Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
Division of State Police
Special Licensing & Firearms Unit (Revised. 10/06/22)

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES FOR PERSONS SEEKING PAWNBROKER, SECONDHAND DEALER AND

PRECIOUS METALS AND STONES DEALERS LICENSING
Accurately complete & notarize the application for Licensing under C.G.S. Chapter 409 (DPS-403-C).

Applicants are required to read & complete the appropriate Advisement of Requirements form(s) DPS-404-C1, DPS-405-C1,
and DPS-
405-C for each license you are applying for.

Bring the application, the Advisement of Requirements form(s) and any additional pages for the application process to a Notary
Public and sign the appropriate forms in the presence of Notary Public.

PAWNBROKER and SECONDHAND DEALER APPLICATION: Applicants, employees, officers, shareholders, financial
backers or creditors or any other individual with a relationship to the entity that is similar to that of an officer, shareholder,
financial backer or creditor are required to submit to state and national criminal history checks which includes fingerprints.

PRECIOUS METALS and STONES DEALER APPLICATION: Applicants are required to submit to state and national criminal
history checks.

Criminal history checks require the submission of a State of Connecticut Applicant card (fingerprint card-DPS-125C).
Fingerprinting can be completed at any law enforcement agency, Resident Trooper’s Office, a State Police Troop (check with
Troop for fingerprint times) or at DESPP Headquarters. Please note, fingerprinting for criminal records checks must be
completed by a law enforcement agency. Fingerprints taken by the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
are subject to a $15.00 fee.

The State of Connecticut Applicant fingerprint card (DPS-125C) for each individual fingerprinted is to be sent with the application
to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit.

8.Applicants should be aware that an oral interview would be conducted as part of the background process. The Applicant must
submit all the items requested before said interview is scheduled.

9.

The following fees will apply;

a. Application Licensing or Renewal Fee
i. Pawnbroker initial fee $50.00, Pawnbroker Renewal fee $25.00;

If such person is also licensed as a Secondhand Dealer for such business the renewal fee and bond is
waived for the Pawnbroker License only.
ii. Secondhand Dealer initial fee $250.00, Secondhand Dealer renewal fee $100.00;

iii. Precious Metals or Stones initial fee $10.00 Precious Metals or Stones renewal fee $10.00;

b. FBI Criminal Background Inquiry fee $13.25, to be paid on-line;

c. State of Connecticut Criminal background Inquiry fee $75.00, to be paid on-line.

The application packet must include (1) separate check or money order for each of the application fees listed above & the
bar-code for the on-line payments. All checks or money orders are to be made payable to TREASURER, STATE OF

CONNECTICUT.

9. the application, advisement of required form(s), fingerprint cards, checks/money orders, bar-codes, a copy of the Connecticut
Tax Id, Copy of trade certificate (if applicable), Copy of proof of citizenship required(Acceptable forms are: US Birth certificate, US
Passport and Alien Registration card), Four typed character letters of reference mailed directly to the unit, a copy of H.S./College
diploma, basic credit score (a full credit report could potentially be requested),copy of a motor vehicle abstract & Operator'slicense

are to be sent to:

DESPP- Special Licensing and Firearms Unit,
1111 Country Club Road

Middletown CT 06457-2389
ATTN: Chapter 409/414 Licensing Section

10. Applicants for licenses that require the filing of a bond are to be included with the application and/or renewals

11.

Upon issuing a license, the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit will provide the applicant with a CD containing an EXCEL

spreadsheet which will serve as the electronic document for submission of transactions.

Failure to comply with these procedures could result in the delayed processing of you application or renewal. Incomplete applications
will be returned to the applicant. Any questions should be directed to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit, Chapter 409/414
Licensing Section at 860-685-8046.
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