# **Guidelines for DUI Enforcement Grants**

This document provides guidelines for the Comprehensive DUI Enforcement Program's grant application, grant activities and reimbursement submissions.

# **Grant Application**

- Eligible dates for the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) holiday mobilization campaigns and non-holiday expanded enforcement periods are all included in the Comprehensive DUI Enforcement grant application. The grant application includes dates for the NHTSA holiday mobilization periods of Thanksgiving/Christmas/New Years, Memorial Day, July 4<sup>th</sup> and Labor Day, other eligible dates and non-holiday expanded enforcement dates.
- Do not alter the grant application.
- Municipalities should not assume that they will be funded based on previous years' awards.
- Grant funded enforcement activities are intended to <u>supplement</u> each municipality's existing DUI activities. Each municipality must first identify a problem and provide supporting background information in order to qualify for grant funding.
- Grant applications must be submitted both in hard copy and emailed electronically to <u>Drink-Drive-Lose.DOT@ct.gov</u>. Hard copy submittals must include original ink signatures.
- Enforcement activities must not be initiated until the grant applicant has received a letter from the Connecticut Department of Transportation (DOT) stating that the project application has been approved. Under no circumstances will any enforcement activities conducted prior to the approval date indicated in the DOT approval letter be eligible for reimbursement.

# Data for Latest 3 Years

- The Comprehensive DUI Enforcement Program is data driven. Program activities are based on data supported problem identification.
- Each municipality must include its alcohol related crash, fatality and injury totals and DUI arrest totals in the problem identification section of the grant application. In addition, measurable target goals are required on all grant applications. Information on locations with the highest problems and day(s) and time(s) where data shows increased DUI occurrences is also required.
- Crash data can be obtained from the Connecticut Crash Data Repository (CTCDR) at <u>www.ctcrash.uconn.edu</u>. The CTCDR is maintained by the University of Connecticut (UConn). Questions on the CTCDR can be directed to UConn through a contact link available on the CTCDR web site.
- Only crash and arrest data for roads that are under the municipality's jurisdiction can be included in the problem identification section of the grant application. Municipalities must not include crash and arrest data for roads under the jurisdiction of the Connecticut State Police or other law enforcement agency.

# **Patrol Activities**

- Patrol activities can only be conducted on those dates shown on the eligible dates calendar included in the approved grant. The approved grant is included with the DOT approval letter sent to each municipality.
- Defined core hours for enforcement are between the hours of 5:00 PM and 4:00 AM on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings.
- For billing purposes, hours between 12:00 Midnight and 4:00 AM (00:00 to 04:00) should be coded to the date of the evening when the shift began.
- Shift lengths are a minimum of 4 hours and a maximum of 8 hours per shift.
- Any 8 hour time frame within the program parameters (between 5:00 PM and 4:00 AM) may be selected to conduct patrol activities.
- Any shift activities that are not DUI related <u>cannot</u> be billed to the project.
- Municipal departments are allowed a maximum of 16 hours of roving patrol per date. Resident troopers are allowed a maximum of 8 hours of roving patrol per date.
- If the grant approved number of shift hours are exceeded due to a DUI arrest made late in the shift or other justifiable reason, the officer/trooper must indicate this on the activity report. The municipality will be reimbursed for the extra shift time only if a justifiable reason for exceeding the shift limit is included on the activity report.

### **Checkpoint Activities**

- A checkpoint is defined as an operation in a fixed location where motor vehicle operators (including motorcyclists) are stopped and interviewed to establish if they are operating while impaired.
- Date changes for scheduled in-town checkpoint activities must be reported to the impaired driving program coordinator in writing.
- Each municipality may utilize a maximum of 64 shift hours including the shift supervisor for checkpoints.
- The checkpoint may only be scheduled for a maximum of 8 hours. Checkpoints may exceed 8 hours only if a justifiable reason is included on the activity report.
- Saturation/roaming patrols are not considered checkpoints. They are considered to be roving patrols and must be reported as such.
- Separate activity reports are required for each officer/trooper working the checkpoint.

# **Billing Periods**

- For billing purposes, all grant activities are to be broken out into four billing periods. FFY 2020 billing periods include the following four periods:
  - 1) Project inception date through January 1, 2020
  - 2) January 2, 2020 through April 4, 2020
  - 3) April 9, 2020 through July 5, 2020
  - 4) July 9, 2020 through September 12, 2020

#### **Reimbursement Submissions**

- Project data and reimbursement materials must be submitted four times a year within 30 days after each billing period. FFY 2020 reimbursements must be submitted according to the following schedule:
  - 1) 1<sup>st</sup> Billing Period Reimbursement Deadline of January 31, 2020
  - 2) 2<sup>nd</sup> Billing Period Reimbursement Deadline of May 4, 2020
  - 3) 3<sup>rd</sup> Billing Period Reimbursement Deadline of August 4, 2020
  - 4) 4<sup>th</sup> Billing Period Reimbursement Deadline of October 13, 2020
- Reimbursement materials must include hard copy signature reports with original ink signatures. Signature stamps are not acceptable. The signatures must consist of one personnel signature and one <u>higher ranking</u> supervisor signature. The personnel signature and supervisor signature <u>must be two</u> <u>separate and distinct original ink signatures</u>.
- Officers and troopers cannot self-authorize their own signature reports. Supervisors also cannot selfauthorize their own signature reports.
- Reimbursement materials must be submitted both in hard copy to the Highway Safety Office and emailed electronically to <u>Drink-Drive-Lose.DOT@ct.gov</u>.

Questions regarding project administration should be directed to:

#### **Eugene Interlandi**

Impaired Driving Program Connecticut Department of Transportation Highway Safety Office 2800 Berlin Turnpike P.O. Box 317546 Newington, CT 06131-7546 <u>Eugene.Interlandi@ct.gov</u> (860) 594-2363 (phone) (860) 594-2374 (fax)