DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Notice of Proposed Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA)

SPA 19-C: Physician Office and Outpatient, Physician Radiology, and Physician Surgery Fee Schedules; Psychologist Services; and Autism Spectrum Disorder Services – HIPAA Billing Code and Reimbursement Update

The State of Connecticut Department of Social Services (DSS) proposes to submit the following Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

Changes to Medicaid State Plan

Effective on or after January 1, 2019, SPA 19-C will amend Attachment 4.19-B of the Medicaid State Plan as described below. First, this SPA will incorporate various 2019 Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) (additions, deletions and description changes) to the Physician Office & Outpatient, Physician-Radiology, Physician-Surgery, Psychology and Autism Spectrum Disorder Services fee schedules. Codes that are being added are being priced using a comparable methodology to other codes in the same or similar category. DSS is making these changes to ensure that these fee schedules remain compliant with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).

Second, this SPA will also amend Attachment 4.19-B of the Medicaid State Plan to update the physician office and outpatient fee schedule to expand electronic consultations (e-consults) to add specified behavioral health professionals and restructure payment for e-consults. The purpose of these payment changes is to simplify and improve the payment methodology for e-consults and to encourage increased utilization of e-consults where clinically appropriate. The specific changes are as follows:

- Psychiatric/mental health advance practice registered nurses (APRNs) and psychiatrists have been added to the list of eligible specialists that can provide e-consults. DSS expects that these practitioners are likely to perform e-consults related to medication management.
- This SPA restructures payment for e-consults as follows:
 - The following CPT codes are added to the physician office and outpatient fee schedule (which replace the codes that are being removed, as described below):

СРТ	Description	Rates

Code		
99451	Interprofessional	\$34.28
	telephone/Internet/EHR	
	assessment and mgt by	
	consultative physician, 5	
	mins or more	
99452	Interprofessional	\$17.34
	telephone/Internet/EHR	
	referral service(s)	
	provided by a	
	treating/requesting	
	physician, 30 mins	

• This SPA also removes the previous CPT codes for e-consults on the physician office and outpatient fee schedule (since they are being replaced with the codes described above).

СРТ	Description	
Code		
99446	Interprofessional	
	telephone/internet	
	assessment, 5-10 mins	
99447	Interprofessional	
	telephone/internet	
	assessment, 11-20 mins	
99448	Interprofessional	
	telephone/internet	
	assessment, 21-30 mins	
99449	Interprofessional	
	telephone/internet	
	assessment, 31+ mins	

All consults must be conducted through a secure internet exchange between the primary care or treating practitioner and the specialist. Telephonic consultations are not reimbursable under Connecticut Medical Assistance Program.

Third, DSS is increasing the reimbursement rate for the Liletta intrauterine device (IUD) on the physician office and outpatient fee schedule in order to remain at the wholesale acquisition cost as follows:

Code	Description	Price
J7297	Liletta 52 mg	\$684.38

Lastly, this SPA will also amend Attachment 4.19-B of the Medicaid State Plan to update the reimbursement methodology to 100% of the January 2019 Medicare Average Sales Price (ASP) Drug Pricing file for physician-administered drugs, immune globulins, vaccines and toxoids.

For procedure codes that are not priced on the January 2019 Medicare ASP Drug Pricing File and procedure codes that are described as "unclassified", the drug will be priced at the lowest of:

- The usual and customary charge to the public or the actual submitted ingredient cost;
- The National Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC) established by CMS;
- The Affordable Care Act Federal Upper Limit (FUL); or
- Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus zero (0) percent when no NADAC is available for the specific drug.

This update applies to physician administered drugs (J- procedure codes and select A-, Q- and Sprocedure codes), immune globulin (procedure codes 90281 - 90399), and vaccines and toxoids (procedure codes 90581 - 90748) that are listed as payable on the physician office and outpatient fee schedule.

Fee schedules are published at this link: <u>http://www.ctdssmap.com</u>, then select "Provider", then select "Provider Fee Schedule Download."

Fiscal Information

DSS estimates that overall, this SPA will decrease annual aggregate expenditures by approximately \$56,000 in State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2019 and \$139,000 in SFY 2020, which results from an anticipated utilization of e-consults and thereby a reduction of in-person visits that are no longer necessary. DSS anticipates that the remainder of the portions of this SPA will not substantially affect annual aggregate expenditures.

Obtaining SPA Language and Submitting Comments

The proposed SPA is posted on the DSS website at this link: <u>http://portal.ct.gov/dss</u>. Scroll down to the bottom of the webpage and click on "Publications" and then click on "Updates." Then click on "Medicaid State Plan Amendments". The proposed SPA may also be obtained at

any DSS field office, at the Town of Vernon Social Services Department, or upon request from DSS (see below).

To request a copy of the SPA from DSS or to send comments about the SPA, please email: <u>Public.Comment.DSS@ct.gov</u> or write to: Department of Social Services, Medical Policy Unit, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 (Phone: 860-424-5067). Please reference "SPA 19-C: Physician, Independent Audiology, Psychologist, and Autism Spectrum Disorder Services – HIPAA Billing Code and Reimbursement Update".

Anyone may send DSS written comments about this SPA. Written comments must be received by DSS at the above contact information no later than January 10, 2019.

13. c. Preventive Services

Services to Treat Autism Spectrum Disorders Pursuant to EPSDT

Fees for services to treat autism spectrum disorders pursuant to EPSDT were set as of January 1, 2019 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedules can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download" and select the fee schedule applicable to the qualified provider. Fees are the same for governmental and private providers.

STATE CONNECTICUT

Attachment 4.19-B Page 1(a)i(E) STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State: CONNECTICUT

(5) Physician's services – Fixed fee schedule not to exceed the Medicare physician fee schedule. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2019 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for physicians can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.

Person-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) practices are individual sites of independent physician groups, solo physician practices, nurse practitioner groups, and individual nurse practitioners that have met National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Level 2 or Level 3 medical home recognition or NCQA medical home recognition under the 2017 or later NCQA standards (which do not recognize specific levels of recognition). PCMH practices must comply with all NCQA PCMH requirements and all additional written department requirements, including participation in various primary care initiatives operated by the State.

The department offers a PCMH Glide Path program, which pays enhanced rates to practices that are providing some of the additional Medicaid services required for NCQA PCMH recognition. In order to qualify for Glide Path, a practice must demonstrate that it has begun providing a more advanced standard of primary care and has committed to achieving NCQA PCMH recognition in a set period of time. Glide Path practices must also comply with all additional written department requirements, including participation in various primary care initiatives operated by the State.

Beginning January 1, 2012, PCMH and Glide Path practices may be eligible for a rate add-on to the procedure codes on the physician fee schedule identified below. PCMH practices may also be eligible for retrospective annualized supplemental payments for performance incentives and performance improvement. Independent physician-led Glide Path practices with five or fewer full-time equivalent practitioners across all practice locations may also be eligible for a supplemental payment at each Glide Path phase.

(a) <u>Glide Path and PCMH Rate Add-On</u>: The department will pay a rate add-on for the following procedures in addition to the amounts listed for each procedure code on the physician fee schedule: 99201, 99202, 99203, 99204, 99205, 99211, 99212, 99213, 99214, 99215, 99304, 99305, 99306, 99307, 99308, 99309, 99310, 99315, 99316, 99318, 99324, 99325, 99326, 99327, 99328, 99334, 99335, 99336, 99337, 99339, 99341, 99342, 99343, 99344, 99345, 99347, 99348, 99349, 99350, 99354, 99355, 99381, 99382, 99383, 99384, 99385, 99386, 99387, 99391, 99392, 99393, 99394, 99395, 99396, 99397, 99401, 99402, 99403, 99404, 99406, 99407, 99408, 99409, 99411, 99412, 99374, 99377, 99379, 99380, 96110, 99050, 99051, 99053, D0145,

TN # <u>19-C</u>	Approval Date	Effective Date 0 <u>1-01-2019</u>
Supersedes		
TN # <u>18-0026</u>		

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State <u>Connecticut</u>

- (6) Medical care or any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law. Fixed fee methodologies are summarized below.
 - (a) Podiatrists Podiatrists 90% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2016 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.
 - (b) Optometrists 90% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2016 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.
 - (c) Chiropractors 100% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2012 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for chiropractors can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule. Chiropractor services are paid only as EPSDT Special Services required by Section 1905(r)(5) of the Social Security Act.
 - (d) Other licensed practitioners -

(i) Psychologists – The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2019 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for psychologists can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.

TN # <u>19-C</u> Supersedes TN # 17-0003 Approval Date _____

Effective Date 01-01-2019