
Department of Motor Vehicle Requirements for
Non-Driver Photo Identification Cards

The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) issues a Non-Driver Photo Identification Cards (ID) to any
applicant who does not possess a valid motor vehicle operator's license or whose Connecticut
license is presently under suspension. The applicant must be a Connecticut resident. ID cards are
issued for four years.

Note: If an applicant ever applies for a Connecticut Driver's License, the identification card must be
surrendered when the driver's license is issued.

To obtain an ID card, qualified persons must apply at any Full Service DMV Branch Office (new issue
ID cards will not be processed at the Putnam, Stamford and Willimantic Satellite offices, the Photo
License Buses or AAA offices) and present the following:

1. Your certified Birth Certificate or valid Passport (hospital birth certificates or photocopies
will not be accepted) and one additional form of identification from our list of acceptable
forms of identification.

Note: If you are not a citizen of the United States , you will be required to show proof of your
legal status in this country.

• Holders of a B1 or B2 Visitor's Visa are not eligible for a driver's license or
identification card unless a valid USCIS Employment Authorization Card and
verification of an application pending for Lawful Permanent Residence is
provided.

• Foreign students with an F1 Visa status must show USCIS document I-20 and
verification of current enrollment in a Connecticut school.

• J1 Visa holders are required to show USCIS document DS2019.
• H1B Visa holders are required to show a valid USCIS Employment

Authorization Card and an employee verification letter from a Connecticut
employer.

• All applicants will be verified through USCIS for legal status before a driver's
license/identification card will be issued.

2. Verification of Connecticut resident address (P.O. Box is not acceptable). Verification may be
in the form of a utility bill, mortgage document, lease or rental agreement, or a postmarked
letter dated within 90 days if the resident address is the same as the mailing address.

3. In accordance with the Social Security Act 42 U.S.C. 666 (a) (13), it will be required that the
social security number of any applicant applying for an ID card be recorded on the
Connecticut Identification Card Requirements and Application (form B-230). Your Social
Security number will be verified with the Social Security Administration (SSA) before the ID
card is issued. If you do not have a social security number, you must obtain a letter from SSA
that states you are not eligible for a social security number. This letter must be submitted to
DMV when applying for your ID card.

4. Completed Connecticut Identification Card Requirements and Application (form B-230). If
applicant is under the age of eighteen, a parent, court-appointed legal guardian (certified court
documentation must be presented), or spouse over 18 years of age must sign the Connecticut
Identification Card Requirements and Application (form B-230).

5. $15 fee (cash or money order only made payable to the DMV).



Renewals:

DMV will send out renewal notices for ID cards to the current address we have on file. Proceed to
your local Full Service DMV Branch Office (ID card renewals will not be processed at the Putnam,
Stamford and Willimantic Satellite offices, the Photo License Buses or AAA offices) and present the
following:

• The renewal notice (if available).
• Certified copy of your birth certificate or valid passport (hospital birth certificates or

photocopies will not be accepted).
• Your ID card, which must be surrendered. If the ID card has been lost you must present one

additional form of identification from our list of acceptable forms of identification.
• If you are not a citizen of the United States, you will also be required to show proof of

your legal status in this country as noted above.
• If you have had a name change since your ID card was issued you must present a certified

marriage license, certified divorce decree or a certified probate court name change document
for name change other than in instances of marriage or divorce.

• Verification of Connecticut resident address (P.O. Box is not acceptable). Verification may be
in the form of a utility bill, mortgage document, lease or rental agreement, or a postmarked
letter (dated within 90 days) if the resident address is the same as the mailing address.

• Social Security number, which will be verified with the Social Security Administration (SSA)
before the ID card is issued. If you do not have a social security number, you must obtain a
letter from SSA that states you are not eligible for a social security number and present this to
DMV.

• $15 fee (cash or money order only made payable to DMV).
• If applicant is under the age of eighteen, a parent, court-appointed legal guardian (certified

court documentation must be presented), or spouse over 18 years of age must sign the
application.

Duplicates (Replacements):

A person whose ID card has been lost, stolen or damaged may be issued a new identification card by
applying at a DMV Full Service office, Satellite office or Photo License Center (not AAA or the Photo
License Bus) and must present the following:

• Certified copy of your birth certificate or valid passport (hospital birth certificates or
photocopies will not be accepted) and one additional form of identification from list of
acceptable forms of identification. If you are not a citizen of the United States, you will be
required to show proof of legal status in this country as noted above.

• $15 fee (cash or money order only made payable to DMV).

Change of Name:

Supporting documentation is required when a name change is requested. Supporting documents are a
certified marriage license, certified divorce decree or a certified probate certificate for name change
other than in instances of marriage or divorce. There is no fee for a change of name. If your ID is lost,
follow the same procedure as noted above for obtaining a duplicate (replacement) ID card and pay the
$15 fee.

Suspended Licenses:
A person whose Connecticut operator's license is under suspension may apply for an ID card as long
as all of the above requirements are met.


