3,164,944
WESTPORT 282 921 1,430,295,470 15,557,909
WETHERSFIELD 249 629 188,833,445 1,481,893
WILLINGTON 48 102 23,760,454 185,928
WILTON 118 573 561,424,538 4,930,956
WINCHESTER 108 283 71,514,832 558,430
WINDHAM 134 331 89,856,007 870,668
WINDSOR 232 599 175,608,508 1,363,476
WINDSOR LOCKS 88 265 76,975,065 673,927
WOLCOTT 136 398 105,774,080 820,500
WOODBRIDGE 76 178 80,515,358 616,028
WOODBURY 126 317 126,612,732 989,689
WOODSTOCK 105 233 63,008,782 483,141
TOWN UNKNOWN 120 273 121,560,406 1,093,541

TOTAL 30,279 79,065 $36,450,471,819 $332,634,075
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RENTAL SURCHARGE

The Rental Surcharge is imposed on the rental of machinery by a rental company. The surcharge
is imposed on machinery rented for a period of less than 365 days, or under an open-ended
contract for an undefined period.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $366,300
2019-20 373,961
2018-19 213,605

Exemptions

e Rentals by an agency of United States Government; and
e Rentals by a person that is not a rental company.

Number of Taxpayers / Filing Frequency
43 taxpayers / Annually

Basis and Rate

2.75% of the total rental charges on machinery.

Comparative Data
Gross collections of the surcharge by rental companies during 2020 amounted to
$2,054,258. Rental companies retained the difference between gross collections
and the amounts remitted to reimburse personal property taxes and titling and
registration fees paid in Connecticut.
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REPEALED TAXES

BUSINESS ENTITY TAX

The following business entities were subject to a Business Entity Tax if they were formed under
Connecticut law or were foreign entities that were transacting business in Connecticut and
required to register with or obtain a certificate of authority from the Connecticut Secretary of the
State:

e S corporations (Qualified subchapter S subsidiaries (QSSS) were not liable);
o Limited liability companies (LLCs or SMLLCs) that, for federal income tax purposes,
were either:
« Treated as a partnership, if it had two or more members; or
« Disregarded as an entity separate from its owner, if it had a single member;
o Limited liability partnerships (LLPs); and
Limited partnerships (LPs).

Public Act 19-117 sunset the Connecticut Business Entity Tax with the 2017 and 2018 biennial
period.

Revenue collected for Fiscal Year 2020-21: $ 6,550,175

GIFT TAX

The Connecticut Gift Tax applied to Connecticut taxable gifts made prior to January 1, 2005,
that had been taxable for federal purposes. The Gift Tax was replaced by the Estate and Gift Tax
for taxable gifts made on or after January 1, 2005.

Revenue collected for Fiscal Year 2020-21: $ 39,376

SUCCESSION TAX

The Succession Tax was levied on the transfer of property after death, with rates that varied
depending on the size of the estate and the relationship of the decedent to the beneficiary. The
Connecticut Succession Tax does not apply to estates of decedents dying on or after January 1,
2005.

Revenue collected for Fiscal Year 2020-21: $ 308,237
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SALES AND USE TAXES

Connecticut levies sales and use taxes on the gross receipts of retailers from the sale of tangible
personal property at retail, from the rental or leasing of tangible personal property, and on the
gross receipts from the rendering of certain services.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $ 5,355,064,228
2019-20 4,740,471,015
2018-19 4,720,321,873

Basis and Rate

6.35% on the gross receipts from the sale, rental or leasing of tangible
personal property, and the rendering of certain services
(general rate);

7.35% on the sale of meals and certain drinks;

7.75%  This tax rate applies to:
o Most motor vehicles with a sales price of more than $50,000;
o Items of jewelry with a sales price of more than $5,000; and;
o Articles of clothing or footwear or a handbag, luggage,
umbrella, wallet or watch, with a price of more than $1,000.

1.0%  on computer and data processing services;

2.99% for sales and purchases of vessels, motors for vessels, and
trailers used for transporting a vessel;

4.5% on the sale of a motor vehicle to a nonresident member of the
United States armed forces serving on active duty in
Connecticut;

9.35% for the rental or leasing of a passenger motor vehicle for a period
of 30 consecutive calendar days or less;

11.0% for occupancy in bed and breakfast establishments;

15.0% for the rental of rooms in a hotel or lodging house
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SALES AND USE TAXES (cont.)

Exemptions

Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-412 provides for various exemptions from the sales and use
taxes for the sale of, storage, use or other consumption of numerous goods and
services. The following table provides a summary of the major exemptions
claimed by businesses during Fiscal Year 2020-21.

FY 2020-21 SALES TAX EXEMPTIONS

(In Millions)

Deductible Item Total Deductions Revenue
Forgone

Sale for Resale - Goods $104,800.2 $6,659.6

Sale for Resale - Leases and Rentals 2,658.6 179.2

Sale for Resale - Labor and Services 2,964.6 188.3

Magazines by Subscription and All 1521 97

Newspapers

Trucks with Gross Vehicle Weight

Over 26,000 Pounds or Used for 178.5 11.3

Interstate Freight

Food Prodgcts for Human 10,103.4 646.1

Consumption

Fuel for Motor Vehicles 5,382.2 341.8

Elec‘tr1c1ty /Gas/Heating Fuel 28267 179.5

(residential)

Electricity ($150 monthly per business) 77.3 49

Electricity / Gas/Heating Fuel for

Manufacturing or Agricultural 854.5 54.3

Production

Aviation Fuel 94.4 6.0

Sales of Tangible Personal Property to 180.0 114

Farmers

Machinery/Materials/ Tools/Fuel -

Mfg. Product 2,040.6 129.6

Mailc}?mery/ Materials/ Equip. - 68.3 43

Printing

Machinery/Materials/ Tools/Fuel - 90 06

Comm. Fishing
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SALES AND USE TAXES (cont.)

FY 2020-21 SALES TAX EXEMPTIONS (cont.)

(In Millions)
Deductible Item Total Deductions Revenue
Forgone
Out-of-State - Sale of Goods 35,951.0 2,284.8
Out-of-State - Leases/Rentals 559.3 36.4
Out-of-State - Labor and Services 15,378.3 976.5
Sales of Motor Vehicles, Vessels to 1,793.9 120.8
Nonresidents
Prescription Medicines 8,719.5 553.7
Nonprescription Drugs and Medicines 148.3 9.4
Charitable/Religious - Sale of Goods 1,268.7 81.2
Charitable/Religious - Leases and 63.3 4.0
Rentals
Charitable/Religious - Labor and 1,016.2 64.5
Services
Government - Sale of Goods 13,272.5 843.3
Government- Leases and Rentals 85.0 54
Government- Labor and Services 7,770.2 493 4
Pollution Abatement 7.2 0.5
Non-Taxable Labor and Services 22,751.7 1,444.7
Business Services/Parent Owned 883.0 56.1
Subs.
Trade-ins of Like-Kind Personal 1,345.5 89.5
Property
Taxed Goods returned within 90 days 159.8 10.1
Oxygen, Plasma, Prostheses, etc. 333.0 21.1
Funeral Expenses up to $2,500 103.2 6.5
Repair or Replacement Parts/Repair 12202 776

Services to Aircraft

Certain Machinery - Manufacturing
Recovery Act of 1992 (Difference 271 1.7
between the Full and 3% Rates)
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SALES AND USE TAXES (cont.)

FY 2020-21 SALES TAX EXEMPTIONS (cont.)

(In Millions)

Deductible Item Total Deductions Revenue
Forgone

Sales of Machinery, Equipment,

Tools, Fuel, and Supplies used in the 241 1.6

Biotechnology Industry

Sales. of Repair and Maintenance 73.0 47

Service to Vessels

Computer and Data Processing

Services

(Difference between the Full and 1% 6,062.8 423.1

Rates)

Renovation Services to Residential 923.2 58.6

Property

Sales to Direct Payment Permit 1,008.2 64.0

Holders

Sales of College Textbooks 16.4 1.0

Sales Tax Holidays 23.3 1.5

Motor Vehicles Sold to Armed Forces

(Difference between the Full and 3.5 0.2

4.5% Rates)

Plhlrc}.lases of Cigarettes Taxed by a 7506 477

Distributor

Sales of Vessels and Motors or

Trailers for Vessels

(Difference between the Full and 167.3 10.6

2.99% Rates)

Other Adjustments - Sales of Goods 14,838.7 943.2

Other Adjustments - Leases and 448.6 288

Rentals

Othér Adjustments - Labor and 1936.8 123.0

Services

TOTAL $272,126.0 $17,315.8
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SALES AND USE TAXES (cont.)

Number of Taxpayers / Filing Frequency

174,124 Sales and Use Taxpayers
81,533 / Monthly
49,274 / Quarterly
43,317/ Annual

570 Room Occupancy Taxpayers
522 / Monthly
48 / Quarterly

Comparative Data

Table I provides a summary of collection amounts attributed to each component of the
Sales and Use taxes. Revenue from required license payments are included in both Sales
and Use and Room Occupancy collections.

TABLE I:

82

Sales and Use Tax Collections - Fiscal Years 2019 - 2021

FY 2018-19 FY 2019-20 FY 2020-21
Sales and Use $4,581,549,885 $4,620,921,987 $5,265,802,338
Individual Use 7,484,811 19,632,208 8,621,592
Room Occupancy 131,287,177 99,916,820 80,640,298
Total Tax $4,720,321,873  $4,740,471,015  $5,355,064,228
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SALES AND USE TAXES (cont.)

Table II provides a summary of all gross receipts reported under the sales and use taxes
attributable to various components. Note that the figures are gross, and do not necessarily
represent taxable receipts.

Table II:
Gross Receipts Reported on Sales Tax Returns
Periods Ending in Fiscal Year 2020-21
(In Millions)
Sales of Tangible LeaS{ng/Rental of Sales of
Tax Rate Personal Proper Tangible Personal Services
perty Property
6.35% - General Rate $239,070.4 $3,777.5 $54,664.4
7.35% - Meals and Beverages 8,031.1 0 0
7.75% - Luxury Goods 2,657.6 4523 0
9.35% - Motor Vehicle Rental 0 213.6 0

Table III provides a summary of taxable receipts reported under the sales and use taxes
attributable to room occupancy and the rental or leasing of passenger motor vehicles for
a period of 30 consecutive calendar days or less.

Table III:
Taxable Receipts
Periods Ending in Fiscal Year 2020-21
(In Millions)
Taxable Receipts Attributable to: Tax Rate Taxable
Receipts
Room Occupancy in Hotel or 15% $502.1
Lodging House
Room Occupancy in Bed and 11% 36
Breakfast Establishments '
Rental or Leasing of Motor Vehicles 9.35% 213.6

for 30 days or Less

Connecticut Department of Revenue Services FY 2020-21 Annual Report 83



SALES AND USE TAXES (cont.)

Table IV provides a summary of taxable purchases subject to business use taxes.

Table IV:
Purchases Subject to Business Use Tax
Periods Ending in Fiscal Year 2020-21
(In Millions)
Purchases of  Leasing/Rental of Purchases of
Tax Rate Tangible Personal =~ Tangible Personal Services
Property Property
6.35% - General Rate $5,859.3 $36.8 $1,175.6
7.35% - Meals and Beverages $7.6 0 0
7.75% - Luxury Goods $7.3 1.7 0
9.35% - Motor Vehicle Rental 0 0.3 0

Table V provides a summary of the fees collected for the Single-Use Plastic Bag Fee
through sales and use tax returns. Beginning August 1, 2019, retailers making sales in
Connecticut of tangible personal property to the public were required to collect a $0.10
fee per single-use plastic checkout bag. The fee was effective through June 30, 2021, after
which date, single-use plastic checkout bags are banned.

Table V:
Single-Use Plastic Bag Fees
Periods Ending in Fiscal Year 2020-21
(In Millions)
Number of Single-Use
Plastic Bags  Plastic Bag Fees
Single-Use Plastic Bag Fee 96.2 $9.6

Table VI on the following page provides total sales and use taxes revenues by the
economic activities sectors of the North American Industry Classification System
(NAICS) for Fiscal Year 2020-21. The revenues are from regular payments and represent
96% of the total sales and use taxes collected in FY 2020-21.
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SALES AND USE TAXES (cont.)

TABLE VI: Sales & Use Tax - From Periods Ending in Fiscal Year 2020-21

(In Millions)
Total Tax Due
Tax Due Tax Due Tax Due at
(Includes 9.35% Rate
at 6.35% at 7.35% 7.75% and Plastic Bag Fees)
727 Utilities $135.0 $0.0 $0.0 $135.0
73 Construction 177.1 1.1 0.0 178.3
31-33 Manufacturine 256.8 10.0 0.3 267.2
42 Wholesale Trade 269.1 0.9 0.6 270.7
441 Motor Vehicle and Parts Dealers 457.4 0.0 69.6 527.3
442 Furniture and Home Furnishings 135.3 0.0 0.0 1354
443 Electronics and Appliance Stores 934 0.0 0.0 93.4
444 Building Material & Garden Equipment 236.7 0.0 0.0 236.8
445 Food and Beverage Stores 204.4 46.5 0.0 253.7
446 Health and Personal Care Stores 42.3 1.2 0.0 43.8
447 Gasoline Stations 25.6 4.9 1.0 31.5
448 Clothing and Clothing Accessories Stores 182.0 0.2 12.5 195.2
451 Sporting Goods, Hobby, Book Stores 56.5 0.2 0.0 56.7
452 General Merchandise Stores 243.3 1.1 0.3 249.1
453 Miscellaneous Store Retailers 251.8 6.8 6.5 265.9
454 Non-store Retailers 420.6 2.3 0.8 423.8
44-45 Retail Sector Subtotal 2,349.3 63.2 90.7 2,512.6
52 Finance and Insurance 76.5 0.0 0.6 77.1
53 Real Estate and Rental and Leasing 128.7 0.7 14.1 160.1
54 Professional, Scientific and Technical 217.4 12.3 0.1 2299
Services
56 Administrative and Support 220.3 1.2 0.0 221.5
71 Arts, Entertainment & Recreation 244 8.5 0.0 33.0
72 Accommodation and Food Services 211 412.6 0.2 434.2
81 Other Services (except Public Admin) 188.0 2.6 5.6 196.1
All Other Businesses 116.5 3.3 24 124.2
TOTAL SALES & USE TAX $4,480.4  $533.2 $116.9 $5,159.2
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SOLID WASTE ASSESSMENT

The Solid Waste Assessment is levied on the owners of commercial resources recovery facilities
that process municipal solid waste to reclaim energy.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $2,877,298
2019-20 2,968,891
2018-19 2,709,403

Number of Taxpayers / Filing Frequency
5 taxpayers / Quarterly

Basis and Rate

$1.50 per ton of solid waste processed.
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TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX

An excise tax is imposed on all non-cigarette tobacco products such as cigars, stogies, snuff, pipe
and chewing tobacco. The tax is imposed when the tobacco products are manufactured, imported,
or purchased by distributors. Distributors must be licensed annually and remit the tax on a
monthly basis.

Revenue

FY 2020-21 $22,556,759
2019-20 21,727,005
2018-19 22,319,680

Exemptions
e Tobacco products exported from the State; and
e Tobacco products sold to the federal government.
Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency
226 distributors/Monthly

Basis and Rate

Tobacco products are taxed at 50% of the wholesale sales price, except for cigars
and snuff.

Cigars are taxed at 50% of the wholesale sales price, not to exceed 50¢ per cigar.

Snuff tobacco products are taxed at $3.00 per ounce.

Note: The tax on tobacco products is reduced by 50% for any product the Secretary of the United
States Department of Health and Human Services determines to be a “modified risk tobacco
product” pursuant to 21 U.S.C. §387k.

Type FY 2018-19 FY 2019-20 FY 2020-21

Other Tobacco Products* $8,539,063 $8,461,423 $9,237,449

Snuff Tobacco Products 12,101,112 11,996,673 11,451,600

Cigars in excess of $1.00 1,158,720 1,152,520 1,461,830
per cigar

* Other Tobacco Products consists of all taxable tobacco products other than snuff and cigars in
excess of $1.00 per cigar.
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TOURISM SURCHARGE

A surcharge is levied on the rental and leasing of passenger motor vehicles for a period of thirty
consecutive calendar days or less. Revenues generated by the surcharge are deposited into the
General Fund.

Revenue
FY 2020-21 $3,708,471
2019-20 4,870,452
2018-19 5,370,895

Exemption

The rental or leasing of a motor vehicle pursuant to a written agreement, which
has a term of more than thirty days.

Number of Taxpayers / Filing Frequency

22 taxpayers / Monthly
75 taxpayers / Quarterly

Basis and Rate

$1.00 per day or portion of a day, for the rental or lease of a passenger motor
vehicle delivered to a lessee in Connecticut (regardless of where the vehicle is
subsequently used) for a term of 30 consecutive calendar days or less.
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TRANSPORTATION NETWORK COMPANY FEE

Each transportation network company pays a fee on each prearranged ride that originates in this
state. The fee is paid over to the Department of Revenue Services and the revenue is reported
with the Admissions and Dues taxes.

Number of Taxpayers/Filing Frequency
4 /Quarterly

Basis and Rate

30¢ on each prearranged ride that originates in this state.
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UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAX

The Unrelated Business Income Tax is imposed on any trade or business conducted by a
tax-exempt organization that does not substantially relate to its tax-exempt purpose. The tax is
paid at the same rate as the Corporation Business Tax.

Revenue

FY 2020-21 $3,392,999
2019-20 4,082,151
2018-19 5,697,312

Number of Taxpayers / Filing Frequency
442 organizations / Annually

Basis and Rate

7.5% of the unrelated business income of the organization. A surtax of 10%
applies to organizations whose gross income is $100 million or more for income
years 2018 through 2022.

No minimum tax is required.

Credits

For the 2019 income year, 34 taxpayers claimed $31,303 in electronic data
processing equipment property tax credits.
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PENALTY AND INTEREST RECEIPTS

Failure to pay taxes or file tax returns in a timely manner generally results in a penalty to the
taxpayer of $50 or 10% of the tax due, whichever is greater. If the taxpayer is subject to a penalty
for late payment, the late filing penalty is not applicable.

The penalty for the late payment of Sales and Use taxes is 15% of the amount due, or $50,
whichever is greater. The penalty for failure to pay the use tax with the Connecticut income tax
return is 10%, reduced from 15%, to parallel the rate for the income tax.

Interest is also charged on any amount of tax due that is not paid on or before the due date or on
the underpayment of estimated tax requirements. Interest is charged on a monthly basis at a rate
of 1% per month from the due date.

Generally, tax payments satisfy penalty first, then interest, then tax, in that order. There was a
period starting July 1, 2018, that applied partial payments first to penalties, then to tax and
lastly to interest on such tax. This ordering remained in effect until 2019 legislation was passed
reverting back to the pre-July 2018 application of payments. For periods ending on or after
December 31, 2019, payments again satisfy penalty first, then interest, then tax.

Penalty and Interest Revenue

By Tax Source
Tax Type FY 2018-19 FY 2019-20 FY 2020-21
Corporation Penalty $2,635,494 $2,572,677 $3,508,796
Business Tax Interest 14,184,087 11,718,261 15,070,432
Income Tax and Penalty 30,998,784 23,131,504 32,800,974
Pass-Through Interest 55,454,492 48,746,393 56,504,430
Entity Tax
Sales & Use Taxes  Penalty 18,711,861 18,496,122 23,516,740
Interest 26,337,665 21,857,867 17,523,052
All Other Taxes Penalty 6,446,668 6,465,325 7,585,570
Interest 7,991,873 5,015,440 6,068,424
Total Penalty $58,792,807 $50,665,627 $67,412,080
Interest $103,968,117 $87,337,962 $95,166,338

Connecticut Department of Revenue Services FY 2020-21 Annual Report

91



TAX REFUNDS

The Department of Revenue Services issues refunds to taxpayers when an overpayment of tax
liability has been made. The refund is charged to the fund to which such tax, penalty or interest
was previously credited. Due to statutory allowances, refunds for Motor Fuel Taxes are allowed
in certain cases involving fuel sold to a Connecticut motorbus company or company engaged in

livery service.

Refunds of the Personal Income Tax owed to any person or entity with a debt obligation to
Connecticut, the Internal Revenue Service or another reciprocating state may be withheld to offset
the outstanding debt. There were 35,018 external offsets totaling $14,263,027 in Fiscal Year 2020-
21, compared to 38,685 external offsets that totaled $17,673,327 in Fiscal Year 2019-20.

AMOUNT OF TAXES REFUNDED

FY 2018-19 FY 2019-20 FY 2020-21
Admissions & Dues Tax $100,397 $100,137 $210,888
Alcoholic Beverages 286,693 69,755 165,400
Ambulatory Surgical Center 1,872 8,014 73,144
Beverage Container Deposits 45,622 162,914 33,660
Business Entity Tax 785,620 388,233 165,040
Business Use Tax 6,589,907 3,227,385 20,303
Cable, Satellite & Video Companies Tax 9,214,946 151,961 407,589
Cigarette Tax 365,908 500,536 381,838
Controlling Interest Transfer Tax 1,280,289 821,428 3,107,867
Corporation Business 160,515,152 103,249,089 84,007,370
Corporation R&D Credit Buyback 5,370,344 9,081,125 7,093,191
Dry Cleaning Establishment Surcharge 9,493 15,775 10,357
Electric & Power Companies 141,731 101,467 480,837
Electronic Cigarette Products 0 6,156 7,372
Estate & Gift Tax 15,603,596 12,891,881 17,560,219
Gas Companies 15,745 5,783 2,668
Gift Tax (Repealed) 34,823 4,703 0
Health Care Centers Tax 0 24,666 38,721
Hospitals Tax 2,425,948 715,540 70,985,185
Income Tax 1,182,932,242 1,210,432,320 | 1,534,020,497
Insurance Premiums Tax, Domestic 9,954,260 3,030,078 154,032
Insurance Premiums Tax, Foreign 8,775,329 9,206,836 20,736,885
Insurance, Non-admitted / Unauthorized 8,871 51,424 24,988
Intermediate Care Facility 2,200 30,953 19,027
Motor Carrier Road Tax 937,064 1,140,681 1,140,268
Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax - Gasoline 7,632,479 4,266,589 3,961,518
Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax - Special Fuel 34,546 44,061 202,068
Nursing Home User Fee 283,045 320,654 154,754
Occupational Tax 338,464 287,835 118,608
Pass-Through Entity 15,339,924 78,627,638 86,813,955
PEG Account 167,081 5,524 17,283
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TAX REFUNDS (cont.)

AMOUNT OF TAXES REFUNDED (cont.)

FY 2018-19 FY 2019-20 FY 2020-21
Petroleum Products Gross Earnings 23,544,615 24,946,385 6,492,230
Real Estate Conveyance Tax 825,031 728,203 3,711,096
Room Occupancy Tax 206,900 66,055 163,444
Sales & Use Taxes 37,106,316 53,882,943 19,305,219
Solid Waste Tax 44,445 40,573 0
Tobacco Products Tax 77,577 54,939 159,217
Unrelated Business Income Tax 484,260 1,456,014 3,195,383
Withholding 11,445,670 10,793,643 12,605,978
Miscellaneous 13,440 4,991 6,167
Total $1,502,941,845 | $1,530,944,888 | $1,877,754,269

Connecticut Department of Revenue Services FY 2020-21 Annual Report

93




FY 2020-21 ANNUAL REPORT
STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES

PREPARED BY: EDUCATION & OUTREACH UNIT

Susan B. Sherman
Ernest Adamo
Michael J. Galliher
Christopher Chmura
Samantha Davis
Janice Howell
Rajiv Mavumkal
Amy Nguyen



	0_i_cover
	0_ii_AnnRpt_MDBCoverLetter_2021Revised (003)
	01_directory
	02_mission
	10_annual report LIT
	17D_CTtaxes
	18_STATE REVENUE SOURCES
	19_adc
	20_alcbev
	21_ambulatory_surgical_centers
	22_occupational
	23_bottledeposit
	25_cig_contsubs
	26_contint
	27_corptax
	37_drycln
	38_electronic_cigarette
	39_estate and gift
	41_incometax
	43_insur
	45_motcarrier
	46_motvehfuel
	48_paid_preparer_fee
	50_pass through entity
	52_petroleum
	53_prepaid wireless
	53_Provider Taxes
	54_pubserv
	55_real estate conveyance
	57_rectable
	58_rectable
	59_rentsurch
	60_repealed
	62_salesuse
	65_solwaste
	67_tobacco
	68_tourism
	69_transportation network company
	70_unrelated
	73_penalty and interest
	74_taxrefunds
	86_backcover



