What if my child develops a hearing loss later?
Contact the Connecticut Birth to Three
System (800-505-7000 or www.birth23.org)
for free hearing intervention services for
children up to three years old. It is
recommended to enroll before six months of
age. Also, the American School for the Deaf
(860-570-2393 or www.asd-1817.org) has
contracted with the EHDI program to provide
free, family-focused services.

*Cytomegalovirus (CMV) is a commonly
occurring, easily transmissible virus that
usually causes little to no harm in healthy
people. However, when it occurs during a
pregnancy and infects the unborn baby, it is
called Congenital Cytomegalovirus (cCMV)
and may harm the hearing, vision, and
developmental abilities of an unborn baby.
Connecticut law requires all birth facilities to
test babies who fail their newborn hearing
screening for cCMV. Babies must be tested
prior to 21 days of age to determine if it is
congenital. If your baby has cCMV, ask your
pediatrician for referral to an infectious disease
specialist today! Also, due to the high risk of
hearing loss, it is also critical to have your
baby's hearing tested regularly. See the
included "Audiology Facilities" list. Be aware
that in 2025, a new law will require ALL babies
to be tested for cCMV at birth.

Reduce the FUTURE Risk of CMV Exposure:
According to the National CMV Foundation
(www.nationalcmv.org), those who are
pregnant, planning on becoming pregnant, or
who work in childcare or healthcare should
practice the following to reduce the risk of
contracting or spreading CMV:
¢ Do not share food, utensils, drinks, or
straws.
¢ Do not put a pacifier in your mouth.
¢ Avoid contact with saliva when kissing a
child.
e Do not share a toothbrush.
e Wash your hands after:
Wiping a young child’s nose or drool.
Changing diapers.
Feeding a young child.
Handling children’s toys.
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For more information about hearing screening

For more information about free services for
infants and young children who are deaf or hard
of hearing, contact:

Child Development Infoline
1-800-505-7000
www.birth23.org
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Why are newborns screened for hearing loss?
Two reasons: First, birth facilities are required
to screen all newborns for hearing loss under
Connecticut law (C.G.S. §19a-59). Second,
hearing loss is one of the most commonly
occurring disabilities in newborns. Newborn
hearing screening identifies babies who need
additional testing to determine their ability to
hear. Most babies with hearing loss don't show

their hearing screened by one month of age.

How are babies screened for hearing loss?
A fast and painless method is used to measure
your baby's responses to sound.

What if my baby PASSES their screening?

It is recommended to have your baby's hearing
checked again, at least once well before 36
months old. The first three years of life are the
most important for developing language and
communication skills, and an undetected
hearing loss could cause a preventable delay in
speech and language development.

What if my baby FAILS their screening?

e Step 1: Before leaving the birth facility, be
sure your baby was tested for congenital
Cytomegalovirus (cCMV), which is a virus
that may cause harm to your baby. Your
baby must be tested before 21 days of age.

e Step 2: Schedule a diagnostic hearing test
with an audiologist that specializes in
pediatric cases today! This comprehensive
test is the only way to know if a hearing loss
is present. Your baby should complete their
hearing testing before three months of age.
To find an audiologist near you, see the
included " " list.

Is my baby at risk of a hearing loss?

Ask your healthcare provider if your child has
any of the risk factors in the enclosed "Risk
Factors for Hearing Loss" list. Even if your baby
passed their newborn hearing screening, these
risk factors could still cause a hearing loss later
on. If your baby has any of these risk factors, it
is extremely important to discuss a follow-up
hearing test schedule with your child's
healthcare provider or a pediatric audiologist.

The following audiology centers have the

conduct hearing testing in infants and children:

Connecticut Children's Medical Center
Hartford*, Farmington, and Glastonbury, CT.
(860) 545-9642 or (860) 837-6300

Lawrence & Memorial Hospital
Waterford, CT. (860) 271-4900

UConn Speech & Hearing Clinic
Storrs, CT. (860) 486-2629

Yale New Haven Children's Hospital
New Haven* and Trumbull, CT. (877) 925-3637

*Denotes hospital-based audiology centers.

Or, visit www.ehdi-pals.org for a list of pediatric
audiologists by location.

Risk Factors for Hearing Loss

If any of the below conditions are present, have

your child's hearing monitored regularly due to

the increased risk of a hearing loss developing
later on.

e Caregiver concern regarding hearing,
speech, language, developmental delay or
developmental regression.

e Family history of childhood hearing loss.

e Congenital Cytomegalovirus (cCMV)*.

e Syndromes: There are many syndromes
associated with hearing loss, please visit:
www.hereditaryhearingloss.org.

e Ototoxic medicines including antibiotics in
the Aminoglycosides family (gentamicin).

¢ |nutero infections, such as herpes, rubella,
syphilis, toxoplasmosis, Zika, etc.

e NICU stay > 5 days.

e Craniofacial malformations, temporal bone
abnormalities, congenital microcephaly,
microtia, atresia, or head trauma.

e Hyperbilirubinemia exchange transfusion.

e Asphyxia\Hypoxic lschemic
Encephalopathy.

e Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation

e Chemotherapy.

Your Baby's Hearing and Language
Development Checklist

The checklist below presents the average age
most babies accomplish early speech and
language skills. If your child has not
accomplished all the items by the end of the
age range, contact your pediatrician and an
audiologist.

Birth to 3 Months

e Reacts to loud sounds.

e Calms down or smiles when spoken to.

e Recognizes your voice and calms down if
crying.

e When feeding, starts or stops sucking in
response to sound.

e Coos and makes pleasure sounds.

e Has a special way of crying for different
needs.

e Smiles when he or she sees you.

4 to 6 Months

e Follows sounds with his or her eyes.

e Responds to changes in the tone of your
voice.

¢ Notices toys that make sounds.

e Pays attention to music.

e Babbles in a speech-like way and uses many
different sounds, including sounds that
begin with p, b, and m.

e Laughs.

e Babbles when excited or unhappy.

e Makes gurgling sounds when alone or
playing with you.

7 Months to1 Year

Enjoys playing peek-a-boo and pat-a-cake.

Turns and looks in the direction of sounds.

Listens when spoken to.

Understands words for common items such

as “cup,” “shoe,” or “juice”.

Responds to requests (“Come here”).

e Babbles using long and short groups of
sounds (“tata, upup, bibibi”).

e Babbles to get and keep attention.

e Communicates using gestures such as
waving or holding up arms.

The above is an abridged checklist from the:
National Institute on Deafness and Other
Communication Disorders (www.nidcd.nih.gov).



