Department of Revenue Services PO Box 2990 Hartford CT 06104-2990 (Rev. 12/06)

Form 115A

For Calendar Year

2006

Premium Tax Return Tax on Premiums Charged by Unauthorized Insurers

Complete this return in blue or black ink only.

								Connecticut Tax Registration Number				
Taxpayer (Type	Address Number and Street PO Box							Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)				
or Print)	City, Town, or Post Office State							Date Received (DRS Use Only)				
					_			Check if this is an amended return. Check if your address has changed.				
			Sche	edule	of Insurance Purchased	From Unauth	orized Ins	urers				
A Contract Number		B Effective Date	Effective Date Expi		C Expiration Date		D Name and Address of Insurance Company		E Subject of Insurance			xposure
1.▶		>								\$		
2.▶		>								\$		
3. ▶		>								\$		
4. ▶		>								\$		
5. ▶		>								\$		
		Atta	ch ad	dition	al schedules as necessary.	Continue item	numbering	sequence.				
Maka ahaa	ka navah		J					•			00	
Make checks payable to: Commissioner of Revenue Services Mail to: Department of Revenue Services PO Box 2990 Hartford CT 06104-2990			1. Enter total premiums charged in Connecticut.							00		
			2. Tax: Multiply Line 1 by 4% (.04).				>			00		
			3. P	enalty ►	+ Interest ► _		=			00		
			4. Ar	4. Amount due (Add Line 2 and Line 3.)						00		
knowledge a Services (D	and belief, RS) is a f	it is true, completine of not more	ete, ar than S	nd corre \$5,000,	have examined this return (inclect. I understand the penalty for or imprisonment for not more preparer has any knowledge.	willfully delivering	g a false retur	n or document to	the Dep	partment of R	evenue	
	Signature of Principal Officer					Date		Daytime Teleph	Daytime Telephone Number			
Sign Here Keep a copy for your records.	Print Name of Principal Officer					Title	()					
	Paid Pre	eparer's Signature				Date		Preparer's SSN or PTIN				
	Firm's Name, Address, and ZIP Code						FEIN					

Form 115A Instructions

Complete the return in blue or black ink only.

Purpose

Each insured procuring, continuing, or renewing insurance with an unauthorized insurer on a subject of insurance resident, located, or to be performed in Connecticut must file **Form 115A**, *Premium Tax Return*, annually on or before March 1 to report its tax liability under Conn. Gen. Stat. §38a-277.

Due Date

Payment of tax must be made on or before March 1, 2007, for insurance procured, continued, or renewed during the previous calendar year. If the due date is Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the next business day becomes the due date.

An insured must file **Form 115AR**, *Report of Procurement, Continuance, or Renewal of Insurance with Unauthorized Insurer*, within 60 days after the date the insurance was procured, continued, or renewed.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars

You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on your return and schedules. Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include 1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all amounts that include 50 through 99 cents. However, if you need to add two or more amounts to compute the amount to enter on a line, include cents and round off **only** the total.

Example: Add two amounts (\$1.29 + \$3.21) to compute the total (\$4.50) to enter on a line. \$4.50 is rounded to \$5.00 and entered on a line.

If you do not round DRS will disregard the cents.

Filing an Amended Return

If you make an error(s) on your return, you must correct the error(s) by filing an amended return using a new Form 115A. Check the box on the front of this return indicating this is an amended return. Complete Form 115A using the correct figures and information for the reporting period.

You must file an amended return claiming a refund of taxes already paid within three years of the original due date of the return and an explanation of the claim for refund must accompany the amended return.

Exemptions

This tax is not applicable to premiums on wet marine, transportation, individual life, or individual disability insurances.

Penalty and Interest

In general, penalty and interest apply to any portion of the tax not paid on or before the original due date of the return. If you do not pay the tax when due, you will owe interest at the rate of 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a month until the tax is paid in full.

Late Payment Penalty: The penalty for late payment of tax is 10% (.10) of the tax due or \$50, whichever is greater.

Late Filing Penalty: The Commissioner of Revenue Services may impose a \$50 penalty for failure to file any return or report that is required by law to be filed.

Premium Allocation Schedule

Column G - When computing the tax, premium includes all premiums, membership fees, assessments, dues, and any other consideration for insurance.

Use the following codes in Column G:

Code A - Policy covers risks wholly within Connecticut.

Code B - Policy covers risks or exposures only partially within Connecticut.

If a policy covers risks or exposures only partially in Connecticut, the tax is computed on the portions of the premium allocated to the risks or exposures located in Connecticut. **Attach a copy of your allocation schedule to this return**.

Property coverage (including fire and allied lines, U & O, boiler, and machinery insurance) - allocate to Connecticut in the proportion the insured value of all properties in Connecticut bears to the insured value of all properties everywhere.

Coverage on mobile equipment (trucks, automobiles, etc.) - allocate to Connecticut in the proportion vehicles garaged in Connecticut bear to vehicles garaged everywhere.

Railroad rolling stock - allocate to Connecticut in the proportion car days in Connecticut bear to car days everywhere.

Workers compensation - allocate to Connecticut in the proportion payroll involving employees in Connecticut bears to total payroll everywhere.

Liability coverages (OL&T, M&C, etc.) - allocate to Connecticut in the proportion the number of insured locations in Connecticut bears to the number of insured locations everywhere.

Products liability - allocate to Connecticut in the proportion exposure in Connecticut bears to exposure everywhere.

Example: Aircraft products liability - based on air miles flown over Connecticut in proportion to total air miles or passenger boardings within Connecticut to total passenger boardings everywhere.

Travel accident - allocate to Connecticut in the proportion the number of insured employees in Connecticut bears to the number of insured employees everywhere.

Group life and group accident and health - allocate to Connecticut in the proportion the number of insured employees in Connecticut bears to the number of insured employees everywhere.

Statutory Reference

Information regarding the responsibilities of the insured and the unauthorized insurer is located in Conn. Gen. Stat. §§38a-271 through 38a-278.

Where to File

Mail to: Department of Revenue Services

PO Box 2990

Hartford CT 06104-2990

DRS may submit your check to your bank electronically.

For Further Information

Call DRS during business hours, Monday through Friday:

- 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area only); or
- 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911.

Forms and Publications

Forms and publications are available anytime by:

- Internet: Visit the DRS Web site at www.ct.gov/DRS to preview and download forms and publications; or
- Telephone: Call 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area only) and select Option 2 from a touch-tone phone, or call 860-297-4753 (from anywhere).