
This return MUST be filed electronically!

DO NOT MAIL paper return to DRS.

Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to the Department of 
Revenue Services (DRS) is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other 
than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Department of Revenue Services 
State of Connecticut
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Form 472
Attorney Occupational  
Tax Return
(Rev. 12/22)

Sign 
Here

Keep a 
copy of 

this return
for your
records.

DO NOT MAIL paper tax return to DRS.

This return MUST be filed electronically!

M  M  -  D  D  -  Y  Y  Y  Y

Signature of attorney	 Date (MMDDYYYY)	 Telephone number

Print name of attorney	 Title

Email address of attorney

Paid preparer’s signature	 Date (MMDDYYYY)	 Telephone number

Firm’s name and address	 Firm’s FEIN

			  Preparer’s SSN or PTIN

M  M  -  D  D  -  Y  Y  Y  Y

   Taxpayer Name									         Connecticut Tax Registration Number

   Address (number and street), apartment number, PO Box	 				    Social Security Number (SSN)

   City, town, or post office				    State	 ZIP code			   Juris Number
								              

u

DO NOT MAIL paper tax return to DRS.

This return MUST be filed electronically!

M  M  -  D  D  -  Y  Y  Y  Y

Received by DRS

u

u

u

u

Amended returnAddress change

Section II - Tax Computation

1. Occupational Tax............................................................................................................. 1. 	 565	.00

2. Penalty: See instructions................................................................................................. 2. u 	 .00

3. Interest: See instructions................................................................................................. 3. u	 .00

4. Total amount due: Add Lines 1, 2, and 3......................................................................... 4. u	 .00

20_ _

u

Visit us at portal.ct.gov/DRS for more information.

Form 472 MUST be filed and paid electronically using myconneCT. Do not send this paper return to the Department of Revenue 
Services (DRS), unless you have been granted a waiver by DRS. See instructions for Electronic Filing Waiver.

https://portal.ct.gov/DRS


Section I - Exemptions

If you claim exemption from the occupational tax for the calendar year for which you are filing, check one of the following boxes. If more than 
one statement is true, check the primary reason you are exempt from the tax. If you are not exempt from the tax, skip to Section II, Line 1.

Check one:

u	 The attorney named above died during the calendar year. Enter date of death:

u	 My name was removed from the roll of attorneys maintained by the Clerk of the Superior Court for the Judicial District of 

	
Hartford.

u	 I engaged in the practice of law, but not as an occupation, and I received less than $1000 in compensation from engaging  

	
in the practice of law.

u	 I was a judge, senior judge, or referee. (Probate judges who otherwise engage in the practice of law cannot claim this 

	
exemption.)

u	 I was a Connecticut state employee employed as an attorney and I did not otherwise engage in the practice of law. 

u	 I was a federal government employee employed as an attorney and I did not otherwise engage in the practice of law. 

u	 I was a Connecticut political subdivision employee employed as an attorney and did not otherwise engage in the practice 

	
of law.

u	 I was a Connecticut probate court employee employed as an attorney and did not otherwise engage in the practice of law.

u	 I engaged in the practice of law exclusively outside of Connecticut.

u	 I did not work or was not employed as an attorney.

u	 I was on active duty with the United States Armed Forces for more than six months.

u	 I retired from the practice of law and filed written notice of retirement with the Clerk of the Superior Court for the Judicial District 

	
of Hartford.
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u

Visit us at portal.ct.gov/DRS for more information.

https://portal.ct.gov/DRS
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Form 472 Instructions
How to File
File this return electronically using myconneCT at 
portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT.
Use myconneCT to file taxes, make payments, view filing 
history, and communicate with the agency simply and more 
efficiently on virtually any mobile device, including laptops, 
tablets, and smartphones, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Electronic Payment Options
Visit myconneCT to make an electronic payment. After 
logging into myconneCT, find your tax account on the 
Summary Screen, select the Make a Payment link and choose 
your payment method.
•	 Pay by Direct Payment: Using this option authorizes 

DRS to electronically withdraw a payment from your bank 
account (checking or savings) on a date you select up 
to the due date.

•	 Pay by Credit Card or Debit Card: You may elect to pay 
your tax liability using a credit card (American Express®, 
Discover®, MasterCard®, VISA®) or comparable debit 
card. A convenience fee will be charged by the credit card 
service provider. You will be informed of the amount of the 
fee and may elect to cancel the transaction. Your payment 
will be effective on the date that you make the charge.

At the end of the transaction you will be given a confirmation 
number for your records. As a reminder, even if you pay 
electronically, you must still file your return by the due date. 
Tax not paid on or before the due date will be subject to penalty 
and interest.

Who Must File
Any attorney listed on the roll of attorneys maintained by the 
Superior Court at any time during the calendar year for which 
this return is filed, must file a return for the calendar year even 
if the attorney is claiming an exemption from tax.

Who is Liable for the Tax
Any person who:
•	 Is admitted as an attorney by the judges of the Superior 

Court, Appellate Court, or Supreme Court;
•	 Engaged in the practice of law in Connecticut during the 

calendar year for which this return is filed; and
•	 Is not exempt from this tax.

Who is Exempt From the Tax
See Informational Publication  2022(11), Attorney 
Occupational Tax and Client Security Fund Fee, for a complete 
list of exemptions.

Where Can I Find My Juris Number
If you are unsure of your Juris Number, refer to a copy of 
your Attorney Registration form completed in compliance 
with Practice Book § 2-27. You may also visit the Connecticut 
Judicial Branch website at www.jud.ct.gov to locate your 
Juris Number.

Employers Filing and Paying on Behalf of Employees
Employers filing and paying the tax on behalf of employees 
may use the Key and Send or the bulk filing option to file 
their Attorney Occupational Tax returns. The bulk filing 
option allows for multiple returns to be uploaded using the 
pre‑defined Comma Separated Value (CSV) file type.
For more information on this process please see Third Party 
Bulk Filers (TPBF) at portal.ct.gov/DRS/myconneCT/TPBF.
When to File
File Form 472 on or before January 15, following the close of 
the calendar year. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, 
or legal holiday, the return will be considered timely if filed by 
the next business day.
Interest and Penalties
To be considered timely, an electronic funds transfer (EFT) 
payment must be initiated on or before the original due date 
of the return.
Interest
Interest is computed at 1% per month or fraction of a month 
on the underpayment of tax from the original due date of the 
return through the date of payment.
Penalty for Failure to Remit Payment Electronically
If you fail to remit your payment electronically, DRS will impose 
a non-compliance penalty of 10% of the amount you were 
required to pay electronically.
Penalty for Late Payment or Late Filing
If you are subject to the tax and pay late, the late payment 
penalty is $50. If you are exempt from the tax but file Form 472 
late, a late filing penalty of $50 may be imposed.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars
You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on your 
return and schedules. If you do not round, DRS will disregard 
the cents.
Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include 
1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all 
amounts that include 50 through 99 cents. However, if you 
need to add two or more amounts to compute the amount 
to enter on a line, include cents and round off only the total.

Example: Add two amounts ($1.29 + $3.21) to compute the 
total ($4.50), then round the total to $5.00 and enter it on a line.

Change of Address
If your address changes, you should notify both DRS and the 
Statewide Grievance Committee.
To change your address electronically with DRS:
1.	 Log into myconneCT.
2.	 Open the More... menu.
3.	 Locate the Taxpayer Updates group and click the Manage 

Names & Addresses hyperlink.
4.	 Continue to follow the prompts on the screen.

https://portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT
https://www.jud.ct.gov
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To change your address by mail with DRS:
Submit a written notice of the change, include your Juris 
Number or Connecticut Tax Registration Number as it appears 
on the front of this return and mail to:

Department of Revenue Services 
Operations Bureau/Registration 
PO Box 2937 
Hartford CT 06104-2937

To change your address with the Statewide Grievance 
Committee:
•	 Visit the Connecticut Judicial Branch website at 

www.jud.ct.gov to download form JD-GC-10, Attorney 
Registration, Change of Information;

•	 Return form JD-GC-10 to the Statewide Grievance 
Committee at the address shown on the form; and

•	 Indicate your change of address on Form JD-GC-9, 
Attorney Registration, which is sent to you annually by 
the Statewide Grievance Committee.

Waiver of Penalty
To make a penalty waiver request, complete and submit Form 
DRS-PW, Request for Waiver of Civil Penalty, to the DRS 
Operations Bureau/Penalty Waiver through myconneCT, by 
mail, or fax.
For more information about the penalty waiver process, see 
Policy Statement 2019(3), Requests for Waiver of Civil Penalties.

Who Must Sign the Return 
The attorney must sign and date Form 472. If the attorney 
becomes legally incompetent or dies before filing the attorney 
occupational tax return, the attorney’s guardian, conservator, 
executor, or administrator, as the case may be, may sign the 
return on the attorney’s behalf.

Paid Preparer Information
A paid preparer must sign and date Form 472. Paid preparers 
must also enter their SSN or Preparer Tax Identification 
number (PTIN) and their firm’s name, address, and Federal 
Employer Identification Number (FEIN) in the spaces provided.

Filing a Paper Return
A paper return may be filed only if a waiver from the electronic 
filing requirement has been granted. If you file a paper return, 
print in blue or black ink only. The return must be postmarked 
on or before the due date.
Make your check payable to Commissioner of Revenue 
Services. To ensure payment is applied to your account, 
write the calendar year of the return, “Form 472” and your 
Connecticut Tax Registration Number or Juris Number on the 
front of your check. Sign your check and paper clip it to the 
front of your return. Do not send cash. DRS may submit your 
check to your bank electronically.
Mail paper return with payment to:

Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
PO Box 5031
Hartford CT 06102-5031

Electronic Filing Waiver
To request a waiver from the electronic filing requirement,  
complete Form DRS-EWVR, Electronic Filing and Payment 
Waiver Request.

Filing an Amended Return
If you make an error on your return, you must correct the error 
by filing an amended Form 472, using myconneCT. 
You must file an amended return within three years of the 
original due date of the return to claim a refund of taxes 
already paid.

Additional Information
See Informational Publication 2022(11), Attorney 
Occupational Tax and Client Security Fund Fee.

https://www.jud.ct.gov

