Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut Form 2 07C 2 0

PO Box 2990 oas0eo  INSurance Premiums Tax Return Captive Insurance Companies
(Rev. 12/21) (_File and pay Form 207C electronically using myconneCT at portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT. ) myﬁ.ﬁﬁﬂ.‘?@
Taxpayer Name Connecticut Tax Registration Number
Taxpayer »
Type Address Number and Street PO Box Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)
or >
Print City or Town State ZIP Code Date Received (DRS Use Only)
»
A. » Check if you are filing as a sponsored captive insurance company and enter the number of protected cells covered by this return: »
B. » 0 Check if you are filing a consolidated return for two or more companies and enter the number of companies included in this return:
C. » 3 Check if this is an amended return.
Computation of Tax Due on Insurance
1. Gross direct premiums collected or contracted fOr............ooiiiiiiiiiii i > 1. 00
2. Other charges (specify: ) > 2. 00
3. Total Premiums: Add LINES 1 @Nd 2 ......eiiiiiiiiiiie ettt e e e e e e e e e e e e e e ennreeeeas > 3. 00
o Y (0 T o (=10 01U g PRSP SURPRRRRNE »| 4. 00
5. Other deductions (specify: ) oo »| 5. 00
6. Total Deductions: Add LiNES 4 and 5 ...ttt »| 6. 00
7. Net Taxable Premiums: Subtract Line 6 from LiNe 3.........ccoiiiiiiiiiieee et 7. 00
8. Tax on Direct Insurance Premiums from Tax Rate Schedule (Direct Rate).. 8. 00
9. Tax on Reinsurance Premiums from LN 25 .........ooo i 9. 00
10. Total Tax: Add LINES 8 @Nd O ...ttt e e e e ettt e e e e e e nt et e e e e e e annneeeaeeaannees »|10. 00
11. Enter the amount from Line 10
If Line 10 is more than $200,000, enter $200,000; or
If Line 10 is less than $7,500, €nter $7,500; ........ueii it e e eae e eae e »|11. 00
12. If this is the first year of license in Connecticut, enter $7,500.00 ...........cccoeevvieiieeceeeie e »|12. 00
13. Net tax: Subtract Line 12 from LiNE 1. ..ot e e e e e e ennreeee s »|13. 00
14. Payments made with extension request FOrm 207C EXT......cooiiiiiiiiiiiiieiiee et »|14. 00
15. Subtract Line 14 from LiNe 18 ...ttt e e e et et e e e e e e et e e e e e nnneeeaeeeannneenens »|15. 00
16. If late: penalty »(16a) $ plus interest »(16b) $ See instructions | 16. 00
17. Balance due with this return »|17. 00
Computation of Tax Due on Reinsurance
18. Assumed Reinsurance Premiums collected or contracted for............cooccviiiiieiiiience e »|18. 00
19. Other charges (PlEaSE SPECITY) .......iiiiiiiiiiii ettt ettt »|19. 00
20. Total Assumed Reinsurance Premiums: Add Lines 18 and 19..........cooiiiiiiiiiiiiieeee e »|20. 00
b I =Y (U4 g T o] =100 110 TSP PPPP U RPPTPRP »|21. 00
22. Other deductions (PlEASE SPECITY).......uuiiiiiiiiiiii ettt »|22. 00
23. Total Deductions: Add LINES 21 @Nd 22 ..ottt e e e e e e e eneeea s »|23. 00
24. Net Assumed Reinsurance Premiums: Subtract Line 23 from Line 20 .........cccooiiiiiiieiiieeenee e »|24. 00
25. Enter amount due from Tax Rate Schedule (Assumed Rate) ..........ccocvviiiiiiiiiiiiiicie e »|25. 00

Declaration: | declare under penalty of law that | have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of my knowledge and
belief, it is true, complete, and correct. | understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to DRS is a fine of not more than $5,000, or imprisonment

for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Signature of principal officer Title Date
Sign Here |Printname of principal officer Telephone number
Keep a copy Email address of principal officer
of this return
for your Paid preparer’s signature Date Preparer’'s SSN or PTIN
records.
Firm’s name and address FEIN

Visit us at portal.ct.gov/IDRS for more information.


https://portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT
https://portal.ct.gov/DRS

General Instructions

This return is due on or before March 1 of the succeeding calendar
year for insurance premiums tax liability for the preceding calendar
year.

Filing and Paying Electronically

File and pay Form 207C electronically using myconneCT.
DRS myconneCT allows taxpayers to
electronically file, pay and manage state
tax responsibilities.

File and pay your taxes online!

Revenue Services

Filing and Paying by Mail
If you file by mail, complete this return in blue or black ink only. Do
not use staples.

Make check payable to: Commissioner of Revenue Services. To
ensure payment is applied to your account, write the calendar year
of the return “Form 207C”, and your Connecticut Tax Registration
Number on the front of your check. DRS may submit your check to
your bank electronically.

Mail to: Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
PO Box 2990
Hartford CT 06104-2990

All direct premiums written by a Connecticut captive insurance
company are subject to Connecticut premiums tax regardless of
the taxability of the premiums by another state.

No reinsurance premium tax is payable in connection with the
receipt of assets in exchange for the assumption of loss reserves
and other liabilities of another insurer under common ownership
and control if the transaction is part of a plan to discontinue the
operations of that insurer and if the parties intend to renew or
maintain such business with the captive insurance company.

Minimum and Maximum Tax

The annual minimum tax is $7,500.00. The annual maximum
aggregate tax is $200,000.00. The maximum aggregate tax to be
paid by a sponsored insurance company applies to each protected
cell and not to the sponsored captive insurance company as a whole.
Tax Rate Schedules

Direct Rate

If Line 7 Is:
$20,000,000 or less
Over $20,000,000 but not

The Amount of the Tax Is:
Line 7 multiplied by 0.0038
$76,000 plus the excess over

over $40,000,000 $20,000,000 multiplied by 0.00285
Over $40,000,000 but not $133,000 plus the excess of

over $60,000,000 $40,000,000 multiplied by 0.0019
Over $60,000,000 $171,000 plus the excess over

$60,000,000 multiplied by 0.00072

Assumed Rate

If Line 24 Is: The Amount of the Tax Is:
$20,000,000 or less Line 24 multiplied by 0.00214
Over $20,000,000 but not $42,800 plus the excess over
over $40,000,000 $20,000,000 multiplied by 0.00143
Over $40,000,000 but not $71,400 plus the excess of
over $60,000,000 $40,000,000 multiplied by 0.00048
Over $60,000,000 $81,000 plus the excess over

$60,000,000 multiplied by 0.00024

Consolidated Return

Two or more captive insurance companies under common
ownership and control may file a single return (consolidated
return) and pay tax as a single captive insurance company. A

Form 207C Back (Rev. 12/21)

special purpose financial captive insurance company may not be
consolidated with another captive insurance company that is not
a special purpose financial captive insurance company. Captive
insurance companies filing a consolidated return must attach a
list which contains the name and federal employer identification
number of the companies included on the consolidated return.

Common ownership and control means ownership and control
of two or more captive insurance companies by the same person
or group of persons.

Ownership and control is defined as:
Stock corporations
The direct or indirect ownership of 80% or more of the
outstanding voting stock of the insurer.

Mutual or nonprofit corporations

The direct or indirect ownership of 80% or more of the surplus
and voting power of the corporation.

Limited liability companies

The direct or indirect ownership of 80% or more of the
membership interests in the company.

Sponsored captive insurance companies

A protected cell shall be treated as a separate captive
insurance company owned and controlled by the protected
cell’'s participants.

Late Payment

The late payment penalty is the greater of 10% of the tax due or
$50. Late payments are subject to interest at the rate of 1% per
month or fraction of a month until the tax is paid in full.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars

You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on your return
and schedules. If you do not round, DRS will disregard the cents.

Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include 1
through 49 cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all amounts
that include 50 through 99 cents. However, if you need to add two
or more amounts to compute the amount to enter on a line, include
cents and round off only the total.

Example: Add two amounts ($1.29 + $3.21) to compute the
total ($4.50) to enter on a line. $4.50 is rounded to $5.00 and
entered on a line.

Signature
A principal officer of the company must sign this return.

Paid Preparer Signature

A paid preparer must sign and date Form 207C. Paid preparers
must also enter their Social Security Number (SSN) or Preparer
Tax Identification Number (PTIN), and their firm’s Federal Employer
Identification Number (FEIN) in the spaces provided.

For Further Information
Visit the DRS website at portal.ct.gov/IDRS.

Call DRS Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at:

+ 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford
calling area only); or

+ 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries
anytime by calling 860-297-4911.Taxpayers may also call 711 for
relay services. A taxpayer must tell the 711 operator the number
he or she wishes to call. The relay operator will dial it and then
communicate using a TTY with the taxpayer.


https://portal.ct.gov/DRS

