Form OP-424 (DRS/N)

Business Entity Tax Return

2003

2003

Purpose: For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2002, there is an annual business entity tax (BET) of \$250. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, and prior to January 1, 2004, there is a 20% surtax on the BET. The sum of the BET and the surtax is \$300. The BET applies to each of the following entities, if required to file an annual report with the Connecticut Secretary of the State:

- S Corporation;
- Limited Liability Partnership;

State of Connecticut (Rev. 12/03)

- Limited Partnership; or
- Limited Liability Company, which is, for federal income tax purposes, either treated as a partnership if it has two or more members, or disregarded as an entity separate from its owner, if it has a single member.

These entities must file **Form OP-424**, *Business Entity Tax Return*, and pay the tax on or before the due date.

Required Information: Enter the entity's taxable year, Connecticut Tax Registration Number, Federal Employer Identification Number, and Connecticut Secretary of the State Identification Number, in the spaces provided at the top of **Form OP-424 (DRS/N)**.

Due Date: The business entity tax is required to be paid to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) by the entity on or before the fifteenth day of the fourth month following the close of each taxable year of the entity. An entity's taxable year is its taxable year for federal income tax purposes.

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the next business day is the due date.

Interest: If the tax is not paid by the due date, interest is computed on any unpaid tax at the rate of 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a month from the due date until the date of payment.

Penalty: The penalty for late payment of the tax due is \$50.

Waiver of Penalty: DRS may waive all or part of the penalty when it is proven that the failure to pay the tax on time was due to a reasonable cause and was not intentional or due to neglect. Before a penalty waiver can be granted, all tax and interest must be paid. Interest cannot be waived.

Signature: This return must be signed by a general partner if the entity is a partnership, or, if the entity is a limited liability company, by anyone with authority to sign the return. If the entity is an S corporation, an officer must sign the return.

Where to File: Send your completed Form OP-424 (DRS/N) and payment to:

Department of Revenue Services State of Connecticut PO Box 2936 Hartford CT 06104-2936

Make check or money order payable to: **Commissioner of Revenue Services**. To ensure proper posting of your payment, write "2003 Form OP-424" and your Connecticut Tax Registration Number on your check or money order.

For more information, see Special Notice 2002(11), Business Entity Tax, and Informational Publication 2003(15), Q & A on the Business Entity Tax, or contact the DRS, Taxpayer Services Division at 1-800-382-9463 (in-state) or 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

Detach and return bottom portion in envelope provided.

Form OP-424 (DRS/N) – Business Entity Tax Return

For Taxable Year	Year Ending Connecticut Tax Registration Number Federal Employer ID Numb		mber		Secreta	Secretary of State ID Number		DRS USE ONLY			
>	>		>						•	_	- 20
								1			
1. Business Entity Tax (Tax \$250 + Surtax \$50)					1.	\$300	00	MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO: COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE SERVICE			
2. If late: Enter Penalty (See <i>Penalty</i> above.)					2.		00	MAIL TO: Department of Revenue Services State of Connecticut			
3. If late: Enter Interest (See Interest above.)					3.		00	PO Box 2936 Hartford CT 06104-2936			
4. Total amount due. (Add Lines 1, 2, and 3.) Enter total here.					4.		00	DECLARATION: I declare under penalty of that I have examined this return and, to the be			
	Enter name and ac	ddress. P	lease print or type.					my knowledge and b correct.	pelief, it is	true, co	mplete, and
Name								I understand the pe false return to DRS	Sis a fine	e of not	more than
Address	Number and Street		PO Box					\$5,000, or imprisonment for not more than five years, or both.			
City or Town			State		Z	IP		Sign Here			
								Date			