

450 Columbus Blvd Ste 1 Hartford CT 06103-1837

**ANNOUNCEMENT** 

## Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax Rate on Diesel Fuel Effective July 1, 2021

**Purpose:** This Announcement notifies taxpayers of the motor vehicle fuels tax rate per gallon on the sale or use of diesel fuel that goes into effect for the 12-month period beginning July 1, 2021.

Effective Date: July 1, 2021.

**Statutory Authority:** Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-458(a)(2), and Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-458h.

**Decrease in Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax Rate on Diesel Fuel:** The Commissioner of Revenue Services has calculated the new diesel fuel tax rate for the 12-month period beginning July 1, 2021. Effective July 1, 2021, the diesel fuel tax rate is  $40.1\phi$  per gallon, which will remain in effect through June 30, 2022. This represents a  $4.5\phi$  decrease to the tax rate from the prior fiscal year  $(44.6\phi)$  per gallon.

**Effect on Other Documents:** The following forms have been revised to reflect the rate on diesel fuel discussed in this Announcement for the 12-month period effective July 1, 2021, through June 30, 2022.

- **Form OP-216**, Special Fuel Tax Return;
- Form AU-724, Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax Refund Claim Off Highway, Marine, Governmental, School Bus, and Waste Hauling Use;
- Form AU-725, Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax Refund Claim Farm Use;
- Form AU-736, Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax Refund Claim, Motor Bus, Taxicab, & Livery;
- Form AU-737, Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax Refund Claim, Airport Service Motor Bus;
- Form AU-738, Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax Refund Claim, Nutrition Program; and
- Form AU-741, Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax Refund Claim, Commuter Vans.

**Effect of This Document:** Announcements alert taxpayers to new developments (other than newly enacted or amended Connecticut or federal laws or newly released judicial decisions), including new administrative positions, policies, or practices.

For Additional Information on the Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax: Call the Business Tax Subdivision/Excise Tax Field Unit at **860-541-3224**, Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

For Further Information: Visit the DRS website at portal.ct.gov/DRS.

Call DRS Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at:

- **800-382-9463** (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area only); **or**
- **860-297-5962** (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users **only** may transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. Taxpayers may also call 711 for relay services. A taxpayer must tell the 711 operator the number he or she wishes to call. The relay operator will dial it and then communicate using a TTY with the taxpayer.

## **E-Services Update**

A new modernized system, **myconneCT**, will replace the *TSC* (Taxpayer Service Center) as part of a multi-year, multi-phase project. Many tax types are already able to be filed using **myconneCT** and more will be added each year. Use **myconneCT** to file taxes, make payments, view filing history, and communicate with the agency simply and more efficiently on virtually any mobile device, including laptops, tablets, and smartphones, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. For updated information on the progress of this project and the transition schedule for specific taxes, please visit the DRS website at **portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT**.