

for your

records.

Firm's name and address

Department of Revenue Services State of Connecticut (Rev. 12/22) 1120EXT 1222W 01 9999



Form CT-1120 EXT



2022

Enter Inc	come Year Beginning 🕨		- 2022	and Ending 🕨	-	-			
Corporat	ion/Designated Taxable Mo	M M - D D	- Y Y Y Y		M M - D D	- Y Y Y Y Connecticut Tax	Registration N	umber	
	This return N						5		
Number	and street	PO Box				Federal Employe	er ID Number (FEIN)	
City, tow	n, or post office		State	ZIP code					
Tax Retui	for extension to file Forn m. Each corporation must application for federal exte	t submit paym	ent of any ta	x due or believed to	r n or Form C⁻ o be due with	T-1120CU, Combine this application for a	ed Unitary Con n extension of	r poration Bu time to file, v	<i>isiness</i> whether
I reques	at an extension of time	to Novembe	r 15, 2023,	to file my Connec	cticut Corpora	ation Business Tax	return for ca	lendar year	2022,
or until		(MM-DD-	YYYY) for fi	scal year ending	-	- (MI	M-DD-YYYY).		
June 30	year end filers may rec	quest a sever	n-month ext	ension. All others	may reques	t a six-month exter	nsion.		
	A federal extension has be	en requested	on federal Fo	orm 7004, Applicatio	on for Automati	ic Extension of Time	to File Certain	Business Inc	come
Check here	Tax, Information, and Othe	er Returns, for	calendar yea	r 2022 or fiscal yea	r beginning		(MM-I	DD-YYYY)a	nd
ending		(MM-DD-	YYYY). If a fe	ederal extension ha	s not been file	d, explain why you a	re requesting t	ne Connectio	ut
extensio	n:								
Are you	filing Form CT-1120CU?	Yes	No						
1. Tenta	ative amount of tax due fo	or this income	e year; minim	num tax \$250. See	instructions.	1.			.00
2. Surta	ax: See instructions								.00
3. Total	tax: Add Line 1 and Line	2. Include ta	x credit reca	pture, if applicable					.00
4. Multiply Line 3 by 49.99% (0.4999) See instructions									.00
5. Multiply the number of taxable members included by \$250									.00
6. Enter the greater of Line 4 or Line 5									.00
7. Tax credit limitation: Subtract Line 6 from Line 37.									.00
8. Tax credits: Do not exceed amount on Line 7									.00
9. Balance of tax payable: Subtract Line 8 from Line 3									.00
	redit: See instructions								.00
	nce of tax payable: Subtr								.00
	nent(s) of estimated tax.								.00
-	payment from prior year.								.00
	payments: Add Line 12								.00
	ount due with this return								.00
Declaratio	n: I declare under the pena d the penalty for willfully deliv e than five years, or both. Th	alty of law that /ering a false re	I have examin turn or docum	ned this return and, ent to the Departmen	to the best of i t of Revenue Se	my knowledge and be ervices (DRS) is a fine (of not more than	\$5,000, impri	l correct. sonment
	Corporate officer's name			Corporate offi	cer's signature			(MM-DD-YYYY)	-
Sign									
Here	Title			Telephone n	umber	May DRS contac	ct the preparer	Ver	N
Keep a				ax <u>return</u>	to DRS.	shown below ab		Yes	No
copy of this return	Paid preparer's name (pri	int)	Paid prepare	er's signature	Date	(MM-DD-YYYY)	Preparer's S	SN or PTIN	

Firm's FEIN

Telephone number

_

-



Form CT-1120 EXT Instructions

Use Form CT-1120 EXT, Application for Extension of Time to File Connecticut Corporation Business Tax Return, to request a six-month extension (seven-month extension for corporations with a June 30 fiscal year end) to file Form CT-1120, Corporation Business Tax Return, or Form CT-1120CU, Combined Unitary Corporation Business Tax Return. It is not necessary to include a reason for the Connecticut extension request if an extension on federal Form 7004, Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File Certain Business Income Tax, Information, and Other Returns, was filed with the Internal Revenue Service.

If federal Form 7004 was not filed, the corporation may apply for an extension to file the Connecticut Corporation Business Tax return if there is reasonable cause for the request.

To get a Connecticut filing extension the corporation MUST:

- · Complete Form CT-1120 EXT in its entirety;
- File it on or before the fifteenth day of the month following the due date of the corporation's corresponding federal income tax return for the income year (May 15 for calendar year taxpayers); **and**
- Pay the amount shown on Line 15.

Form CT-1120 EXT extends **only** the **time to file** the Connecticut Corporation Business Tax return. Form CT-1120 EXT **does not extend the time to pay** the amount of tax due.

When to File Form CT-1120 EXT

Form CT-1120 EXT is due on or before the fifteenth day of the month following the due date of the corporation's corresponding federal income tax return for the income year (May 15 for calendar year taxpayers).

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return is considered timely if filed on the next business day.

Electronic Filing and Payment Requirements

Form CT-1120 and Form CT-1120CU **must** be filed and paid electronically, and all corporations **must** file and pay their estimated taxes (**Forms CT-1120 ESA**, **ESB**, **ESC** and **ESD**) and extension requests (Form CT-1120 EXT) electronically.

See **Informational Publication 2022(6)**, *Filing and Paying Connecticut Taxes Electronically*.

To request a waiver from the electronic filing requirement visit **portal.ct.gov/DRS** and complete **Form DRS-EWVR**, *Electronic Filing and Payment Waiver Request*.

The following graduated penalty amounts will apply if you fail to remit payments electronically:

- First offense 10% penalty on the amount of the tax payment, but not more than \$2,500;
- Second offense 10% penalty, but not more than \$10,000; and
- Third and subsequent offenses 10% penalty.

When initiating a payment through your financial institution's online banking system you **must** verify that your financial institution is sending an EFT, not a check.

Filing and Paying Electronically

File and pay Form CT-1120 EXT electronically using **myconneCT**. DRS **myconneCT** allows taxpayers to electronically file, pay and manage state tax responsibilities.

If you file Form CT-1120 EXT using **myconneCT** at **portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT** you **must** make an electronic payment at that time. After logging into **myconneCT**, find your tax account on the Summary screen, select the *File an Extension* link, choose your payment method, and file Form CT-1120 EXT.

- **Pay by Direct Payment:** Using this option authorizes DRS to electronically withdraw a payment from your bank account (checking or savings) on a date you select up to the due date.
- Pay by Credit Card or Debit Card: You may elect to pay your tax liability using a credit card (American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard®, VISA®) or comparable debit card. A convenience fee will be charged by the credit card service provider. You will be informed of the amount of the fee and may elect to cancel the transaction. Your payment will be effective on the date that you make the charge.

At the end of the transaction, you will receive a confirmation number for your records. Tax not paid on or before the due date will be subject to penalty and interest.

Filing and Paying by Mail

If you file by mail, complete this return in blue or black ink only. Do not use staples.

Please note that each form is year specific. To prevent any delay in processing your return, the correct year's form **must** be submitted to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS).

If you have received a waiver from the electronic payment requirement, make your check payable to **Commissioner** of **Revenue Services**. To ensure payment is applied to your account, write "2022 Form CT-1120 EXT" and the corporation's Connecticut Tax Registration Number on the front of the check. Be sure to sign your check and paper clip it to the front of your return. Do not send cash. DRS may submit your check to your bank electronically.

Mail paper return with payment to:

Department of Revenue Services State of Connecticut PO Box 2974 Hartford CT 06104-2974.

Mail paper return without payment to:

Department of Revenue Services State of Connecticut PO Box 150406 Hartford CT 06115-0406.

Interest and Penalty

Interest is assessed at 1% per month or fraction of a month on any underpayment of tax computed from the due date of the return. The penalty for underpayment of tax is 10% of the tax due or \$50, whichever is greater. If no tax is due, the Commissioner of Revenue Services may impose a \$50 penalty for the late filing of any return or report that is required by law to be filed.

If a request for a filing extension has been granted, a corporation may avoid a penalty for failure to pay the full amount due by the original due date if it pays:

- At least 90% of the tax shown to be due on the return on or before the original due date of the return; **and**
- The balance due with the filing of Form CT-1120, or Form CT-1120CU on or before the extended due date.

Credit Against Estimated Payments

An overpayment of tax liability for 2022 will be applied against the first installment of estimated tax due in 2023 if the taxpayer timely files a completed Form CT-1120 or Form CT-1120CU and elects to apply an overpayment from 2022 against its 2023 estimated tax.

Limit on Credits

The amount of tax credits allowable against the Corporation Business Tax for any income year may not exceed 50.01% of the tax due prior to the application of the tax credits. Research and Development and Research and Experimental Expenditures tax credits that remain after the application of the 50.01% limitation may be further used, provided that the total of all tax credits used shall not exceed 60% of the tax liability.

Each taxable member included in Form CT-1120CU applies tax credits on a separate company basis, which are then aggregated and applied against the combined unitary tax liability.

See **Special Notice 2016(1)**, *Combined Unitary Legislation*, for more information on tax credit usage by members of a unitary group.

No tax credit allowed against the Corporation Business Tax shall reduce a company's minimum tax to an amount less than \$250.

Tax Credit Recapture

If the corporation is subject to recapture of tax credits, include the tax credit recapture amount in the total tax for the current income year.

Surtax

Companies whose gross income equals or exceeds \$100 million or who file as part of a combined unitary return must pay a surtax of 10% of the tax without regard to credits and tax credit recapture. The surtax does not apply to the minimum tax of \$250.

Special Instructions - Combined Unitary Tentative Corporation Business Tax Return

The Designated Taxable Member should file one Form CT-1120 EXT on behalf of all members of the combined unitary group included in Form CT-1120CU.

All payments should be made under the Designated Taxable Member's Connecticut Tax Registration Number.

For groups filing their first Form CT-1120CU in 2022, the group will select a Designated Taxable Member when it files its Form CT-1120CU. If the parent company does not have nexus in Connecticut, any other member with nexus may be selected as the Designated Taxable Member. If a payment is made by a member other than the Designated Taxable Member, it will be treated as made by the Designated Taxable Member when the combined unitary return is filed. Any extension of time to file approved for any member of the group will be a valid extension of time to file for all members of the group.

Signature

An officer of the corporation must sign this form.

Paid Preparer Signature

A paid preparer must sign and date Form CT-1120 EXT. Paid preparers must also enter their Social Security Number (SSN) or Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) and their firm's FEIN in the spaces provided.

Others Who May Sign

Anyone (including attorneys, accountants, and enrolled agents) with a signed Power of Attorney may sign for the corporation in place of a corporate officer.

Line Instructions

Line 1 - Enter the tax due for the current income year without regard to surtax or recapture. Combined unitary filers aggregate each taxable member's tax and enter the total.

Line 2 - Enter the surtax amount due.

Form CT-1120 filers: If Line 1 is \$250, enter zero ("0"). Otherwise, if gross income (from federal Form 1120, Line 11, amount in box at the top of Form CT-1120) is \$100 million or more, multiply Line 1 by 10% and enter the result.

Form CT-1120CU filers: Each taxable member included in Form CT-1120CU computes its surtax on a separate company basis. For any taxable member whose tax exceeds \$250, multiply the tax by 10% and enter the total of the surtax amounts.

Line 3 - Add Line 1 and Line 2. Include tax credit recapture, if applicable.

Line 4 - Multiply Line 3 by 49.99% (0.4999).

If a corporation has Research and Development or Research and Experimental Expenditures tax credits that remain after the application of the 50.01% limitation, these credits may be further applied, provided the total of all tax credits used does not exceed 60% of a corporation's tax liability.

Line 5 - Form CT-1120 filers, enter \$250. Form CT-1120CU filers, multiply the number of taxable members included in the return by \$250 and enter the result.

Line 10 - Enter the amount of Pass-Through Entity (PE) tax credit that will be reported on **Form CT-1120PE**, *Pass-Through Entity Tax Credit*. Combined Unitary filers may aggregate the PE credit available to each member. Do not exceed the balance of tax payable reported on Line 9.

For the Latest News

Visit the DRS website at portal.ct.gov/DRS.