

## STATE OF CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING



## UniteCT Moving Assistance Program

## **Landlord Participation Affirmation**

- I agree that I will apply the security deposit assistance in accordance with Connecticut state law.
- I understand that in the case of a tenant under 62 years of age, Connecticut state law does not allow landlords to demand a security deposit in an amount that exceeds two months' rent.
- I understand that for residents 62 years or older, a landlord may not demand a security deposit that exceeds one month's rent, per Connecticut law.
- I agree that I will deposit the amount of the security deposit assistance provided in an escrow account for the benefit of the tenant as required by Connecticut state law, and will make payment of accrued interest to the tenant pursuant to Connecticut state law.
- I acknowledge that any payment made under the program, if applicable, will be sent via check to the address listed on the W9 I have provided in connection with the program.
- If the tenant on whose behalf a security deposit is paid never moves into the unit, the landlord shall return the security deposit funds to Yardi Systems Inc. and mailed to:

Yardi Systems, Inc. 12301 Research Blvd. Bldg 4, Suite 100 Austin, TX 78759

 When the tenant vacates the unit after the move in date, the landlord must apply the security deposit funds in accordance with Connecticut state law. Payment of any security deposit funds and any accrued interest shall be returned directly to the tenant at the end of the tenancy. The landlord shall <u>not</u> return the funds to Department of Housing.

I hereby certify that I know by signing I am signing this Program Participation affirmation and that I will be bound to comply with the terms and conditions of this Affirmation.

Landlord Name: \_\_\_\_

Landlord Signature: \_\_\_\_\_

Date: \_\_\_\_\_