
a. Connecticut adjusted gross income $ $ $

b. Total tax $

c. Connecticut income tax withheld (W-2 and 1099
forms must be attached) $ $ $

d. Separate estimated Connecticut tax payments (if any) $ $

e. Joint estimated Connecticut tax payments (if any) $

f. Payments made with extension request (if any) $

g. Joint amount overpaid $

The Department of Revenue Services (DRS) will calculate the amount of the refund owed to the nonobligated spouse.

__ __ __  __ __  __ __ __ __
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Your First Name and Middle Initial                                        Last Name

Spouse’s First Name and Middle Initial Last Name

Taxpayer Information as Shown on Joint Connecticut Income Tax Return
Your Social Security Number

Spouse’s Social Security Number

Home Address (number and street) PO Box Apt. No.

City, Town or Post Office State ZIP Code DEPARTMENT USE ONLY

Nonobligated Spouse?
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Your Daytime Telephone Number
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���� YES            NO

���� YES            NO
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DECLARATION: I declare under the penalties of false statement that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and,
to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct.  The penalties for false statement are imprisonment not to exceed one year or a fine not
to exceed two thousand dollars, or both.  Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge.

Allocation Items
(See Specific Instructions on the back of this form) Joint Nonobligated Spouse Obligated Spouse

Your Signature (Nonobligated Spouse) Date

Paid Preparer’s Signature Date Preparer’s SSN or PTIN

Firm’s Name, Address, and ZIP Code FEIN

Sign Here

Keep a
copy for

your
records.
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Nonobligated Spouse Claim

Place this form on TOP of your completed return.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES
25 SIGOURNEY STREET
HARTFORD CT  06106-5032

(Rev. 12/00)

Who may file this form?  You may file this form if:

• The filing status claimed on your 2000 Connecticut income tax return is Married Filing Joint Return; and

• You do not want your share of a joint Connecticut income tax refund to be applied against your spouse’s past-due child
support or debt to any Connecticut state agency; and

• You meet all of the requirements under Am I a Nonobligated Spouse? on the back of this form.

In cases of child support, your spouse must be a person against whom an order (of the Superior Court or family support
magistrate) for support of a minor child or children has been issued and who owes past-due child support ($150 or more in
a TANF case (Public Assistance case) or $500 or more in a Non-TANF IV-D support case (non-Public Assistance case)).

Do not use this form if you are requesting relief from a joint Connecticut income tax liability that you believe should be paid
only by your spouse (or former spouse).  See Form CT-8857, Request for Innocent Spouse Relief (And Separation of
Liability and Equitable Relief).

Do not use this form to claim your share of a Connecticut income tax refund that was applied to federal taxes owed to
the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) by your spouse. Contact the IRS Taxpayer Advocate Office at 860-756-4555 for
information regarding IRS offsets.

Are you, the nonobligated spouse,  liable for any past-due child support or a debt to any Connecticut state agency? � YES � NO

__ __ __  __ __  __ __ __ __



Specific Instructions

Taxpayer Information:  Enter the taxpayer information exactly as it appears on your Connecticut income tax return. The name
and Social Security Number entered first on the joint tax return must also be entered first on Form CT-8379.

Allocation Items:
a. Connecticut adjusted gross income - Enter the joint amount as reported on your joint Connecticut income tax return (Form

CT-1040, Line 5; Form CT-1040EZ, Line 3; Connecticut Telefile Tax Return, Line 4 minus Line 5; or Form CT-1040NR/PY,
Line 5). Then separately allocate the individual income according to which spouse earned the income. The sum of these must
equal the amount reported as joint income.
Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents only - Complete the following chart. Enter the joint amount of your Connecticut
source income as reported on your Form CT-1040NR/PY. Separately allocate the Connecticut source income according to
which spouse earned the income. The sum of these must equal the amount reported as joint Connecticut source income.

b. Total tax - Enter the joint Connecticut tax liability as reported on your joint Connecticut income tax return (Form CT-1040,
Line 16; Form CT-1040EZ, Line 8; Connecticut Telefile Tax Return, Line 12; or Form CT-1040NR/PY, Line 18).

c. Connecticut income tax withheld - Enter the joint Connecticut withholding as reported on your joint Connecticut income tax
return (Form CT-1040, Line 17; Form CT-1040EZ, Line 9; Connecticut Telefile Tax Return, Line 13; or Form
CT-1040NR/PY, Line 19). List each spouse’s share separately as shown on your individual withholding forms (W-2s, 1099s, etc.).

d. Separate estimated Connecticut tax payments - Enter any separately paid estimated Connecticut income tax payments
in the appropriate spaces.

e. Joint estimated Connecticut tax payments - Enter the total amount of any joint estimated Connecticut income tax
payments. Include overpayments applied from a previous year.

f. Payments made with extension request -  Enter the joint amount as reported on your joint Connecticut income tax return.
(Form CT-1040, Line 19; Form CT-1040EZ, Line 11; or Form CT-1040NR/PY, Line 21).

g. Joint amount overpaid - Enter the joint amount overpaid as reported on your joint Connecticut income tax return (Form
CT-1040, Line 21; Form CT-1040EZ, Line 13; Connecticut Telefile Tax Return, Line 15; or Form CT-1040NR/PY, Line 23).
The Department will compute the separate overpayments for the nonobligated spouse and the obligated spouse.

Nonobligated Spouse Refund:  DRS will calculate the amount of the nonobligated spouse’s refund. The nonobligated
spouse’s share of the joint Connecticut tax overpayment cannot exceed the joint overpayment.

Signature:  This form must be signed by the nonobligated spouse.

Others Who May Sign for the Nonobligated Spouse:  Anyone with a signed Power of Attorney may sign on behalf of the
nonobligated spouse.

Paid Preparer’s Signature:  Anyone you pay to prepare your return must sign and date it.  Paid preparers must also enter
their Social Security Number (SSN) or Personal Tax Identification Number (PTIN), and their firm’s Federal Employer Identification
Number (FEIN) in the spaces provided.

Form CT-8379 BACK (Rev. 12/00)

General Instructions
Am I a Nonobligated Spouse?  You are a Nonobligated Spouse, if you meet all of the following requirements:

• You filed a joint Connecticut income tax return with a spouse who owes past-due child support or a debt to any Connecticut
state agency (the obligated spouse); and

• You received income (such as wages, interest, etc.) that is reported on the joint return; and

• You made Connecticut income tax payments (such as withholding or estimated tax payments) that are reported on the joint
return; and

• You filed a joint return reporting an overpayment of Connecticut income tax, all or part of which was, or is expected to be,
applied against past-due child support or a debt to any Connecticut state agency owed by the obligated spouse.

Filing the Return: You must file Form CT-8379 with Form CT-1040, Form CT-1040EZ, Form CT-1040NR/PY or Form
CT-1040X.

You must place this form on TOP of the completed Connecticut income tax return.  If you have previously filed your 2000 Connecticut
income tax return, mail this form separately to:  Department of Revenue Services, PO Box 5035, Hartford, CT 06102-5035.

IMPORTANT:  Attach copies of all forms W-2 and 1099 showing Connecticut income tax withheld to Form CT-8379.
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Form CT-8379 Instructions


