

records.

Firm's name

Firm's address



# Form 207F EXT

2016

Firm's FEIN

Telephone number

Application for Extension of Time to File **Connecticut Insurance Premiums Tax Return Nonresident and Foreign Companies** 

	See instructions on back	ck before completing the	nis application. Complete	this form in blue or b	lack ink only. Type	or print.	
Name of company				Connecticut Tax Registration Number			
			<b>•</b>				
Number a	nd street PO Bo	x			For DRS Use Only	W M - D D - Y Y Y Y	
City, town,	or post office	State	ZIP code	Fed	deral Employer ID	Number (FEIN)	
				<b>•</b>			
This is not an extension of time to pay your tax. Penalties and inerest may apply. See instructions.							
I reques	t a 12-month extension of	time to March 1	of the succeeding	calendar year	(or to March 1	of the next succeeding	ng
	r year for a second reque r calendar year above.	st), to file a Cor	nnecticut nonreside	ent and foreigr	insurance co	ompanies premiums ta	ìХ
The reas	son for the Connecticut ex	tension request	is:				
	Notif	ication will be se	ent only if the exten	sion request is	denied.		
1. Total insurance premiums tax liability for the calendar year: You may estimate this amount You must enter an amount on Line 1. If you do not expect to owe tax, enter zero "0."					1.		00
Calendar year Connecticut estimated tax payments and any overpayments applied to the calendar year.  2.					2.		00
3. Insurance premiums tax balance due: Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. Pay in full with this form If Line 2 is greater than Line 1, enter zero "0."							00
understand t	: I declare under the penalty of la he penalty for willfully delivering a f than five years, or both. The decla	alse return or docume	nt to the Department of F	Revenue Services (D	ORS) is a fine of not	t more than \$5,000, imprisonm	nen
	Signature of principal officer			Title		Date	
Sign							
Here	Print name of principal officer					Telephone number	
Кеер а							
copy of this return	Paid preparer's signature			Date		Preparer's SSN or PTIN	
for your							

#### Form 207F EXT Instructions

Complete this application in blue or black ink only.

Use **Form 207F EXT**, Application for Extension of Time to File Insurance Premiums Tax Return Nonresident and Foreign Companies, to request a 12-month extension to file your Connecticut insurance premiums tax return.

## **Request for Extension**

A nonresident or foreign insurance company may request a 12-month extension to file its Connecticut insurance premiums tax return provided there is reasonable cause for the request.

To request an extension of time to file a Connecticut nonresident and foreign insurance companies premiums tax return, you must file Form 207F EXT and pay all the tax you expect to owe on or before March 1 of the succeeding calendar year.

Form 207F EXT **only** extends the **time to file** the insurance premiums tax return. Form 207F EXT **does not** extend the time to pay the amount of tax due.

We will notify you only if the extension request is denied.

## Name, Address, and Tax Registration Number

Enter the company's name, address, Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), and Connecticut Tax Registration Number in the spaces provided.

## **Rounding Off to Whole Dollars**

You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on your return and schedules. If you do not round, the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) will disregard the cents.

Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include 1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all amounts that include 50 through 99 cents. However, if you need to add two or more amounts to compute the amount to enter on a line, include cents and round off only the total.

**Example:** Add two amounts (\$1.29 + \$3.21) to compute the total (\$4.50) to enter on a line. \$4.50 is rounded to \$5.00 and entered on a line.

### **Interest and Penalties**

In general, interest and penalty apply to any portion of the tax not paid on or before the original due date of the return. If the tax is not paid when due, interest accrues at the rate of 1% per month or fraction of a month from the original due date of the return until the tax is paid in full.

Late Payment Penalty: If tax is due, the penalty for late payment is 10% of the tax due or \$50, whichever is greater.

**Late Filing Penalty:** If no tax is due, the Commissioner of Revenue Services may impose a \$50 penalty for the late filing of any return or report required by law to be filed.

#### Where to File

Make check payable to **Commissioner of Revenue Services**. To ensure payment is applied to your account, write the calendar year of the return, "Form 207F EXT", and your Connecticut Tax Registration Number on the front of your check.

Sign your check and paper clip it to the front of your return. **Do not send cash.** 

DRS may submit your check to your bank electronically.

Mail to: Department of Revenue Services

State of Connecticut

PO Box 2990

Hartford CT 06104-2990

Failure to file or failure to pay the proper amount of tax due will result in penalty and interest charges. It is to your advantage to file when your return is due whether or not you are able to make full payment.

## **Signature**

The treasurer of the company, or a principal officer of the company, must sign Form 207F EXT.

## **Paid Preparer Signature**

A paid preparer must sign and date Form 207F EXT. Paid preparers must also enter their Social Security Number (SSN) or Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) and their firm's FEIN in the spaces provided.

### Pay Electronically

Visit www.ct.gov/TSC to use the Taxpayer Service Center (TSC) to make a direct tax payment. After logging into the TSC, select the Make Payment Only option and choose a tax type from the drop down box. Using this option authorizes DRS to electronically withdraw from your bank account (checking or savings) a payment on a date you select up to the due date. As a reminder, even if you pay electronically you must still file your return on or before the due date. Tax not paid on or before the due date will be subject to penalty and interest.

#### For More Information

Call DRS during business hours, Monday through Friday:

- 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area only); or
- 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

**TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only** may transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911.

### **Forms and Publications**

Visit the DRS website at **www.ct.gov/DRS** to download and print Connecticut tax forms and publications.

Form 207F EXT (Rev. 12/16) Page 2 of 2