
This return MUST

This return MUST be filed electronically!

 
  				  

   Taxpayer name									         Connecticut Tax Registration Number

   Address (number and street), apartment number, PO Box	 				    Federal Employer Identification Number

   City, town, or post office				    State	 ZIP code		
								              

     1.	Number of passenger motor vehicles subject to surcharge	 u	1.				  

     2.	Total number of days the vehicles from Line 1 were rented or leased	 u	2.				  

     3.	Amount of surcharge due (Multiply Line 2 by $1)	 u	3.	 .00

     4.	Credit for uncollectible accounts (See Instructions)	 u	4.	 .00

     5.	Net surcharge due (Subtract Line 4 from Line 3)	 u	5.	 .00
	
     6.	Penalty (See Instructions)	 u	6.	 .00

     7.	Interest (See Instructions)	 u	7.	 .00

     8.	Total amount due (Add Lines 5, 6, and 7)	 u	8.	 .00

If applicable, provide the following information:

	 Amended return u	 Final return u	 Enter last business date: u

Enter new mailing address:

Enter new physical location (PO Box is not acceptable):

Enter new trade name: 

Form OP-337
Tourism Surcharge Return
on the Rental/Leasing
of Passenger Motor Vehicles

Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to the Department of 
Revenue Services (DRS) is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other 
than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

 Taxpayer’s signature	 Title	 Date

 Taxpayer’s email address 
 
 
  Preparer’s signature	 Preparer’s address 

Department of Revenue Services 
PO Box 2997 
Hartford CT 06104-2997
(Rev. 01/23)
OP337 1220W 01 9999

u

DO NOT MAIL paper tax return to DRS.

This return MUST be filed electronically!

For period endingDue date

This return MUST be filed electronically!

DO NOT MAIL paper tax return to DRS.

u

u

M  M  -  D  D  -  Y  Y  Y  Y

M  M  -  D  D  -  Y  Y  Y  Y

DRS use only

M  M  -  D  D  -  Y  Y  Y  YM  M  -  D  D  -  Y  Y  Y  Y

Form OP-337 is required to be electronically filed and paid for periods beginning on or after January 1, 2023.

Visit us at portal.ct.gov/DRS for more information.

https://portal.ct.gov/DRS


OP-337 Back (Rev. 01/23)

General Instructions
File and pay Form OP-337 electronically.
File this return and make payment electronically using 
myconneCT  at  portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT . 
Form OP‑337 is required to be 
electronically filed and paid for 
periods beginning on or after 
January 1, 2023.
File and Pay by Mail: Those granted an electronic filing 
and payment waiver may file by paper and make payment 
by check. Complete the return in blue or black ink only. 
Do not use staples. To request a one‑year waiver from the 
electronic filing requirement, visit portal.ct.gov/DRS and 
complete Form DRS‑EWVR, Electronic Filing and Payment 
Waiver Request. 
Make your check payable to Commissioner of Revenue 
Services. Include your Connecticut Tax Registration Number 
on your check. DRS may submit your check to your bank 
electronically.
Mail to:	 Department of Revenue Services 
	 State of Connecticut 
	 PO Box 2997 
	 Hartford CT 06104-2997

You must file a return even if no surcharge is due. Enter “0” 
on Line 1 and Line 2 and sign the return.
Due Date: The due date of the return is the last day of the 
month after the end of the period indicated above.
New Owners: Do not use the previous owner’s form to 
file your return. Any change in ownership requires a new 
Connecticut Tax Registration Number.
Signature: You must sign the return.

Line Instructions
Fill in all relevant lines, including Totals. Missing 
lines may delay the processing of your return.

Line 1
Enter the total number of passenger motor vehicles rented or 
leased for 30 consecutive calendar days or less during this 
period. For the surcharge, a day means each day or portion 
of a day for which a lessor charges a lessee for the lease or 
rental of a passenger motor vehicle.

Line 2
Enter the total number of days, or portion of a day, for which 
a charge was made for the rental or lease of vehicles.

Line 3
The surcharge is $1 per day, or portion of a day, for which 
the lessor charged the lessee on the rental or lease of motor 
vehicles for 30 consecutive calendar days or less. Multiply 
the number of days on Line 2 by $1.

Line 4
A credit is allowed for surcharges remitted on accounts 
determined to be worthless and written off for federal income 
tax purposes. You must take the credit on the next Form 
OP‑337 due after the write‑off for federal tax purposes.

Line 5
Subtract Line 4 from Line 3.

Line 6
Late Payment Penalty: If a surcharge is due, the penalty for 
underpayment of the surcharge is 15% (.15) of the surcharge 
due or $50, whichever is greater.
Late Filing Penalty: If no surcharge is due, the Commissioner 
of Revenue Services may impose a $50 penalty for the late 
filing of any return or report required by law to be filed.
Penalty for Failure to Pay Electronically: The following 
graduated penalty amounts will apply if you fail to remit 
payments electronically:
•	 First offense – 10% penalty on the amount of the required 

tax payment, but not more than $2,500;
•	 Second offense – 10% penalty, but not more than 

$10,000; and
•	 Third and subsequent offenses – 10% penalty.

Line 7
Interest: If this is a late or amended return, compute the 
interest at the rate of 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a 
month from the due date until the date of payment.  Interest is 
based on the amount that should have been remitted on time.  

Line 8
Add Lines 5, 6, and 7.

For the Latest News
Visit the DRS website at portal.ct.gov/DRS.

Form OP-337 Instructions Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut

https://portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT
https://portal.ct.gov/DRS
https://portal.ct.gov/DRS

