Department of Revenue Services State of Connecticut PO Box 2990 Hartford CT 06104-2990 (New 01/13)

Form 207C Insurance Premiums Tax Return Captive Insurance Companies Complete this return in blue or black ink only.

	Taxpayer Name			Connecticut	Tax Registration Nun	nber
Taxpayer	Address Number and Street	PO Box		Federal Emp	oloyer ID Number (FE	EIN)
Type				Date Receiv	ed (DRS Use Only)	
or Print	City or Town	State	ZIP Code	•	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	
A. ▶□ Chec	k if you are filing as a sponsored captive insurance com	npany and enter the nu	mber of protected ce	lls covered by thi	is return: ▶	
B. ▶□ Chec	k if you are filing a consolidated return for two or more of					
C. ▶□ Chec	k if this is an amended return.	on of Tax Due on	Insurance			
4 0	·				4	00
	direct premiums collected or contracted for					00
	charges (please specify)					00
	remiums: Add Lines 1 and 2					00
	Premiums					00
	deductions (please specify)					00
	eductions: Add Lines 4 and 5					00
	xable Premiums: Subtract Line 6 from Line 3					00
	Direct Insurance Premiums from Tax Rate Sch	,				00
	Reinsurance Premiums from Line 25					00
10. Total T	ax: Add Lines 8 and 9				10.	00
	he amount from Line 10					
	10 is more than \$200,000, enter \$200,000; or 10 is less than \$7,500, enter \$7,500;				11.	00
	s the first year of license in Connecticut, enter \$					00
	:: Subtract Line 12 from Line 11. If less than zer					00
	ents made with extension request Form 207C E					00
•	ct Line 14 from Line 13					00
	penalty ►(16a) \$ plus intere				16.	00
	e due with this return					00
TT. Balanc		n of Tax Due on I		······	117.	
18 Accum	ed Reinsurance Premiums collected or contract				18	00
	charges (please specify)					00
	- " - "					
	ssumed Reinsurance Premiums: Add Lines 18					00
	premiums					00
22. Other	deductions (please specify)			▶	22.	00
23. Total D	eductions: Add Lines 21 and 22				23.	00
24. Net As	sumed Reinsurance Premiums: Subtract Line 2	3 from Line 20			24.	00
	mount due from Tax Rate Schedule (Assumed					00
to the best document to	n: I declare under penalty of law that I have exa of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete DRS is a fine of not more than \$5,000, or imprisonment ased on all information of which the preparer has any kn	e, and correct. I und nt for not more than fiv	derstand the penal	ty for willfully	delivering a false	e return or
	Signature of principal officer		Title	Date		
Sign Her	Print Name of principal officer			Telephone Num	ıber	
· ·				()		
Keep a cop of this retu	Linaii Address of principal officer					
for your				Ta	D.T.W.	
records.	Paid Preparer's Signature		Date	Preparer's SSN	or PTIN	
	Firm's Name and Address			FEIN		

Instructions

All direct premiums written by a Connecticut captive insurance company are subject to Connecticut premiums tax regardless of the taxability of the premiums by another state.

No reinsurance premium tax is payable in connection with the receipt of assets in exchange for the assumption of loss reserves and other liabilities of another insurer under common ownership and control if the transaction is part of a plan to discontinue the operations of that insurer and if the parties intend to renew or maintain such business with the captive insurance company.

Minimum and Maximum Tax

The annual minimum tax is \$7,500.00. The annual maximum aggregate tax is \$200,000.00. The maximum aggregate tax to be paid by a sponsored insurance company applies to each protected cell and not to the sponsored captive insurance company as a whole.

Tax Rate Schedules

Direct Rate

If Line 7 Is:	The Amount of the Tax Is:		
\$20,000,000 or less	Line 7 multiplied by 0.0038		
Over \$20,000,000 but not over \$40,000,000	\$76,000 plus the excess over \$20,000,000 multiplied by 0.00285		
Over \$40,000,000 but not over \$60,000,000	\$133,000 plus the excess of \$40,000,000 multiplied by 0.0019		
Over \$60,000,000	\$171,000 plus the excess over \$60,000,000 multiplied by 0.00072		

Assumed Rate

If Line 24 Is:	The Amount of the Tax Is:
\$20,000,000 or less	Line 24 multiplied by 0.00214
Over \$20,000,000 but not over \$40,000,000	\$48,200 plus the excess over \$20,000,000 multiplied by 0.00143
Over \$40,000,000 but not over \$60,000,000	\$71,400 plus the excess of \$40,000,000 multiplied by 0.00048
Over \$60,000,000	\$81,000 plus the excess over \$60,000,000 multiplied by 0.00024

Consolidated Return

Two or more captive insurance companies under **common ownership and control** may file a single return (consolidated return) and pay tax as a single captive insurance company. A special purpose financial captive insurance company may not be consolidated with another captive insurance company that is not a special purpose financial captive insurance company. Captive insurance companies filing a consolidated return must attach a list which contains the name and federal employer identification number of the companies included on the consolidated return.

Common ownership and control means ownership and control of two or more captive insurance companies by the same person or group of persons.

Ownership and control is defined as:

For stock corporations:

The direct or indirect ownership of 80% or more of the outstanding voting stock of the insurer;

For mutual or nonprofit corporations:

The direct or indirect ownership of 80% or more of the surplus and voting power of the corporation

For limited liability companies:

The direct or indirect ownership of 80% or more of the membership interests in the company;

For sponsored captive insurance companies:

A protected cell shall be treated as a separate captive insurance company owned and controlled by the protected cell's participants (New 01/13)

When to File

This return is due on or before March 1, 2013, for insurance premiums tax liability for calendar year 2012.

Late Payment

The late payment penalty is the greater of 10% of the tax due or \$50. Late payments are subject to interest at the rate of 1% per month or fraction of a month until the tax is paid in full.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars

You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on your return and schedules. If you do not round, DRS will disregard the cents.

Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include 1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all amounts that include 50 through 99 cents. However, if you need to add two or more amounts to compute the amount to enter on a line, include cents and round off only the total.

Example: Add two amounts (\$1.29 + \$3.21) to compute the total (\$4.50) to enter on a line. \$4.50 is rounded to \$5.00 and entered on a line.

Where to File

Make check payable to:

Commissioner of Revenue Services. To ensure payment is applied to your account, write "2012 Form 207C" and your Connecticut Tax Registration Number on the front of your check. DRS may submit your check to your bank electronically.

Mail to: Department of Revenue Services

State of Connecticut

PO Box 2990

Hartford CT 06104-2990

Signature

A principal officer of the company must sign this return.

Paid Preparer Signature

A paid preparer must sign and date 207C. Paid preparers must also enter their Social Security Number (SSN) or Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN), and their firm's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) in the spaces provided.



Pay Electronically

Visit www.ct.gov/TSC to make a direct tax payment. Using this option authorizes DRS to electronically withdraw a payment from your bank account (checking or savings) on a date you select up to the due date. If you pay electronically, you must still file your return on or before the due date.

For Further Information

Call DRS during business hours, Monday through Friday:

- 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area only); or
- 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911.

Forms and Publications

Forms and publications are available anytime by:

- Internet: Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS to preview and download forms and publications; or
- Telephone: Call 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area only) and select Option 2 from a touch-tone phone, or call 860-297-4753 (from anywhere).