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Instructions for Form CT-706, Connecticut Estate Tax Return 
 

General Information on the Special Estate Tax 
The estates of decedents dying on or after July 1, 2004, 
and before January 1, 2005, are subject to a special 
Connecticut estate tax, rather than to the regular 
Connecticut estate tax under Chapter 217 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 

The special Connecticut estate tax is computed by 
using the applicable exclusion amount (and the 
applicable credit amount) under I.R.C. §2010(c): 

• As if a decedent dying on or after July 1, 2004, and 
before January 1, 2005, had died during calendar 
year 2002; and 

• Applying I.R.C. §2010(c) as it was in effect for the 
estate of a decedent dying during calendar year 2002. 

For estates of decedents dying during calendar year 
2002, the applicable exclusion amount was $1.0 million, 
and the applicable credit amount was $345,800. 

Also, the special estate tax is computed by using the 
maximum credit allowable for state death taxes under 
26 U.S.C. §2011 (I.R.C. §2011), as if a decedent dying 
on or after July 1, 2004 and before January 1, 2005 had 
died before January 1, 2002, and applying I.R.C. §2011 
as it was in effect for the estate of a decedent dying 
before January 1, 2002.   

This maximum credit allowable may be computed on 
Table B of the instructions for federal Form 706 (or on 
Form CT-706, Schedule A).  However, because the 
Connecticut estate tax is based on the credit allowed for 
state death taxes under I.R.C. §2011, and the credit 
provided by I.R.C. §2011 may not exceed the amount of 
the tax imposed by I.R.C. §2001 (computed as if the 
decedent died during calendar year 2002), reduced by 
the amount of the unified credit provided by I.R.C. 
§2010 (computed as if the decedent died during 
calendar year 2002 ($345,800)), the maximum credit for 
state death taxes may be less than the amount 
computed on Table B of the instructions for federal 
Form 706 (and Form CT-706, Schedule A).   

Resident estates are entitled to a credit for Connecticut 
succession tax imposed and paid.  They may also be 
entitled to a credit for death taxes paid to other states. 

Nonresident estates are entitled to a credit for 
Connecticut succession tax imposed and paid. 

For more information, see Special Notice 2004(1), 
Special Estate Tax on Estates of Decedents Dying on 
or after July 1, 2004, and before January 1, 2005. 

Who Must File 
The duly authorized executor(s) or administrator(s) of a 
Type 1 Estate or Type 2 Estate must file Form  
CT-706, but if there is no executor or administrator 

appointed, the fiduciary in possession of assets of a 
Type 1 estate or Type 2 estate must file Form CT-706. 

Type 1 Estate: Any estate required to file federal  
Form 706 that meets either of the following conditions: 

• The decedent was a Connecticut resident at the 
time of death; or 

• The decedent was a nonresident of Connecticut 
at the time of death, but owned real property or 
tangible personal property located within 
Connecticut. 

Type 2 Estate: Any estate not required to file federal 
Form 706 that meets both of the following two conditions: 

• The decedent was a Connecticut resident at the 
time of death; or the decedent was a nonresident 
of Connecticut at the time of death, but owned 
real property or tangible personal property located 
within Connecticut, and 

• The sum of (1) the decedent’s federal gross 
estate, as valued for federal estate tax purposes; 
(2) the adjusted taxable gifts (under 26 U.S.C. 
§2001(b)) made by the decedent after December 
31, 1976; and (3) the total specific exemption 
allowed under 26 U.S.C. §2521 for gifts made by 
the decedent after September 8, 1976, and before 
January 1, 1977; exceeds $1,000,000. 

What Revision of Form CT-706 Must Be Filed 
Estates of decedents dying on or after July 1, 2004, and 
before January 1, 2005, must file the June 2004 
revision (and not the April 2001 revision) of Form  
CT-706.  (Estates of decedents dying before July 1, 
2004, must use the April 2001 revision (and not the 
June 2004 revision) of Form CT-706.) 

• “Rev. 06/04” appears in the upper left-hand corner of 
the first page of the June 2004 revision of Form  
CT-706. 

• “Rev. 04/01” appears in the upper left-hand corner of 
the first page of the April 2001 revision of Form  
CT-706. 

What Documents Must Be Attached 
A Type 1 estate must attach a complete copy, including 
all attachments, of federal Form 706, unless previously 
submitted with the estate’s Connecticut succession tax 
return.  A Type 1 estate is also required for Connecticut 
estate tax purposes, to attach a copy of the first page of 
the August 2002 revision of federal Form 706, after 
completing Part 1 and Lines 1 though 12 of Part 2 in 
accordance with the August 2002 revision of the 
Instructions for Form 706 (as if the decedent had died 
during calendar year 2002). 

A Type 2 estate must attach, for Connecticut estate tax 
purposes, a complete copy, including all attachments, of 
the August 2002 revision of federal Form 706, after 



(Rev. 06/04) Page 2 of 3

completing it in accordance with the August 2002 
revision of the Instructions for Form 706 (as if the 
decedent had died during calendar year 2002). 

When and Where to File 
The due date for Form CT-706 is six months after the 
decedent’s date of death.  A Type 1 estate must file, as 
of the due date of Form CT-706, either Form  
CT-706EXT, Application for Extension of Time to File 
and/or Pay Estate Tax, or, if the estate has filed its 
federal Form 706 and is not applying for an extension of 
time to file or pay, Form CT-706.  A Type 2 estate must 
file, as of the due date of Form CT-706, either Form  
CT-706 or, if the estate is applying for an extension of 
time to file or to pay, Form CT-706EXT.  (Use the June 
2004 revision of Form CT-706EXT to request an 
extension.)  Unless an application for extension of time to 
pay the tax has been made, payment of the tax reported 
on Form CT-706EXT must accompany the application for 
extension of time to file.  If Form CT-706EXT is timely 
filed, a nine-month extension of time to file Form CT-706 
(and, if applicable, a nine-month extension of time to pay 
the tax) will be granted.  (Thus, the extended due date 
will be 15 months after the decedent’s date of death.)  
Form CT-706 must be filed in duplicate with both DRS 
and the appropriate probate court. Payment of any 
additional tax reported to be due on the filing of Form  
CT-706 as allowed by the extension, and interest at the 
rate of 1% per month, or fraction of a month, on the 
additional tax, must accompany Form CT-706.  (Interest 
accrues from the date that is six months after the 
decedent’s date of death to the date of actual payment.) 

Make the check or money order payable to: 
Commissioner of Revenue Services. Write the 
decedent’s name, Social Security Number, Connecticut 
succession tax file number, if known, and “Form  
CT-706” or “Form CT-706EXT”, as the case may be, 
on the check or money order. 

Special instructions for nonresident estates: If it is 
claimed that the decedent was a nonresident of 
Connecticut at the time of death, the fiduciary must also 
complete and attach Form C-3, State of Connecticut 
Domicile Declaration, to the estate’s Form CT-706.  

Amended Returns 
An estate must file an amended Form CT-706 in any of 
the following circumstances: 

• The estate files an amended federal Form 706 with 
the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). The estate must 
file an amended Form CT-706 not later than 90 days 
after the date of filing the amended federal return. 

• The amount of federal estate tax reported on the 
estate’s federal Form 706 is changed or corrected by 
the IRS.  The estate must file an amended Form  
CT-706 not later than 90 days after the final 
determination of the change or correction and either 
concede the accuracy of the determination or state 
where it is erroneous. 

• The estate is a resident estate and has claimed a 
credit against the Connecticut estate tax for death 
tax paid to a state of the United States (other than 
the State of Connecticut) or to the District of 
Columbia and, as a direct result of the estate filing 
an amended estate tax return with the other state or 
District of Columbia, the amount of death tax the 
estate is finally required to pay to that state or the 
District of Columbia is different than the amount used 
to determine the credit against Connecticut estate 
tax.  The estate must file an amended Form CT-706 
not later than 90 days after the date of filing the 
amended return with that state or the District of 
Columbia. 

• The estate is a resident estate and has claimed a 
credit against the Connecticut estate tax for death 
tax paid to a state of the United States (other than 
the state of Connecticut) or to the District of 
Columbia and, as a direct result of a change or 
correction to the estate tax return filed with the other 
state or the District of Columbia by the tax officers or 
other competent authority of the jurisdiction, the 
amount of death tax the estate is finally required to 
pay to that state or the District of Columbia is 
different than the amount used to determine the 
credit against Connecticut estate tax.  The estate 
must file an amended Form CT-706 not later than 90 
days after the final determination of the change or 
correction and either concede the accuracy of the 
determination or state where it is erroneous. 

• If none of the above circumstances apply, but the 
estate made a mistake or omission on its Form  
CT-706, and the mistake or omission affects its 
Connecticut estate tax liability. 

Connecticut Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax 
A person liable for the tax imposed under Chapter 216a 
of the Connecticut General Statutes satisfies the 
requirements for filing a Connecticut Generation-
Skipping Transfer Tax Return by filing a duplicate copy 
of federal Form 706.  A schedule detailing the value 
and location of all transferred real and tangible personal 
property subject to the tax imposed under Chapter 216a 
must be attached.  A duplicate copy of federal  
Form 706-GS(D), Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax 
Return for Distributions, or federal Form 706-GS-T, 
Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax Return for 
Terminations, must also be attached. 

Line Instructions for Part I, Resident Estates 
Rounding: You must round off cents to the nearest 
whole dollar on your returns and schedules.  Round 
down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include 
1 through 49 cents.  Round up to the next highest dollar 
all amounts that include 50 through 99 cents.  However, 
if you need to add two or more amounts to compute the 
amount to enter on a line, include cents and round off 
only the total. 
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Line 1: Enter the amount from Schedule A, Line 1.  No 
special Connecticut estate tax is due from an estate if 
the amount entered, for Connecticut estate tax purposes, 
on Part 2, Line 12 of federal Form 706 (Rev. August 
2002), completed in accordance with the August 2002 
revision of the Instructions for Form 706 (as if the 
decedent had died during calendar year 2002), is zero. 

Line 2: Total death taxes means the total amount of 
estate, inheritance, legacy, or succession taxes 
(excluding interest) paid to any state of the United States 
(other than the State of Connecticut) or to the District of 
Columbia for which credit was allowed to the estate 
under I.R.C. §2011.  Payment of these taxes is reported 
on Lines 1 to 3 of Schedule B. The amount entered on 
Line 4 of Schedule B is the amount entered on Part I, 
Line 2. 

Line 3: A Type 1 estate must enter the total gross 
estate less exclusions as reported on federal Form 706, 
Part 2, Line 1.  A Type 2 estate must enter the total 
gross estate less exclusions from the August 2002 
revision of federal Form 706, Part 2, Line 1, completed 
in accordance with the August 2002 revision of the 
Instructions for Form 706 (as if the decedent had died 
during calendar year 2002). 

Line 4: Enter the amount of Line 3 attributable to the 
estate’s real or tangible personal property located 
outside of Connecticut. 

Line 9: Enter the amount of Connecticut succession tax 
imposed under Chapter 216 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes and actually paid to the State of Connecticut.  
Any credit an estate claims against the succession tax 
(such as the credit under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-648 for 
Connecticut gift tax imposed and paid on a gift 
includable in the donor’s gross taxable estate for 
succession tax purposes) reduces the amount of 
succession tax actually paid to the State of Connecticut 
(and, accordingly, the credit available against the estate 
tax under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-391). 

Example: An estate claimed a credit of $3,000 against 
its succession tax liability for Connecticut gift tax of 
$3,000 imposed and paid on a gift includable in the 
donor’s gross taxable estate for succession tax 
purposes.  If the estate’s succession tax liability, but for 
the credit under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-648, would have 
been $10,000, the estate must enter $7,000 (and not 
$10,000) on Line 9, because the amount of succession 
tax actually paid to the state of Connecticut by the 
estate was $7,000 ($10,000 - $3,000). 

Line 15: The penalty for paying all or a portion of the 
tax late is 10% (.10) of the tax paid late.  If no tax is 
due, the Commissioner of Revenue Services may 
impose a $50 penalty for the late filing of this return.  
Interest will be computed on the tax paid late at the rate 
of 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a month from the 
due date of the return until the tax is paid. 

Line Instructions for Part II, Nonresident Estates 
Line 17: Enter the amount from Schedule A, Line 1.  No 
special Connecticut estate tax is due from an estate if 
the amount entered, for Connecticut estate tax purposes, 
on Part 2, Line 12 of federal Form 706 (Rev. August 
2002), completed in accordance with the August 2002 
revision of the Instructions for Form 706 (as if the 
decedent had died during calendar year 2002), is zero. 

Line 18: A Type 1 estate must enter the total gross 
estate less exclusions as reported on federal Form 706, 
Part 2, Line 1.  A Type 2 estate must enter the total 
gross estate less exclusions from the August 2002 
revision of federal Form 706, Part 2, Line 1, completed 
in accordance with the August 2002 revision of the 
Instructions for Form 706 (as if the decedent had died 
during calendar year 2002). 

Line 19: Enter the amount of Line 18 attributable to the 
estate’s real or tangible personal property located within 
Connecticut. 

Line 22: Enter the amount of Connecticut succession 
tax imposed under Chapter 216 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes and actually paid to the State of 
Connecticut.  Any credit an estate claims against the 
succession tax (such as the credit under Conn. Gen. 
Stat. §12-648 for Connecticut gift tax imposed and paid 
on a gift includable in the donor’s gross taxable estate 
for succession tax purposes) reduces the amount of 
succession tax actually paid to the State of Connecticut 
(and, accordingly, the credit available against the estate 
tax under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-391).  See Example 
under Line 10 instructions. 

Line 28: The penalty for paying all or a portion of the 
tax late is 10% (.10) of the tax paid late.  If no tax is 
due, the Commissioner of Revenue Services may 
impose a $50 penalty for the late filing of this return.  
Interest will be computed on the tax paid late at the rate 
of 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a month from the 
due date of the return until the tax is paid. 

For More Information 
Call the Inheritance Tax Section during business hours, 
Monday through Friday, at 860-297-5737. 

Forms and Publications are available anytime by: 
• Internet: Preview and download forms and 

publications from the DRS Web site at 
www.ct.gov/drs 

• DRS TAX-FAX:  Call 860-297-5698 from the handset 
attached to your fax machine and select from the 
menu. 

The forms mentioned in these instructions are also 
available from Connecticut probate courts. 


