Department of Revenue Services State of Connecticut PO Box 2990 Hartford CT 06104-2990

# Form 115RRG

For calendar year:

20\_\_

## **Insurance Premium Tax Return Risk Retention Groups**

(Rev. 12/15)

Complete	this	return	in	blue	or	black	ink	only.	

Complete th	is return in blue or black ink only.						
	Taxpayer name			Connec	Connecticut Tax Registration Number		
Type or	Address Number and street	PO box	Federal	Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)			
print.	City, town, or post office	State	ZIP code	Date received (DRS use only)			
	☐ Address change				Amended retu	rn	
1. Enter to	otal gross premiums for calendar year			1	1.	00	
2. Tax: M	ultiply Line 1 by 4% (.04)			≥ 2	2.	00	
3. Penalty	/ ▶ + Interest ▶		3	3.	00		
4. Amoun	t due for calendar year: Add Line 2 and Line 3.		>	4.	00		
knowledge an Services (DRS	declare under penalty of law that I have examined thi d belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the s) is a fine of not more than \$5,000, imprisonment for no l information of which the preparer has any knowledge.	ne penalty for willfully delivering	ng a false return	or docum	ent to the Departmen	nt of Revenue	
	Signature of principal officer	Tit	le [	Date			
Sign Here	Print name of principal officer		-	Telephone n	number		
Keep a copy of this return							
for your records.	Paid preparer's signature	nte F	Preparer's SSN or PTIN				
	Firm's name and address			FEIN			

## Form 115RRG Instructions

#### **General Instructions**

#### Who Must File

All premiums paid for coverages within Connecticut to a risk retention group or insurer, other than a captive insurance company or a licensed or eligible surplus lines insurer, are subject to a 4% (.04) tax under Conn. Gen. Stat. §38a-254 and Conn. Gen. Stat. §38a-277(c). As such, risk retention groups and insurers are required to file **Form 115RRG**, *Insurance Premiums Tax Return Risk Retention Groups*, to report said tax.

Information regarding the responsibilities of risk retention groups is located in Conn. Gen. Stat. §§38a-250 through 38a-278.

Form 115RRG should not be used to report tax on nonadmitted insurance as the term is defined by Conn. Gen. Stat. §38a-277(f). Insureds who procure nonadmitted insurance are required to file Form 115NIN, Nonadmitted Insurance Premium Tax Return.

#### **Due Date**

Form 115RRG is due on or before March 1 following the close of the calendar year for insurance procured, continued, or renewed during the period beginning January 1 and ending December 31. If the due date is Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the return will be considered timely if filed by the next business day.

#### Filing an Amended Return

If you make an error(s) on your return, you must correct the error(s) by filing an amended return using a new Form 115RRG. Check the *Amended return* box on the front of the return. Complete Form 115RRG using the correct figures and information for the reporting period. You must file an amended return claiming a refund of taxes paid within three years of the original due date of the return. An explanation of the claim for refund must accompany the amended return.

#### **Rounding Off to Whole Dollars**

You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on your return and schedules. If you do not round, the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) will disregard the cents. Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include 1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all amounts that include 50 through 99 cents. However, if you need to add two or more amounts to compute the amount to enter on a line, include cents and round off only the total.

**Example:** Add two amounts (\$1.29 + \$3.21) to compute the total (\$4.50) to enter on a line. \$4.50 is rounded to \$5.00 and entered on a line.

#### **Penalty and Interest**

In general, penalty and interest apply to any portion of the tax not paid on or before the original due date of the return. If you do not pay the tax when due, you will owe interest at the rate of 1% per month or fraction of a month until the tax is paid in full.

Late Payment Penalty: The penalty for late payment of tax is 10% of the tax due or \$75, whichever is greater.

Late Filing Penalty: The Commissioner of Revenue Services may impose a \$50 penalty for failure to file any return or report that is required by law to be filed.

#### Where to File

Mail to: Department of Revenue Services

State of Connecticut PO Box 2990

Hartford CT 06104-2990

Make check payable to Commissioner of Revenue Services.

To ensure payment is applied to your account, write the calendar year of the return, "Form 115RRG", and your Connecticut Tax Registration Number on the front of your check.

DRS may submit your check to your bank electronically.

Form 115RRG Back (Rev. 12/15)

## **Line Instructions**

#### Line 1

Enter the gross premiums for coverages within Connecticut received during the calendar year. The term premium shall include all premiums, memberships, fees, assessments, dues and any other consideration for insurance. In the event of cancellation and rewriting of any insurance contract the premium for said contract shall be the premium in excess of the unearned premium of the cancelled insurance contract. The risk retention group premium tax is not applicable to premiums on wet marine, transportation, individual life, or individual disability insurance.

If a policy covers risks or exposures only partially in Connecticut, the tax is computed on the portions of the premium allocated to the risks or exposures located in Connecticut. Attach a copy of your allocation schedule to this return.

**Property coverage** (including fire and allied lines, U&O, boiler, and machinery insurance): Allocate the coverages to Connecticut in the same proportion that the insured value of all properties in Connecticut bears to the insured value of properties everywhere.

**Coverage on mobile equipment** (trucks, automobiles, etc.): Allocate the coverages to Connecticut in the same proportion that the vehicles garaged in Connecticut bear to vehicles garaged everywhere.

Railroad rolling stock: Allocate the coverages to Connecticut in the same proportion that car days in Connecticut bear to car days everywhere.

**Workers compensation:** Allocate the coverages to Connecticut in the same proportion that payroll involving employees in Connecticut bears to total payroll everywhere.

**Liability coverages** (OL&T, M&C, etc.): Allocate the coverages to Connecticut in the same proportion that the number of insured locations in Connecticut bears to the number of insured locations everywhere.

**Products liability:** Allocate the coverages to Connecticut in the same proportion that exposure in Connecticut bears to exposure everywhere.

**Example:** Allocate aircraft products liability coverages to Connecticut in the same proportion that the number or air miles flown over Connecticut bears to the number of air miles flown everywhere, or that the number of passenger boardings in Connecticut bears to the number of passenger boardings everywhere.

**Travel accident:** Allocate the coverages to Connecticut in the same proportion that the number of insured employees in Connecticut bears to the number of insured employees everywhere.

**Group life and group accident and health:** Allocate the coverages to Connecticut in the same proportion that the number of insured employees in Connecticut bears to the number of insured employees everywhere.

See Announcement 2014(1), Corrective Guidance Regarding Filing Requirements for Risk Retention Groups.

## **Tax Information**

#### **Telephone Assistance**

Call DRS during business hours, Monday through Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

- 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area only); or
- 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911.

### **Forms and Publications**

Visit the DRS website at **www.ct.gov/DRS** to preview and download forms and publications.