
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
 

Notice of Proposed Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) 
 

SPA 21-V: Rate Increase for Certified Nurse-Midwife and Podiatrist Services; Adding 
Select Vaccine Codes to the Physician Office & Outpatient and Medical Clinic Fee 
Schedules; Physician Services HIPAA Compliance Billing Code Quarterly Update 

 
The State of Connecticut Department of Social Services (DSS) proposes to submit the following 
Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) 
within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). 
 
Changes to Medicaid State Plan 
 
Effective on or after July 1, 2021, SPA 21-V will amend Attachment 4.19-B of the Medicaid State 
Plan to make the following changes. 
 
First, this SPA increases the rates for nurse-midwife and podiatrist services to 100% of the 
physician fee schedule.  Prior to this SPA, the rates were set at 90% of the applicable physician 
fee schedule rates.  The purpose of this change is to comply with section 369 of Senate Bill 1202 
of the June special session of the Connecticut General Assembly, as amended, An Act Concerning 
Provisions Related to Revenue and Other Items to Implement the State Budget for the Biennium 
Ending June 30, 2023.  That bill is anticipated to be signed into law shortly after this notice is 
submitted for publication in the Connecticut Law Journal.  Specifically, that bill provides that the 
Medicaid rates for nurse-midwife and podiatrist services will be set at the same rate as if they were 
performed by a physician. 
 
Next, this SPA adds procedure codes for the influenza vaccine, ebolavirus vaccine and the 
meningococcal conjugate vaccine to the physician office and outpatient fee schedule and the 
medical clinic fee schedule effective July 1, 2021. The reimbursement rates for these vaccines are 
calculated on the formula of 100% of the 2021 July Medicare Average Sale Price (ASP) Drug file.  
The purpose of this change is to ensure that reimbursement is available for these vaccines when 
applicable. 
 
Finally, this SPA also incorporates various Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System 
(HCPCS) updates (additions, deletions and description changes) from the most recent federal 
HCPCS quarterly update issued by CMS to the physician office and outpatient and medical clinic 
fee schedules.  Codes that are being added are being priced using a comparable methodology to 
other codes in the same or similar category.  The purpose of this change is to ensure that these fee 



schedules remain compliant with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 
(HIPAA). 
 
Fee schedules are published at this link: http://www.ctdssmap.com, then select “Provider”, then 
select “Provider Fee Schedule Download”, then Accept or Decline the Terms and Conditions and 
then select the applicable fee schedule. 
 
Fiscal Impact 
 
DSS estimates that the rate increase for certified nurse-midwives will increase annual aggregate 
expenditures by approximately $607,000 in State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2022 and $624,000 in SFY 
2023.   
 
DSS estimates that the rate increase for podiatrists will increase annual aggregate expenditures by 
approximately $462,000 in SFY 2022 and $477,000 in SFY 2023. 
 
DSS does not anticipate that the billing code update component of this SPA will significantly 
change annual aggregate expenditures. 
 
Obtaining SPA Language and Submitting Comments 
 
The proposed SPA is posted on the DSS website at this link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-State-Plan-Amendments. The proposed SPA may also be obtained at 
any DSS field office, at the Town of Vernon Social Services Department, or upon request from 
DSS (see below). 
 
To request a copy of the SPA from DSS or to send comments about the SPA, please email: 
Public.Comment.DSS@ct.gov or write to: Department of Social Services, Medical Policy Unit, 
55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 (Phone: 860-424-5067).  Please reference 
“SPA 21-V: Rate Increase for Certified Nurse-Midwife and Podiatrist Services; Adding Select 
Vaccine Codes to the Physician Office & Outpatient and Medical Clinic Fee Schedules; Physician 
Services HIPAA Compliance Billing Code Quarterly Update”. 
 
Anyone may send DSS written comments about this SPA.  Written comments must be received 
by DSS at the above contact information no later than July 14, 2021. 
  



Attachment 4.19-B 
Page 1(a)i(E) 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State: CONNECTICUT 

 

 

(5)  Physician’s services – Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee 
schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of physician’s services. 
The agency’s fee schedule rates were set as of AprilJuly 1, 2021 and are effective for services 
provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance 
Program website: www.ctdssmap.com.  From this web page, go to “Provider,” then to “Provider 
Fee Schedule Download,” then select the applicable fee schedule. 
 
Person-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) practices are individual sites of independent physician 
groups, solo physician practices, nurse practitioner groups, and individual nurse practitioners that 
have met National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Level 2 or Level 3 medical home 
recognition or NCQA medical home recognition under the 2017 or later NCQA standards (which 
do not recognize specific levels of recognition).  PCMH practices must comply with all NCQA 
PCMH requirements and all additional written department requirements, including participation 
in various primary care initiatives operated by the State. 
 
The department offers a PCMH Glide Path program, which pays enhanced rates to practices that 
are providing some of the additional Medicaid services required for NCQA PCMH recognition.  
In order to qualify for Glide Path, a practice must demonstrate that it has begun providing a more 
advanced standard of primary care and has committed to achieving NCQA PCMH recognition in 
a set period of time.  Glide Path practices must also comply with all additional written 
department requirements, including participation in various primary care initiatives operated by 
the State. 
 

Beginning January 1, 2012, PCMH and Glide Path practices may be eligible for a rate add-on to 
the procedure codes on the physician fee schedule identified below.  PCMH practices may also 
be eligible for retrospective annualized supplemental payments for performance incentives and 
performance improvement.  Independent physician-led Glide Path practices with five or fewer 
full-time equivalent practitioners across all practice locations may also be eligible for a 
supplemental payment at each Glide Path phase. 

 

(a) Glide Path and PCMH Rate Add-On:  The department will pay a rate add-on for the 
following procedures in addition to the amounts listed for each procedure code on the 
physician fee schedule: 99201, 99202, 99203, 99204, 99205, 99211, 99212, 99213, 99214, 
99215, 99304, 99305, 99306, 99307, 99308, 99309, 99310, 99315, 99316, 99318, 99324, 
99325, 99326, 99327, 99328, 99334, 99335, 99336, 99337, 99339, 99341, 99342, 99343, 
99344, 99345, 99347, 99348, 99349, 99350, 99381, 99382, 99383, 99384, 99385, 99386, 
99387, 99391, 99392, 99393, 99394, 99395, 99396, 99397, 99401, 99402, 99403, 99404, 
99406, 99407, 99408, 99409, 99411, 99412, 99417, 99374, 99377, 99379, 99380, 96110, 
99050, 99051, 99053, D0145, 

 
TN # 21-V        Approval Date __________   Effective Date 07/01/2021 
Supersedes  
TN # 21-0013  
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State   Connecticut  
 
 
(6)  Medical care or any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed 

practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law. Fixed fee methodologies are 
summarized below. 

(a) Podiatrists – Podiatrists – 90100% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee 
schedule was set as of January 1, 2016July 1, 2021 and is effective for services provided on 
or after that date. The fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the 
Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, 
go to “Provider,” then to “Provider Fee Schedule Download.” All governmental and private 
providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule. 

(2) Optometrists – 90% of physician fees as noted in (5) above.  The current fee schedule was set 
as of January 1, 2016 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee 
schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance 
Program website: www.ctdssmap.com.  From this web page, go to “Provider,” then to 
“Provider Fee Schedule Download.”  All governmental and private providers are reimbursed 
according to the same fee schedule. 

 
(a) Chiropractors – 100% of physician fees as noted in (5) above.  The current fee schedule was 

set as of January 1, 2012 and is effective for services provided on or after that date.  The fee 
schedule for chiropractors can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut 
Medical Assistance Program website:  www.ctdssmap.com.  From this web page, go to 
“Provider,” then to “Provider Fee Schedule Download.”  All governmental and private 
providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule. Chiropractor services are paid 
only as EPSDT Special Services required by Section 1905(r)(5) of the Social Security Act.  

 
(d) Other licensed practitioners –  
 

(i) Psychologists – The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2020 and is effective 
for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for psychologists can be 
accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website:  
www.ctdssmap.com.  From this web page, go to “Provider,” then to “Provider Fee Schedule 
Download.”  All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same 
fee schedule. 

 
 
 
TN # 21-V    Approval Date __________   Effective Date 07/01/2021 
Supersedes  
TN # 20-0004 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 
State   Connecticut  

 
 
 
(17) Nurse-mid wife services - are paid -off of the physician fee schedule at 90100% of 

physician fees, as referenced in (5) above, except for physician-administered drugs and 
supplies, which are reimbursed at 100% of the physician fees.  

 
(18) The Medicaid Hospice rates are set prospectively by CMS based on the methodology 

used in setting Medicare Hospice rates, which are adjusted to disregard the cost offsets 
attributable to Medicare coinsurance amounts.  Hospice payment rates are also adjusted 
for regional differences in wages, using indices published in the Federal Register and 
daily Medicaid hospice payment rates announced through CMS’s memorandum titled 
“Annual Change in Medicaid Hospice Payment Rates—ACTION”.  The hospice fee 
schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical 
Assistance Program website: www.ctdssmap.com.  From this web page, go to “Provider” 
then to “Provider Fee Schedule Download”.  All governmental and private providers are 
reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.  For clients living in a nursing facility, 
the per diem nursing facility rate will equal 95% of the rate for that nursing home under 
the Medicaid program. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
TN # 21-V           Approval Date __________       Effective Date 07/01/2021 
Supersedes 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State   Connecticut  
 

 
 

(d) Medical Clinics: Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates 
are the same for both governmental and private providers of medical clinic services. The 
agency’s fee schedule rates were set as of JanuaryJuly 1, 2021 and are effective for services 
provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical 
Assistance Program website: https://www.ctdssmap.com.  From this web page, go to 
“Provider,” then to “Provider Fee Schedule Download,” then select the applicable fee 
schedule. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
TN # 21-V Approval Date_____________ Effective Date 07-01-2021 
Supersedes 
TN # 21-0007 


