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When to File Form CT-1040X

Use Form CT-1040X to amend a previously filed return. If you
file Form CT-1040X to have an overpayment of Connecticut income
tax refunded or credited to you, you must do so before the
Connecticut statute of limitations expires. Generally, the statute
of limitations expires three years after the due date of your return;
but if you timely requested an extension of time to file your return,
the statute of limitations expires three years after the extended
due date of your return, or three years after the date you filed
your return, whichever is earlier.  Set forth below are five
circumstances that require the filing of Form CT-1040X.

1. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) changes or corrects your
federal income tax return, and the change or correction affects
your Connecticut income tax liability.  You must report the
IRS change or correction by filing Form CT-1040X no later
than 90 days after the final determination of your federal
income tax liability by the IRS or the federal courts.  The
penalty for failing to do so is $50.  If the final determination of
your federal income tax liability is made after the Connecticut
statute of limitations for refunding or crediting overpayments
has expired, and the final determination reduces your
Connecticut income tax liability, then as long as you file
Form CT-1040X no more than 90 days after the final
determination of your federal income tax liabil ity, the
overpayment will be refunded or credited to you.

2. You file a timely amended federal income tax return, and the
amendment affects your Connecticut income tax liability.
You must report the amendment of your federal income tax
return by filing Form CT-1040X no later than 90 days after
the date of filing your amended federal income tax return.
The penalty for failing to do so is $50.  If you file a timely
amended federal income tax return after the Connecticut
statute of limitations for refunding or crediting overpayments
has expired, and the amendment of your federal income tax
return reduces your Connecticut income tax liability, then as
long as you file Form CT-1040X no more than 90 days after
the date of filing your amended federal income tax return,
the overpayment will be refunded or credited to you.

3. You claimed a credit on your Connecticut income tax return
for income tax paid to a qualifying jurisdiction, and the qualifying
jurisdiction makes a change or correction to the income tax
return filed in that jurisdiction that affects your Connecticut
income tax liability (by increasing or decreasing the amount
of the allowable credit).  You must report the change or
correction by filing Form CT-1040X no later than 90 days
after a final determination of your income tax liability by the
tax officials or the courts of that qualifying jurisdiction.  The
penalty for failing to do so is $50.  If the qualifying jurisdiction
makes a final determination of your income tax liability after
the Connecticut statute of limitations for refunding or crediting
overpayments has expired, and the final determination reduces
your Connecticut income tax liability, then as long as you file
Form CT-1040X no more than 90 days after the final
determination of your income tax liability to that jurisdiction,
the overpayment will be refunded or credited to you.

4. You claimed a credit on your Connecticut income tax return
for income tax paid to a qualifying jurisdiction, and you file a
timely amended income tax return with that jurisdiction that

affects your Connecticut income tax liability (by increasing
or decreasing the amount of the allowable credit). You must
report the amendment of your income tax return filed with
that jurisdiction by filing Form CT-1040X no later than 90
days after the date of filing your amended income tax return
with that jurisdiction.  The penalty for failing to do so is $50.
If you file a timely amended income tax return with that other
jurisdiction after the Connecticut statute of limitations for
refunding or crediting overpayments has expired, and the
amendment reduces your Connecticut income tax liability,
then as long as you file Form CT-1040X no more than 90
days after the date of filing your amended income tax return
with that jurisdiction, the overpayment will be refunded or
credited to you.

5. If none of the above circumstances apply, but you made an
error or omission in completing your Connecticut income tax
return, and the error or omission affects your Connecticut
income tax liability.  You must correct the error or omission
by filing Form CT-1040X.  Form CT-1040X must be filed no
later than three years after the original due date of the return,
or, if an extension to file the return was granted, three years
after the date you filed the return or three years after the
extended due date, whichever is earlier.

Where Form CT-1040X is not timely filed, and additional
Connecticut income tax is due, interest will also be assessed.

Do not file Form CT-1040X for any of the following reasons:

• To have an overpayment refunded instead of applied to
estimated tax for the next taxable year, or to change or reduce
contributions made to designated funds.  The elections that
you made on your original return are irrevocable and may not
be changed by filing Form CT-1040X.

• To claim a credit for income that was paid on income included
in your Connecticut adjusted gross income for an earlier
taxable year and that you repaid in a later taxable year.  See
Schedule CT-1040CRC, Claim of Right Credit.

NOTE: The required estimated income tax payments for a
taxable year are based on the income tax shown on your original
income tax return for that year and not on the income tax shown
on your Form CT-1040X for that year, even if the income tax
shown on your Form CT-1040X is less than the income tax
shown on your original income tax return.

Financial Disability:  If you are financially disabled, as defined
in I.R.C. §6511(h)(2), the statute of limitations for having an
overpayment of Connecticut income tax refunded or credited to
you is extended for as long as you are financially disabled.
You are considered financially disabled if you are unable to
manage your own affairs by reason of a medically determinable
physical or mental impairment that has lasted or can be expected
to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months.  You
are not considered financially disabled during any period that
your spouse or any other person is authorized to act on your
behalf in financial matters.

This form may only be used to amend a 2000 Connecticut
income tax return for individuals.  This form may not be used
to amend any other year’s return.  Do not use this form to
amend Form CT-1041, Form CT-1065 or Form CT-1120SI.  If
the above changes have no effect on your Connecticut tax
liability, you are not required to file Form CT-1040X.
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Amended Connecticut Income Tax Return and Instructions

The Connecticut 2000 Tax Calculation Schedule, instructions for amending your Schedule 1 - Modifications to Federal
Adjusted Gross Income, and Schedule 3 - Credit for Property Taxes Paid on Your Primary Residence
and/or Motor Vehicle, are included with this form.  Instructions for Schedule 2 - Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Qualifying
Jurisdictions, are included in the instructions for Form CT-1040 and Form CT-1040NR/PY.



Steps to Completing Form CT-1040X
Step 1 - Refer to your original return and identify all changes
that need to be made.

Step 2 - Find corresponding line items on Form CT-1040X.
Line numbers on Form CT-1040X may be different from the line
numbers on your original return.

Step 3 - Complete Schedule 1 if changes will be reported
on Line 2 or Line 4 of Form CT-1040X. Complete
Schedule 2 if changes will be reported on Line 11.  Complete
Schedule 3 if changes will be reported on Line 15.

Step 4 - Use Column A to enter the amounts shown on your
original or previously adjusted return.

Step 5 - Use Column B to enter the net increase or decrease
for each line that you are changing.

Step 6 - Explain each change in the space provided on the
front of Form CT-1040X.

Step 7 - Use Column C to report the corrected amounts for
each line. If there is no change, enter the amount from
Column A in Column C.

Form CT-1040X Instructions

Filing Status

Generally, your filing status must match your federal income
tax filing status for the year.  However, when one spouse is a
Connecticut resident or a nonresident and the other spouse
is a part-year resident, each spouse who is required to file a
Connecticut income tax return must file as “married filing
separately.”  When one spouse is a Connecticut resident and
the other is a nonresident, each spouse who is required to file a
Connecticut income tax return must file as “married filing
separately,” unless they file jointly for federal income tax
purposes, and they elect to be treated as if both were Connecticut
residents for the entire taxable year.  See Special Rules for
Married Individuals, in the instructions to Form CT-1040EZ,
Form CT-1040 or Form CT-1040NR/PY.
Line 2 and Line 4 - If you are changing your modifications to
Federal Adjusted Gross Income, you must complete Form
CT-1040X, Schedule 1 - Modifications to Federal Adjusted Gross
Income.

Lines 6 through 9 - Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents:
Refer to your previously filed Form CT-1040NR/PY when
completing this section.

Line 8 - Calculate the tax on the amount you entered on
Line 7, Column C, using the 2000 Tax Calculation Schedule on
Page 3.  Enter the result on Line 8, Column C.

Line 10 - Residents: Calculate the tax on the amount you
entered on Line 5, Column C, using the 2000 Tax Calculation
Schedule on Page 3. Enter the result on Line 10, Column C.

Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents: Multiply Line 9,
Column C by Line 8, Column C. Enter the result on Line 10,
Column C.

Line 11 - If you are changing your credit for taxes paid to qualifying
jurisdictions, you must complete Form CT-1040X, Schedule 2 -
Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Qualifying Jurisdictions. Enter
the amount from Line 57 on Line 11, Column C.  See instructions
to Form CT-1040 or Form CT-1040NR/PY.

Line 13 - If changes are being made to your Connecticut
Alternative Minimum Tax, you must complete a corrected Form
CT-6251 and attach it to Form CT-1040X. Write the word
“AMENDED” across the top of Form CT-6251.

Line 15 - Residents: If you are changing your property tax
credit, you must complete Form CT-1040X, Schedule 3 - Credit
for Property Taxes Paid on your Primary Residence and/or Motor
Vehicle. This credit may not exceed $500.

Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents: Enter “0” on
Line 15, Column C.

Line 17 - If changes are being made to your Adjusted Net
Connecticut Minimum Tax Credit, you must complete a corrected
Form CT-8801 and attach it to Form CT-1040X. Write the word
“AMENDED” across the top of Form CT-8801.

Line 19 - If changes are being made to your Connecticut
Individual Use Tax, you must complete a corrected individual
use tax schedule or worksheet and attach it to Form
CT-1040X. You must write the word “AMENDED” across the
top of the individual use tax schedule or worksheet.

Line 21 - If changes are being made to your Connecticut income
tax withholding, attach supporting documentation such as
additional W-2, W-2C, W-2G, or 1099 forms.

Interest
Interest at the rate of 1% (.01) per month or fraction of a month
will continue to accrue from the original due date until the tax is
paid in full. A month is measured from the 16th day of the first
month to the 15th day of the next month. Any fraction of a
month is considered a whole month.

Schedule 1 - Modifications to Federal Adjusted
Gross Income (Complete Only if Changed)
Enter the corrected amounts (including any amounts that were
previously correct on your original return).  Enter all amounts
as positive numbers.  See instructions for Form CT-1040 or
Form CT-1040NR/PY.

Line 31 - Interest on State and Local Government
Obligations Other than Connecticut
Enter the total amount of interest income derived from state
and municipal government obligations (other than obligations of
the State of Connecticut or its municipalities) which is not taxed
for federal income tax purposes. Do not enter interest income
derived from government obligations of Puerto Rico, Guam,
American Samoa, or U.S. Virgin Islands.

Line 32 - Exempt-Interest Dividends from a Mutual Fund
Derived from State or Municipal Government
Obligations Other than Connecticut
Enter the total amount of exempt-interest dividends received
from a mutual fund that are derived from state and municipal
government obligations, other than obligations of the State of
Connecticut or its municipalities. If the exempt-interest dividends
are derived from obligations of Connecticut and other states,
enter only the percentage derived from non-Connecticut
obligations. Do not enter exempt-interest dividends derived from
government obligations of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa,
or U.S. Virgin Islands.

Line 33 and Line 44 - Shareholder’s Pro Rata Share of
S Corporation Nonseparately Computed Income or Loss
The Connecticut corporation business tax on S corporations is
being phased out over a five-year period, ending with the 2000
taxable year.  This affects the modification to federal adjusted
gross income that shareholders are required to make in
computing Connecticut adjusted gross income.
If you are a shareholder of an S corporation that is subject to
the Connecticut corporation business tax, and the
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S corporation’s taxable year for federal income tax purposes
is the calendar year, multiply 30% of your pro rata share of
the S corporation’s nonseparately computed income or loss
by the S corporation’s Connecticut corporation business tax
apportionment percentage.  If the amount is related to a loss,
enter it on Line 33.  If the amount is related to income, enter
it on Line 44.  If the S corporation’s taxable year for federal
income tax purposes is other than the calendar year, use
55% instead of 30%. Your pro rata share of the S corporation’s
nonseparately computed income or loss will be reported on
federal Form 1120S, Schedule K-1. This form and the
Connect icut corporat ion business tax apport ionment
percentage are furnished to you by the S corporation.

If any federal limitations apply, add back only 30% of the net
loss (55% of the net loss, if the S corporation’s taxable year
is other than the calendar year) included on federal
Schedule E, multiplied by the S corporation’s Connecticut
corporation business tax apportionment percentage.  If you
have deductible losses from a prior year or other adjustments,
subtract only 30% of the net income (55% i f  the
S corporation’s taxable year is other than the calendar
year) included on federal Schedule E, multiplied by the S
corporat ion’s Connect icut corporat ion business tax
apportionment percentage.

Line 34 - Taxable Amount of Lump-Sum Distributions
from Qualified Plans Not Included in Federal AGI
If you filed federal Form 4972, Tax On Lump-Sum Distributions,
with your federal Form 1040 to compute the tax on any part of
a distribution from a qualified plan, enter on Line 34 that part
of the distribution. Do not enter any part of the distribution
reported on federal Form 1040A, Line 12a; federal Form 1040,
Line 16a; or federal Form 1040, Schedule D.

Line 35 and Line 45 - Beneficiary’s Share of
Connecticut Fiduciary Adjustment
If you have any income from an estate or trust, your share of
any Connecticut modifications (that is, your share of the
Connecticut fiduciary adjustment) that apply to such income
will be shown on Form CT-1041, Connecticut Income Tax
Return for Trusts and Estates, Schedule B, Column 5.  Your
share of these modifications should be provided to you by
the fiduciary. If your share of these modifications is an amount
greater than zero, enter the amount on Line 35.  If the amount
is less than zero, enter on Line 45.

If you are a beneficiary of more than one trust or estate,
enter the net amount of all such modifications, if greater

than zero, on Line 35.  If the net amount is less than zero,
enter on Line 45.

Line 36 - Loss on Sale of Connecticut State and Local
Government Bonds

Enter the total losses from the sale or exchange of notes, bonds
or other obligations of the State of Connecticut or its
municipalities used in determining gain (loss) for federal income
tax purposes, whether or not the entire loss is used in computing
federal adjusted gross income.

Line 37 and Line 47 - Other
See instructions for Form CT-1040 or Form CT-1040NR/PY for
information.

Line 39 - Interest on United States Government
Obligations
Enter the total amount of interest income (to the extent includible
in federal adjusted gross income) derived from U.S. government
obligations, which federal law prohibits states from taxing (for
example, U.S. government bonds such as Savings Bonds
Series EE and Series HH, U.S. Treasury bills and notes).

For Series EE U.S. Savings Bonds, you may include only the
amount of interest subject to federal income tax after exclusion
of the amounts reported on federal Form 8815.  In general, you
will report the net taxable amount on federal Form 1040,
Schedule B or federal Form 1040A, Schedule 1.

Do not enter the amount of interest income derived from Federal
National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) bonds,
Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) bonds,
and Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (Freddie Mac)
securities. Federal law does not prohibit states from taxing
interest income derived from these obligations, and this interest
income is taxable for Connecticut income tax purposes. Do not
enter the amount of interest paid on any federal income tax
refund.

Line 40 - Exempt Dividends from Certain Qualifying
Mutual Funds Derived from U.S. Government Obligations
Enter the total amount of exempt dividends received from a
qualifying mutual fund that are derived from U.S. government
obligations. A mutual fund is a qualifying fund if, at the close
of EACH quarter of its taxable year, at least 50% of the value
of its assets consists of U.S. government obligations. The
percentage of dividends that are exempt dividends should be
reported to you by the mutual fund.
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1. Residents:  Enter the amount from 2000 Form CT-1040X, Line 5, Column C.
Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents:  Enter the amount from 2000 Form CT-1040X, Line 7, Column C. 1.

2. Enter Personal Exemption (See TABLE A, Page 6) 2.

3. Connecticut Taxable Income (Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. If less than zero, enter “0.”) 3.

4. Enter Connecticut Income Tax (See TABLE B, Page 6) 4.

5. Enter Decimal Amount (See TABLE C, Page 6.  If zero, enter “0.”) 5.

6. Multiply the amount on Line 4 by the decimal amount on Line 5. 6.

7. CONNECTICUT INCOME TAX (Subtract Line 6 from Line 4)
Residents:  Enter this amount on 2000 Form CT-1040X, Line 10, Column C.
Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents:  Enter this amount on Form CT-1040X, Line 8, Column C. 7.

�

2000 TAX CALCULATION SCHEDULE



Do not enter the amount of dividend income derived from Federal
National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) bonds,
Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) bonds,
and Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (Freddie Mac)
securities. Federal law does not prohibit states from taxing
income derived from these obligations, and this income is
taxable for Connecticut income tax purposes.

Line 41 - Social Security Benefit Adjustment

If your filing status is Single or Married Filing Separately
and the amount reported on Form CT-1040X, Line 1,
Column C is less than $50,000, enter on Line 41 the amount of
federally taxable Social Security benefits reported on 2000
federal Form 1040, Line 20b or federal Form 1040A,
Line 14b.  If your filing status is Married Filing Jointly or
Head of Household and the amount reported on Form
CT-1040X, Line 1, Column C is less than $60,000, enter on
Line 41 the amount of federally taxable Social Security benefits
reported on federal Form 1040, Line 20b or federal Form 1040A,
Line 14b.  If your federal adjusted gross income is above the
threshold for your filing status, complete the Social Security
Benefit Adjustment Worksheet below and enter the amount
from Line F on Line 41.

Line 42 - Refunds of State and Local Income Taxes

Enter the amount of taxable refunds of state and local income
taxes reported on Line 10 of your federal Form 1040.  If Line 10
of your federal Form 1040 is blank, or if you filed federal Forms
1040A, 1040EZ or telefiled your federal return, enter “0.”

Line 43 - Tier 1 and Tier 2 Railroad Retirement Benefits
and Supplemental Annuities

If you received Tier 1 or Tier 2, or both, railroad retirement
benefits and supplemental annuities during 2000, you may
deduct the amount included in your federal adjusted gross
income. Enter on Line 43 the amount of benefits reported on
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federal Form 1040, Line 16b or Line 20b, or federal Form 1040A,
Line 12b or Line 14b.  Enter the amount of railroad unemployment
benefits, including sickness benefits paid in l ieu of
unemployment benefits, to the extent included in your federal
adjusted gross income.

Line 46 - Gain on Sale of Connecticut State and Local
Government Bonds

Enter the total of all gains from the sale or exchange of notes,
bonds or other obligations of the State of Connecticut or its
municipalities used in determining gain (loss) for federal income
tax purposes.

For Further Information
Please call the Department of Revenue Services during business
hours, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday:

• 1-800-382-9463 (toll-free within Connecticut), or

• 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit
inquiries 24 hours a day by calling 860-297-4911.

Forms and Publications
Forms and publications are available all day, seven days
a week:

• Internet: preview and download forms and publications from
the DRS Web site: www.drs.state.ct.us

• DRS TAX-FAX:  call 860-297-5698 from the handset attached
to your fax machine and select from the menu

• Telephone: Call 860-297-4753 (from anywhere), or
1-800-382-9463 (toll-free within Connecticut) and select
Option 2 from a touch-tone phone.

LINE 41 - SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFIT ADJUSTMENT WORKSHEET
See instructions above to determine if you must complete this worksheet.

A . Enter the amount reported on your 2000 federal Social Security Benefits Worksheet, Line 1. A.

If Line A is zero or less, stop here and enter “0” on Line 41.  Otherwise, go to Line B.

B. Enter the amount reported on your 2000 federal Social Security Benefits Worksheet, Line 9. B.

If Line B is zero or less, stop here and enter “0” on Line 41.  Otherwise, go to Line C.

C. Enter the lesser of Line A or Line B. C.

D. Multiply Line C by 25% (.25). D.

E. Taxable amount of Social Security benefits reported on your 2000 federal Social Security Benefits
Worksheet, Line 18. E.

F. Social Security Benefit Adjustment - Subtract Line D from Line E.  Enter the amount here and
on Form CT-1040X, Schedule 1, Line 41. (If Line D is greater than or equal to Line E, enter “0.”) F.
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Enter in the space below the line number for each item you are changing and give the reason for each change.  Attach supporting
forms and schedules for items changed.  Write your name and Social Security Number on all attachments.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________
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AMENDED CONNECTICUT INCOME TAX RETURN FOR INDIVIDUALS
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES
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Are you amending your return as a result of federal or another state’s changes? (See instructions) ��  YES ��  NO
If YES, enter the date of federal change              /           /             OR enter the date of other state’s change               /            /

You must attach a copy of the IRS audit results, federal Form 1040X, the other state’s audit results or amended returns, and supporting documentation.

Income

Nonresidents
and

Part-Year
Residents

Only

Tax

Payments

�

�

Refund

Amount
You Owe

.��������������������������������.

Your First Name and Middle Initial Last Name Social Security Number

If a JOINT Return, Spouse’s First Name and Middle Initial Last Name Spouse’s Social Security Number

Home Address (number and street) PO Box Apt. No. Your Telephone Number

City, Town or Post Office State ZIP Code DEPARTMENT USE ONLY

��������������������������������

��������������������������������••••

••••
••••

••••�

�

�

�

�

�

For the year January 1 - December 31, 2000, or other taxable year �  beginning ______________ , 2000, �  ending _______________ , _______ .

Please
Print

or
Type

Filing Status: On original return: Single Married filing jointly/qualifying widow(er) Married filing separately Head of household
On this return: Single Married filing jointly/qualifying widow(er) Married filing separately Head of household��

��
�� ��

��
��

�� ��

A. Original amount or as
previously adjusted

B. Net change increase
or (decrease)

C. Correct amount

�

� �

(      )

Residents go to Line 10; Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents go to Line 6

(Rev. 12/00)

1. Federal Adjusted Gross Income (from federal Form 1040,
Line 33; Form 1040A, Line 19; Form 1040EZ, Line 4; or
federal TeleFile Tax Record, Line I) ............................................... 1 �

2. Additions, if any (If changed, see instructions) .............................. 2 �
3. Add Line 1 and Line 2 ...................................................................... 3 �
4. Subtractions, if any (If changed, see instructions) ......................... 4 �
5. Connecticut Adjusted Gross Income (Subtract Line 4 from Line 3) 5

�
6. Enter your income from Connecticut sources from

Schedule CT-SI; (If less than or equal to zero, enter “0.”) ..................... 6 �
7. Enter the greater of Line 5 or Line 6 (If zero, go to Line 10

and enter “0.”) ..................................................................................... 7 �
8. Income Tax (From Tax Calculation Schedule, see instructions) .... 8 �
9. Divide Line 6 by Line 5 (If Line 6 is equal to or greater than

Line 5, enter 1.0000.) ........................................................................ 9 �
10. Income Tax (See instructions) ........................................................ 10 �
11. Credit for income taxes paid to qualifying jurisdictions (If changed,

see instructions) Residents and Part-Year Residents only ........... 11 �
12. Subtract Line 11 from Line 10 ........................................................ 12 �
13. Connecticut Alternative Minimum Tax (from Form CT-6251) ..... 13 �
14. Add Line 12 and Line 13 ................................................................ 14 �
15. Credit for property tax paid on your primary residence and/or

motor vehicle.  Resident Individuals only (See instructions) .... 15 �
16. Subtract Line 15 from Line 14 (If less than or equal to zero, enter “0.”) ... 16 �
17. Adjusted Net Connecticut Minimum Tax Credit (from Form CT-8801) .... 17 �
18. Connecticut Income Tax (Subtract Line 17 from Line 16) .......... 18 �
19. Individual Use Tax (If changed, see instructions) ....................... 19 �
20. Total Tax (Add Line 18 and Line 19) ............................................. 20 �
21. Connecticut tax withheld (If changed, see instructions) .............. 21 �
22. All 2000 estimated Connecticut income tax payments (including any

overpayments applied from a prior year) and extension payments ..... 22

23. Amounts paid with original return, plus additional tax paid
after it was filed ................................................................................ 23

24. Total Payments (Add Lines 21, 22, and 23) .................................. 24

25. Overpayment, if any, as shown on original return (or as previously adjusted) ......................................................... 25

26. Subtract Line 25 from Line 24 ..................................................................................................................................... 26

27. If Line 26, Column C, is greater than Line 20, Column C, enter the amount overpaid REFUND 27

28. If Line 20, Column C, is greater than Line 26, Column C, enter the amount you owe ......................................... 28

29. Interest (Multiply Line 28 by number of months or fraction thereof, then by 1% (.01)) .......................................... 29

30. Amount you owe with this return (Add Line 28, Column C, and Line 29, Column C) AMOUNT YOU OWE       30



SCHEDULE 2 - CREDIT FOR INCOME TAXES PAID TO QUALIFYING JURISDICTIONS (See instructions for Form CT-1040 or Form CT-1040NR/PY)

IMPORTANT: You must attach a copy of your return filed with the qualifying jurisdiction(s) or the credit will be disallowed.
49. MODIFIED CONNECTICUT ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME 49

FOR EACH COLUMN, ENTER THE FOLLOWING:
50. Enter qualifying jurisdiction’s name and two-letter code 50

51. Non-Connecticut income included on Line 49 and reported on a qualifying
jurisdiction’s income tax return (from Schedule 2 Worksheet) 51

52. Divide Line 51 by Line 49 (may not exceed 1.0000) 52

53. Income tax liability (Subtract Line 15, Column C, from Line 10, Column C) 53

54. Multiply Line 52 by Line 53 54

55. Income tax paid to a qualifying jurisdiction 55

56. Enter the lesser of Line 54 or Line 55 56

57. TOTAL CREDIT (Add Line 56, all columns) Enter here and on Line 11, Column C, on the front of this form. 57

COLUMN A COLUMN B
Name Code Name  Code

� �

PRIMARY
RESIDENCE 58

AUTO 1 59

Married Filing
Jointly Only - AUTO 2 60

QUALIFYING
PROPERTY

NAME OF
CONNECTICUT
TAX TOWN OR

DISTRICT

DESCRIPTION OF PROPERTY
Enter description of property

If primary residence, enter street address
If motor vehicle, enter year, make, and model

LIST OR BILL
NUMBER

(if available)

DATE PAID
(Enter date you

paid property
tax.)

AMOUNT PAID
(Enter amount of

property tax paid.)

Make your check or money order payable to:  Commissioner of Revenue Services
Write your Social Security Number(s) and “2000 Form CT-1040X” on your check or money order.

MAIL TO: Department of Revenue Services
PO Box 2978
Hartford CT 06104-2978

SCHEDULE 3 (Connecticut Residents Only) - CREDIT FOR PROPERTY TAXES PAID ON YOUR PRIMARY RESIDENCE AND/OR
MOTOR VEHICLE - Failure to complete this schedule could result in the disallowance of this credit.

COLUMN A COLUMN B COLUMN C COLUMN D COLUMN E

CT-1040X Back (Rev. 12/00)

61. Total property tax paid (Add all amounts for Column E) 61

62. Maximum property tax credit allowed $500 (subject to limitation). 62 500 00
63. Enter the Lesser of Line 61 or Line 62. (If $100 or less, enter this amount on Line 65. If greater than $100, go to Line 64.) 63

64. Limitation - Enter the result from the Property Tax Credit Limitation Worksheet (See Page 5) 64

65. Subtract Line 64 from Line 63. Enter here and on Line 15, Column C, on the front of this form. 65

DECLARATION:  I declare under the penalties of false statement that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of my knowledge
and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. The penalties for false statement are imprisonment not to exceed one year or a fine not to exceed two thousand dollars, or both.  Declaration
of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge.

Your Signature Date Spouse’s Signature (if joint return) Date

Paid Preparer’s Signature Date Telephone Number Preparer’s SSN or PTIN

(       ) �
Firm’s Name, Address, and ZIP Code FEIN

Sign
Here
Keep a

copy for
your

records.
�

SCHEDULE 1 - MODIFICATIONS TO FEDERAL ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME (See instructions, Page 2)

Additions To Federal Adjusted Gross Income - Enter All Amounts as Positive Numbers

31. Interest on state and local government obligations other than Connecticut 31

32. Exempt-interest dividends from a mutual fund derived from state or municipal government obligations other
than Connecticut 32

33. Shareholder’s pro rata share of S corporation nonseparately computed loss 33

34. Taxable amount of lump sum distributions from qualified plans not included in federal adjusted gross income 34

35. Beneficiary’s share of Connecticut fiduciary adjustment (Enter only if greater than zero) 35

36. Loss on sale of Connecticut state and local government bonds 36

37. Other - specify 37

38. Total additions (Add Lines 31 through 37); Enter here and on Line 2, Column C, on the front of this form. 38

Subtractions From Federal Adjusted Gross Income - Enter All Amounts as Positive Numbers

39. Interest on United States government obligations 39

40. Exempt dividends from certain qualifying mutual funds derived from United States government obligations 40

41. Social Security benefit adjustment (See Social Security Benefit Adjustment Worksheet, Page 4) 41

42. Refunds of state and local income taxes 42

43. Tier 1 and Tier 2 railroad retirement benefits and supplemental annuities 43

44. Shareholder’s pro rata share of S corporation nonseparately computed income 44

45. Beneficiary’s share of Connecticut fiduciary adjustment (Enter only if less than zero) 45

46. Gain on sale of Connecticut state and local government bonds 46

47. Other - specify (Do not include out-of-state income) 47

48. Total subtractions (Add Lines 39 through 47); Enter here and on Line 4, Column C, on the front of this form. 48



  PROPERTY TAX CREDIT LIMITATION TABLE
Use your filing status shown on Form CT-1040X and your
Connecticut AGI - Form CT-1040X, Line 5, Column C.

LINE 64 - PROPERTY TAX CREDIT LIMITATION
WORKSHEET (Connecticut Residents ONLY)
Enter the amount from Form CT-1040X, Schedule 3, Line 63
on Line 65 and do not complete this worksheet if your filing
status is:

� Single and your Connecticut AGI is $53,500, or less;
� Married Filing Jointly and your Connecticut AGI is

$100,500, or less;
� Married Filing Separately and your Connecticut AGI is

$50,250, or less; or
� Head of Household and your Connecticut AGI is $78,500,

or less.

Otherwise, complete this worksheet and enter the amount from
Line 5 on Form CT-1040X, Schedule 3, Line 64.

1. Enter the amount reported on
Form CT-1040X, Schedule 3, Line 63 1.

2. Credit allowed (not subject to limitation) 2.        
  
100.00

3. Subtract Line 2 from Line 1 3.

4. Enter the decimal amount from the Property
Tax Credit Limitation Table exactly as it
appears in the chart at right. (If zero, stop
here, your credit is not limited.) 4.

5. Multiply Line 3 by Line 4. Enter the result here
and on Form CT-1040X, Schedule 3, Line 64. 5.

Schedule 3 - (Connecticut Residents Only) Credit
for Property Taxes Paid on Your Primary Residence
and/or Motor Vehicle (Complete Only if Changed)
Enter the corrected amounts (including any amounts that were
previously correct on your original return).  The credit is for
property taxes paid during 2000 to a Connecticut political
subdivision on a primary residence and/or a privately owned or
leased motor vehicle.  If you entered “0” on Form CT-1040X,
Line 14, Column C, DO NOT complete this schedule.  See
Informational Publication 2000(23), Q & A:  Income Tax Credit
for Property Taxes Paid to a Connecticut Political Subdivision.

Which Property Tax Bills Qualify?
You may take credit against your 2000 Connecticut income tax
liability for property tax payments that you made on your primary
residence and/or privately owned or leased motor vehicle to a
Connecticut political subdivision. Generally, property tax bills that
were due and paid during 2000 qualify for this credit. This includes
any installment payments that you made during 2000 for
installments that were due in 2000 and any installments that you
prepaid during 2000 for installments there were due in 2001.
Supplemental property tax bills that were due during 2000 or
2001 also qualify if paid during 2000.  However, the late payment
of any property tax bills or the payment of any interest, fees or
charges related to the property tax bill do not qualify for the credit.
A husband and wife who file a joint Connecticut income tax
return may consider property tax bills for which the husband or
wife, or both, are liable.

You may claim credit for a leased motor vehicle if you had a
written lease agreement for a term of more than one year and
the property tax became due and was paid during 2000 (either
by the leasing company or by you). Refer to your January 2001
billing statement from the leasing company in order to determine
the amount of property taxes that may be eligible for the credit.
Your statement will either indicate the amount of property taxes
paid on your leased motor vehicle or provide you with a toll-free
number that you may call to obtain the necessary information.
If you do not receive a billing statement in January 2001, contact
your leasing company for the appropriate property tax
information.

Maximum Credit Allowed
The maximum credit allowed (on your primary residence
and/or motor vehicle) is $500 per return, regardless of filing
status. If you paid more than $100 in property tax you may be
subject to a limitation based on your Connecticut Adjusted
Gross Income (Connecticut AGI).
This credit cannot exceed the amount of qualifying property
taxes paid or the amount of tax entered on Form CT-1040X,
Line 14, Column C.  To receive this credit, you must complete
Schedule 3 in its entirety.

Motor Vehicle Credit Restrictions
The number of motor vehicles eligible for this credit depends on
your filing status as shown on the front of your Connecticut income
tax return. Anyone whose filing status is Single, Married Filing
Separately, or Head of Household is limited to the property
tax paid on one motor vehicle even if the individual sells a motor
vehicle and purchases a replacement motor vehicle during the
taxable year. Those whose filing status is Married Filing Jointly
are limited to the property taxes paid on two motor vehicles.

Schedule 3 Instructions
Line 58 - Primary Residence
Enter the total amount of property tax paid on your primary
residence.

Line 59 - Auto 1
Enter the total amount of property tax paid on your motor vehicle.

Line 60 - Married Filing Jointly Only - Auto 2
Enter the total amount of property tax paid on your second
motor vehicle.

Line 64 - Limitation
Enter “0” on Line 64 and go to Line 65 if your filing status is
Single and your Connecticut AGI is $53,500 or less; Married
Filing Jointly and your Connecticut AGI is $100,500 or less;
Married Filing Separately and your Connecticut AGI is
$50,250 or less; or Head of Household and your Connecticut
AGI is $78,500 or less. Otherwise, you must complete the
Property Tax Credit Limitation Worksheet below.

�

Single
  Connecticut AGI is:

More Less Than Decimal
Than or Equal to Amount

$ 0 $ 53,500 0
$ 53,500 $ 63,500 .10
$ 63,500 $ 73,500 .20
$ 73,500 $ 83,500 .30
$ 83,500 $ 93,500 .40
$ 93,500 $ 103,500 .50
$ 103,500 $ 113,500 .60
$ 113,500 $ 123,500 .70
$ 123,500 $ 133,500 .80
$ 133,500 $ 143,500 .90
$ 143,500 and up 1.00

Married Filing Jointly
  Connecticut AGI is:

More Less Than Decimal
Than or Equal to Amount

$ 0 $ 100,500 0
$ 100,500 $ 110,500 .10
$ 110,500 $ 120,500 .20
$ 120,500 $ 130,500 .30
$ 130,500 $ 140,500 .40
$ 140,500 $ 150,500 .50
$ 150,500 $ 160,500 .60
$ 160,500 $ 170,500 .70
$ 170,500 $ 180,500 .80
$ 180,500 $ 190,500 .90
$ 190,500 and up 1.00

Married Filing Separately
  Connecticut AGI is:

More Less Than Decimal
Than or Equal to Amount

$ 0 $ 50,250 0
$ 50,250 $ 55,250 .10
$ 55,250 $ 60,250 .20
$ 60,250 $ 65,250 .30
$ 65,250 $ 70,250 .40
$ 70,250 $ 75,250 .50
$ 75,250 $ 80,250 .60
$ 80,250 $ 85,250 .70
$ 85,250 $ 90,250 .80
$ 90,250 $ 95,250 .90
$ 95,250 and up 1.00

Head of Household
  Connecticut AGI is:

More Less Than Decimal
Than or Equal to Amount

$ 0 $ 78,500 0
$ 78,500 $ 88,500 .10
$ 88,500 $ 98,500 .20
$ 98,500 $ 108,500 .30
$ 108,500 $118,500 .40
$ 118,500 $128,500 .50
$ 128,500 $138,500 .60
$ 138,500 $148,500 .70
$ 148,500 $158,500 .80
$ 158,500 $168,500 .90
$ 168,500 and up 1.00
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TABLE A - EXEMPTIONS FOR 2000 TAXABLE YEAR
Use your filing status shown on the front of Form CT-1040X and your CONNECTICUT AGI (From Tax Calculation Schedule, Line 1) to determine your exemption.

CONNECTICUT AGI CONNECTICUT AGI
EXEMPTION

CONNECTICUT AGI CONNECTICUT AGI
EXEMPTION

More Than Less Than More Than Less Than More Than Less Than More Than Less Than
Or Equal To Or Equal To Or Equal To Or Equal To

Single Married Filing Jointly/Qualified Widow(er) Married Filing Separately Head of Household

Form CT-1040TCS (Rev. 12/00)

Single/Married Filing Separately

If the amount on Line 3 of the Tax
Calculation Schedule is:
Less than or equal to $10,000, multiply by .03.
More than $10,000, multiply the excess over
$10,000 by .045 and add $300.00.

EXAMPLE:  If the amount on Line 3 is $13,000
enter $435.00 on Line 4.

$13,000 - $10,000 = $3,000
$3,000 x .045 = $135.00
$135.00 + $300.00 = $435.00

Head of Household

If the amount on Line 3 of the Tax
Calculation Schedule is:
Less than or equal to $16,000, multiply by .03.
More than $16,000, multiply the excess over
$16,000 by .045 and add $480.00.

EXAMPLE:  If the amount on Line 3 is $20,000
enter $660.00 on Line 4.

$20,000 - $16,000 = $4,000
$4,000 x .045 = $180.00
$180.00 + $480.00 = $660.00

Married Filing Jointly/Qualifying Widow(er)

If the amount on Line 3 of the Tax
Calculation Schedule is:
Less than or equal to $20,000, multiply by .03.
More than $20,000, multiply the excess over
$20,000 by .045 and add $600.00.

EXAMPLE:  If the amount on Line 3 is $22,500
enter $712.50 on Line 4.

$22,500 - $20,000 = $2,500
$2,500 x .045 = $112.50
$112.50 + $600.00 = $712.50

CONNECTICUT AGI DECIMAL CONNECTICUT AGI DECIMAL CONNECTICUT AGI DECIMAL  CONNECTICUT AGI DECIMAL
More Than Less Than AMOUNT More Than Less Than AMOUNT More Than Less Than AMOUNT More Than Less Than AMOUNT

Or Equal To Or Equal To Or Equal To Or Equal To

Single Married Filing Jointly/Qualified Widow(er) Married Filing Separately Head of Household

TABLE B - CONNECTICUT INCOME TAX FOR 2000 TAXABLE YEAR
Use your filing status shown on the front of Form CT-1040X.

TABLE C - PERSONAL TAX CREDITS FOR 2000 TAXABLE YEAR
Use your filing status shown on the front of Form CT-1040X and your CONNECTICUT AGI (From Tax Calculation Schedule, Line 1) to determine your decimal amount.

$         0 $24,500 $12,250 $         0 $48,000 $24,000 $         0 $24,000 $12,000 $         0 $38,000 $19,000
$24,500 $25,500 $11,250 $48,000 $49,000 $23,000 $24,000 $25,000 $11,000 $38,000 $39,000 $18,000
$25,500 $26,500 $10,250 $49,000 $50,000 $22,000 $25,000 $26,000 $10,000 $39,000 $40,000 $17,000
$26,500 $27,500 $  9,250 $50,000 $51,000 $21,000 $26,000 $27,000 $   9,000 $40,000 $41,000 $16,000
$27,500 $28,500 $  8,250 $51,000 $52,000 $20,000 $27,000 $28,000 $  8,000 $41,000 $42,000 $15,000
$28,500 $29,500 $  7,250 $52,000 $53,000 $19,000 $28,000 $29,000 $  7,000 $42,000 $43,000 $14,000
$29,500 $30,500 $  6,250 $53,000 $54,000 $18,000 $29,000 $30,000 $  6,000 $43,000 $44,000 $13,000
$30,500 $31,500 $  5,250 $54,000 $55,000 $17,000 $30,000 $31,000 $  5,000 $44,000 $45,000 $12,000
$31,500 $32,500 $  4,250 $55,000 $56,000 $16,000 $31,000 $32,000 $  4,000 $45,000 $46,000 $11,000
$32,500 $33,500 $  3,250 $56,000 $57,000 $15,000 $32,000 $33,000 $  3,000 $46,000 $47,000 $10,000
$33,500 $34,500 $  2,250 $57,000 $58,000 $14,000 $33,000 $34,000 $  2,000 $47,000 $48,000 $  9,000
$34,500 $35,500 $  1,250 $58,000 $59,000 $13,000 $34,000 $35,000 $  1,000 $48,000 $49,000 $   8,000
$35,500 $36,500 $     250 $59,000 $60,000 $12,000 $35,000 and up $         0 $49,000 $50,000 $   7,000
$36,500 and up $         0 $60,000 $61,000 $11,000 $50,000 $51,000 $   6,000

$61,000 $62,000 $10,000 $51,000 $52,000 $  5,000
$62,000 $63,000 $  9,000 $52,000 $53,000 $  4,000
$63,000 $64,000 $  8,000 $53,000 $54,000 $  3,000
$64,000 $65,000 $  7,000 $54,000 $55,000 $  2,000
$65,000 $66,000 $   6,000 $55,000 $56,000 $  1,000
$66,000 $67,000 $  5,000 $56,000 and up $         0
$67,000 $68,000 $  4,000
$68,000 $69,000 $  3,000
$69,000 $70,000 $  2,000
$70,000 $71,000 $  1,000
$71,000 and up $         0

$12,250 $15,300 .75 $24,000 $30,000 .75 $12,000 $15,000 .75 $19,000 $24,000 .75
$15,300 $15,800 .70 $30,000 $30,500 .70 $15,000 $15,500 .70 $24,000 $24,500 .70
$15,800 $16,300 .65 $30,500 $31,000 .65 $15,500 $16,000 .65 $24,500 $25,000 .65
$16,300 $16,800 .60 $31,000 $31,500 .60 $16,000 $16,500 .60 $25,000 $25,500 .60
$16,800 $17,300 .55 $31,500 $32,000 .55 $16,500 $17,000 .55 $25,500 $26,000 .55
$17,300 $17,800 .50 $32,000 $32,500 .50 $17,000 $17,500 .50 $26,000 $26,500 .50
$17,800 $18,300 .45 $32,500 $33,000 .45 $17,500 $18,000 .45 $26,500 $27,000 .45
$18,300 $18,800 .40 $33,000 $33,500 .40 $18,000 $18,500 .40 $27,000 $27,500 .40
$18,800 $20,400 .35 $33,500 $40,000 .35 $18,500 $20,000 .35 $27,500 $34,000 .35
$20,400 $20,900 .30 $40,000 $40,500 .30 $20,000 $20,500 .30 $34,000 $34,500 .30
$20,900 $21,400 .25 $40,500 $41,000 .25 $20,500 $21,000 .25 $34,500 $35,000 .25
$21,400 $21,900 .20 $41,000 $41,500 .20 $21,000 $21,500 .20 $35,000 $35,500 .20
$21,900 $25,500 .15 $41,500 $50,000 .15 $21,500 $25,000 .15 $35,500 $44,000 .15
$25,500 $26,000 .14 $50,000 $50,500 .14 $25,000 $25,500 .14 $44,000 $44,500 .14
$26,000 $26,500 .13 $50,500 $51,000 .13 $25,500 $26,000 .13 $44,500 $45,000 .13
$26,500 $27,000 .12 $51,000 $51,500 .12 $26,000 $26,500 .12 $45,000 $45,500 .12
$27,000 $27,500 .11 $51,500 $52,000 .11 $26,500 $27,000 .11 $45,500 $46,000 .11
$27,500 $49,000 .10 $52,000 $96,000 .10 $27,000 $48,000 .10 $46,000 $74,000 .10
$49,000 $49,500 .09 $96,000 $96,500 .09 $48,000 $48,500 .09 $74,000 $74,500 .09
$49,500 $50,000 .08 $96,500 $97,000 .08 $48,500 $49,000 .08 $74,500 $75,000 .08
$50,000 $50,500 .07 $97,000 $97,500 .07 $49,000 $49,500 .07 $75,000 $75,500 .07
$50,500 $51,000 .06 $97,500 $98,000 .06 $49,500 $50,000 .06 $75,500 $76,000 .06
$51,000 $51,500 .05 $98,000 $98,500 .05 $50,000 $50,500 .05 $76,000 $76,500 .05
$51,500 $52,000 .04 $98,500 $99,000 .04 $50,500 $51,000 .04 $76,500 $77,000 .04
$52,000 $52,500 .03 $99,000 $99,500 .03 $51,000 $51,500 .03 $77,000 $77,500 .03
$52,500 $53,000 .02 $99,500 $100,000 .02 $51,500 $52,000 .02 $77,500 $78,000 .02
$53,000 $53,500 .01 $100,000 $100,500 .01 $52,000 $52,500 .01 $78,000 $78,500 .01
$53,500 and up .00 $100,500 and up .00 $52,500 and up .00 $78,500 and up .00

EXEMPTION EXEMPTION


