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Per 7 CFR 990.6 and CGS 22-61l(k) through (p) violations of the State Plan shall be addressed 
as follows: 
 
Producer Violations 
 
Producer violations of the Connecticut state plan shall be subject to enforcement in accordance 
with 7 CFR 990.6 and CGS 22-61l(k) through (p). 
 
Negligent Violations 
 
Negligent violations are: 

1. Failure to provide a legal description of land on which the producer produces hemp 
2. Failure to obtain a license or other required authorization from the Connecticut 

Department of Agriculture 
3. Production of cannabis with a delta-9 THC concentration exceeding the acceptable hemp 

THC level. Hemp producers do not commit a negligent violation under this section if 
they make reasonable efforts to grow hemp and the cannabis(marijuana) does not have a 
delta-9THC concentration of more than 1% on a dry weight basis 
 

If the producer commits more than three negligent violations in a five-year period, the producer 
may be subject to additional civil and or criminal penalties.  
 
The Department shall require a Corrective Action for Negligent Violations 
 
Each correction action plan for negligent violations shall include, at a minimum, the following 
terms: 

1. A reasonable date by which the producer shall correct the negligent violation. 
2. A requirement that the producer shall periodically report to the Connecticut Department 

of Agriculture on their compliance with State plan for a period of not less than the next 2 
years from the date of the negligent violation. 

3. A producer that negligently violates the Connecticut State Plan shall not as a result of that 
violation be subject to any criminal enforcement action by the Federal, State, Tribal, or 
local government. 

4. A producer that negligently violates the Connecticut State Plan three times in a 5-year 
period shall be ineligible to produce hemp for a period of 5 years beginning on the date of 
the third violation. 

5. The Connecticut Department of Agriculture shall conduct an inspection to determine if 
the corrective action plan has been implemented as submitted. 
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Culpable Violations 
 
Culpable violations are producer violations made with a culpable mental state greater than 
negligence, and shall be addressed by the Department as follows: 
If the Connecticut Department of Agriculture determines that a producer has violated the plan 
with a culpable mental state greater than negligence, the Connecticut Department of Agriculture 
shall immediately report the producer to the U.S. Attorney General and the applicable chief law 
enforcement officer in Connecticut, and take such additional action as permitted by 7 CFR 990.6 
and CGS 22-61l(k) through (p).  
 
Restrictions on Licensing due to certain Felony Convictions 
 

1. Any person with at State or Federal felony conviction relating to a controlled substance is 
subject to a 10-year ineligibility restriction on participating in the plan and producing 
hemp under the Connecticut State Plan from the date of the conviction. An exception 
applies to a person who was lawfully growing hemp under the 2014 Farm Bill before 
December 20, 2018, and whose conviction also occurred before that date. 

2. Any producer growing hemp lawfully with a license, registration, or authorization under 
a pilot program authorized by section 7606 of the Agricultural Act of 2014 before 
October 31,2019 shall be exempted from (1) of this section.  

3. Business entities shall identify to the Connecticut Department of Agriculture which 
participants are considered to be “key,” or have executive managerial control and subject 
to the felony conviction restriction for purposes of (1) of the section, which shall be 
subject to Department verification of accuracy. 

 
False Statements By Applicants and Licensees   
 
Any person who materially falsifies any information contained in an application to participate in 
this program shall be ineligible to participate in the program. 

 
 


