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What's New

Due Date — April 17, 2012

The 2011 Connecticut composite income tax return
(and payments) will be considered timely if filed
on Tuesday, April 17, 2012. In 2012, the due date
for filing a Connecticut composite income tax return
(April 15) falls on a Sunday and Monday is a legal
holiday (Emancipation Day). Therefore, for filing
purposes the next business day is Tuesday, April 17,
2012.

Income Tax Rate

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2011,
the highest marginal rate was increased to 6.7%.

Direct Deposit Option

For taxable year 2011, a pass-through entity filing
Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI, Connecticut Composite
Income Tax Return, may elect to have the refund
amount, shown on Line 8 of the return, directly
deposited into a checking or savings account.

Taxpayers who choose direct deposit receive their
refunds more quickly. See Line 8: Amount to be
Refunded to PE on Page 17.

Statute of Limitations for
Deficiency Assessment
Pass-through Entity

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2011,
new legislation provides a six year statute of limitations,
after the date on which the return is filed, for making a
deficiency assessment against a pass-through entity, as
defined in Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-719(b)(2)(D), that omits
from the Connecticut adjusted gross income derived
from or connected with sources within Connecticut of
any nonresident individual who is a member of such
pass-through entity, an amount properly includible that
is more than 25% of the amount of Connecticut adjusted
gross income derived from or connected with sources
within Connecticut stated in the return.

Making a
Against a
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DRS Regional Offices Reopened

The following DRS field offices are scheduled to
reopen in 2012 to provide personal assistance to
taxpayers:

» Bridgeport 10 Middle St

e Norwich 401 West Thames St, Building #700

e Waterbury 55 West Main St, Suite 100

All calls are answered at our Customer Service Center
in Hartford, not at the field offices.

Free personal taxpayer assistance and forms are
available by visiting our offices. Walk-in assistance
at all DRS locations is available Monday through
Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (arrive by 4:00 p.m.).
Directions to DRS offices are available using the DRS
phone menu or by visiting the DRS website. If you
require special accommodations, please advise the
DRS representative.

Angel Investor Tax Credit

Effective October 27, 2011, the minimum cash
investment required to qualify for the angel
investor tax credit was reduced from $100,000 to
$25,000. See Angel Investor Tax Credit, on Page 8.
(Connecticut Public Act 11-1, 829, October Special
Session, amended Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-704d(b)).
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Other Taxes For Which the Pass-Through Entity May Be Liable

The information that follows is a general description
of other Connecticut taxes for which a pass-through
entity (PE) may be liable. Failure to pay these or any
taxes for which the PE is liable may subject the PE to
civil and criminal penalties.

Connecticut Income Tax Withholding

Any PE that maintains an office or transacts business
in Connecticut (regardless of the location of the payroll
department) and is considered an employer for federal
income tax withholding purposes must withhold
Connecticut income tax from Connecticut wages as
defined in Conn. Agencies Reg. §12-706(b)-1. See
Informational Publication 2011(1), Connecticut
Employer’s Tax Guide - Circular CT.

Business Entity Tax (BET)

The business entity tax (BET) is an annual tax of $250
imposed on the following business types:

e Scorporations (Qualified subchapter S subsidiaries
(QSSS) are not liable for the BET.);
e Limited liability companies (LLCs or SMLLCs)
that are, for federal income tax purposes, either:
1. Treated as a partnership, if it has two or more
members; or
2. Disregarded as an entity separate from its
owner, if it has a single member;
e Limited liability partnerships (LLPs); and
» Limited partnerships (LPSs).

The BET applies to those business entities listed above
if either: 1) the entities were formed under Connecticut
law; or 2) the entities were not formed under
Connecticut law but are required to register with or
obtain a certificate of authority from the Connecticut
Secretary of the State before transacting business in
the state (regardless of whether or not the entities
have complied with the requirement). Visit the
Department of Revenue Services (DRS) website at
www.ct.gov/bet for additional information
regarding the BET.

Connecticut Sales and Use Taxes

A PE may be responsible for filing sales and use tax
returns. Sales tax is due if the company sells taxable
goods or services. Use tax is due on the purchase of
taxable goods or services from out-of-state retailers or
Connecticut retailers who have not collected the sales
tax. Both taxes are reported on Form OS-114, Sales
and Use Tax Return.
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Controlling Interest Transfer Taxes

Tax is imposed on the sale or transfer for consideration
of a controlling interest in an entity where the
entity owns, directly or indirectly, an interest in
Connecticut real property. This tax is reported on
Form AU-330, Controlling Interest Transfer Taxes.
See Special Notice 2003(11), Legislation Affecting
the Controlling Interest Transfer Tax.

Real Estate Conveyance Tax

If a PE transfers real estate in Connecticut, it must
complete and file Form OP-236, Real Estate
Conveyance Tax Return, in the town in which the real
estate is situated.

Registration

Generally, a PE must register with DRS if it is
liable for any taxes administered by DRS, such as sales
and use taxes and Connecticut income tax withholding.
If the PE does not have a Connecticut Tax Registration
Number, the PE may register online through the DRS
website at www.ct.gov/DRS. If the PE already has
a Connecticut Tax Registration Number additional
taxes for which the PE is liable may be added to the
registration online through the Taxpayer Service
Center (TSC).

Abusive Tax Shelters

Any individual or business entity that fails to disclose
participation in an abusive tax shelter designated
by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) as a listed
transaction is subject to audit penalties of 75% of the
tax deficiency that results from the tax shelter activity.
To fulfill the Connecticut disclosure requirement, any
taxpayer (individual or entity) that has participated
in a listed transaction must file a completed
Form CT-8886, Connecticut Listed Transaction
Disclosure Statement, with DRS. Form CT-8886 must
be filed for each taxable year for which a taxpayer
participates in, or receives a benefit from, a listed
transaction.



Definitions

Pass-through entity (PE) means a partnership or an
S corporation.

Partnership means and includes a general partnership,
limited partnership, limited liability partnership,
publicly traded partnership, limited liability company
(LLC) treated as a partnership for federal income tax
purposes, or other entity treated as a partnership for
federal income tax purposes.

Parent pass-through entity (parent PE) is a PE which
is a member of another PE. APE may be both a parent
PE (with respect to one or more PEs) and a subsidiary
PE (with respect to one or more PES).

Subsidiary pass-through entity (subsidiary PE) is a
PE which has at least one member which is itself a
PE. A PE may be both a subsidiary PE (with respect
to one or more PES) and a parent PE (with respect to
one or more PESs).

S corporation means a corporation which is an
S corporation for federal income tax purposes.

Member means and includes a partner of a partnership,
a member of an LLC treated as a partnership for
federal income tax purposes, or a shareholder of an
S corporation.

Member’s share means a partner’s distributive share
of partnership income, gain, loss, or deduction; a

member’s distributive share of LLC income, gain,
loss, or deduction; or a shareholder’s pro-rata share of
S corporation income, gain, loss, or deduction.

Noncorporate member means each member that is
a resident individual, resident trust, resident estate,
nonresident individual, nonresident trust, nonresident
estate, part-year resident individual, or part-year
resident trust.

Nonresident noncorporate member means each
noncorporate member who is a nonresident individual,
nonresident trust, nonresident estate, part-year resident
individual, part-year resident trust.

Resident noncorporate member means each
noncorporate member who is a resident individual,
resident trust, or resident estate.

Corporate member means each member which is a
C corporation for federal income tax purposes, LLC
which has elected to be taxed as a C corporation for
federal income tax purposes, real estate investment
trust, real estate mortgage investment conduit,
regulated investment company, individual retirement
account described in 26 U.S.C. 8408(a), trust described
in 26 U.S.C. 8401(a), or organization exempt from
federal income tax (including organizations described
in 26 U.S.C. 8501(c) or (d).

General Information

Requirement to Attach Copies of Federal
Forms

Taxpayers completing a paper Form CT-1065/
CT-1120SI, Connecticut Composite Income Tax
Return, are required to attach a copy of completed
federal Form 1065, U.S. Return of Partnership Income,
or federal Form 1120S, U.S. Income Tax Return for
an S Corporation. Do not attach copies of federal
Schedule K-1 (Form 1065), Partner's Share of Income,
Deductions, Credits, etc., or Schedule K-1 (Form
1120S), Shareholders Share of Income, Deductions,
Credits, etc.

Tax Credits

Effective for income tax years beginning on or
after January 1, 2010, legislation provides for
credits applicable against the income tax. For more
information regarding additional requirements and

limitations to these credits, see Special Notice
2010(3), 2010 Legislative Changes Affecting the
Income Tax, or contact the Department of Economic
Development (DECD) or Connecticut Innovations Inc.

Qualified Small Business Job Creation
Tax Credit

An employer with less than 50 employees in
Connecticut may earn a credit equal to $200 per
month for hiring a new employee after May 6, 2010,
who resides in Connecticut. The new employee must
be hired to fill a full time job during the income years
beginning on or after January 1, 2010, and before
January 1, 2013.

The tax credit may be used against the tax liability
under Chapter 229 or against the tax liability under
Chapter 207 or 208 of the Connecticut General
Statutes, for the income year in which the new
employee is hired and, if eligible, the two immediately
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succeeding income vyears. However, this credit
cannot be used against the employer’s withholding
tax liability. Additionally, this credit does not carry
forward, is nonrefundable, and if used against an
income tax liability imposed under Chapter 229 of
the Connecticut General Statutes, is limited by the
amount of the tax. The tax credit is not available for
an income year if the new employee is not employed
by the employer at the close of that income year. The
tax credit is administered by DECD.

Vocational Rehabilitation Job Creation
Tax Credit

An employer may earn a credit equal to $200 per
month for hiring a new qualifying employee who
is receiving rehabilitation services from the Bureau
of Rehabilitation Services within the Department of
Social Services or from the Board of Education and
Services for the Blind. The new employee must be
hired after May 6, 2010, and prior to January 1, 2012*
to work at least 20 hours per week for 48 weeks of a
calendar year.

The tax credit may be used against the tax liability
under Chapter 229 or against the tax liability under
Chapter 207 or 208 of the Connecticut General
Statutes, for the income year in which the new
employee is hired and, if eligible, the two immediately
succeeding income years. However, this credit cannot
be used against the employer’s withholding tax
liability. Additionally, this credit does not carry
forward, is nonrefundable, and if used against an
income tax liability imposed under Chapter 229 of
the Connecticut General Statutes, is limited by the
amount of the tax. The tax credit is not available for
an income year if the new employee is not employed
by the employer at the close of that income year. The
tax credit is administered by DECD.

* Effective October 27, 2011, Connecticut Public Act
11-1, 822, October Special Session, amended Conn.
Gen. Stat. §12-21700. The amendment requires that the
new qualifying employee must be hired prior to January
1, 2012 in order for the employer to claim the credit.

The allowable credit is 25% of the cash investment,
cannot exceed $250,000, cannot exceed the amount
of the income tax imposed under Chapter 229 of
the Connecticut General Statutes for the taxable
year, and cannot be used against the withholding tax
liability imposed by Conn. Gen. Stat. 8§12-707. The
credit must be claimed in the taxable year in which
the investment is made. Any tax credit claimed but
not applied against the income tax liability may be
carried forward for the five immediately succeeding
taxable years until the full credit has been applied.
The credit is not transferable. The tax credit is
administered by Connecticut Innovations, Inc.

See Angel Investor Tax Credit on Page 4.

** Effective October 27, 2011, Connecticut Public Act
11-1, 8§29, October Special Session, amended Conn.
Gen. Stat.8§12-704d(b). The amendment reduces the
minimum cash investment required from $100,000 to
$25,000 in qualified securities of a Connecticut business.

Claiming the Tax Credits

These credits may be claimed by the shareholders of
an S corporation or the partners of an entity treated
as a partnership for federal income tax purposes. The
pro-rata share of the credits earned by a pass-through
entity (PE) must be reported to each member or
partner on Schedule CT K-1, Member’s Share of
Certain Connecticut Items. If the entity is a single
member limited liability company that is disregarded
as an entity separate from its owner, the tax credit
may be claimed by the limited liability company
owner provided the owner is a person subject to
Connecticut income tax.

A PE required to make Connecticut income tax
payments on behalf of its nonresident noncorporate
members, when calculating the required income tax
payment, may subtract the nonresident noncorporate
members’ pro-rata share of any of the credits earned
by the PE. See instructions for Form CT-1065/CT-1120Sl,
Connecticut Composite Income Tax Return, Part I,
Schedule B - PE Member Composite Return, on Page 18
and Schedule CT K-1 Instructions on Page 29.

Angel Investor Tax Credit

This tax credit is available to angel investors making
a cash investment of not less than $25,000*%* in the
qualified securities of a Connecticut business. The
credit is applicable to taxable years beginning on or
after January 1, 2010. However, tax credits cannot
be reserved for any investments made on or after
July 1, 2014.
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Substantial Economic Presence

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1,
2010, a partnership, limited liability company treated
as a partnership for federal income tax purposes, or
S corporation having a substantial economic presence
in Connecticut will be deemed to be doing business in
Connecticut. A partnership, limited liability company,
or S corporation has substantial economic presence



in Connecticut if it purposefully directs business
toward the state. The purpose can be determined by
the frequency, quantity, and systematic nature of its
economic contact with Connecticut. See Informational
Publication 2010(29), Q & A on Economic Nexus.

Domestic Production Activity Deduction
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009,
the domestic production activity deduction allowed
under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 8199 is not
allowed for Connecticut income tax purposes. See
Special Notice 2009(3), 2009 Legislative Changes
Affecting the Income Tax.

Requirement to Identify Exempt Members
If a subsidiary pass-through entity (PE) is not making
complete Connecticut income tax payments on
behalf of a parent PE because one or more members
of the parent PE are corporate members or resident
noncorporate members, the subsidiary PE must attach a
statement listing the parent PE’s corporate and resident
noncorporate members. The statement must include
each exempt member’s name, Social Security Number
(SSN) or Federal Identification Number (FEIN),
ownership percentage, and share of income.

Requirement to Separately Submit Copies
of All Schedule CT K-1s Issued

Copies of all Schedule CT K-1s issued by a PE must
be filed with DRS. Schedule CT K-1s should be
attached to Form CT K-1T, Transmittal of Schedule
CT K-1, Member’s Share of Certain Connecticut Items,
and sent separately to DRS. Do not file Form CT K-1T
and Schedule CT K-1s if Form CT-1065/CT-1120Sl,
Connecticut Composite Income Tax Return, is
electronically filed with DRS. Schedule CT K-1
must still to be issued to all members. Use Form
CT K-1T even if only one paper Schedule CT K-1
is being submitted. Do not file Schedule CT K-1s with
the composite income tax return. See instructions to
Form CT K-1T and Schedule CT K-1.

How to Get Help

DRS is ready to help you get answers to Connecticut tax
questions. Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS
or call 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the
Greater Hartford calling area only) or 860-297-5962
(from anywhere) during business hours. For personal
assistance, refer to the back cover for a list of DRS
offices. Be sure to bring your completed federal return
if applicable.

Forms and Publications

Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS to download
and print Connecticut tax forms and publications
anytime.

Taxpayer Service Center

The Taxpayer Service Center (TSC) allows
taxpayers to electronically file, pay, and manage state
tax responsibilities. DRS encourages Connecticut
composite income tax filers to use the TSC to
electronically file and pay their CT-1065/CT-1120SI
tax return. The TSC is an interactive site that provides
a fast, free, accurate, and secure way to file eligible tax
returns and pay the tax due or to initiate a payment-
only transaction.

Additionally, the TSC offers a secure mailbox for
information sharing, multi-level access to your account
by tax type, the ability to view transactions, and
the ability to cancel your electronic payments. The
TSC also offers an easy way to get answers to most
frequently-asked questions and enables taxpayers to
send queries for additional information.

Estimated Payments

A PE is not required to make estimated Connecticut
income tax payments on behalf of its nonresident
members.

Income Tax Refund
Amember’s Connecticut income tax overpayment will
be refunded only to the PE.

Get the refund faster by choosing direct deposit.
Complete Lines 8c, 8d, and 8e to have the refund
directly deposited into a checking or savings account.

If any of the bank information you supply for direct
deposit does not match or you close the applicable bank
account prior to the deposit of the refund, the refund
will automatically be mailed to you.

Who Must File

Every PE that does business in Connecticut or has
income derived from or connected with sources within
Connecticut must file Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI
regardless of the amount of its income (loss). The
PE must first complete either federal Form 1065,
U.S. Return of Partnership Income, or federal Form
1120S, U.S. Income Tax Return for an S corporation.
Information on the federal return is needed to complete
Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI.
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An electing large partnership (ELP) that completes
federal Form 1065-B, U.S. Return of Income
for Electing Large Partnerships, must still use
Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI. Connecticut does not
conform to the electing large partnership provisions.

Special Filing Requirements for Form
CT-1040NR/PY

If the member’s only income derived from or
connected with Connecticut sources is from one
or more PEs and each PE is required to make a
Connecticut income tax payment on his or her behalf
because the member’s share of each PE’s income
derived from or connected with Connecticut sources
is $1,000 or more, the member is not required to file
Form CT-1040NR/PY, Connecticut Nonresident
and Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return. Except
as otherwise provided in Informational Publication
2006(22), Connecticut Income Tax Changes
Affecting Pass-Through Entities, Question 10, with
respect to a member’s payment obligations, the
Connecticut income tax payment made by each
PE on the member’s behalf satisfies the member’s
Connecticut income tax filing and payment
obligations. If the Connecticut income tax payment
made on the member’s behalf by a PE exceeds the
amount of the member’s Connecticut income tax
liability, as reported on Schedule CT K-1, Part I,
Line 1, issued to the member by the PE, DRS will
refund the excess to the PE.

A PE Must Provide Schedule CT K-1to All
Members

A PE must furnish Schedule CT K-1s, to all members
on or before the fifteenth day of the fourth month
following the close of the taxable year (April 15 for
calendar year filers). See Schedule CT K-1 Instructions
on Page 29.

If the PE requested an extension of time to file
Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI by timely filing
Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI EXT, Application for
Extension of Time to File Connecticut Composite
Income Tax Return, the deadline for furnishing
Schedule CT K-1 to members is automatically
extended to the fifteenth day of the ninth month
following the close of the taxable year (September 15
if the PE’s taxable year for federal purposes is the
calendar year).
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How Members Report Income

Resident Noncorporate Member

If the member is a resident individual, his or
her share of PE income or loss is included in
his or her federal adjusted gross income and,
therefore, is includable in the federal adjusted gross
income reported on the member’s Form CT-1040,
Connecticut Resident Income Tax Return. The PE must
provide the member with Schedule CT K-1 reporting
Connecticut modifications the member must include
on Form CT-1040, Schedule 1.

If the member is a resident trust or estate, its
share of PE income or loss is included in its federal
taxable income and, therefore, is includable in the
federal taxable income reported on the member’s
Form CT-1041, Connecticut Income Tax Return
for Trusts and Estates. The PE must provide
the member with a Schedule CT K-1 reporting
Connecticut modifications the member must include on
Form CT-1041, Schedule A.

Nonresident Noncorporate Member

If the member is a nonresident individual, his or
her share of PE income or loss is included in federal
adjusted gross income and, therefore, is includable
in the federal adjusted gross income reported on
the member’s Form CT-1040NR/PY. The PE must
provide the member with a Schedule CT K-1
reporting Connecticut modifications the member
must include on Form CT-1040NR/PY, Schedule 1,
and amounts of PE income or loss derived from or
connected with Connecticut sources the member
must include on Schedule CT-SI, Nonresident
or Part-Year Resident Schedule of Income From
Connecticut Sources, assuming the member is
required to file Form CT-1040NR/PY.

Amember who is a nonresident individual is expressly
relieved of the obligation to file his or her own
Connecticut income tax return if the member’s only
Connecticut-sourced income is from one or more PEs
and the total is less than $1,000.

If a nonresident member’s Connecticut-sourced
income from one or more PEs is not the member’s only
Connecticut-sourced income, the filing of a composite
income tax return by the PE and the making of an
income tax payment by the PE on the member’s behalf
does not excuse the member from the obligation to file
his or her own separate Connecticut income tax return.



If a nonresident member’s only Connecticut-sourced
income is from one or more PEs, the filing of a
composite income tax return by each PE and the
making of an income tax payment by each PE on the
member’s behalf fulfills the Connecticut income tax
filing and payment requirements otherwise separately
imposed on the member by Chapter 229 of the
Connecticut General Statutes.

If the member is a nonresident trust or estate,
its share of PE income or loss is included in federal
taxable income and, therefore, is includable in the
federal taxable income reported on the member’s
Form CT-1041. The PE must provide the member with
a Schedule CT K-1 reporting Connecticut modifications
the member must include on Form CT-1041,
Schedule A, and amounts of PE income or loss derived
from or connected with Connecticut sources that the
member must include on Schedule CT-1041FA,
Fiduciary Allocation.

For filing requirements of a nonresident trust or estate,
see Form CT-1041 Booklet, Connecticut Income Tax
Return for Trusts and Estates.

Member That Is Itself a Pass-Through
Entity

If the member is a PE, it is referred to as a parent PE
and the PE of which it is a member is referred to as a
subsidiary PE. The parent PE’s share of the subsidiary
PE’s income or loss is included in the income or
loss reported on the parent PE’s federal Form 1065
or federal Form 1120S, as the case may be, and is,
therefore, included in the income or loss reported
on the parent PE’s Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI. The
subsidiary PE must furnish a Schedule CT K-1 to the
parent PE and report:

» Connecticut modifications that the parent PE must
include on Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI, Part V;

e Amounts of the subsidiary PE’s income or loss
derived from or connected with Connecticut sources
that the parent PE must report on its Form CT-1065/
CT-1120SI, Part I, Schedule D, Column B, and must
include on its Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI, Part VI;

*  Amounts of income tax credits that the parent PE
must include on CT-1065/CT-1120S, Part VII; and

» The Connecticut income tax liability that the parent
PE must report on its Form CT-1065/CT-1120Sl,
Part I, Schedule D, Column C.

The parent PE must, in turn, provide its members with:

» A Schedule CT K-1 reporting their share of the
Connecticut modifications as reported on the parent
PE’s Form CT-1065/CT-1120SlI, Part V;

e Their share of the amounts of the parent PE’s
income or loss derived from or connected with
Connecticut sources as reported on the parent PE’s
Form CT-1065/CT-1120SlI, Part VI;

e Their share of the parent PE's income tax credits
as reported on the parent PE's Form CT-1065/
CT-11208SlI, Part VII; and

e Their share of the Connecticut income tax liability
paid by the parent PE on behalf of its members
as reported on the parent PE’s Form CT-1065/
CT-1120SlI, Part I, Schedule B, Column F.

Composite Payment of Tax

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1,
2008, the PE should not rely or act on a statement made
by a member that a Connecticut income tax payment,
including estimated Connecticut income tax payments,
have been made by the member for the taxable year.
The PE must make an annual Connecticut income tax
payment on behalf of the member where the following
criteria are met regardless of any instructions to the
contrary by the member to the PE:

e The member is a nonresident noncorporate
member or a PE; and

e The member’s share of the PE’s income derived
from or connected with Connecticut sources is
$1,000 or more.

The annual income tax payment that a PE is required
to make on behalf of nonresident noncorporate or
PE members must be calculated using the highest
marginal rate of 6.7%. Interest and penalty will be
assessed on the Connecticut income tax payment
required to be made but not made by the PE on behalf
of a member.

Accounting Period and Method of Accounting
A PE’s accounting period and method of accounting
for Connecticut income tax purposes must be the same
as its accounting period and method of accounting for
federal income tax purposes.

If a PE’s accounting period or method of accounting
is changed for federal income tax purposes, the same
change must be made for Connecticut income tax
purposes.
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Amended Returns

Check the Amended Return box on the front of Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI to amend a previously-filed
Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI. If an amended return is filed to have an overpayment of Connecticut income tax
refunded, the overpayment will be refunded to the PE. However, the amended Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI
must be filed before the Connecticut statute of limitations expires. Generally, the statute of limitations for
refunding any Connecticut income tax overpayment expires three years after the due date of the return, but
if a timely request for an extension of time to file a return was filed, the statute of limitations expires three
years after the extended due date of the return or three years after the date of filing the return, whichever is
earlier. If an amended return is filed to report an underpayment of Connecticut income tax, interest will apply
and, if the amended return is not timely filed, a penalty may be imposed. See Interest and Penalties on Page 14.
An amended Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI must be filed under the following circumstances

1. The IRS or federal courts change or correct the
PE’s federal income tax return and the change or
correction results in the Connecticut income tax
being overpaid or underpaid.

File no later than 90 days after the final determination
by the IRS or federal courts.

2. The PE files a timely amended federal income tax
return and the amendment results in the Connecticut
income tax being overpaid or underpaid.

File no later than 90 days after the final determination
by the IRS.

3. If neither of the circumstances above apply, but
the PE made a mistake or omission on its Form
CT-1065/CT-1120SI and the mistake or omission
results in the Connecticut income tax being overpaid
or underpaid.

File no later than three years after the due date of the
return or, if a timely request for an extension of time to
file the return was filed, three years after the extended
due date of the return or three years after the date of filing
the return, whichever is earlier.

When to File Form CT-1065/CT-1120SlI
Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI is due on or before the
fifteenth day of the fourth month following the close
of the taxable year (April 15 for calendar year filers).
See Due Date - April 17, 2012 on Page 4.

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal
holiday, the next business day is the due date. The
return will meet the timely filed and timely payment
rules if the U.S. Postal Service cancellation date, or
the date recorded or marked by a designated private
delivery service (PDS) using a designated type of
service, is on or before the due date. Not all services
provided by these designated PDSs qualify.

The following are the designated PDSs and designated
types of service at the time of publication:

Federal Express United Parcel Service (UPS)
(FedEx) ¢ UPS Next Day Air

» FedEx Priority Overnight * UPS Next Day Air Saver

* FedEx Standard Overnight | « UPS 2nd Day Air

e FedEx 2Day * UPS 2nd Day Air A.M.

e FedEx International Priority | « UPS Worldwide Express Plus
* FedEx International First * UPS Worldwide Express
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This list is subject to change. To verify the names
of designated PDSs and designated types of service
see Policy Statement 2008(3), Designated Private
Delivery Services and Designated Types of Service.

If Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI is filed late or all the
tax due is not paid with the return, see Interest and
Penalties on Page 14 to determine if interest and
penalty must be reported with this return.

Extension Request

To get a five-month extension of time to file Form
CT-1065/CT-1120SI and the same extension of time to
furnish Schedule CT K-1 to its members, the PE must
file Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI1 EXT, Application
for Extension of Time to File Connecticut Composite
Income Tax Return, on or before the fifteenth day of
the fourth month following the close of the taxable
year together with payment of the total tax due. Timely
filing this form automatically extends the due date for
five months only if federal Form 7004, Application
for Automatic Extension of Time to File Certain



Business Income Tax, Information, and Other Returns,
has been filed with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).
If federal Form 7004 was not filed, a PE may apply
for a five-month extension to file Form CT-1065/
CT-1120SI only if there is reasonable cause for the
request.

Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI EXT extends only the time
to file a return. It does not extend the time to pay the
amount of income tax due. See Interest and Penalties
on Page 14.

If a general partner or corporate officer is unable, by
reason of illness, absence, or other good cause, to
request an extension, any person standing in a close
personal or business relationship (including attorneys,
accountants, and enrolled agents) to the general partner
or corporate officer may sign the request on his or her
behalf and is considered a duly authorized agent for
this purpose provided the request states the reasons
for a signature other than that of a general partner or
corporate officer and the relationship existing between
the general partner or corporate officer and the signer.

Extension Request With Credit or Debit
Card Payments

Do not send Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI EXT if
payment is made with a credit card (American
Express®, Discover®, MasterCard®, or VISA®)
or comparable debit card. All credit or debit card
payments with extension requests will be accepted
by the credit card service provider. However, if your
payment is late, DRS will notify you in writing that
your extension request is denied. See Pay by Credit
Card or Debit Card on Page 14.

Extension of Time to Pay the Tax

A PE making a composite income tax payment may
be eligible for a six-month extension of time to pay
the tax due if the PE can show that paying the tax on
or before the due date will cause undue hardship. The
PE may request an extension by filing Form CT-1127,
Application for Extension of Time for Payment of
Income Tax, on or before the due date of the original
return.

Attach Form CT-1127 to the front of Form CT-1065/
CT-1120SI or Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI EXT and
send it on or before the due date. As evidence of the
need for extension, the PE must attach:

e Astatement of its assets and liabilities;

e Anitemized list of its receipts and disbursements
for the preceding three months; and

¢ Anexplanation of why it could not borrow money
to pay the tax due.

If an extension of time to pay is granted and the PE pays
all the tax due in full by the end of the extension period,
a penalty will not be imposed. However, interest will
accrue on any unpaid tax from the original due date.
The PE should make payments as - wicevons
soon as possible to reduce the interest Ao

it would otherwise owe. Write “2011 %y, ¢ oo™
Form CT-1065/CT-1120S1” and the

PE’s FEIN on the front of the check. DRS may submit
your check to your bank electronically.

Where to File

File Electronically: This return can be filed
electronically through the TSC. The TSC allows
taxpayers to electronically file, pay, and manage state
tax responsibilities. Visit www.ct.gov/TSC to make
electronic transactions or administer your tax account
online. If you file electronically, you are expected to
pay electronically at the time of filing.

File a Paper Return

Mail paper return with payment to:
Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
PO Box 5019
Hartford CT 06102-5019

Mail paper return without payment to:
Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
PO Box 2967
Hartford CT 06104-2967

Payment Options

Pay Electronically: Visit www.ct.gov/TSC to use
the TSC to make a direct tax payment. After logging
into the TSC, select the Make Payment Only option
and choose a tax type from the drop down box. Using
this option authorizes DRS to electronically withdraw
a payment from your bank account (checking or
savings) on a date you select up to the due date. As
a reminder, even if you pay electronically you must
still file your return by the due date. Tax not paid on
or before the due date will be subject to penalty and
interest. You must pay the balance due on or before
the due date, to avoid penalty and interest. See Due
Date - April 17, 2012 on Page 4.
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Pay by Credit Card or Debit Card: You may
elect to pay your tax liability using a credit card
(American Express®, Discover®, Master Card® or
Visa®) or comparable debit card. A convenience fee
will be charged by the service provider. You will be
informed of the amount of the fee and may elect to
cancel the transaction. At the end of the transaction,
you will be given a confirmation number for your
records.

There are three ways to pay by credit card or
comparable debit card:

* Log in to your account in the TSC and select
Make Payment by Credit Card,;

» Visitwww.officialpayments.com and select State
Payments; or

e Call Official Payments Corporation toll-free
at 800-2PAY-TAX (800-272-9829) and follow
the instructions. You will be asked to enter the
Connecticut Jurisdiction Code: 1777.

Your payment will be effective on the date you
make the charge.

Pay by Mail: Make check payable to Commissioner
of Revenue Services. To ensure payment is applied
to your account, write “2011 Form CT-1065/
CT-1120S1” and the PE’s Federal Employer
Identification Number (FEIN) on the front of your
check. Be sure to sign your check and paper clip it to
the front of your return. Do not send cash. DRS may
submit your check to your bank electronically.

Income Tax Deficiency Assessment

A Connecticut income tax deficiency may, at the
discretion of DRS, be assessed against the PE or
the member provided any Connecticut income tax
deficiency assessed against the member is limited
to the member’s share. Except as provided in
Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-733, the deficiency assessment
is required to be made not later than three years after
the PE’s composite income tax return is filed.

Interest and Penalties

In general, interest and penalty apply to any portion
of the tax not paid on or before the original due date
of the return.

Interest

If the PE does not pay the tax when due, it will owe
interest at the rate of 1% per month or fraction of a
month until the tax is paid in full.
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Interest on underpayment or late payment of tax
cannot be waived.

Penalty for Late Payment or Late Filing

The penalty for late payment or underpayment of tax
is 10% of the tax not paid on or before the original
due date of the return. The PE can avoid a penalty
for failure to pay the full amount due by the original
due date if:

e The PE files Form CT-1127;

e An extension of time to pay is granted; and

e The PE pays all the tax due in full by the end of
the extension period.

See Extension of Time to Pay the Tax on Page 13.

If no tax is due, the Commissioner of Revenue Services
may impose a $50 penalty for the late filing of any
return or report required by law to be filed.

Penalty for Failure to File

If the PE does not file its return and the Commissioner
of Revenue Services files a return for it, the penalty
for failure to file is 10% of the balance due or $50,
whichever is greater.

If the PE is required to file an amended Form
CT-1065/CT-1120SI and fails to timely do so, a penalty
may be imposed.

Penalty for Willful Failure to File or Pay
If you willfully fail to pay the tax or file a return, you
may be fined up to $1,000 or imprisoned up to one
year, or both, in addition to any other penalty.

Penalty for Willful Filing of a Fraudulent or
Materially False Return

If you willfully file a tax return you know to be
fraudulent or false in any material matter, you may
be fined up to $5,000 or imprisoned from one to five
years, or both.

Offset Against Debts

If the PE is due a refund, all or part of the overpayment
may be used to pay outstanding debts or taxes. The
overpayment will be applied in the following order:
penalty and interest owed, other taxes owed DRS,
or debts to other Connecticut state agencies. Any
remaining balance will be refunded to the PE. If the
refund is reduced, DRS will mail an explanation for
the reduction.



Waiver of Penalty

To make a penalty waiver request, taxpayers must
complete and submit Form DRS-PW, Request for
Waiver of Civil Penalty, to the Department of Revenue
Services (DRS) Penalty Waiver Unit. Taxpayers may
mail Form DRS-PW to the address listed below or
fax it to the Penalty Waiver Unit at 860-297-4797.

Department of Revenue Services
Penalty Waiver Unit

PO Box 5089

Hartford CT 06102-5089

DRS will not consider a penalty waiver request unless
it is accompanied by a fully completed and properly
executed Form DRS-PW. For detailed information
about the penalty waiver process, see Policy Statement
2010(1), Requests for Waiver of Civil Penalties.

Recordkeeping

Keep a copy of the tax return, worksheets used, and
records of all items appearing on the return until the
statute of limitations expires for that return. Usually,
this is three years from the date the return was due
or filed, whichever is later. This information may be
needed to prepare future returns or to file amended
returns.

Copies of Returns

APE can request copies of previously-filed Connecticut
tax returns from DRS by completing LGL-002,
Request for Disclosure of Tax Return or Tax Return
Information. Requests are normally processed in
three weeks.
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Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI Instructions

Order in Which to Complete Schedules

Complete the schedules for Form CT-1065/
CT-1120SI, Connecticut Composite Income Tax Return
in the following order:

e Pass-Through Entity (PE) Information;
¢ Part | Schedule C — Federal Schedule K Information;

¢ Part | Schedule D — Connecticut-Sourced Income
From Subsidiary PE(Ss) if applicable;

e Part Il -Allocation and Apportionment of Income
if applicable;

e Part Il — Place(s) of Business if applicable;
¢ Part IV —Member Information;

e Part V - Member's Share of Connecticut
Modifications;

¢ Part VI — Connecticut-Sourced Portion of Items
From Federal Schedule K-1;

¢ Part VII — Connecticut Income Tax Credit
Summary;

e Part | Schedule B—PE Member Composite Return;

¢ Schedule CT K-1, Member Share of Certain
Connecticut Items;

e Part| Schedule A—PE Computation of Composite
Tax Due;

¢ Transmittal of Schedule CT K-1, Member's Share
of Certain Connecticut Items; and

e Attach a completed copy of federal Form 1065 or
federal Form 1120S.

Pass-Through Entity Information

Enter the PE’s name, address, Federal Identification
Number (FEIN), and Connecticut Tax Registration
Number.

Type of PE: Check the box to indicate type of PE:
Electing large partnership (ELP), General partnership
(GP), S corporation, Limited liability partnership
(LLP), Limited partnership (LP), or Partnership.

Item A: Check the appropriate box(es) for an amended
return, final return, or short period return. Provide an
explanation for each checked box.

Item B: Check the change of address box and
complete Form CT-8822, Change of Address, to
indicate a change in the PE’s physical or mailing
address. If the change of address box is checked,
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you must attach a completed Form CT-8822 to
Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI.

Item C: Enter the total number of resident noncorporate
members as of the close of the PE’s taxable year. Enter
the total number of nonresident noncorporate members
as of the close of the PE’s taxable year. Include PEs
and part-year noncorporate members as nonresidents.

Item D: Enter the Business Code Number as reported
on federal Form 1065 or the Business Activity Code
Number on federal Form 1120S.

Item E: Enter the date the PE first began business and
the date the PE first began business in Connecticut.

Item F: Indicate whether the PE owns, directly or
indirectly, an interest in Connecticut real property.

Additionally, if the answer to item G or item H is Yes,
attach a statement listing all Connecticut real properties
owned, including addresses.

Item G: Indicate if a controlling interest in the PE
was transferred. If the answer is Yes and the PE owned,
directly or indirectly, Connecticut real property,
the transferor(s) is liable for the controlling interest
transfer tax. Enter the name and Social Security
Number (SSN) or FEIN of the transferor(s), the name
of the transferee, and the date of transfer.

Item H: Indicate if the PE transferred a controlling
interest. If the answer is Yes, the PE is liable for the
controlling interest transfer tax. Enter the name of the
entity in which a controlling interest was transferred
and its FEIN, the name of the transferee, and the date
of transfer.

See Controlling Interest Transfer Taxes on Page 6.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars

You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on
your return and schedules. If you do not round, DRS
will disregard the cents.

Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts
that include 1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next
highest dollar all amounts that include 50 through
99 cents. However, if you need to add two or more
amounts to compute the amount to enter on a line,
include cents and round off only the total.

Example: Add two amounts ($1.29 + $3.21) to
compute the total ($4.50) to enter on a line. $4.50 is
rounded to $5.00 and entered on the line.




Part | Schedule A — PE Computation of
Composite Tax Due

Do not complete Part I, Schedule A and Schedule B,
for members who are:

» Resident noncorporate members; or
e Corporate members.

All other members, including members that are PEs,
must be included in Part I, Schedule A and Schedule B.
If a subsidiary PE is not making complete Connecticut
income tax payments on behalf of a parent PE because
one or more members of the parent PE are corporate
members or resident noncorporate members, the
subsidiary PE must attach a statement listing the parent
PE’s corporate and resident noncorporate members.
The statement must include each member’s name, SSN
or FEIN, ownership percentage, and share of income.

Line 1: Total Connecticut-Sourced income
included in composite return

Enter the amount from Part |, Schedule B, Line 10,
Column C.

Line 2: Multiply Line 1 by 6.7%. The amount
computed should equal the amount entered on Part I,
Schedule B, Line 11, Column D.

Line 3: Members’ credit

Enter the amount from Part I, Schedule B, Line 12,
Column E.

Line 4: Tax liability

Subtract Line 3 from Line 2 and enter the result. The
amount computed should equal the amount entered on
Part I, Schedule B, Line 13, Column F.

Line 5: Payment made with Form CT-1065/
CT-1120SI EXT

If Form CT-1065/CT-1120S1 EXT, Application for
Extension of Time to File Connecticut Composite Income
Tax Return, was filed, enter the amount of tax paid with
Form CT-1065/CT-1120S EXT.

Line 6: Parent PE only

Enter the amount from Part |, Schedule D, Line 10,

Column C.

Do not enter on Line 5 or Line 6 any amount of

Connecticut income tax withholding reported to the

PE by a designated withholding agent from:

e Form CT-592, Athlete or Entertainer Withholding
Tax Statement, Part 5, Line 2; or

e Federal Form 1099-MISC, Miscellaneous Income,
Box 16.

Athlete and entertainer withholding tax cannot be
applied to the Connecticut composite income tax

return on Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI. Performing
entities receiving federal Form 1099-MISC must
determine how much of the aggregate income and
Connecticut income tax withholding reported on federal
Form 1099-MISC is attributable to each member or
participant and prepare Form CT-592 for each member
or participant accordingly. The individual receiving
Form CT-592 must report the income and claim the
withholding as it appears on Form CT-592 on his or her
Connecticut income tax return. See Policy Statement
2011(2), Income Tax Withholding for Athletes or
Entertainers.

Line 7: Add Line 5 and Line 6 and enter the total.

Line 8: Amount to be Refunded to PE
If Line 7 is more than Line 4, subtract Line 4 from
Line 7 and enter the result.

Get your refund faster by choosing direct deposit.
Complete lines 8a, 8b and 8c to have your refund
directly deposited into your checking or savings
account.

Name of Depositor No. 101
Street Address Date
City, State, Zip Code

Pay to the
Order of $

Name of your Bank
Street Address
City, State, Zip Code

(092125789 )

Routing Number

091 025 025413 D> 0101

Account Number

Enter your nine-digit bank routing number and your
bank account number in Lines 8b and 8c. Your bank
routing number is normally the first nine-digit number
printed on your check or savings withdrawal slip.
Your bank account number generally follows the bank
routing number. Do not include the check number as
part of your account number. Bank account numbers
can be up to 17 digits and must be numeric.

If any of the bank information you supply for direct
deposit does not match, or you close the applicable
bank account prior to the deposit of the refund, your
refund will automatically be mailed to you. Federal
banking rules require DRS to request information
about foreign bank accounts (Line 8d) when the
taxpayer requests the direct deposit of a refund into
a bank account. If the refund is to be deposited in a
bank outside of the United States, DRS will mail your
refund to you.

Income Tax Refund: A member’s Connecticut
income tax overpayment will be refunded only to
the PE.
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Line 9: Amount of tax owed
If Line 4 is more than Line 7, subtract Line 7 from
Line 4 and enter the result.

Line 10: Late payment or late filing penalty
The penalty for late payment of the tax due is 10%
of the amount due. In the event that no tax is due, the
Commissioner of Revenue Services may impose a
$50 penalty for the late filing of any return or report
required by law to be filed. However, if a request for
extension of time to file a tax return has been granted,
no late payment penalty will be imposed if:

e The amount of tax shown to be due on the return,
minus the amount of tax paid on or before the due
date of the return, equals an amount not greater
than 10% of the amount of the tax shown to be
due on the return; and

e The balance due is remitted with the return on or
before the extended due date of the return.

Line 11: Late payment interest

If the tax is not paid by the due date, interest is charged
at the rate of 1% per month or fraction of a month from
the due date until the tax is paid in full.

Line 12: Balance due with this return

Add Lines 9 through 11 and enter the total. Pay the
balance due with this return. Visit www.ct.gov/TSC
to use the Taxpayer Service Center (TSC) to file and
pay this return or make a direct tax payment. Make
check payable to Commissioner of Revenue Services.
Write the PE’s FEIN and “2011 Form CT-1065/
CT-1120S1” on the front of the check. Be sure to sign
the check and paper clip it to the front of the return.
Do not send cash. DRS may submit your check to
your bank electronically.

Part | Schedule B — PE Member Composite
Return

See Composite Payment of Tax on Page 11.

Do not complete Part I, Schedule A and Schedule B,
for members who are:

» Resident noncorporate members; or

e Corporate members.

All other members, including members that are PEs,
must be included in Part I, Schedule A and Schedule B.
If the PE filing the return has a member that is a
PE (parent PE) which in turn has exempt members,
such as corporate members or resident noncorporate
members, and is not making Connecticut income
tax payments on all of the parent PE’s members’
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share of total Connecticut-sourced income, then the
PE filing the return must attach a statement listing
each member’s name, SSN or FEIN, ownership
percentage, and share of income. If there are more
than eight members entered in Part I, Schedule B,
use Form CT-1065/CT-1120S1 Supplemental
Attachment (included in this booklet) and enter the
subtotal on Line 9, Columns C through F.

Column A: Member Number
Enter the assigned member number of each nonresident
noncorporate member or PE in Part IV.

Column B: Identification Number
Enter the FEIN or SSN of members who are nonresident
noncorporate members or PEs.

Column C: Connecticut-Sourced Income

Enter the member’s Connecticut-sourced income.
This amount is the total of the amounts entered for
the member on Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI, Part VI,
Lines 1 through 13. Federal rules apply for restrictions
in netting only similar characters of income. If a
member’s Connecticut-sourced income is less than
$1,000, enter “0” for the member. Enter the total for all
members on Line 10, Column C, and Part I, Schedule A,
Line 1.

Column D
Multiply Column C by 6.7% and enter the total for all
members on Line 11, Column D.

Column E: Members’ Credit

Enter the member’s amount of credit allowed on
the member’s behalf. This amount is entered for
the member on Schedule CT K-1, Part 1V, Line 5,
Column B. Enter the total for all members on
Line 12, Column E.

Column F: Tax Liability

Subtract Column E from Column D and enter the
amount for each member. Enter the total for all
members on Line 13, Column F.

Part | Schedule C — Federal Schedule K
Information

All PEs must complete this schedule.

Refer to Schedule K of federal Form 1065 or federal

Form 1120S for the amounts to enter on Line 1 through
Line 13.

Column A: Enter the amounts from federal
Form 1065, Schedule K, or federal Form 1120S,
Schedule K.



Column B: If you are a parent PE, refer to the federal
Schedule K-1 issued to you by a subsidiary PE or
PEs. Enter in Column B the portion of Column A
attributable to the subsidiary PE or PEs. If none of
the income (loss) in Column A is from a subsidiary
PE or PEs, enter “0.” If reporting amounts from more
than one subsidiary PE, attach a statement indicating
the income or loss from each PE and enter the sum.

Column C: Subtract the amount in Column B from
the amount in Column A. If the amount in Column B
is a loss, add the amount in Column B to the amount
in Column A.

If the PE carries on business in Connecticut only, the
amounts in Column C represent Connecticut-sourced
income (loss) and must be used in Part VI to determine
each member’s Connecticut-sourced income (loss).

If the PE carries on business both within and outside
Connecticut and it maintains books and records that
satisfactorily disclose the portion of income, gain,
loss, or deduction derived from or connected with
Connecticut sources, those amounts, as disclosed
in the books and records, must be used in Part VI
to determine each member’s Connecticut-sourced
income (loss).

If the PE carries on business both within and outside
Connecticut and it does not maintain books and
records that satisfactorily disclose the portion of
income, gain, loss, or deduction derived from or
connected with Connecticut sources, the amounts
in Column C are multiplied by the apportionment
fraction computed in Part 1. The apportioned amounts
are used in Part VI to determine each member’s
Connecticut-sourced income (loss).

Line 1: Ordinary business income (loss)
Column A - Enter the amount of ordinary business
income or loss derived from the PE’s trade or business
activities. This is the amount reported on federal
Form 1065 or 1120S, Schedule K, Line 1.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount that is from a subsidiary PE(S).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 2: Net rental real estate income (loss)

Column A - Enter the net income or loss from rental
real estate activities from federal Form 8825, Rental
Real Estate Income and Expenses of a Partnership
or an S Corporation. This is the amount reported

on federal Form 1065 or federal Form 1120S,
or Schedule K, Line 2.

Attach a statement indicating the kind and location of
each property reported on Form 8825.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(S).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 3: Other net rental income (loss)
Column A - Enter the net income or loss from
rental activities other than those reported on federal
Form 8825. This is the amount reported on federal
Form 1065 or 1120S, Schedule K, Line 3. Attach a
statement indicating the exact location of each rental
activity.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(S).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 4: Guaranteed payments
Column A - Enter the amount of guaranteed payments
reported on federal Form 1065, Schedule K, Line 4.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(S).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 5: Interest income

Column A - Enter the amount of taxable interest
income reported on federal Form 1065, Schedule K,
Line 5, or federal Form 1120S, Schedule K, Line 4.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(S).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 6a: Ordinary dividends

Column A - Enter the amount of taxable ordinary
dividends reported on federal Form 1065, Schedule K,
Line 6a, or federal Form 1120S, Schedule K, Line 5a.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(S).
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Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 6b: Qualified dividends

Column A - Enter the amount of qualified dividends
reported on federal Form 1065, Schedule K, Line 6b,
or federal Form 1120S, Schedule K, Line 5b.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(s).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 7: Royalties

Column A - Enter the amount of royalty income
reported on federal Form 1065, Schedule K, Line 7,
or federal Form 1120S, Schedule K, Line 6.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(s).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 8: Net short-term capital gain (loss)
Column A - Enter the amount of short-term capital
gain or loss reported on federal Form 1065, Schedule K,
Line 8, or federal Form 1120S, Schedule K, Line 7.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(s).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 9a: Net long-term capital gain (loss)

Column A - Enter the amount of long-term capital gain
or loss reported on federal Form 1065, Schedule K,
Line 9a, or federal Form 1120S, Schedule K, Line 8a.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(s).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 9b: Collectibles (28%) gain (loss)

Column A - Enter the amount of collectibles gain
or loss reported on federal Form 1065, Schedule K,
Line 9b, or federal Form 1120S, Schedule K, Line 8b.
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Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(S).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 9c: Unrecaptured section 1250 gain

Column A - Enter the amount of unrecaptured section
1250 gain reported on federal Form 1065, Schedule K,
Line 9c, or federal Form 1120S, Schedule K, Line 8c.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(S).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 10: Net section 1231 gain (loss)

Column A - Enter the amount of net section 1231 gain
or loss reported on federal Form 1065, Schedule K,
Line 10, or federal Form 1120S, Schedule K, Line 9.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(S).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 11: Other income (loss)

Column A - Enter the amount of other income or loss
(not included on Lines 1 through 10 above) reported
on federal Form 1065, Schedule K, Line 11, or federal
Form 1120S, Schedule K, Line 10. Attach a statement
that separately identifies the type and amount of
income or loss.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(S).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Line 12: Section 179 deduction

Column A - Enter the amount of section 179 deduction
reported on federal Form 1065, Schedule K, Line 12,
or federal Form 1120S, Schedule K, Line 11.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(S).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.



Line 13: Other deductions

Column A - Enter the other deductions reported on
federal Form 1065, Schedule K, Line 13, or federal
Form 1120S, Schedule K, Line 12. Attach a statement
that separately identifies the type and amount of each
deduction.

Column B - Enter the portion of the Column A
amount from a subsidiary PE(s).

Column C - Subtract the amount reported in
Column B from the amount reported in Column A. If
Column B is “0,” enter the amount from Column A.

Part | Schedule D — Connecticut-Sourced
Income From Subsidiary PE(s)
Only parent PEs must complete this schedule.

Refer to the federal Schedule K-1, Shareholder’s Share
of Income, Deductions, Credits, etc., issued to you by
the subsidiary PE for the amount to enter in Column A
of this schedule.

Refer to the Schedule CT K-1, Member’s Share
of Certain Connecticut Items, issued to you by the
subsidiary PE for the amounts to enter in Column B
and Column C of this schedule. The amounts reported
in Column B are subject to the passive activity
limitations, at-risk limitations, and federal capital loss
limitations.

If there are more than eight PEs entered in Part I,
Schedule D, use Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI
Supplemental Attachment, (included in this booklet)
and enter the subtotal(s) on Line 9, Columns A, B,
and C.

Name of Subsidiary PE: Enter the name and the
Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) of
the subsidiary PE.

Column A: Amount Reported on Federal K-1
Refer to the federal Schedule K-1 issued to you by
the subsidiary PE and enter the sum of the amounts
reported on the schedule and included in Part I,
Schedule C, Column B, for this PE.

Column B: Amount From Connecticut Sources

Refer to Part Il of the Schedule CT K-1 issued to you
by the subsidiary PE and enter the Connecticut-sourced
income from the subsidiary PE. Take into account
passive activity limitations, at-risk limitations, and
federal capital loss limitations. The amount reported in
this column represents Connecticut-sourced income.

Connecticut-sourced income should not be
allocated or apportioned using the Form CT-1065/
CT-1120SI1, Part Il, apportionment fraction. It
should be used to complete Part VI to determine each
member’s Connecticut-sourced income (loss).

Column C: Connecticut Tax Liability

Refer to Part 11l of the Schedule CT K-1 issued to
you by the subsidiary PE and enter the Connecticut
tax liability as reported by the subsidiary PE on
Schedule CT K-1, Part Ill, Line 1. Add Lines 1
through 9 and enter the total on Line 10, Column C,
and on Part I, Schedule A, Line 6.

Part Il — Allocation and Apportionment of
Income
Complete Part Il only if all of the following apply:

e The PE has at least one member who is a
nonresident noncorporate member or a PE;

¢ The PE carries on business both within and outside
Connecticut; and

e The PE does not maintain books and records
that satisfactorily disclose the portion of income,
gain, loss, or deduction derived from or connected
with Connecticut sources.

The apportionment fraction calculated on Line 8 is
used to complete Part VI.

If the PE maintains books and records that satisfactorily
disclose the portion of income, gain, loss, or deduction
derived from or connected with Connecticut sources
then those amounts must be used to complete Part V1.

In addition, do not include in Part Il any factors that
are associated with the rental of real property or gain or
loss from the sale, exchange, or other disposition of real
property under Conn. Agencies Regs. 812-711(b)-8.
Any such income, gain, loss, and deduction derived
from or connected with Connecticut sources must be
used to complete Part VI.

The apportionment fraction is calculated using only
those factors directly related to the PE filing the return.
Factors from subsidiary PEs should not be used.

Part 11 must be completed even if an approved
alternative apportionment method under Conn.
Agencies Regs. 8812-711(b)-15 and 12-712(d)-1 is
used. Attach a detailed explanation of the approved
alternative apportionment method used to determine
the Connecticut income.
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Line 1: Real property owned

Enter in Column A the average value of all real
property, wherever located, owned by the PE. Do not
include in Column Athe average value of real property
rented to others or sold, exchanged, or otherwise
disposed of during taxable year. Enter in Column B
the average value of real property owned by the
PE and located in Connecticut. Do not include in
Column B the average value of Connecticut real
property rented to others or sold, exchanged, or
otherwise disposed of during the taxable year.

To determine the average value of real property owned
by the PE, add its fair market value at the beginning
and the end of the taxable year and divide the sum
by two.

Line 2: Real property rented from others
Enter in Column A the value of all real property
rented from others by the PE, wherever located. Enter
in Column B the value of Connecticut real property
rented from others by the PE.

The value of real property rented by the PE from others
and included on Line 2 is eight times the gross rent
payable during the taxable year for which the return
is filed.

Gross rent includes:

* Any amount payable for the use or possession of
real property, or any part of it, whether designated
as a fixed sum of money or as a percentage of sales,
profits, or otherwise;

* Any amount payable as additional rent or in lieu of
rent such as interest, taxes, insurance, repairs, or
any other amount required to be paid by the terms
of a lease or other agreement; and

e The yearly amortization applicable to any
improvement to real property made by or on behalf
of the PE which reverts to the owner or lessor upon
termination of a lease or other arrangement.

However, if a building is erected on leased land by
or on behalf of the PE, the value of the building is
determined in the same manner as if it were owned
by the PE.

Line 3: Tangible personal property owned or
rented from others

Enter in Column A the average value of all tangible
personal property, wherever located and owned by the
PE, and the value of all tangible personal property,
wherever located and rented from others by the PE.
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Enter in Column B the average value of tangible
personal property owned by the PE and located
in Connecticut and the value of tangible personal
property rented from others by the PE and located in
Connecticut.

To determine the average value of tangible personal
property owned by the PE, add its book value at the
beginning and at the end of the taxable year and divide
the sum by two.

To determine the value of tangible personal property
rented from others, multiply by eight the gross rents
payable during the taxable year for which the return
is filed.

Line 4: Property owned or rented from others
Add Lines 1, 2, and 3 in Column A and Column B.
Enter the result on Line 4 in Column A and Column B.
On Line 4, divide the Column B amount by the
Column A amount. Carry the result to four decimal
places and enter on Line 4 in Column C.

If zeros are entered on Line 4 in both Column A and
Column B, do not enter any amount in Column C.

Line 5: Employee wages and salaries

Enter in Column A the total compensation paid to
employees during the taxable year in connection with
business operations carried on everywhere. Enter in
Column B the total compensation paid to employees
during the taxable year in connection with business
operations carried on in Connecticut. Only enter wages,
salaries, and other personal service compensation paid
to employees of the PE. Do not include payments to
independent contractors, independent sales agents, etc.
The compensation paid for services is in connection
with operations carried on in Connecticut if the
employee works in or travels out of an office or other
place of business located in Connecticut.

Divide the Column B amount by the Column A
amount. Carry the result to four decimal places and
enter in Column C.

If zeros are entered on Line 5 in both Column A and
Column B, do not enter any amount in Column C.

Line 6: Gross income from sales and services
Enter in Column A total gross sales made and charges
for services performed by the PE or by its employees,
agents, agencies, or independent contractors of the PE
everywhere. Enter in Column B the portion of total
gross sales or charges that represents the sales made
or services performed by the PE or by its employees,



agents, agencies, or independent contractors of the
PE in Connecticut. This includes sales made or
services performed by employees, agents, agencies, or
independent contractors situated at, connected with, or
sent out from offices of the PE (or its agencies) located
in Connecticut.

Example: If the sales territory of a salesperson
working out of the Connecticut office of the
business covers Connecticut, Massachusetts, and
Rhode Island, all sales made by the salesperson
are allocated to Connecticut and included on
Line 6, Column B.

Divide the Column B amount by the Column A
amount. Carry the result to four decimal places and
enter in Column C.

If zeros are entered on Line 6 in both Column A and
Column B, do not enter any amount in Column C.

Line 7: Total (of percentages)
Add Lines 4, 5, and 6 in Column C and enter the
total on Line 7, Column C.

Line 8: Apportionment fraction

Divide Line 7 by three or by the actual number of
fractions if less than three. Carry the result to four
decimal places and enter on Line 8, Column C. The
actual number of fractions is less than 3 if zero was
entered on Lines 4, 5, or 6 in both Column A and
Column B.

Part Ill — Place(s) of Business

Complete Part Il only if the PE carries on business
both within and outside Connecticut. List the exact
location of each place where the PE carries on
business. Briefly describe each place, such as sales
office, agency, or factory, and indicate whether the
location is rented by the PE or owned by the PE. Briefly
describe the activity at the location shown such as
storage, administration, manufacturing, etc.

Part IV — Member Information
Complete Part IV for all members.
Assign each member a number and a member type

code and list in sequential order. Each member
must be assigned the same “Member #” for Part I,

Schedule B, and Parts 1V, V, VI, and VII. Assign
numbers to each member in the following order:

Member
Type Code
1. Nonresident or part-year resident individual....... NI
2. Nonresident or part-year resident trust ............... NT
3. Nonresident estate...........cccooerereiirenieneneenenn NE
4. Pass-through entity ..........ccocvvvveivereresiniienesnaeens PE
5. Resident individual ...........cccooooiiiiiniiiinie, RI
6. ReSIAENT LIUSE ....oovvviiciiicce e RT
7. Resident eState ..........ccovvereiniiciseeee RE
8. Corporate MembEr...........cocecvrireiieeereeenes CM

Use corporate member code for each member which
is a: C corporation for federal income tax purposes,
LLC which has elected to be taxed as a C corporation
for federal income tax purposes, real estate investment
trust, real estate mortgage investment conduit,
regulated investment company, individual retirement
account described in 26 U.S.C. 8408(a), trust described
in 26 U.S.C. 8401(a), or organization exempt from
federal income tax (including organizations described
in 26 U.S.C. 8501(c) or (d).

Enter each member’s name and address, Member Type
Code, FEIN or SSN (whichever is applicable), and
percentages of profit sharing, loss sharing, and capital
ownership. Enter as a decimal and carry to four places.

The PE must use the same member number assigned to a
member in Part IV when providing information for that
member in other Parts of Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI.
The residency status of the member will determine
which Part(s) of Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI must be
completed for that member.

Example 1: Mary Smith is a resident individual and
is identified as Member #15 in Part IV. Mary must
also be identified as Member #15 in Part V. However,
because Mary is a resident individual, there is no
entry in Part | and Part VI for Member # 15.

Example 2: X Inc. is a corporate member and
is identified as Member # 49 in Part V. Because
X Inc. is a C corporation, there is no entry in
Part | and Part V for Member # 49.

If there are more than four members, use Form
CT-1065/CT-1120SI, Supplemental Attachment. The
supplemental attachment is included in this booklet.
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Part V — Member’s Share of Connecticut
Modifications

Complete Part V for all noncorporate members or PEs.
Assign each member the same number for Part I,
Schedule B, and Parts IV, V, VI, and VII.

Enter each member’s share of Lines 1 through 10.

If there are more than three members, use Form
CT-1065/CT-1120SI Supplemental Attachment.
Regardless of whether Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI
Supplemental Attachment is used, add and enter the
totals for all members on Form CT-1065/CT-1120Sl,
Part V, Totals for All Members column.

Additions

Enter the amount of each member’s share as a positive
number.

Line 1: Interest on state and local government
obligations other than Connecticut

Enter the amount of each member’s share of interest
income derived from state and municipal government
obligations, other than obligations of the State of
Connecticut or its municipalities, which interest
income is not taxed for federal income tax purposes.
Do not enter interest income derived from government
obligations of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa,
or U.S. Virgin Islands.

Line 2: Mutual fund exempt-interest dividends
from non-Connecticut state or municipal
government obligations

Enter the amount of each member’s share of
exempt-interest dividends received from a mutual
fund derived from state and municipal government
obligations other than obligations of the State of
Connecticut or its municipalities. If the exempt-interest
dividends are derived from obligations of Connecticut
and other states, enter only the percentage derived
from non-Connecticut obligations. Do not enter
exempt-interest dividends derived from government
obligations of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa,
or U.S. Virgin Islands.

Example: A fund invests in obligations of many
states, including Connecticut. Assuming that 20%
of the distribution is from Connecticut obligations,
the remaining 80% is added back on this line.

Page 24

Line 3: Certain deductions relating to income
exempt from Connecticut income tax

Enter the amount of each member’s share of the
amount deducted for federal income tax purposes for:

e Interest expense on loans used to buy bonds
and securities whose interest is exempt from
Connecticut income tax;

e Expenses related to income exempt from
Connecticut income tax; and

e Amortizable bond premium on any bond, the
interest from which is exempt from Connecticut
income tax.

Line 5: Other

Use Line 5 to report the amount of each member’s
share of additions to income not listed on Lines 1
through 4. For example, include the amount of each
member’s share of:

e Any loss recognized on the sale or exchange
of bonds or other obligations of the State of
Connecticut or its municipalities;

e The PE’s share of any positive Connecticut
fiduciary adjustment received from a trust or estate
of which the PE is a beneficiary;

e Any interest or dividend income on federal
obligations or securities exempt from federal
income tax and which federal law does not exempt
from state income taxes;

e Income taxes imposed under Chapter 229 of
the Connecticut General Statutes and paid to
Connecticut by the PE with a composite return
on behalf of nonresident members to the extent
deductible by the nonresident members in
determining their federal adjusted gross income;
and

e To the extent deductible in determining federal
adjusted gross income, expenses paid for the
production or collection of Connecticut tax- exempt
income or paid for the management, conservation,
or maintenance of property held for the production
of the income.

Subtractions

Enter the amount of each member’s share as a positive
number.

Line 6: Interest on U.S. government obligations
Enter the amount of each member’s share of interest
income derived from U.S. government obligations,
to the extent included in federal adjusted gross



income, that federal law prohibits states from taxing,
for example, all U.S. government bond interest such
as Savings Bonds Series EE and Series HH or U.S.
Treasury bills and notes.

Do not enter the amount of interest earned on Federal
National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) bonds,
Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie
Mae) bonds, and Federal Home Loan Mortgage
Corporation (Freddie Mac) securities. Federal law
does not prohibit states from taxing income derived
from these obligations and this interest is taxed
by Connecticut. See Policy Statement 2005(2),
Connecticut Income Tax on Bonds or Obligations
Issued by the United States Government, by State
Governments, or Municipalities.

Line 7: Exempt dividends from certain
qualifying mutual funds derived from U.S.
government obligations

Enter the amount of each member’s share of exempt
dividends received from a qualifying mutual fund and
derived from U.S. government obligations. A mutual
fund is a qualifying fund if, at the close of each
quarter of its taxable year, at least 50% of the value
of its assets consists of U.S. government obligations.
The percentage of dividends that are exempt dividends
should be reported to the PE by the mutual fund.

Do not enter the amount of income derived from
Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae)
bonds, Government National Mortgage Association
(Ginnie Mae) bonds, and Federal Home Loan
Mortgage Corporation (Freddie Mac) securities.
Federal law does not prohibit states from taxing
income derived from these obligations and this income
is taxable for Connecticut income tax purposes.

Example: A qualifying mutual fund pays a dividend
of $100. Of the $100 distribution, 55% is attributable
to U.S. Treasury bills and 45% to other investments.
The amount reported on Line 7 is $55.

Line 8: Certain expenses related to income
exempt from federal income tax but subject
to Connecticut tax

Enter the amount of each member’s share of interest
expense on money borrowed to purchase or carry
bonds or securities, whose interest income is subject
to Connecticut income tax but exempt from federal
income tax, provided this interest was a business
expense for the federal taxable year and was not
deducted in determining the PE’s income.

Line 10: Other

Report the amount of each member’s share of
subtractions not listed on Lines 6 through 8. For
example, include the amount of each member’s share of:

e Any gain recognized on the sale or exchange of
bonds or other obligations issued by the State of
Connecticut or its municipalities;

e Interestincome from federally taxable Connecticut
bonds include any Build America Bond tax credit
amount if the Build America Bond, as described
in section 1531 of the American Recovery and
Reinvestment Act of 2009, was issued by the
State of Connecticut or a Connecticut political
subdivision, and only to the extent the credit
amount is treated as interest includible in gross
income for federal income tax purposes.

e The PE’s share of any negative Connecticut
fiduciary adjustment received from a trust or estate
of which the PE is a beneficiary;

e Any refund or credit for the overpayment of income
taxes imposed by any state of the United States,
a political subdivision of the United States, or the
District of Columbia to the extent the amount was
included in federal adjusted gross income;

e Business expenses incurred in connection with
the income or property held to produce income
subject to Connecticut income tax but exempt from
federal income tax provided these expenses were
not deducted in determining PE income; and

e Amortization of bond premium on any bond that
provides interest income taxable in Connecticut
but exempt from federal income tax provided this
amortization was business expense for the taxable
year and was not deductible in determining PE
income.

Part VI — Connecticut-Sourced Portion of
Items From Federal Schedule K-1, Form 1065,
or Form 1120S

Complete Part VI for all nonresident noncorporate
members, and each member that is a PE. Assign each
member the same number for Part I, Schedule B,
and Parts 1V, V, VI, and VII.

If there are more than three members, use Form
CT-1065/CT-1120SI Supplemental Attachment.
Regardless of whether Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI
Supplemental Attachment is used, add and enter the
totals for all members on Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI
Part V1, Total for All Members column.
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Any PE carrying on business in Connecticut only must
combine the amounts reported in Part I, Schedule C,
Column C, with the income from subsidiary PEs
(Part I, Schedule D, Column B), if any, to calculate
the amount of each member’s Connecticut-sourced
income (loss) to be reported in Part VI.

Any PE carrying on business both within and outside
Connecticut must apportion the amounts reported in
Part I, Schedule C, Column C, and then combine the
apportioned amounts with the income from subsidiary
PEs (Part I, Schedule D, Column B), if any, to calculate
the amount of each member’s Connecticut-sourced
income (loss) to be reported in Part VI.

If the PE maintains books and records that satisfactorily
disclose the portion of income, gain, loss, or deduction
derived from or connected with Connecticut sources,
combine the amount disclosed in the books and
records with the income from subsidiary PEs
(Part 1, Schedule D, Column B) to calculate the amount
of each member’s Connecticut-sourced income (loss)
reported in Part VI.

The character of the income (loss) for Connecticut
income tax purposes must mirror the character of the
income (loss) for federal income tax purposes.

The amounts entered on Lines 1 through 13 should
also reflect the amount of the member’s share of
Connecticut modifications as reported on Part V,
Lines 1 through 10, to the extent the modifications are
derived from or connected with Connecticut sources.

Line 1: Ordinary business income (loss)
Enter the Connecticut portion of each member’s share
of nonseparately stated income or loss.

APE that maintains books and records that satisfactorily
disclose the portion of its nonseparately stated income
or loss derived from or connected with Connecticut
sources must enter on Line 1 in the appropriate
column the amount of each member’s share of that
nonseparately stated income or that nonseparately
stated loss as determined from those books and
records. The portion of the PE’s nonseparately stated
income or loss derived from or connected with
Connecticut sources, as determined from the PE’s
books and records, is multiplied by the member’s share
(%) of that income or loss.

A PE that does not maintain books and records that
satisfactorily disclose the portion of its nonseparately
stated income or loss derived from or connected with
Connecticut sources must use the apportionment
fraction computed on Part 11, Line 8, or an authorized
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alternative apportionment method to determine the
portion of any item derived from or connected with
Connecticut sources. Multiply the amount of each
member’s share of nonseparately stated income or
nonseparately stated loss by the PE’s apportionment
fraction as reported on Part Il, Line 8, and enter the
result on Part VI.

Example 1: Assume that a PE, whose nonseparately
stated income is entirely derived from its retail
business, maintains books and records that
satisfactorily disclose the portion of the income
derived from or connected with each of its retail
stores (including its stores in Connecticut). Assume
the PE has nonseparately stated income of $500,000.
Member #1’s share of the PE’s nonseparately stated
income is 10% and the PE’s books and records
disclose that the portion of its nonseparately stated
income derived from or connected with Connecticut
sources is $150,000. The PE must enter $15,000
($150,000 x .10) on Line 1 as the amount of Member
#1’s share of the PE’s nonseparately stated income
derived from or connected with Connecticut Sources.

Example 2: The facts are the same as in Example 1
except that the PE does not maintain books and
records that satisfactorily disclose the portion of
its nonseparately stated income derived from or
connected with each of its retail stores. Assume
that the PE’s apportionment fraction as reported
on Part Il, Line 8, is 40%. The PE must enter
$20,000 (($500,000 x .10) x .40 = $20,000) on
Line 1 as the amount of Member #1’s share of the
PE’s nonseparately stated income derived from or
connected with Connecticut sources.

Line 2: Net rental real estate income (loss)
Enter the Connecticut portion of the amount of the
member’s share attributable to rental activities (gain or
loss). The Connecticut portion of amounts attributable
to real property located in Connecticut is 100%. The
Connecticut portion of amounts attributable to real
property located outside Connecticut is 0%.

Line 3: Other net rental income (loss)

Enter the Connecticut portion of the amount of the
member’s share attributable to rental activities (gain
or loss). Unless the PE maintains books and records
that satisfactorily disclose the portion of income,
gain, loss, or deduction derived from or connected
with Connecticut sources, the Connecticut portion is
calculated by multiplying the amount of the member’s
share of the amount from federal Schedule K-1 by the
apportionment fraction on Part Il, Line 8.



Line 4. Guaranteed payments (partnerships
and LLCs treated as partnerships only)

Enter the Connecticut portion of the amount of each
member’s share of guaranteed payments made to the
member. Unless the PE maintains books and records
that satisfactorily disclose the portion of income,
gain, loss, or deduction derived from or connected
with Connecticut sources, the Connecticut portion is
calculated by multiplying the amount of the member’s
distributive share of guaranteed payments from federal
Form 1065, Schedule K-1, by the apportionment
fraction on Part I, Line 8.

Line 5: Interest income

Enter the Connecticut portion of the member’s share
of interest income. Items of income, gain, loss, and
deduction derived from or connected with sources
within Connecticut do not include items attributable
to intangible personal property except to the extent
the intangible personal property is employed in a
business, trade, profession, or occupation carried
on in Connecticut. Unless the PE maintains books
and records that satisfactorily disclose the portion
of the interest income derived from or connected
with Connecticut sources, the Connecticut portion is
calculated by multiplying the amount of the member’s
share of the income from federal Schedule K-1 by the
apportionment fraction entered on Part 11, Line 8.

Line 6a: Ordinary dividends

Enter the Connecticut portion of the member’s share
of dividend income. Items of income, gain, loss, and
deduction derived from or connected with sources
within Connecticut do not include items attributable
to intangible personal property except to the extent
the intangible personal property is employed in a
business, trade, profession, or occupation carried on in
Connecticut. For example, dividends from stock used
as collateral to secure a business loan (for a Connecticut
business) would be income from intangible personal
property employed in a Connecticut trade or business
and therefore would be subject to Connecticut
income tax. Unless the PE maintains books and
records that satisfactorily disclose the portion of
the dividend income derived from or connected
with Connecticut sources, calculate the Connecticut
portion by multiplying the amount of the member’s
share of the income from federal Schedule K-1
by the apportionment fraction entered on Part II,
Line 8.

Line 6b: Qualified dividends
Enter the Connecticut portion of the member’s share
of qualified dividends from Line 6a above.

Line 7: Royalties

Enter the Connecticut portion of the member’s share
of royalty income. Items of income, gain, loss, and
deduction derived from or connected with sources
within Connecticut do not include items attributable
to intangible personal property except to the extent
the intangible personal property is employed in a
business, trade, profession, or occupation carried
on in Connecticut. Unless the PE maintains books
and records that satisfactorily disclose the portion
of the royalties income derived from or connected
with Connecticut sources, calculate the Connecticut
portion by multiplying the amount of the member’s
share of the income from federal Schedule K-1 by
the apportionment fraction entered on Part 11, Line 8.

Line 8: Net short-term capital gain (loss)
Enter the Connecticut portion of the member’s share
of net short-term capital gain (loss). If the amount
relates to the sale of rental property located in
Connecticut, the capital gain (loss) is 100% sourced
to Connecticut. Items of capital gain (loss) attributable
to intangible personal property (such as the sale of
stock) are not sourced to Connecticut except to the
extent the intangible personal property is employed
in a business, trade, profession, or occupation carried
on in Connecticut.

Line 9a: Net long-term capital gain (loss)
Enter the Connecticut portion of the member’s share
of net long-term capital gain (loss). If the amount
relates to the sale of rental property located in
Connecticut, the capital gain (loss) is 100% sourced
to Connecticut. Items of capital gain (loss) attributable
to intangible personal property, such as the sale of
stock, are not sourced to Connecticut except to the
extent the intangible personal property is employed
in a business, trade, profession, or occupation carried
on in Connecticut.

Line 9b: Collectibles (28%) gain (loss)
Enter the Connecticut portion of the member’s share
of collectibles gain (loss).

Line 9c: Unrecaptured section 1250 gain
Enter the Connecticut portion of the member’s share
of IRC 81250 gain.

Line 10: Net section 1231 gain (loss)
Enter the Connecticut portion of the member’s share
of gain (loss) under IRC §1231.
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The Connecticut portion of amounts attributable to
real property located in Connecticut is 100%. The
Connecticut portion of amounts attributable to real
property located outside Connecticut is 0%.

If the amount relates to a trade or business activity,
unless the PE maintains books and records that
satisfactorily disclose the portion of income, gain,
loss, or deduction derived from or connected with
Connecticut sources, the Connecticut portion of the
member’s share of the gain (loss) is calculated by
multiplying the amount of the member’s share of gain
(loss) under IRC 81231 from federal Schedule K-1 by
the apportionment fraction on Part 11, Line 8.

Line 11: Other income (loss)

Enter the Connecticut portion of the member’s share
of other items of income, gain, loss, or deduction
not included on Lines 1 through 10 above. Attach a
statement that separately identifies the type and amount
of income or loss.

Line 12: Section 179 deduction
Enter the Connecticut portion of the member’s share
of the deduction allowed under IRC §179.

Unless the PE maintains books and records that
satisfactorily disclose the portion of income, gain,
loss, or deduction derived from or connected with
Connecticut sources, the Connecticut portion is
calculated by multiplying the amount of the member’s
share of the deduction from federal Schedule K-1 by
the apportionment fraction on Part Il, Line 8.

Line 13: Other deductions

Enter the Connecticut portion of the member’s
share of other deductions not deducted in arriving at
ordinary income (loss) from trade or business activities
and separately stated on the federal Schedule K-1.
Domestic production activities information, qualified
production activity income (QPAI) and W-2 wages
amounts reported to a member on federal Schedule K-1
under IRC 8199, domestic production activity
deduction, should not be included on this line.

Unless the PE maintains books and records that
satisfactorily disclose the portion of income, gain,
loss, or deduction derived from or connected with
Connecticut sources, the Connecticut portion is
calculated by multiplying the amount of the member’s
share of the deduction from federal Schedule K-1 by
the apportionment fraction on Part 11, Line 8.

Attach a statement that separately identifies the type
and amount of each deduction.
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Part VII — Connecticut Income Tax Credit
Summary

Before completing Part VII, if the PE is a qualified
small business or an employer that received a
certification letter from the Department of Economic
and Community Development (DECD) indicating that
the qualified small business job creation tax credit or
the vocational rehabilitation job creation tax credit
is available to be claimed, the PE must complete
Form CT-1120 SBJ, Small Business Job Creation
Tax Credit, or Form CT-1120 VRJ, Vocational
Rehabilitation Job Creation Tax Credit, or both, to
determine the amount of allowable credit.

Include Form CT-1120 SBJ, and Form CT-1120 VRJ
with Form CT-1065/ CT-1120SI, if filing by paper.
If filing electronically, keep Form CT-1120 SBJ, and
Form CT-1120 VRJ for your records and send it to
DRS upon request.

Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS to
download and print Form CT-1120 SBJ and Form
CT-1120 VRJ.

Complete Part VII for all members. Include the
amounts reported on Schedule CT K-1, Part 1V,
Lines 1 through 4, Column A, issued by a subsidiary
PE. Assign each member the same number for Part I,
Schedule B, and Parts 1V, V, VI, and VII.

Line 1: Qualified small business tax credit
Enter the gross amount of each member’s share of the
qualified small business tax credit for the current year.

Line 2: Vocational rehabilitation job creation tax
credit

Enter the gross amount of each member’s share of the
vocational rehabilitation job creation tax credit for the
current year.

Line 3: Angel investor tax credit
Enter the gross amount of each member’s share of the
angel investor tax credit for the current year.

Line 4: Insurance reinvestment fund tax credit
Enter the gross amount of each member’s share of
the insurance reinvestment fund tax credit for the
current year.

Line 5: Total credits
Enter the total amount of each member’s share of the
income tax credits.



Schedule CT K-1 Instructions

Complete Schedule CT K-1 for each member
listed on Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI, Connecticut
Composite Income Tax Return, Part IV, as follows:

If Member Type Code is: Complete Schedule CT K-1 Parts:

NI I, 11, 111, and IV
NT I, 11, 11, and IV
NE I, 11, 11, and IV
PE I, 11, 11, and IV
RI I, IV
RT (Y4
RE I, IV
CM v

Part | — Connecticut Modifications

Transfer entries for that member from Form CT-1065/
CT-1120SI, Part V, Lines 1 through 10.

Part Il — Connecticut-Sourced Portion of
ltems From Federal Schedule K-1 of Form
1065 or Form 1120S

Transfer the amounts attributable to that member
from Federal Form 1065, Schedule K-1, Lines 1 through
13 or Federal Form 1120S, Schedule K-1, Lines 1 through
12 to Column A. Transfer the amounts attributable
to that member from Form CT-1065/CT-1120SlI,
Part VI, Lines 1 through 13 to Column B.

Part lll—Connecticut Income Tax Information
Line 1: Transfer the amount of Connecticut income
tax liability as reported by the PE for that member on
Form CT-1065/CT-1120SlI, Part I, Schedule B,
Column F.

Part IV — Connecticut Income Tax Credit
Summary

Transfer entries for that member from Form CT-1065/
CT-1120SI, Part VII, Lines 1 through 5 to Column A.
After completing the Income Tax Credit Worksheet,
transfer the amount reported for each credit on Column C
of the Income Tax Credit Worksheet to Column B.

Income Tax Credit Worksheet

Transfer the amount of income tax liability as reported
by the PE for that member on Form CT-1065/
CT-1120SlI, Part I, Schedule B, Column D to Line 1,
Column A.

Signature

Form CT-1065/CT-1120SI must be signed by a general
partner or corporate officer. Provide a telephone
number.

Paid Preparer Signature

A paid preparer must sign and date Form CT-1065/
CT-1120SI. Paid preparers must also enter their
Social Security Number (SSN) or Personal Taxpayer
Identification Number (PTIN), their firm’s Federal
Employer Identification Number (FEIN), and their
firm’s address and telephone number in the spaces
provided.

Paid Preparer Authorization

If the PE wishes to authorize DRS to contact the paid
preparer who signed the 2011 tax return to discuss it,
check the Yes box in the signature area of the return.
This authorization applies only to the individual whose
signature appears in the paid preparer's signature
section of the return. It does not apply to the firm, if
any, shown in that section.

If the Yes box is checked, the PE authorizes DRS
to call the paid preparer to answer questions that
may arise during the processing of the 2011 Form
CT-1065/CT-1120SI. The PE also authorizes the paid
preparer to:

e Give DRS any information missing from the return;

e Call DRS for information about processing the
PE’s return or the status of the PE’s refund or
payment; and

¢ Respond to certain DRS notices the PE may have
shared with the preparer regarding math errors,
offsets, and return preparation. The notices will
not be sent to the preparer.

The PE is not authorizing the paid preparer to receive
any refund check, bind the PE to anything (including
additional tax liability), or otherwise represent the PE
before DRS. The authorization cannot be revoked.
However, the authorization will automatically end no
later than the due date (without regard to extensions)
for filing the 2012 Connecticut Composite Income Tax
Return. This is on or before the fifteenth day of the
fourth month following the close of the taxable period.

Keep a copy of this return for the PE’s record.
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Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut

25 Sigourney Street Ste 2
Hartford CT 06106-5032

Choose to file returns, pay amounts
due, and direct deposit refunds

electronically using the TSC.

¥ i <
: @ I @
*Payer service Co" S Tast anad mreeél
D Tax Information Forms and Publications =1
= | The TSC includes a comprehensive FAQ database with Connecticut forms and publications may be e
=1 more than 600 searchable answers. Search by category, viewed, downloaded, or printed by visiting =
"= tax type, keyword, or phrase. www.ct.gov/DRS the DRS website. @
| For telephone assistance, call our Taxpayer Services 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the o
g Division at 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area only) and select g
‘= Greater Hartford calling area only); or 860-297-5962 (from | Option 2; or 860-297-4753 (from anywhere). =
a5 anywhere). )
— | Send routine tax questions to drs@po.state.ct.us (do not Email requests, including your name, m
4l send account related inquiries). For account-related questions, | address (street, city, state, and ZIP code), and IZ
z. including bill and refund inquiries, use the Secure Mailbox the name or number of the tax product to )
"EH feature by logging into the DRS electronic TSC. ctforms.drs@po.state.ct.us -
Free personal taxpayer assistance and forms are available by visiting our offices. Walk-in assistance at all
DRS locations is available Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.(arrive by 4:00 p.m.). Directions
to DRS offices are available using the DRS phone menu or by visiting the DRS website. If you require =
special accommodations, please advise the DRS representative. >
Bridgeport Hartford Norwich Waterbury f
10 Middle St 25 Sigourney St 401 West Thames St 55 West Main St =)
Building #700 Suite 100
All calls are answered at our Customer Service Center in Hartford, not at the local offices.
Federal Tax Information Statewide Services
For questions about federal taxes, visit www.irs.gov or Visit the ConneCT website at www.ct.gov for
call the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) at 800-829-1040. information on statewide services and programs.
To order federal tax forms, call 800-829-3676.




