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INFORMATIONAL PUBLICATION 

 
Attorney Occupational Tax and Client Security Fund Fee 

 

Purpose: This Informational Publication has been 

updated with answers to frequently asked questions to 

inform attorneys of the electronic filing option that is 

available for filing and paying the Attorney 

Occupational Tax. Attorneys can use myconneCT, the 

Department's state of the art online filing and paying 

system to file returns, make payments, and update 

account information. 

In addition, this Informational Publication has been 

updated with answers to frequently asked questions to 

inform employers of the additional method available 

for filing and paying the Attorney Occupational Tax 

on behalf of employees. Employers may use either the 

Key and Send filing method or the bulk filing method 

to file Attorney Occupational Tax returns using 

myconneCT. 
 

 

Effective Date: For calendar years beginning on or 

after January 1, 2022. 
 

 

Statutory Authority: Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-30, 

51-81b, and 51-81d. 
 

 

1. Who is subject to the attorney occupational 
tax? 

Any person admitted as an attorney by the judges of 

the Connecticut Superior Court and who engaged in 

the practice of law in Connecticut during the 

preceding calendar year is subject to the tax and 

required to file Form 472, Attorney Occupational Tax 

Return. 
 

 

2. What does admitted as an attorney mean? 

For attorney occupational tax purposes, being admitted 

as an attorney means that you were sworn in as an 

attorney by a judge of the Connecticut Superior Court. 

Being admitted as an attorney also includes being 

admitted: 

• On motion and temporarily permitted to practice 

law in Connecticut; or 

• Pro hac vice by the Superior Court, Appellate 

Court, or Connecticut Supreme Court to appear in a 

Connecticut state court proceeding. 

3. What does being engaged in the practice of 
law in Connecticut mean?  

For attorney occupational tax purposes, being engaged 
in the practice of law in Connecticut means 
performing any act in Connecticut considered to be the 
practice of law, as defined in Connecticut Practice 
Book, Section 2-44A, Definition of the Practice of Law. 

You are engaged in the practice of law if you are 
employed as an attorney, or employed by an employer 
that is not a law firm, such as an accounting firm or an 
insurance company, and being an attorney is a factor in 
your employment. 
 

 

4. How do I report the attorney occupational 
tax and when is it due? 

File and pay Form 472 electronically using myconneCT 
at portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT. 

Use myconneCT to file taxes, make payments, view 
filing history, and communicate with the agency simply 
and more efficiently on virtually any mobile device, 
including laptops, tablets, and smartphones, 24 hours a 
day, 7 days a week. 

If you make an error on your return, you must correct 
the error by filing an amended Form 472 using 
myconneCT. 

A paper return may be filed only if a waiver from the 
electronic filing requirement has been granted. To 
apply for a waiver from the electronic filing 
requirement, complete Form DRS-EWVR, Electronic 
Filing and Payment Waiver Request. 

The return is due January 15 of each year whether or 
not the tax is owed. If the due date falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday or legal holiday, the return will be considered 
timely if filed by the next business day. 
 

 

5. Can a firm, or other employer, file and pay on 
behalf of its employees? 

Yes. Employers filing and paying the tax on behalf of 
employees may use the Key and Send or the bulk filing 
option to file their Attorney Occupational Tax returns. 
The bulk filing option allows for multiple returns to be 
uploaded using the pre-defined Comma Separated 
Value (CSV) file type. For more information on this 
process, please see Third Party Bulk Filers (TPBF) at 
portal.ct.gov/DRS/myconneCT/TPBF. 

https://portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT
https://portal.ct.gov/DRS/myconneCT/TPBF
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6. What if I pay or file late?  

If you are subject to the tax and pay late, the late 

payment penalty is $50.  

To be considered timely, an EFT payment must be 

initiated on or before the due date of such payment. 

If you fail to remit payment electronically, DRS will 

impose a non-compliance penalty of 10% of the 

amount you were required to pay electronically. 

Interest is computed at 1% per month or fraction of a 

month on the underpayment of tax from the original 

due date of the return through the date of payment.  

If you are exempt from the tax but file Form 472 late, a 

late filing penalty of $50 may be imposed. 

If you receive a waiver from electronic filing, your 

paper return will meet the timely filed and timely 

payment rules if the U.S. Postal Service cancellation 

date, or the date recorded or marked by a designated 

private delivery service (PDS) using a designated type 

of service, is on or before the due date. Not all services 

provided by these designated PDSs qualify. See Policy 

Statement 2016(4), Designated Private Delivery 

Services and Designated Types of Service. 
 

 

7. What is the amount of the attorney 

occupational tax? 

The attorney occupational tax is $565 per calendar 

year. If you were admitted as an attorney and engaged 

in the practice of law in Connecticut but not for the 

entire calendar year, the tax due is still $565. 

No proration of the tax is authorized. If you were 

admitted as an attorney and engaged in the practice of 

law in Connecticut for the entire calendar year, and 

were subject to tax for part of the year and exempt from 

the tax for the rest of the year, the tax due is still $565. 
 

 

8. Is a person who is an authorized house 

counsel under Connecticut Practice Book 

Section 2-15A, Authorized House Counsel, 

subject to the attorney occupational tax? 

Yes. A person who is an authorized house counsel is 

subject to the attorney occupational tax and is required 

to file Form 472 because he or she is both certified as 

house counsel in Connecticut under Section 2-15A by 

the Superior Court and engaged in the practice of law 

in Connecticut. Under Section 2-15A, a person who 

wishes to be certified as authorized house counsel is 

required to file an application with the Bar Examining 

Committee. Upon recommendation of the Bar 

Examining Committee, the Superior Court may certify 

the applicant as authorized house counsel. 
 

 

9. Is a person who is authorized to provide 
legal services on a temporary basis in 
Connecticut under Connecticut Practice 
Book, Rules of Professional Conduct, 
Rule 5.5 subparagraph (c)(3) or (4), 
Unauthorized Practice of Law, subject to the 
attorney occupational tax?  

No. Although a person authorized to provide legal 
services on a temporary basis in Connecticut under 
Rule 5.5, subparagraph (c)(3) or (4) is engaged in the 
practice of law in Connecticut, he or she is not admitted 
as an attorney by the judges of the Superior Court and, 
therefore, is not subject to the attorney occupational tax 
and is not required to file Form 472. 

A person wishing to obtain the privileges described in 
subparagraph (c)(3) or (4) of Rule 5.5 is required to 
notify the Statewide Bar Counsel. 
 

 

10. Who is exempt from the attorney 
occupational tax?  

Even if you were admitted as an attorney and were 
engaged in the practice of law in Connecticut, you may 
be exempt from the tax if one of the following 
exemptions applies to you. Form 472 must be filed on 
or before the due date even if you claim one of the 
following exemptions. 

A. Your name was removed from the roll of 
attorneys maintained by the Clerk of the Superior 
Court for the Judicial District of Hartford. If your 
name was removed from the roll anytime during the 
calendar year, even on December 31, you are exempt 
from the tax for that year. 

Attorneys who die are considered to have had their 
names removed from the roll as of the date of death and 
are exempt for the calendar year during which their 
death occurs. 

Attorneys who are disbarred are considered removed 
from the roll and exempt for the calendar year 
disbarment occurs. A disbarred attorney who is 
subsequently readmitted to practice law in Connecticut 
is subject to the tax for the year the readmission occurs. 

Attorneys suspended from the practice of law for a 
definite period are not considered removed from the 
roll and are subject to the tax. 

B. You were not engaged in the practice of law as an 

occupation, and received less than $1,000 from the 

practice of law in Connecticut. The requirements of 

this exemption are conjunctive. You must not have 
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been engaged in the practice of law in Connecticut 

as an occupation, and the compensation you received 

from the practice of law in Connecticut must have been 

less than $1,000 during the calendar year. 

Not being engaged in the practice of law as an 

occupation, means you were unemployed or primarily 

engaged in an occupation other than law and being an 

attorney was not a factor in your employment. For 

example, you may have been employed as a school 

teacher, physician, or law enforcement officer while 

admitted as an attorney in Connecticut. If you were 

employed in an occupation other than law and you 

received less than $1,000 from performing legal work, 

you qualify for the exemption. 

If you engaged in the practice of law in Connecticut as 

an occupation, you do not qualify for this exemption 

even if you received less than $1,000 during the 

calendar year from the practice of law in Connecticut. 

C. You were a judge, senior judge, referee or 

magistrate and did not otherwise engage in the 

practice of law in Connecticut. This exemption 

applies to all Connecticut state court judges including 

family support magistrates authorized under Conn. 

Gen. Stat. § 46b-231, magistrates appointed under 

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 51-193l et seq., magistrates 

appointed by the Claims Commissioner under Conn. 

Gen Stat. § 4-142b, probate court judges, and federal 

judges who worked exclusively as judges or 

magistrates and did not otherwise engage in the 

practice of law in Connecticut during the calendar year. 

D. You were a Connecticut state employee employed 

as an attorney and did not otherwise engage in the 

practice of law in Connecticut. This exemption 

applies only if you were a Connecticut state employee 

employed as an attorney for the entire year, or for the 

entire portion of the year during which you were 

admitted to practice in Connecticut, and did not 

otherwise engage in the practice of law in Connecticut 

during the calendar year.  

If you worked as a contractor or vendor to the State of 

Connecticut, such as a per diem advocate for the 

Juvenile Court or a special public defender, you were 

not a state employee for purposes of this exemption. 

Employees of the Probate Court Administrator are state 

employees for purposes of this exemption. Employees 

of a Connecticut Probate Court, see Exemption G, 

below. 

If you were employed by the State of Connecticut, but 

not as an attorney, you do not qualify for this 

exemption. 

E. You were a federal government employee 

employed as an attorney and did not otherwise 

engage in the practice of law in Connecticut. This 

exemption applies only if you were a federal 

government employee employed as an attorney by the 

federal government for the entire calendar year, or for 

the entire portion of the year during which you were 

admitted to practice in Connecticut, and did not 

otherwise engage in the practice of law in Connecticut 

during the calendar year. 

If you were employed by the federal government, but 

not as an attorney, you do not qualify for this 

exemption. 

F. You were an employee of a Connecticut political 

subdivision employed as an attorney and did not 

otherwise engage in the practice of law in 

Connecticut. This exemption applies only if you were 

a Connecticut political subdivision employee employed 

as an attorney for the entire year or for the entire 

portion of the year during which you were admitted to 

practice in Connecticut and did not otherwise engage in 

the practice of law in Connecticut during the calendar 

year. 

If you worked as a contractor or vendor to a Connecticut 

political subdivision, you were not an employee of a 

Connecticut political subdivision for purposes of this 

exemption. 

A Connecticut political subdivision is any Connecticut 

city or town, any tax district within a Connecticut city 

or town, or any district comprised of two or more 

Connecticut cities or towns. 

If you were employed by a Connecticut political 

subdivision, but not as an attorney, you do not qualify 

for this exemption. 

G. You were an employee of a Connecticut Probate 

Court, employed as an attorney, and did not 

otherwise engage in the practice of law in 

Connecticut. This exemption applies only if you were 

a Connecticut Probate Court employee employed as an 

attorney for the entire year, or for the entire portion of 

the year during which you were admitted to practice in 

Connecticut, and did not otherwise engage in the 

practice of law in Connecticut during the calendar year. 

If you worked as a contractor or vendor to a 

Connecticut Probate Court, you were not an employee 

of a Connecticut Probate Court for purposes of this 

exemption. 

H. You engaged in the practice of law exclusively 

outside Connecticut. This exemption does not apply if 

you performed any act in Connecticut that is considered 
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to be the practice of law, as defined in Connecticut 

Practice Book Section 2-44A, during the calendar year. 

This is true whether or not you received remuneration 

for the act or the act was connected with your 

employment as an attorney outside Connecticut. 

Examples of acts considered to be the practice of law in 

Connecticut include, but are not limited to: 

• Entering an appearance in a case in Connecticut 

court or Connecticut federal district court; 

• Meeting with a client in Connecticut; or 

• Witnessing a document or taking an acknowledgment 

as a Commissioner of the Superior Court in 

Connecticut. 

This exemption does not apply to any person 

authorized to provide legal services on a temporary 

basis in Connecticut under Connecticut Practice 

Book, Rules of Professional Conduct, Rule 5.5 

subparagraph (c)(3) or (4), Unauthorized Practice of 

Law. Any such person is not subject to the attorney 

occupational tax and is not required to file Form 472. 

See Question 9 on Page 2.  

I. You were on active duty with the U.S. armed 

forces for more than six months during the calendar 

year. You may claim this exemption even if you were 

otherwise engaged in the practice of law in Connecticut 

during the portion of the calendar year when you were 

not on active duty. 

J. You retired from the practice of law. This 

exemption applies if you were placed on retirement 

status at any time during the calendar year and filed a 

written notice of retirement with the Statewide Bar 

Counsel. For example, if you were placed on retirement 

status on December 31, you may claim the exemption 

for the entire calendar year if you notified the Statewide 

Bar Counsel of your retirement in writing. You have 

the option to request retirement with the right of 

revocation, or permanently. 

To request retirement status, complete Form JD-GC-24, 

Attorney Revocable Retirement Written Notice, or 

Form JD-GC-26, Attorney Permanent Retirement 

Written Notice. 

For more information visit the Statewide Grievance 

Committee website at: 

www.jud.ct.gov/SGC/retirement.htm 

The Statewide Bar Counsel will notify you of the 

decision on your request and the effective date of your 

retirement if the request is granted. 

To obtain Form JD-GC-24 or Form JD-GC-26: 

1. Download from the Internet by visiting the 

Connecticut Judicial Branch website at 

www.jud.ct.gov/SGC; or 

2. Call: 

• Statewide Grievance Committee: 860-296-3848, 

• Office of the Client Security Fund 

Committee: 860-296-3845, or 

• Office of the Clerk of the Superior Court for the 

Judicial District of Hartford: 860-548-2700. 

You are not required to file a written notice of 

retirement when you retire from the practice of law; 

however, if you do not do so, you do not qualify for 

this exemption. 
 

 

11. If I am otherwise exempt from the attorney 

occupational tax, does performing pro 

bono legal services affect my exempt 

status?  

If you are otherwise exempt from the attorney 

occupational tax, performing pro bono legal services in 

Connecticut for no consideration, rather than for 

reduced consideration, does not change your exempt 

status. 

For example, an attorney who is admitted as an 

attorney in New York and Connecticut, and who is 

engaged in the practice of law exclusively in New York 

except for performing pro bono legal services in 

Connecticut, is not subject to the tax. 

Providing free legal services to friends or relatives is 

not considered pro bono work. 
 

 

12. What if my address changes?  

If your address changes, you should notify both DRS 

and the Statewide Grievance Committee. Notifying only 

DRS does not constitute compliance with Connecticut 

Practice Book Section 2-26 or 2-27(d). 

To change your address electronically with DRS: 

1. Log into myconneCT. 

2. Open the More... menu. 

3. Locate the Taxpayer Updates group and click the 

Manage Names & Addresses hyperlink. 

4. Continue to follow the prompts on the screen. 

https://www.jud.ct.gov/SGC/retirement.htm
https://www.jud.ct.gov/SGC
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To change your address by mail with DRS: 

Submit a written notice of the change, include your 

Juris Number or Connecticut Tax Registration Number 

as it appears on the front of this return, and mail to: 

Department of Revenue Services 

Operations Bureau/Registration 

PO Box 2937 

Hartford CT 06104-2937 

To change your address with the Statewide Grievance 

Committee: 

• Visit the Connecticut Judicial Branch website at 

www.jud.ct.gov to download form JD-GC-10, 

Attorney Registration, Change of Information; 

• Return form JD-GC-10 to the Statewide Grievance 

Committee at the address shown on the form; and 

• Indicate your change of address on Form JD-GC-9, 

Attorney Registration, which is sent to you 

annually by the Statewide Grievance Committee. 
 

 

13. How do I obtain a juris number? 

The Judicial Branch assigns and mails your juris 

number to you after you have been sworn in to the bar. 

You can inquire about your juris number by:  

• Internet: Visit the Judicial Branch website at 

www.jud.ct.gov (Select Attorneys, then Look-up 

(Attorneys & Cases), then Attorney/Firm Look-up);  

• Telephone: Call the Statewide Grievance 

Committee at 860-296-3848; or  

• Email: Statewide.Grievance@jud.ct.gov. 

Do not call DRS to obtain your juris number. 
 

 

14. What is the Client Security Fund? 

The Client Security Fund was established by the judges 

of the Superior Court to promote public confidence in 

the judicial system and the integrity of the legal 

profession. This fee is not collected by DRS. The fund 

reimburses clients for losses resulting from dishonest 

conduct, as defined in Connecticut Practice Book 

Section 2-69, of attorneys practicing law in 

Connecticut. Each attorney admitted to practice law in 

Connecticut and each judge, judge trial referee, state 

referee, family support magistrate, family support 

referee, and workers compensation commissioner must 

pay an annual fee to finance the Client Security Fund. 

See Connecticut Practice Book Section 2-70. 

The fee amount is established by the judges of the 

Superior Court based on the analysis and 

recommendation of the Client Security Fund 

Committee. Currently, the fee is $75.00. The fee may 

be paid online by attorneys registered with the Judicial 

Branch with access to E-Services at www.jud.ct.gov. 

For more information, contact the Office of the Client 

Security Fund Committee by: 

• Email: Security.Fund@jud.ct.gov; 

• Telephone: 860-296-3845; or 

• Internet: Frequently Asked Questions: 

www.jud.ct.gov/CSF/FAQ.htm#FundFee 
 

 

15. If I am exempt from the attorney 
occupational tax, am I exempt from the 
Client Security Fund fee? 

No. You may be exempt from the attorney occupational 

tax but not exempt from the Client Security Fund fee. 

You are exempt from the Client Security Fund fee if 

during the calendar year for which the fee is assessed 

you: 

• Served on active duty in the armed forces of the 

United States for a period of more than six months; 

• Retired from the practice of law by filing the 

notice, with the Clerk of the Superior Court for the 

Judicial District of Hartford, required by 

Connecticut Practice Book Section 2-55; 

• Resigned from the bar; or 

• Were disbarred. 

If during the calendar year for which the fee is assessed 

you do not engage in the practice of law in Connecticut 

as an occupation and receive less than $1,000 in legal 

fees or other compensation for services involving the 

practice of law in Connecticut, you are partially exempt 

from the client security fund fee and you are required to 

pay one-half of the fee amount. To claim the full or 

partial exemption, file Form JD-GC-22, Claim of 

Exemption Client Security Fund Fee. You may 

download this form from the Judicial Branch website at 

www.jud.ct.gov. 
 

 

16. Is a person who is an authorized house 
counsel under Connecticut Practice Book 
Section 2-15A subject to the Client Security 
Fund fee?  

Yes. See Connecticut Practice Book Section 2-15A(d)(3). 

https://www.jud.ct.gov/
https://www.jud.ct.gov/
mailto:Statewide.Grievance@jud.ct.gov
https://www.jud.ct.gov/
mailto:Security.Fund@jud.state.ct.us
https://www.jud.ct.gov/CSF/FAQ.htm#FundFee
https://www.jud.ct.gov/
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17. Is a person who is authorized to provide 
legal services on a temporary basis in 
Connecticut under Connecticut Practice 
Book, Rules of Professional Conduct, Rule 
5.5 subparagraph (c)(3) or (4), subject to 
the Client Security Fund Fee?  

No. 
 

 

Effect on Other Documents: This Informational 

Publication 2022(11), Attorney Occupational Tax and 

Client Security Fund Fee, modifies and supersedes 

Informational Publication 2020(15), Attorney 

Occupational Tax and Client Security Fund Fee, which 

may no longer be relied upon on after the date of 

issuance of this Informational Publication. 
 

 

Effect of This Document: An Informational 

Publication issued by DRS addresses frequently asked 

questions about a current position, policy, or practice, 

usually in a less technical question and answer format. 

For the Latest News: Visit the DRS website at 

portal.ct.gov/DRS. 

 

 

E-Services Update 

Use myconneCT to file taxes, make payments, view 

filing history, and communicate with the agency simply 

and more efficiently on virtually any mobile device, 

including laptops, tablets, and smartphones, 24 hours a 

day, 7 days a week. For updated information, please visit 

the DRS website at portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT. 
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