Purpose: There is an annual business entity tax (BET) of \$250. The BET applies to each of the following domestic and foreign* entities:

- S Corporation;
- Limited Liability Partnership;
- Limited Partnership; or
- Limited Liability Company that, for federal income tax purposes, is either treated as a partnership (if it has more than one member) or disregarded as an entity separate from its owner (if it has one member).

*Each foreign entity that is required to register or file a certificate of authority with the Secretary of the State is liable for the BET whether or not the entity has registered or filed a certificate of authority, as the case may be, with the Secretary of the State.

See **Special Notice 2006(12)**, 2006 Legislative Changes Affecting the Business Entity Tax, and **Informational Publication 2006(21)**, Q & A on the Business Entity Tax.

Required Information: Enter the entity's taxable year, Connecticut Tax Registration Number, Federal Employer Identification Number, and Connecticut Secretary of the State Identification Number in the spaces provided at the top of Form OP-424 (DRS/N).

Due Date: The business entity tax must be paid to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) by the entity on or before the fifteenth day of the fourth month (April 15 for calendar year filers) following the close of each taxable year of the entity. An entity's taxable year is its taxable year for federal income tax purposes.

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the next business day is the due date.

Interest: If the tax is not paid by the due date, interest is computed on any unpaid tax at the rate of 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a month from the due date until the date of payment.

Penalty: The penalty for late payment of the tax due is \$50.

Waiver of Penalty: DRS may waive all or part of the penalty when it is proven that the failure to pay the tax on time was due to a reasonable cause and was not intentional or due to neglect. Before a penalty waiver can be granted, all tax and interest must be paid. Interest cannot be waived.

Signature: This return must be signed by a general partner if the entity is a partnership, or, if the entity is a limited liability company, by anyone with authority to sign the return. If the entity is an S corporation, an officer must sign the return.

Where to File: Send your completed Form OP-424 (DRS/N) and payment to:

Department of Revenue Services PO Box 2936 Hartford CT 06104-2936

Make check or money order payable to: **Commissioner of Revenue Services**. To ensure proper posting of your payment, write "2006 Form OP-424 (DRS/N)" and your Connecticut Tax Registration Number on your check or money order.

For more information, contact the DRS Taxpayer Services Division at 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut Calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area only) or 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

During 2007, Connecticut taxpayers will be able to use *Fast-File* to electronically file and pay Form OP-424 (DRS/N). *Fast-File* is an interactive tool that can be accessed through our Web site at **www.ct.gov/DRS** for a free, fast, easy, and secure way to conduct business with DRS.

For Taxable Year Ending Connecticut Tax Registration Number Federal Employer ID Number Image: Connecticut Tax Registration Number Image: Connecticut Tax Registration Number Image: Connecticut Tax Registration Number			mber S		Secreta	ry of S	State ID Number	DRS USE ONL	- 20
1. Business Entity Ta	x			1.	\$250	00	Make check or mo Commissioner o		
2. If late: Enter penalty. See <i>Penalty</i> above.			2.		00		ail to: Department of Revenue Services PO Box 2936		
3. If late: Enter interest. See Interest above.			•	3.		00	Hartford CT 06104-2936 Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and		
4. Total amount due. Add Lines 1, 2, and 3. Enter total here.			•	4.		00			
E	nter name and address.	Please print or type.					correct.	, ,	
Name							I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to DRS is a fine of not more than \$5,000, or imprisonment for not more		
Address Number	and Street	PO Box					than five years, or both.		
City or Town		State ZIF		Р		Sign Here			
							Date		

Detach and return bottom portion in envelope provided.