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Form CT-1096 must be filed electronically unless certain conditions are met. Visit myconneCT at

portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT to file your return electronically.

File and pay your taxes online! \’7
myconneCT
Revenue Services

portalct.gov/DRS.

General Instructions

If you are not required to file federal Form 1096, you are not
required to file Form CT-1096. Special rules apply to designated
withholding agents. See Policy Statement 2018(1), /Income Tax
Withholding for Athletes or Entertainers.

Name

Address (number and street), apartment number, PO Box

Form CT-1096 is required to be filed electronically unless you
meet certain conditions. See Electronic Filing Requirement, on
the reverse.

See Informational Publication 2018(8), Connecticut Tax Guide
for Payers of Nonpayroll Amounts.

Do not make a payment with this return.

Due date
2020

Connecticut Tax Registration Number

January 31,

>
City, town, or post office State ZIP code Federal Emﬁo;e:rTDﬂth;r -
Section 1
1. Connecticut income tax withheld from Connecticut nonpayroll amounts 1. » .00
2. Total nonpayroll amounts reported with Form CT-1096 2. » .00
3. Number of Forms 1099-MISC, 1099-R, 1099-K, or W-2G submitted 3. »

Section 2

Connecticut Income Tax Withheld from Nonpayroll Amounts for Each Period

January 1 - March 31 1St QUANEr .........iiieeiieeiee e > .00
April 1 - June 30 2nd QuUArter.............c.oeevniiiiieei e > .00
July 1 - September 30 SrdQuarter...............cccoiiiiiiiiiiiiee, > .00
October 1 - December 31 Ath Quarter...............cccoeeevveiiieeeeiee e, > .00
Total Connecticut tax withheld from nonpayroll amounts for the year ..................ccccceiniit 00

This amount should equal Section 1, Line 1.

Declaration: | declare under the penalty of law that | have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of my
knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. | understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to the Department of Revenue Services
(DRS) is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both.

Sign Here Taxpayer’s signature
Keep a
copy of

this return
for your
records.

Title

Date (MMDDYYYY)


https://portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT

Form CT-1096 Instructions

General Instructions

Form CT-1096 must be filed electronically unless
certain conditions are met.

File this return electronically using myconneCT at

portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT. File and pay your taxes onlinel
o myconne
Electronic Filing Waiver B oo,

To request a waiver from the information return electronic filing
requirement complete Form CT-8508, Request for Waiver from
Filing Information Returns Electronically, at least 30 days before
the due date.

If a waiver is granted, your information returns must be submitted
to DRS on compact disk by January 31, 2020. See Form CT-4804,
Transmittal of Information Returns Reported on Compact Disc (CD)
for Forms W-2G, 1099-R, and 1099-MISC.

Complete this return in blue or black ink only. Do not use staples.

Electronic Filing Requirement
If you file 25 or more Forms 1099-MISC, 1099-R, 1099-K, or W-2G
you are required to file electronically unless you have been
granted a waiver from electronic filing of information returns. See
Electronic Filing Waiver, on this page.

If you file 24 or fewer Forms 1099-MISC, 1099-R, 1099-K, or W-2G
you are encouraged to file electronically but may file paper forms
without requesting a waiver. Please note that each form is year
specific. To prevent any delay in processing your return, the correct
year’s form must be submitted to DRS. Do not use staples.

Electronic reporting requirements are available at portal.ct.gov/DRS
and in Informational Publication 2019(12), Forms 1099-R,
1099-MISC, 1099-K, and W-2G Electronic Filing Requirements for
Tax Year 2019.

When to File
Form CT-1096 is due January 31, 2020.

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the
return will be considered timely if filed by the next business day.

Who Must File Form CT-1096

If you are required to file federal Form 1096, you must file Form
CT-1096 with DRS even if you are not required to be registered
with DRS, and submit every state copy of:

» Federal Form W-2G for (1) Connecticut Lottery winnings paid
to resident and nonresident individuals even if no Connecticut
income tax was withheld; and (2) other gambling winnings paid to
resident individuals even if no Connecticut income tax was withheld;

* Federal Form 1099-MISC for payments made to resident
individuals or to nonresident individuals if the payments relate
to services performed wholly or partly in Connecticut even if no
Connecticut income tax was withheld;

» Federal Form 1099-R reporting distributions paid to resident
individuals even if no Connecticut income tax was withheld. For all
other recipients, only if Connecticut income tax was withheld; and

» Federal Form 1099-K reporting payments to payees located or
with locations in Connecticut.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars

You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on your returns
and schedules. If you do not round, DRS will disregard the cents.

Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include
1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all amounts
that include 50 through 99 cents. However, if you need to add two
or more amounts to compute the amount to enter on a line, include
cents and round off only the total.

Example: Add two amounts ($1.29 + $3.21) to compute the
total ($4.50) to enter on a line. $4.50 is rounded to $5.00 and
entered on the line.

CT-1096 Back (Rev. 09/20)

Line Instructions

Group the forms by form number and submit each group with a
separate Form CT-1096.

Line 1: Enter Connecticut income tax withheld from nonpayroll
amounts during the calendar year. This should equal the Total Line
from Section 2.

Line 2: Enter total:

» Connecticut Lottery winnings paid to resident and nonresident
individuals, as reported on federal Form W-2G, whether or not
Connecticut income tax was withheld;

» Other gambling winnings paid to resident individuals, as reported
on federal Form W-2G, whether or not Connecticut income tax
was withheld;

» Miscellaneous payments reported on federal Form 1099-MISC
to resident individuals or to nonresident individuals if the payments
relate to services performed wholly or partly in Connecticut even if
no Connecticut income tax was withheld;

« Distributions paid to resident individuals as reported on federal
Form 1099-R, even if no Connecticut income tax was withheld.
For all other recipients, only if Connecticut income tax was withheld;
and

» Payments to payees located or with locations in Connecticut as
reported on federal Form 1099-K.

Line 3: Enter the number of 1099-MISC, 1099-R, 1099-K, or W-2G
forms submitted with this return.

Amended Returns

If you previously filed 25 or more Forms 1099-MISC, 1099-R, 1099-K,
or W-2G electronically you must amend Form CT-1096 electronically,
even if you are correcting 24 or fewer Forms 1099-MISC, 1099-R,
1099-K, or W-2G. See IP 2019(12).

If you previously filed 24 or fewer Forms 1099-MISC, 1099-R, 1099-K,
or W-2G electronically you are encouraged to amend electronically but
may file paper forms without requesting a waiver.

If you previously filed 24 or fewer paper Forms 1099-MISC, 1099-R,
1099-K, or W-2G you may amend Form CT-1096 and submit corrected
Forms 1099-MISC, 1099-R, 1099-K, or W-2G using paper. To amend
Form CT-1096 by paper submit a revised Form CT-1096 clearly labeled
“Amended.” The total Connecticut tax withheld on Form CT-945 or
Form CT-941X, Line 3, must agree with the total reported on Form
CT-1096, Line 1. The gross Connecticut nonpayroll amounts reported on
Form CT-945 or Form CT-941X, Line 2, must agree with total nonpayroll
amounts reported on Form CT-1096, Line 2.

Forms and Publications

Visit the DRS website at portal.ct.gov/DRS to download and print
Connecticut tax forms and publications.

For More Information

Call DRS Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at:

* 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls from outside the Greater
Hartford calling area only); or

* 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries
anytime by calling 860-297-4911. Taxpayers may also call 711 for
relay services. A taxpayer must tell the 711 operator the number
he or she wishes to call. The relay operator will dial it and then
communicate using a TTY with the taxpayer.


https://portal.ct.gov/DRS-myconneCT
https://www.ct.gov/DRS/ew2
https://portal.ct.gov/DRS

