

Department of Revenue Services State of Connecticut PO Box 2990 Hartford CT 06104-2990 (Rev. 12/20) 207CEXT 1220W 01 9999



Form 207C EXT Application for Extension of Time to File Connecticut Captive Insurance Premiums Tax Return

2020

See instructions on back before completing this application. Complete this form in blue or black ink only. Type or print. Do not use staples.

Name of company				Connecticut Tax Registration Number		
			•			
Number and street	PO Box					
City, town, or post office		State	ZIP code		Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)	
					►	

This is not an extension of time to pay your tax. Penalties and interest may apply. See instructions.

I request a 12-month extension of time to March 1 of the succeeding calendar year, to file a Connecticut captive insurance premiums tax return for the calendar year above.

The reason for the Connecticut extension request is:	

Notification will be sent only if the extension request is denied.

 Total tax liability for the calendar year: You may estimate this amount. Minimum tax \$7,500.00. This amount may be offset by a credit in your first calendar year. 	.00
2. Any overpayments applied to the calendar year 2.	.00
 Balance due: Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. Pay in full with this form. If Line 2 is greater than Line 1, enter zero "0." 3. 	.00

Declaration: I declare under the penalty of law that I have examined this return and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) is a fine of not more than \$5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Signature of principal officer	Title	Date (MMDDYYYY)
Print name of principal officer		Telephone number
Paid preparer's signature	Date (MMDDYYYY)	Preparer's SSN or PTIN
Firm's name		Firm's FEIN
Firm's address		Telephone number
	Print name of principal officer Paid preparer's signature Firm's name	Print name of principal officer Paid preparer's signature Firm's name

Form 207C EXT Instructions

Complete this application in blue or black ink only.

Please note that each form is year specific. To prevent any delay in processing your return, the correct year's form **must** be submitted to DRS.

Use **Form 207C EXT**, *Application for Extension of Time to File Insurance Premiums Tax Return Captive Insurance Companies*, to request a 12-month extension to file your Connecticut captive insurance companies premiums tax return.

Request for Extension

A captive insurance company may request a 12-month extension to file its Connecticut tax return provided there is reasonable cause for the request.

To request an extension of time to file Form 207C you must file Form 207C EXT and pay all the tax you expect to owe on or before March 1 of the succeeding calendar year.

Form 207C EXT **only** extends the **time to file** your tax return. Form 207C EXT **does not** extend the time to pay the amount of tax due.

We will notify you only if the extension request is denied.

Name, Address, and Tax Registration Number

Enter the company's name, address, Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), and Connecticut Tax Registration Number in the spaces provided.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars

You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on your return and schedules. If you do not round, DRS will disregard the cents.

Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include 1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all amounts that include 50 through 99 cents. However, if you need to add two or more amounts to compute the amount to enter on a line, include cents and round off only the total.

Example: Add two amounts (\$1.29 + \$3.21) to compute the total (\$4.50), then round the total to \$5.00 and enter it on a line.

Interest and Penalties

In general, interest and penalty apply to any portion of the tax not paid on or before the original due date of the return. If the tax is not paid when due, interest accrues at the rate of 1% per month or fraction of a month from the original due date of the return until the tax is paid in full.

Late Payment Penalty: If tax is due, the penalty for late payment is 10% of the tax due or \$50, whichever is greater.

Late Filing Penalty: If no tax is due, the Commissioner of Revenue Services may impose a \$50 penalty for the late filing of any return or report required by law to be filed.

Where to File

Make check payable to **Commissioner of Revenue Services**. To ensure payment is applied to your account, write the calendar year of the return, **"Form 207C EXT"**, and your Connecticut Tax Registration Number on the front of your check.

Sign your check and paper clip it to the front of your return. **Do not send cash.**

DRS may submit your check to your bank electronically.

Mail to: Department of Revenue Services State of Connecticut PO Box 2990 Hartford CT 06104-2990

Failure to file or failure to pay the proper amount of tax due will result in penalty and interest charges. It is to your advantage to file when your return is due whether or not you are able to make full payment.

Signature

A principal officer of the company must sign Form 207C EXT.

Paid Preparer Signature

A paid preparer must sign and date Form 207C EXT. Paid preparers must also enter their Social Security Number (SSN) or Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) and their firm's FEIN in the spaces provided.

Pay Electronically

Visit **portal.ct.gov/TSC** to use the **Taxpayer Service Center** (*TSC*) to make a direct tax payment. After logging into the *TSC*, select the



Make Payment Only option and choose a tax type from the drop down box. Using this option authorizes DRS to electronically withdraw from your bank account (checking or savings) a payment on a date you select up to the due date. As a reminder, even if you pay electronically you must still file your return on or before the due date. Tax not paid on or before the due date will be subject to penalty and interest.

For More Information

Call DRS Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at:

- 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area only); or
- 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. Taxpayers may also call 711 for relay services. A taxpayer must tell the 711 operator the number he or she wishes to call. The relay operator will dial it and then communicate using a TTY with the taxpayer.

Forms and Publications

Visit the DRS website at **portal.ct.gov/DRS** to download and print Connecticut tax forms and publications.