Department of Revenue Services State of Connecticut Excise/Public Services Taxes Subdivision 25 Sigourney Street Hartford CT 06106-5032

Form AU-736a Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax Refund Claim Gasoline — Motor Bus/Taxicab

Instructions

(Rev. 11/02)

- 1. For instructions and additional information see reverse side.
- 2. Mail original to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) at the above address.
- 3. Refund claims must be filed by May 31, 2003, for gasoline used during calendar year 2002.

CT Tax Registration Number / Social Security Number Telephone Nur								FOR DRS USE ONLY			Audit Number	
()									7 0 11 2 11 0 00 2 0 11 2		· · · ·	Addit Number
Name of Claimant (Type or print)							c			Claim Number		
Number and Street									Refund Gallons	i		
City or Town State						ZIP+4 F			Refund Tax	\$		
Type of Business					Location of R	Location of Records (if different from above)			Reviewed By			Date
Prior Claim Filed			for Period Ending Period of Claim		То				Approved By			Date
Gasoline Purchased												
Date			Purcha	Number of Gasoline Gallons Date				Purchased From			Number of Gasoline Gallons	
					Т	otal Nu	umber of Gas	soli	ne Gallons	Purchas	ed	
С	M i l e s T r a	1.	Total operating miles (Includes total miles traveled in and out of Connecties, or borrowed, including charters)				cticut by motor buses or taxicabs owned,					
		2.	. Out-of-state mileage									
0		3.					Line 2 from Line 1)					
m p	e I e d		Percent of miles traveled on Connecticut roads (Divide Line 3 by Line 1 - carry to .0001)				,					
u t	G a s o	5.	. Total gallons of gasoline used (Include actual gallons of gasoline used for all pu				ourposes)					
a t		6.	Gasoline used other than in operation of motor buses or t (Includes gasoline used for cleaning, operation of no motor vehicles other than motor buses or taxicabs)					ent, a	and			
i o	i n e	7.	7. Net operating gallons used exclusively in motor buses or taxicabs (Subtract Line 6 from Line 5)									
n	U s e	8.	Gallons used to (Multiply Lir	ticut roads	pads							
	d	9.	Tax Refund Claimed (Multiply Line 8 by per gallon. See refund rate ta				able on reverse side for appropriate r			\$		
I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand that the penalty for willfully delivering a false return to DRS is a fine of not more than \$5,000, o imprisonment for not more than 5 years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the prepare has any knowledge.												nore than \$5,000, or
Signature						Title	Title				Date	
Print	Name					_						

Instructions

Your motor vehicle fuels tax refund claim for gasoline used during calendar year 2002 must:

- 1. Be filed with DRS on or before May 31, 2003; and
- Include at least 200 gallons of fuel eligible for tax refund.

Be sure to provide a telephone number where you can be contacted.

You must indicate your Connecticut tax registration number or Social Security Number in the space provided.

For all purchases reported on Line 5, you must attach a copy of each numbered slip or invoice that was issued at the time of the purchase. The slip or invoice may be the original or a photocopy and must show the:

- · Date of purchase;
- Name and address of the seller (which must be printed or rubber stamped on the slip or invoice);
- Name and address of the purchaser (which must be the name and address of the person or entity filing the claim for refund);
- · Number of gallons of gasoline purchased;
- Price per gallon; and
- Total amount paid.

Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax Refund Rates for Gasoline

Motor Buses 25¢ per gallon

Taxicabs 12.5¢ per gallon

Motor bus companies must attach a copy of their certificate of public convenience and necessity issued under Chapter 244 of the Connecticut General Statutes with each claim filed.

Taxicab operators must attach a copy of their certificate of public convenience and necessity issued under Chapter 244a of the Connecticut General Statutes with each claim filed.

You must retain records that substantiate your refund claim for at least three years following the filing of the claim and make them available to DRS upon request.

Additional Information

If you need additional information or assistance, please call the Excise/Public Services Taxes Subdivision at **860-541-3225**, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Forms may be downloaded from our Web site at: www.drs.state.ct.us

Your refund will be applied against any outstanding DRS tax liability.