Department of Revenue Services State of Connecticut Excise/Public Services Taxes Subdivision 25 Sigourney Street Hartford CT 06106-5032

# **Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax Refund Claim Diesel** — Livery Service

Form AU-737d

(Rev. 08/02)

## Instructions

1. For additional instructions and information see reverse side.

- Mail original to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) at the above address.
- Refund claims must be filed by May 31, 2003, for diesel fuel used during calendar year 2002.

CT Tax Registration Number / Social Security Number				Telephone Number			FC	FOR DRS USE ONLY		Audit Number	
				( )							
Name of Claimant (Type or print)							Claim Nun	nber			
Number and Street							Refund Gallons				
City or Town				State	tte ZIP+4			Refund Tax \$			
Type of Business				Location of R	Location of Records (if different from above)			Ву		Date	
Prior Claim Filed for Period Ending Period of Claim From				То			Approved B	у	-	Date	
Diesel Fuel Purchased											
	Date		Purchased From	]	Number of Diesel Gallons		P	Purchased From		Number of Diesel Gallons	
Schedule											
A											
Statement of Diesel Fuel Purchases											
					lotal Nu	imber of	Diesel G	allons Purch	nased [		
1. Total miles for period					, , , (Enter the total number of diesel						
		2. Total gallons of diesel fuel for period `gallons from Schedu									
Computation		<ul><li>3. Average miles per gallon (Divide Line 1 by Line 2)</li><li>4. Total Connecticut miles used for transportation of passenge</li></ul>									
		Refund gallons (Divide Line 4 by Line 3)									
		6. Tax Refund (Multiply Line 5 by 1/2 of the appropriate rate per gall See refund rates table on reverse side.)					ıllon.	\$			
I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand that the penalty for willfully delivering a false return to DRS is a fine of not more than \$5,000, or imprisonment for not more than 5 years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.											
Signature				Title				Date			
Print Name											

#### Instructions

Your motor vehicle fuels tax refund claim for diesel fuel used during calendar year 2002 must:

- Be filed with the DRS on or before May 31, 2003; and
- Include at least 200 gallons of fuel eligible for tax refund.

Be sure to provide a telephone number where you can be contacted.

You must indicate your Connecticut tax registration number or Social Security Number in the space provided.

For all the purchases reported on Line 2, you must attach a copy of each numbered slip or invoice that was issued at the time of the purchase. The slip or invoice may be the original or a photocopy and must show the:

- Date of purchase;
- Name and address of the seller (which must be printed or rubber stamped on the slip or invoice);

- Name and address of the purchaser (which must be the name and address of the person or entity filing the claim for refund);
- Number of gallons of diesel fuel purchased;
- · Price per gallon; and
- Total amount paid.

Livery service operators (except motor buses) must attach a copy of their permit issued under Chapter 244b of the Connecticut General Statutes with each claim filed.

You must retain records that substantiate your refund claim for at least three years following the filing of the claim and make them available to the DRS upon request.

# Table of Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax Refund Rates for Diesel

Livery service vehicles (except motor buses) are refunded at half the appropriate diesel fuel tax rate.

January 1, 2002 through July 31, 2002 09¢ per Gallon August 1, 2002 and after 13¢ per Gallon

**Note:** You must file Form AU-737d for each motor vehicle fuels tax refund claim for diesel fuel subject to tax at the rate in effect between January 1, 2002, and July 31, 2002, and an additional Form AU-737d for each motor vehicle fuels tax refund claim for diesel fuel subject to tax at the rate in effect on or after August 1, 2002.

## **Additional Information**

If you need additional information or assistance, please call the Excise/Public Services Taxes Unit at **860-541-3225**, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Forms may be downloaded from our Web site at: www.drs.state.ct.us

Your refund will be applied against any outstanding DRS tax liability.