STATE OF  CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
UNIFORM  POLICY  MANUAL




dates indicated below
Effective Date




SUBJECT:	Updates to the amounts used in Long Term Services and Supports Medicaid, the Medicare Savings Programs, the State Supplement program and related Medicaid Programs.

Effective July 1, 2018 the  amount of  the  Community Spouse Minimum  Monthly   Needs Allowance (MMNA) is $2,057.50. The Base Shelter amount  is $617.25. The MMNA and Base Shelter amount are used to compute Community Spousal and Family Allowances for Long Term Services and Supports Medicaid clients. The community spouse's minimum and maximum protected amounts and the limit to the community spouse's MMNA are increased on January 1st of each year to reflect the increase in the Consumer Price Index.

The average  cost  of  long  term  care  at the  private   rate  increased from  $12,604.00  to
$12,851.00  per month. The average cost of long term facility care is used to compute transfer of asset penalty periods.   The new amount should be used to determine penalty periods for individuals who apply on or after July 1, 2018 and for recipients who became institutionalized on or after July 1, 2018.

The excess home equity limit is $858,000.00, as of January 1, 2018. Under section 6014 of the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 (DRA), Medicaid will not pay for long-term care services for individuals whose home equity exceeds the home equity limit.  These limits typically increase yearly consistent with increases in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U).

Based on the threshold established by the Social Security Administration, the yearly gross earnings limit for severely impaired   individuals who are eligible for Medicaid under 1619(b) or 1905(q) status, as described at UPM 2540.76 and UPM 2540.77 respectively, is $66,812.00 in Connecticut, as of January 1, 2018.

The Community Spouse Protected  Amount (CSPA) for institutionalized applicants applying for Medicaid as a MCCA spouse increased due to a change in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) to a minimum of$24,720.00 and a maximum of$123,600.00, as of January 1, 2018. The maximum Minimum Monthly Needs Allowance (MMNA) for institutionalized individuals with a spouse living in the community increased due to a change in the CPI to $3,090.00, effective January 1, 2018.

The special Categorically   Needy Income Limit (CNIL) for institutionalized applicants and recipients increased to $2,250.00 per month for an assistance unit of one.   The special CNIL for Connecticut Home Care (CHC) applicants and recipients increased to $2,250.00, effective January 1, 2018.

The asset limit for an individual in the state-funded portion of the Connecticut Home Care Program for Elders, as of January 1, 2018 increased to $37,080.00 for a single individual and to $49,440 for a married individual due to the increase in the CSPA.

Pursuant  to  Public Act 17-2,  section  569,  there  was  no increase  to  the  unearned  income disregards used in the State Supplement and related Medicaid programs. The unearned income disregards remain as follows:  for those living in the community it is $339.00, for those living in a licensed boarding home the disregard is $246.70 and for those living and sharing with a non-relative the disregard is $406.90.

For the Medicare Savings Program (MSP), the percentages of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) standards  remain the same as the prior  year. Connecticut  legislation  that reduced  the applied income  limit  percentages  of  the  FPL  for  MSP  to  be  effective  January  1,  2018  were  not implemented; they were initially postponed, and then, through additional legislation, restored and maintained  at  the same  percentage  of the  FPL standards.  The  2018  Federal  Poverty  Levels became effective for use as of March 1, 2018, and consequentially, increased the dollar income limits for the Qualified Medicare Savings Program (QMB), Specified Low Income Medicare (SLMB) and Additional Low Income (ALMB) coverage groups in CT starting March 1, 2018.
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CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL  SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date: 1-1-18 	Transmittal: UP-18-01 	P-2540.60


Section:
Categorical Eligibility Requirements

Type:



PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Medical Coverage Groups

Program: 	FMA-CN


Subject:
Establishing Eligibility for Residents of Long Term Care Facilities

	


P-2540.60
	


1.
	


Start by determining if  the age or caretaker relative provisions apply  to the institutionalized person.

	
	2.
	
If the individual is neither under 21 nor considered by the Department to be a caretaker relative as described in policy, nor pregnant, go to the MAABD coverage group for residents of an LTCF (2540.88).

	
	3.
	
If the individual is under 21 or is considered by the Department to be a caretaker relative, go on.

	
	4.
	Determine the individual's monthly gross income.

	
	5.
	
Compare the individual's monthly gross  income to the special CNIL for one person, which is currently $2,250.00.

	
	6. 
	If the individual's gross income equals or exceeds the special CNIL, go to step
12.

	
	7.
	If the individual's gross income is less than the special CNIL, go on.

	
	8.
	Compare the individual's total assets to the AFDC asset limit.

	
	9.
	If the individual's assets exceed the AFDC asset limit, go to step 12.

	
	10.
	If the individual passes the financial tests above, take the following actions:



0	authorize FMA to the individual, using the NF program code for a child and the NC code for a caretaker;

0	make the effective date the first day of the 30 continuous days of residence.

11.   Determine the amount of the individual's income to be applied to the cost of care. (cross reference: 5035)

12.   If  the  individual  does  not  meet  the  financial  tests  of  this  coverage  group, determine eligibility as medically needy by comparing applied income to the cost of care.

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL  SERVICES UNIFORM  POLICY MANUAL

Date: 1-1-18 	Transmittal:  UP-18-01 	P-2540.88


Section:
Categorical Eligibility Requirements

Type:



PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Medicaid Coverage Groups

Program:
MAABD-CN


Subject:
Establishing Eligibility for Residents of Long Term Care Facilities

	

P-2540.88
	

I.

2.
	Determine if the individual meets the requirements of age, blindness or disability. Determine the individual's monthly gross income.

	
	3.
	Compare the gross income to the special CNIL for one person, which is currently
$2,250.00.

	
	4.
	If the individual's gross income equals or exceeds the Special CNIL, go to step
10.

	
	5.
	If the individual's gross income is less than the Special CNIL, go on.

	
	6.
	Compare the individual's assets to the AABD asset limit.

	
	7.
	If the assets exceed the AABD limit, go to step 10.

	
	8.
	If the individual passes the financial steps above, take the following actions:



0	authorize MAABD to the individual, using the NA, NB or ND program codes, as appropriate;

0	make the effective date the first day of the 30 continuous days of residence.

9. 	Determine the amount of the individual's income to be applied to the cost of care. (Cross reference: 5035)

10.   If the  individual  does  not  meet  the  financial  tests of this  coverage  group, determine eligibility as medically needy by comparing applied income to the cost of care.
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Date:  7-1-18 	Transmittal: UP-18-01 	P-3029.30


Section:
Technical Eligibility Requirements

Chapter:
Transfer of Assets

Subject:
Calculating and Imposing the Penalty Period

Type: PROCEDURES

Program: 	MA


	P-3029.30
	1.
	Calculate the penalty period using the steps that follow.

	
	2.
	Start with the fair market value of the transferred asset.

	
	3.
	
Deduct  from  the  fair  market  value  any  compensation  received  which  is acceptable per policy.

	
	4.
	Divide the remainder by the average monthly cost of care to a private patient in a
LTCF.  This figure is $9,959.00 from 7/1/09-6/30/10, $10,366.00 from 7/1/10-
6/30/11,   $10,586.00   from7/1/11-6/30/12,   $11,183.00   from   7/1/12-6/30113,
$11,581.00  from 7/1/13-6/30/14, $11,851.00 from 7/1/14-6/30/15, $12,170.00
from 7/1/15-6/30/16, 12,388.00 from 7/1/16-6/30/17,$12,604.00 from 7/1/17 to
6/30/18, $12,851.00 on or after 7/1/18.	·
o 	For applicants, base the cost on the appropriate figure as of the month of
application;



0	For recipients, base the cost on the appropriate figure as of the month of institutionalization, if the transfer occurred while the individual was receiving Medicaid in the community, and the transfer did not affect eligibility at that point in time;

0	For recipients, base the cost on the appropriate figure as of the month of the transfer, if the transfer involves either the home or proceeds from a home equity loan transferred by the spouse while the institutionalized individual is receiving Medicaid, or any asset transferred by an institutionalized individual while receiving Medicaid.

5. 	The result of the calculation above will be a whole number representing the number of whole months of the penalty period and/or a fraction representing a partial month.

6. 	Use the partial amount to determine the last day of the penalty period by the following method:

0	multiply the fraction that represents the partial month described in step 5 by the number of days in the month in which the penalty period expires;

0		for penalties beginning as of the first day of a month (for persons receiving LTC Medicaid at the time of the transfer), the resulting whole number is the day of the month on which the penalty period expires;

0	for penalties beginning as of the first date the individual would otherwise be eligible (for persons not receiving LTC Medicaid at the time of the transfer), the resulting whole number represents the additional number of days the individual is ineligible.
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Date: 1-1-18 	Transmittal: UP-18-01 	P-4022.05


Section:
Treatment of Assets

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Asset Disregards

Program: 	MAABD


Subject:
CSD - Determining Initial Eligibility



P-4022.05 	1. 	Do  not  calculate a  CSD  if  an  assessment  of  spousal  assets  has  not  been completed.

2. 	Determine  if  the  CSD  is  being  calculated  as  part  of  an  initial  eligibility determination.

3. 	If the CSD is being calculated as part of an initial eligibility determination go to step 5.

4. 	If the CSD is not being calculated as part of an initial eligibility determination, stop here.   Go to  CSD  - Redetermination of Eligibility (Cross Reference P-
4022.10).

5. 		Calculate the CSPA in accordance with policy using the value of the spousal share determined by the spousal assessment, regardless of what may have happened to the assets since the assessment. Currently, the minimum CSPA is
$24,720.00 and the maximum CSPA is $123,600.00.

6. 	Determine the community spouse's .total available non-excluded assets (Cross
Reference 4020.10).

7. 	Compare the community spouse's total available non-excluded assets determined in step 6 to the CSPA calculated in step 5.

8. 	If the community spouse's total available non-excluded assets determined in step
6 are greater than the CSPA calculated in step 5, stop here and go to Deemed
Assets (Cross Reference 4025.67).

9. 	If the community spouse's total available non-excluded assets determined in step
6 are equal to the CSPA calculated in step 5, stop here.

10.   If the community spouse's total available non-excluded assets determined in step
6 are less than the CSPA calculated in step 5, disregard the amount from the
institutionalized spouse's assets when determining eligibility.

11.   Ask the institutionalized spouse to transfer the amount of the CSD to the sole ownership of the community spouse as soon as possible.

12.   If the CSPA amount is based on a probate court order which states the higher amount is needed to generate income, allow the amount specified but refer the case to the Attorney General as soon as assistance is granted for a possible appeal of the court order.
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Date: 1-1-18 	Transmittal: UP-18-01 	P-4025.67


Section:
Treatment of Assets

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Deemed Assets

Program:



MAABD


Subject:
MCCA Spouses

	

P-4025.67
	

I.
	

Establish that the applicant or recipient is a MCCA spouse. If not, go to P-
4025.65- "Spouses."

	
	2.
	If undue hardship exists, stop here. (Cross Reference 4025.68)

	
	3.
	
Calculate the CSPA in accordance with policy using the value of the total available non-excluded assets determined by the spousal assessment for both spouses,  regardless  of   what  may  have  happened  to  the  assets  since  the assessment. Currently, the minimum CSPA is $24,720.00 and the maximum CSPA is $123,600.00.

	
	4.
	Determine the community spouse's total  available non-excluded assets (Cross
Reference 4020.10).

	
	5.
	
Compare the community spouse's total available non-excluded assets determined in step 4 to the CSPA calculated in step 3.

	
	6.
	If the community spouse's total available non-excluded assets determined in step
4 are less than the CSPA calculated in step 3, stop here and go to Community
Spouse Disregard Assets (Cross Reference 4022.05).

	
	7.
	If  the community spouse's total available non-excluded assets determined in step
4 are equal to the CSPA calculated in step 3, stop here.

	
	8.
	If the community spouse's total available non-excluded assets determined in step
4 are greater than the CSPA calculated in step 3, deem this amount of assets each month  up  to  and  including  the  initial  month  that  the  spouse  is  eligible  for Medicaid as an institutionalized spouse.

	
	9.
	
If the CSPA amount is based on a probate court order which states the higher amount is needed to generate income, allow the amount specified but refer the case to the Attorney General as soon as assistance is granted for a possible appeal of the court order.



CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date: 1-1-18 	Transmittal: UP-18-01	P-4030.20 page 2


Section:
Treatment of Assets

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Treatment of Specific Types

Program:
MA


Subject:
Home Property


P-4030.20 	MA (continued)

4. 	Set a tickler for six months from the later of the following dates to reassess the individual's expectation to return home:

0	effective date of assistance; or

0	date of the individual's admission to the long-term care facility.

See step 6.

5. 	If the individual cannot reasonably be expected to return home,  consider  the property  to  be  non-home  property.     Stop here, and follow the procedures describing the treatment of non-home property contained in this chapter.

6. 	Review the case every six months, or more frequently, if necessary, to reassess the individual's expectation to return to the home.

7. 	Continue to exclude the home as home property as long as the individual can reasonably be expected to return home.

8. 	If the individual cannot reasonably be expected  to return  home,  refer to  the procedures describing the treatment of non-home property.

MA- Effect of Substantial Home Equitv on Pavments for Nursing Facilitv and Other
Long-Term Care Services for Applications Made on or after 1/1/06

1. 	An  individual with  an equity interest  in their  home of less than or equal  to
$858,000. See steps 1-8 above.

2. 	Consider  an individual  with  an  equity interest in their home  of  greater than
$858,000 ineligible for the payment of nursing facility and other long-term care services unless any of the following persons is lawfully residing in the home:

a. 	the individual's spouse; or

b. 	the individual's child who is under 21; or

c. 	the individual's child who is considered blind or disabled under the criteria for SSI eligibility.

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date: 1-1-18 	Transmittal: UP-18-01 	P-4030.20 page 3


Section:
Treatment of Assets

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Treatment of Specific Types

Program: MA


Subject:
Home Property


P-4030.20 	MA- Effect of Substantial Home Equity on Payments for Nursing Facility and Other
Long-Term Care Services for Applications Made on or after 1/1/06  (continued)

3. 	Disregard equity limit in step 2 if:

a.  the  individual  can  demonstrate,  to  the  satisfaction  of  the  Department, that  they  cannot  obtain  a  reverse  mortgage,  home  equity  loan  or  similar instrument; or

b. the individual  is eligible for a Long-Term Care Insurance disregard in an amount  greater  than  or  equal  to  the  amount  of  home  equity  in  excess  of
$858,000, plus the amount of any other counted assets.

4. 	Consider an individual with an equity interest in his or her home of more than
$858,000 to be ineligible for the payment of nursing facility and other long-term care services and take the following steps:

a. 	grant  assistance  under  an  L01  or  L99  AU  and  enter  LTC  payment authorization date of 12/31160 on the INST screen to ensure denial of LTC services;

b. 		add text to the notice explaining the denial of LTC payments due to the equity interest in the home exceeding $858,000. Advise the individual to contact his or her worker if the equity is reduced below $858,000 or if he or she  is  unable to  access the  equity in the  home  using a  reverse annuity mortgage, home equity loan or similar instrument;

c.	review the equity interest in the home at each redetermination, if the equity interest is less than $858,000, enter LTC payment authorization date equal to the day the equity interest became less than or equal to $858,000 and follow steps 1-8 above;

d. 	If the individual verifies that he or she cannot access the equity in the home, disregard the home equity.

5. 	Waive  application of  the  home equity provision  if the denial of  payment of nursing facility and other long-term care services would result in an undue hardship.

6. 	For individuals granted eligibility based on applications made on or after January
1, 2006, review the equity requirement at the time of their first redetermination.

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date:   1-1-18 	Transmittal: UP-18-01 	P-4030.40 page 2


Section:
Treatment of Assets

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Treatment of Specific Types

Program:
MA


Subject:
Non-Home Property


P-4030.40  I 9. 	If an individual applying for or receiving MAABD leaves his or her home and enters a long-term care facility, consider the home to be non-home property if:

0	there are no relatives as described in policy who are lawfully residing in the home; and

0	the individual cannot reasonably be expected to return to the home.

10.   For an individual who applies on or after January 1, 2006, with an equity interest in his or her home of greater than $858,000, consider the individual ineligible for the payment of nursing facility and other long-term care services unless any of the following persons is lawfully residing in the home:

a. 	the individual's spouse; or

b. 	the individual's child who is under 21; or

c.	the individual's child who is considered blind or disabled under the criteria for SSl eligibility.

The excess home equity limit is $858,000 effective January 1, 2018-December 31,
2018, $840,000 effective January 1, 2017-December 31, 2017, $828,000 effective
January 1, 2016 -December 31, 2016 (no change), $828,000 effective January I,
2015 - December 31, 2015, $814,000 effective January 1, 2014 - December 31,
2014, 802,000 effective January 1, 2013 -December 31, 2013, $786,000 effective
January 1, 2012- December 31, 2012 and $758,000.

11.  Disregard equity limit in step 10 if:

a.   the individual  can  demonstrate,  to  the  satisfaction  of the  Department, they 	cannot    obtain    a    reverse    mortgage,    home    equity    loan or similar instrument; or

b.   the individual is eligible for a Long-Term Care Insurance disregard in an amount greater than or .equal to the amount of home equity in excess of
$858,000, plus the amount of any other counted assets.

12.   Waive application  of  the home equity provision if the denial of payment of nursing facility and other long-term care services would result in an undue hardship.

13.   Notify the individual in writing that a lien is being placed against all his or her real property if the individual is institutionalized, as described in step 9.

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date: 1-1-18 	Transmittal: UP-18-01 	P-4530.10


Section:
Standards of Assistance

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Medical Assistance Standards

Program: MA


Subject:
Determining the Special CNIL


P-4530.10  I.	Determine  if  the  assistance  unit  qualifies  as  a  LTCF  case  or  a  Home  and
Community Based Services case.

2. 	Document the case record accordingly.

3. 	In  either case, use $2,250.00 as the special CNIL.

4. 	Remember that the special CNIL is not used for individuals who are AABD cash recipients as they automatically qualify for PAS/CBS services.

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date:  3-1-18	Transmittal: UP-18-01 	P-4530.25


Section:
Standards of Assistance

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Medicaid Income Standards

Program: MAABD


Subject:
Determining Eligibility for Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMB- Q01)



P-4530.25  1. 	Determine the size of the needs group.

2.	For assistance units with earnings, subtract the AABD earned income disregard from the assistance unit's total gross earned income to come up with the applied earned income.

3. 	Allow appropriate earned income expenses when the spouse of the applicant or recipient is not eligible for assistance and is working. (Cross Reference: 5020.70)

4. 	Compare the applied income and gross unearned income of the needs group to
211% of the Federal Poverty Level.  If the combined income is below the monthly income level the individual is eligible for QMB.



Needs Group Size 	Monthly Income Level

1 	$2,135.32
2 	$2,894.92

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date:  3-1-18 	Transmittal: UP-18-01 	P-4530.26


Section:
Standards of Assistance

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Medicaid Income Standards

Program:  MAABD


Subject:
Determining Eligibility for Specified Low Income Medicare Beneficiaries (SLMB -
Q03)



P-4530.26   I.	Determine the size of the needs group.

2. 	For assistance units with earnings, subtract the AABD earned income disregard from the assistance unit's total gross earned income to come up with the applied earned income. (Cross reference: 5030.10).)

3. 	Allow appropriate earned income expenses when the spouse of the applicant or recipient is not eligible for assistance and is working. (cross Reference: 5020.70)

4. 		Compare the applied  earned income  and gross unearned income of the needs group to 231% of the Federal Poverty Level. If the combined income is below the monthly income level the individual is eligible for Q03.

Needs Group Size 	Monthly Income Level

1	$ 2,337.72
2 	$ 3,169.32

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM  POLICY MANUAL

Date:   3-1-18 	Transmittal:   UP-18-01 	P-4530.27


Section:
Standards·Of Assistance

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Medicaid Income Standards

Program:  MAABD


Subject:
Determining  Eligibility  for Additional Low Income Medicare  Beneficiaries (ALMB  -
Q04)



P-4530.27 1. 	Determine the size of the needs group.

2.	For assistance units with earnings, subtract the AABD earned income disregard from the assistance unit's total gross earned income to come up with the applied earned income. (Cross Reference: 5030.10)

3. 	Allow appropriate earned income expenses when the spouse of the applicant or recipient  is  not  eligible  for  assistance  and  is  working.    (Cross  Reference:
5020.70)

4.		Compare the applied earned income and the gross unearned income of the needs. group to 246% of the Federal Poverty Level.  If  the combined income is below the monthly income level the individual is eligible for Q04.

Needs Group Size 	Monthly Income Level

1 	$2,489.52
2 	$3,375.12

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date: 3-1-18	Transmittal: UP-18-01	P-4530.29


Section:
Standards of Assistance

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Medicaid Income Standards

Program:  MAABD


Subject:
Determining Eligibility for Qualified and Disabled Working Individuals (QDWI's)



P-4530.29   I.	Determine the size of the needs group.


2. 	Compare the applied  income of the needs group  to 200%  of the Federal Poverty
Level which represents needs group size.

Needs Group Size 	Monthly Income Level

1 	$  2,024.00
2 	$  2,744.00

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date: 7-1-18 	Transmittal: UP-18-01 	P-5035.10


Section:
Treatment of Income

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Income Deductions

Program:



MAABD


Subject:
Minimum Monthly Needs Allowance (MMNA)


P-5035.10 	1.	Calculate the shelter costs of the community spouse by adding:

•	rent costs or mortgage payments; and

•	real estate taxes; and

•	real estate insurance; and

•	the Food Stamp Standard Utility allowance (SUA).

2. 	Determine the excess shelter allowance by subtracting $617.25 from the amount calculated in step 1 ($617.25 is 30% of $2,057.50 which is 150%, of the poverty level for two figure after it was rounded to the nearest whole dollar) (Cross-Reference: 5035.30).

3. 	If the amount calculated in step 2 is greater than zero, go to step 5.

4. 	If the amount calculated in step 2 is zero or less, use $2,057.50 as the
MMNA.

5. 	Add the amount calculated in step 2 to $2,057.50 (Cross-Reference
5035.30).

6. 	If the amount calculated in step 5 is $3,090.00 or less, use the actual amount as the MMNA (this amount was effective 1/1/2018).

7. 	If the amount calculated in step 5 is greater than $3,090.00, use $3,090.00 as the MMNA.

8. 	If a Fair Hearing decision requires a figure higher than those referred to in
Steps 6 and 7, use the amount decided upon from the Fair Hearing decision.

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date:  7-1-18 	Transmittal:  UP-18-01 	P-5035.20


Section:
Treatment of lncome

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Income Deductions

Program:



MAABD


Subject:
Community Family Allowance (CFA)


P-5035.20 	I. 	Determine ifthere is a community spouse.

2. 	If there is no community spouse stop here.  Go to "Calculating Applied Income for LTCF Units Without Community Spouses" (Cross Reference: P-5045.25).

3. 		If there is a community spouse, determine if there are any family members living with the community spouse who are eligible for a CFA.

4. 	Determine the eligible family member's monthly gross income.

5. 	Subtract  the  gross  monthly  income  of  the  eligible  family  member  from
$2,057.50.

6. 	Divide the amount calculated in step 5 by 3 to determine the CFA.

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date:  1-1-18 	Transmittal:  UP-18-01 	P-5050.49


Section:
Treatment of Income

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Treatment of Specific Types

Program: 		AABD MAABD


Subject:
Income-in-Kind

	
P-5050.49
	

I.
	

Do not consider the individual to be receiving in-kind income in the form of shelter (with or  without food) if the provider of the shelter states that the individual is paying him or her pursuant to a business arrangement.

	
	2.
	
If in-kind income exists, determine if it is excluded, as described in policy. If it is, stop here.  If not, continue to step 3.

	
	3.
	Based on the situation, use either the one-third reduction rule or the presumed

	
	
	value rule to compute a value to the in-kind income.



0	As of 1-l-18,  one-third of the Federal Benefit Level (FBL) is $250.00 (based on an FBL of $750.00 per month).

0	For a married couple, one-third of the FBL is $375.00 (based on an FBL of
$1,125.00 per month).

4.	If the presumed value rule applies, but the individual claims that the in-kind support and  maintenance should be  valued  at  a  lesser  amount, allow  the individual to present evidence to justify the lower amount.

0	If the individual is able to demonstrate that the current market value of the support and maintenance (less any payments made by the individual in return for such in-kind income) is less than the presumed market value, compute the amount of the unearned income to be the lesser amount.

5. 		Do not count the value of in-kind support and maintenance provided by a deemor to the individual if the individual is living in the deemor's household. Follow the deeming rules at Chapter 5025 to compute the amount of income to be deemed to the individual.            ·

6. 	Compute amounts for both in-kind income and deemed income if:

0	The individual is living in another person's household and receiving in-kind support and maintenance from that person and a deemor is also living in the household.

7. 	Count all gross non-excluded income, including in-kind income, when evaluating whether the individual passes the gross income eligibility test for AABD or categorically needy Medicaid (cross reference: chapter 5520).

8. 	If the individual passes the gross income eligibility test, disregard all in-kind income when computing applied income and determining the benefit amount.

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date: 1-1-18 	Transmittal: UP-18-01 	P-5520.10


Section:
Income Eligibility

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Income Eligibility Tests

Program:



AABD


Subject:
Determining Income Eligibility for AABD


P-5520.10 	To determine the assistance unit's income eligibility:

1. 	Calculate the total gross income of the applicant or recipient and his or her spouse if living together.

2. 	Determine the size of the needs group.

3. 	When the needs group consists of one person, compare the assistance unit's gross income to $2,250.00.

4.	When the needs group consists of two persons, compare the assistance unit's gross income to $4,500.00.

5. 	If the gross income of the needs group:

0	exceeds the gross income limit, determine the assistance unit  to be ineligible;

0	does not exceed the limit used, determine the unit to be eligible and proceed to the next step.

6. 		Determine if the applicant or recipient is considered to be living with his or her spouse. (Cross Reference: 5020.70-Deemed Income)

7. 	Calculate the applied income  of the applicant or recipient  including that income which is deemed from his or her spouse.

8. 	Calculate the total needs of the needs group.

9. 		Compare the assistance unit's monthly applied income to the needs group's total needs.

1 0. 	When the total applied income equals or exceeds the needs group's needs, determine the assistance unit to be ineligible.

11.  When  the  total  applied  income  is  less  than  the  needs  group's  needs, determine the assistance unit to be eligible for assistance.

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL  SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date:  1-1-18 	Transmittal: UP-18-01 	P-5520.15 page 2


Section:
Income Eligibility

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Income Eligibility Tests

Program:
MA-CN


Subject:
Determining Eligibility For The Categorically Needy


P-5520.15  Residents of Long Term Care Facilities

Determine the income eligibility of units who reside in LTCF's in the following ways:

1.	Calculate the unit's total monthly gross income.

2.	Compare the total gross income to $2,250.00.

3. 	If  the  gross income  amount is  less than $2,250.00,  determine the  unit to  be eligible.

4.	If the gross income amount equals or exceeds $2,250.00:

a. 	determine the unit to be ineligible as categorically needy; and b. 	determine eligibility as medically needy.

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY  MANUAL

Date:   1-1-18 	Transmittal:   UP-18-01 	P-5520.32


Section:
Income Eligibility

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Income Eligibility Tests

Program:



MA-CN


Subject:
Test for Severely Impaired Non-SSI Recipients



P-5520.32 	Determine the income eligibility for individuals who are severely impaired in the following way:

1. 	Determine the individual's yearly gross earned income.

2.	Compare the total gross earned income to $66,812.00.

3. 	If the  gross  earned  income  is  less than $66,812.00,  determine  that  the individual is eligible.

4. 	If the gross earned income equals or exceeds $66,812.00:

0	determine that the individual is ineligible under this coverage group; and

0	determine eligibility under the S05 group (cross reference:5520.33).

The state threshold figure for severely impaired individuals is $66, 812.00 effective January 1, 2018, $66,308.00 effective January 1, 2017, $65,144 (same) effective January 1, 2016, $65,144 effective January 1, 2015, $68,340.00 effective January 1,
2014, $72,805.00 effective  January 1, 2013, $68,132.00 effective January 1, 2012,
$56,502.00 effective January 1, 2011 -December 31, 2011, $54,815.00 effective
January 1, 2010- December 31, 2010 and $53,537.00 effective January 1, 2009- December 31, 2009.

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM POLICY MANUAL

Date: 3-1-18 	Transmittal:  UP-18-01 	P-8035.05


Section:
Special Programs

Type:
PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Connecticut AIDS Drug Assistance Program

Program:



CADAP


Subject:
Administering the CADAP Program



P-8035.05 	District Office

1.	Route all requests for the CADAP program to Central Office, Medical
Services, Attn: CADAP Coordinator.

2. 		Send all Fair Hearing requests regarding the CADAP program to Fair Hearings, and notify Central Office Medical Services, Attn: CADAP Coordinator.

3. 	For CADAP recipients reapplying for Medicaid, remember that the   combined CADAP/Medicaid application form and the Assistance Request Form (W-1) are formal requests for assistance. Therefore, if the information on either form is enough to determine ineligibility for Medicaid, assistance may be denied based on 1Jtat information.

4. 	If a CADAP recipient is determined to be eligible for Medicaid, discontinue the CADAP AU in EMS using reason #522 and notify the CADAP worker via an alert, e-mail, or M-2-T.

5. 	If the CADAP recipient fails to cooperate with the Medicaid eligibility process, notify the CADAP worker via an alert, e-mail, or M-2-T.

Central Office

1. 	Determine Eligibility by comparing the family's total monthly income with the following:

Family Size 	400% of Federal Povertv Level

	1
	$  4,048.00

	2
	$  5,488.00

	3
	$  6,928.00

	4
	$   8,368.00

	5
	$   9,808.00

	6
	$ 11,248.00

	7
	$ 12,688.00

	8
	$ 14,128.00


2. 	Upon the receipt of the combined CADAP/Medicaid application form, process for CADAP eligibility and forward the original application to the appropriate regional office.  Do not forward the application if the CADAP applicant is pending Medicaid or in a Medicaid spenddown.

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES UNIFORM  POLICY  MANUAL

Date:   1-1-18 	Transmittal:  UP-18-01 	P-8040


Section:
Special Programs

Type: PROCEDURES



Chapter:
Connecticut Home Care Program for Elders

Program:



CHC


Subject:
Referrals to the Resource Unit

	
P-8040
	
1.
	

The asset limit for a single individual is equal to or less than  $37,080.00. The asset limit  for a married  individual, counting both  the individual's and the  spouse's

	
	
	assets, cannot exceed $49,440.00. If the value of the asset owned by the individual

	
	
	or the spouse cannot be determined by the Alternate Care Unit worker, the case is referred to the Resource Unit.

	
	2.
	The Alternate Care worker refers a case to the Resource Unit under the following

	
	
	conditions:



0	the applicant or his or her spouse indicates that he or she has transferred an asset and did not receive fair market value: or

0	the applicant indicates that he or she is married and the spouse is a potentially legally liable relative; or

0	the applicant indicates that he or she is estranged from his or her spouse and the estranged spouse is a potentially legally liable relative.

3. 		The Resource worker must notify the Alternate Care field worker of the results of the investigation.

4. 	The Alternate Care field worker cannot authorize  services until notified of the investigation results.

5. 	Examples of other types of assets which should be referred to the Resource Unit for valuation are as follows:

0	non-home property;

0	assets whose value is not evident;

0	an asset which is held in trust.

6. 	Non-home property cases must be referred to the Resource Unit, but services are authorized before completion of the investigation.

LONG TERM SERVICES AND SUPPORTS AMOUNTS 	1

	Effective Date
	Ave.Cost  of Care
	Minimum CSPA
	Maximum CSPA
	Min. MMNA
	Base Shelter
	Utility Allowance
	Max. MMNA

	7/1/2018
	$12,851.00
	$24,720.00
	$123,600.00
	$2,057.50
	$617.25
	$728.00
	$3,090.00

	1/1/2018
	$12,604.00
	$24,720.00
	$123,600.00
	$2,030.00
	$609.00
	$728.00
	$3,090.00

	10/1/2017
	$12,604.00
	$24,180.00
	$120,900.00
	$2,030.00
	$609.00
	$728.00
	$3,022.50

	7/1/2017
	$12,604.00
	$24,180.00
	$120,900.00
	$2,030.00
	$609.00
	$698.00
	$3,022.50

	1/1/2017
	$12,388.00
	$24,180.00
	$120,900.00
	$2,002.50
	$600.75
	$698.00
	$3,022.50

	10/2/2016
	$12,388.00
	$23,844.00
	$119,220.00
	$2,002.50
	$600.75
	$698.00
	$2,980.50

	7/1/2016
	$12,388.00
	$23,844.00
	$119,220.00
	$2,002.50
	$600.75
	$708.00
	$2,980.50

	1/1/2016
	$12,170.00
	$23,844.00
	$119,220.00
	$1,991.25
	$597.38
	$708.00
	$2,980.50

	10/1/2015
	$12,170.00
	$23,844.00
	$119,220.00
	$1,991.25
	$597.38
	$708.00
	$2,980.50

	7/1/2015
	$12,170.00
	$23,844.00
	$119,220.00
	$1,991.25
	$597.38
	$724.00
	$2,980.50

	1/1/2015
	$11,851.00
	$23,844.00
	$119,220.00
	$1,966.25
	$589.88
	$724.00
	$2,980.50

	10/1/2014
	$11,851.00
	$23,448.00
	$117,240.00
	$1,966.25
	$589.88
	$724.00
	$2,931.00

	7/1/2014
	$11,851.00
	$23,448.00
	$117,240.00
	$1,966.25
	$589.88
	$694.00
	$2,931.00

	1/1/2014
	$11,581.00
	$23,448.00
	$117,240.00
	$1,938.75
	$581.63
	$694.00
	$2,931.00

	10/1/2013
	$11,581.00
	$23,184.00
	$115,920.00
	$1,938.75
	$581.63
	$694.00
	$2,898.00

	7/1/2013
	$11,581.00
	$23,184.00
	$115,920.00
	$1,938.75
	$581.63
	$668.00
	$2,898.00

	1/1/2013
	$11 '183.00
	$23,184.00
	$115,920.00
	$1,891.25
	$567.38
	$668.00
	$2,898.00

	10/1/2012
	$11,183.00
	$22,728.00
	$113,640.00
	$1,891.25
	$567.38
	$668.00
	$2,841.00

	7/1/2012
	$11,183.00
	$22,728.00
	$113,640.00
	$1,891.25
	$567.38
	$683.00
	$2,841.00

	1/1/2012
	$10,586.00
	$22,728.00
	$113,640.00
	$1,838.75
	$551.63
	$683.00
	$2,841.00

	10/1/2011
	$10,586.00
	$21,912.00
	$109,560.00
	$1,838.75
	$551.63
	$683.00
	$2,739.00

	7/1/2011
	$10,586.00
	$21,912.00
	$109,560.00
	$1,838.75
	$551.63
	$662.00
	$2,739.00

	4/1/2011
	$10,366.00
	$21,912.00
	$109,560.00
	$1,821.25
	$546.37
	$662.00
	$2,739.00



Amounts in BOLD are the most recent  changes 	July 2018
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7/1/2010 	$10,366.00 	$21,912.00	$109,560.00	$1,821.25 	$546.37 	$720.00 	$2,739.00

7/1/2009 	$9,959.00 	$21,912.00	$109,560.00	$1,821.25 	$546.37 	$720.00 	$2,739.00


1/1/2009 	$9,464.00


$21,912.00 	$109,560.00 	$1,750.00	$525.00 	$720.00 	$2,739.00


10/1/2008 	$9,464.00	$20,880.00	$104,400.00	$1,750.00 	$525.00 	$720.00 	$2,610.00

7/1/2008 	$9,464.00 	$20,880.00	$104,400.00	$1,750.00 	$525.00 	$522.00 	$2,610.00

1/1/2008 	$9,096.00	$20,880.00 	$104,400.00 	$1,711.25	$513.37 	$522.00 	$2,610.00

10/1/2007 	$9,096.00	$20,328.00	$101,640.00	$1,711.25 	$513.37 	$522.00 	$2,541.00

7/1/2007 	$9,096.00 	$20,328.00 	$101,640.00	$1,711.25 	$513.37 	$517.00 	$2,541.00

1/1/2007 	$8,646.00	$20,328.00	$101,640.00	$1,650.00 	$495.00 	$517.00 	$2,541.00

10/1/2006 	$8,646.00	$19,908.00	$99,540.00 	$1,650.00 	$495.00 	$517.00 	$2,488.50

7/1/2006 	$8,646.00	$19,908.00	$99,540.00 	$1,650.00 	$495.00 	$450.00 	$2,488.50

2/1/2006 	$7,905.00	$19,908.00	$99,540.00	$1,603.75 	$481.13 	$450.00 	$2,488.50

1/1/2006 	$7,905.00	$19,908.00	$99,540.00	$1,603.75 	$481.13 	$437.00 	$2,488.50

10/1/2005 	$7,905.00	$19,020.00	$95,100.00	$1,603.75 	$481.13 	$437.00 	$2,377.50

7/1/2005 	$7,905.00	$19,020.00	$95,100.00	$1,603.75 	$481.13 	$390.00 	$2,377.50

1/1/2005 	$7,665.00	$19,020.00	$95,100.00	$1,561.25 	$468.38 	$390.00 	$2,377.50

10/1/2004 	$7,665.00	$18,552.00	$92,760.00	$1,561.25 	$468.38 	$390.00 	$2,319.00

7/1/2004 	$7,665.00	$18,552.00	$92,760.00	$1,561.25 	$468.38 	$378.00 	$2,319.00

1/1/2004 	$7,417.00	$18,552.00	$92,760.00	$1,515.00 	$454.50 	$378.00 	$2,319.00

10/1/2003 	$7,417.00	$18,132.00	$90,660.00	$1,515.00	$454.50 	$378.00 	$2,266.50

7/1/2003 	$7,417.00	$18,132.00	$90,660.00	$1,515.00	$454.50 	$356.00 	$2,266.50

1/1/2003 	$7,062.00	$18,132.00	$90,660.00 	$1,492.50	$447.75 	$287.00 	$2,266.50
7/1/2002 	$7,062.00	$17,856.00	$89,280.00	$1,492.50 	$447.75 	$287.00 	$2,232.00
1/1/2002 	$6,779.00	$17,856.00	$89,280.00	$1,451.25 	$435.38 	$287.00 	$2,232.00


Amounts in BOLD are the most recent changes	July 2018
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7/1/2001 	$6,779.00	$17,400.00	$87,000.00	$1,451.25 	$435.38 	$287.00

$2,175.00	I


2/1/2001 	$6,507.00	$17,400.00	$87.000.00	$1,406.25 	$421.87 	$287.00 	$2,175.00

1/1/2001 	$6,507.00	$17,400.00	$87,000.00	$1,406.25 	$421.87 	$249.00 	$2,175.00

7/1/2000 	$6,507.00 	$16,824.00	$84,120.00	$1,406.25 	$421.87 	$249.00 	$2,103.00

1/1/2000 	$6,309.00	$16,824.00	$84,120.00	$1,382.50 	$414.75 	$249.00 	$2,103.00
7/1/1999 	$6,309.00 	$16,392.00	$81,960.00 	$1,382.50 	$414.75 	. $249.00 	$2,049.00

1/1/1999 	$6,141.00	$16,392.00	$81,960.00	$1,356.25 	$406.88 	$249.00 	$2,049.00

7/1/1998 	$6,141.00	$16,152.00	$80,760.00 	$1,356.25 	$406.88 	$249.00 	$2,019.00

1/1/1998 	$5,876.00	$16,152.00	$80,760.00	$1,326.25 	$397.88 	$249.00 	$2,019.00	I
I
7/1/1997 	$5,876.00	$15,804.00	$79,020.00	$1,326.25 	$397.88 	$249.00 	$1,975.50	.

7/1/1996 	$5,546.00	$15,348.00	$76,740.00	$1,295.00	$388.50 	$249.00 	$1,918.50

1/1/1996 	$5,260.00	$15,348.00	$76,740.00	$1,253.75 	$376.00 	$249.00 	$1,918.50

7/1/1995 	$5,260.00	$14,964.00	$74,820.00	$1,253.75 	$376.00 	$249.00 	$1,870.50

1/1/1995 	$5,157.00	$14,964.00	$74,820.00 	$1,230.00 	$369.00 	$249.00 	$1,870.50

7/1/1994 	$5,157.00	$14,532.00	$72,660.00	$1,230.00 	$369.00 	$249.00 	$1,816.50

1/1/1994 	$4,779.00 	$14,532.00	$72,660.00	$1,178.75 	$353.00 	$249.00 	$1,816.50

7/1/1993 	$4,779.00	$14,148.00	$70,740.00	$1,178.75 	$353.00 	$249.00 	$1,769.00

1/1/1993 	$4,588.00	$14,148.00	$70,740.00	$1,148.75 	$344.63 	$249.00 	$1,769.00

10/1/1992 	$4,588.00	$13,740.00	$68,700.00	$1,148.75 	$344.63 	$249.00 	$1,718.00

7/1/1992 	$4,588.00	$13,740.00	$68,700.00	$1,148.75 	$344.63 	$243.00 	$1,718.00

1/1/1992 	$4,014.00	$13,740.00	$68,700.00	$984.20 	$295.26 	$243.00 	$1,718.00
10/1/1991 	$4,014.00 	$13,296.00	$66,480.00 	$984.20 	$295.26 	$243.00 	$1,662.00
7/1/1991 	$4,014.00 	$13,296.00	$66,480.00 	$984.20 	$295.26 	$231.00 	$1,662.00
1/1/1991 	$3,680.00 	$13,296.00	$66,480.00 	$856.02 	$256.80 	$231.00 	$1,662.00
-

Amounts in BOLD are the most recent changes	July 2018
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7/1/1990 	$3,680.00	$12,516.00	$62,580.00	$856.02 	$256.80 	$231.00 	$1,565.00

4/1/1990 	$3,680.00	$12,516.00	$62,580.00 	$815.37 	$244.61 	$231.00 	$1,565.00

1/1/1990 	$3,680.00	$12,516.00	$62,580.00 	$815.37 	$244.61 	$204.00 	$1,565.00

9/30/1989 	$3,680.00	$12,000.00	$60,000.00	$815.37 	$244.61 	$204.00 	$1,500.00
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$12,851.00


 


 


per


 


month.


 


The


 


average


 


cost


 


of


 


long


 


term


 


facility


 


care


 


is


 


used


 


to


 


compute


 


transfer


 


of 


asset


 


penalty


 


periods.  


 


The


 


new


 


amount


 


should


 


be


 


used


 


to


 


determine


 


penalty periods


 


for 


individuals


 


who


 


apply


 


on


 


or


 


after


 


July


 


1,


 


2018


 


and


 


for


 


recipients


 


who


 


became


 


institutionalized


 


on 


or


 


after


 


July


 


1,


 


2018.


 


 


The


 


excess


 


home


 


equity


 


limit


 


is


 


$858,000.00,


 


as


 


of


 


January


 


1,


 


2018.


 


Under


 


section


 


6014


 


of


 


the 


Deficit


 


Reduction


 


Act


 


of


 


2005


 


(DRA),


 


Medicaid


 


will


 


not


 


pay


 


for


 


long


-


term


 


care


 


services


 


for 


individuals


 


whose


 


home


 


equity


 


exceeds


 


the


 


home


 


equity


 


limit. 


 


These


 


limits


 


typically


 


increase 


yearly


 


consistent


 


with


 


increases


 


in


 


the


 


Consumer


 


Pr


ice


 


Index


 


for


 


All


 


Urban


 


Consumers


 


(CPI


-


U).


 


 


Based 


on the


 


threshold


 


established


 


by


 


the


 


Social


 


Security


 


Administration,


 


the


 


yearly


 


gross 


earnings


 


limit


 


for


 


severely


 


impaired 


 


 


individuals


 


who


 


are


 


eligible


 


for


 


Medicaid


 


under


 


1619(b) 


or


 


1905(q)


 


status,


 


as


 


desc


ribed


 


at


 


UPM


 


2540.76


 


and


 


UPM


 


2540.77


 


respectively,


 


is


 


$66,812.00


 


in 


Connecticut,


 


as


 


of


 


January


 


1,


 


2018.


 


 


The


 


Community


 


Spouse


 


Protected 


 


Amount


 


(CSPA)


 


for


 


institutionalized


 


applicants


 


applying 


for


 


Medicaid


 


as


 


a


 


MCCA


 


spouse increased


 


due


 


to


 


a


 


change


 


in


 


the


 


Consumer


 


Price


 


Index


 


(CPI)


 


to 


a


 


minimum


 


of$24,720.00


 


and


 


a


 


maximum


 


of$123,600.00,


 


as


 


of


 


January


 


1,


 


2018.


 


The 


maximum


 


Minimum


 


Monthly


 


Needs


 


Allowance


 


(MMNA)


 


for institutionalized


 


individuals


 


with


 


a 


spouse


 


living


 


in


 


the


 


community


 


increased


 


due


 


to


 


a


 


change


 


in


 


the


 


CPI


 


to


 


$3,090.00,


 


effective 


January


 


1,


 


2018.


 


 


The


 


special


 


Categorically  


 


Needy


 


Income


 


Limit


 


(CNIL)


 


for


 


institutionalized


 


applicants


 


and 


recipients


 


increased


 


to


 


$2,250.00


 


per


 


month


 


for


 


an


 


assistance


 


unit


 


of


 


one.  


 


The


 


special


 


CNIL


 


for 


Connecticut Home


 


Care


 


(CHC)


 


applicants


 


and


 


recipients


 


increased


 


to


 


$2,250.00,


 


effective 


January 


1,


 


2018.


 




STATE   OF    CONNECTICUT   DEPARTMENT   OF   SOCIAL   SERVICES   UNIFORM    POLICY    MANUAL           dates   indicated   below   Effective   Date           SUBJECT:   Updates   to   the   amounts   used   in   Long   Term   Services   and   Supports   Medicaid,   the  Medicare   Savings   Programs,   the   State   Suppleme nt   program   and   related   Medicaid  Programs.     Effective   July  1 ,   2018   the    amount   of    the    Community   Spouse   Minimum    Monthly     Needs  Allowance   (MMNA)   is   $2,057. 5 0.   The   Base   Shelter amount    is   $ 6 17.25.   The   MMNA   and   Base  Shelter   amount   are   used   to   compute   Commun ity   Spousal   and   Family   Allowances   for   Long   Term  Services   and   Supports   Medicaid   clients.   The   community   spouse's   minimum   and   maximum  protected   amounts   and   the   limit   to   the   community   spouse's   MMNA   are   increased   on   January   1st  of   each   year   to   reflect   the   incre ase   in   the   Consumer   Price   Index.     The   average    cost    of    long    term    care    at   the    private     rate    increased   from    $12,604.00    to   $12,851.00     per   month.   The   average   cost   of   long   term   facility   care   is   used   to   compute   transfer   of  asset   penalty   periods.     The   new   amount   should   be   used   to   determine   penalty periods   for  individuals   who   apply   on   or   after   July   1,   2018   and   for   recipients   who   became   institutionalized   on  or   after   July   1,   2018.     The   excess   home   equity   limit   is   $858,000.00,   as   of   January   1,   2018.   Under   section   6014   of   the  Deficit   Reduction   Act   of   2005   (DRA),   Medicaid   will   not   pay   for   long - term   care   services   for  individuals   whose   home   equity   exceeds   the   home   equity   limit.    These   limits   typically   increase  yearly   consistent   with   increases   in   the   Consumer   Pr ice   Index   for   All   Urban   Consumers   (CPI - U).     Based  on the   threshold   established   by   the   Social   Security   Administration,   the   yearly   gross  earnings   limit   for   severely   impaired      individuals   who   are   eligible   for   Medicaid   under   1619(b)  or   1905(q)   status,   as   desc ribed   at   UPM   2540.76   and   UPM   2540.77   respectively,   is   $66,812.00   in  Connecticut,   as   of   January   1,   2018.     The   Community   Spouse   Protected    Amount   (CSPA)   for   institutionalized   applicants   applying  for   Medicaid   as   a   MCCA   spouse increased   due   to   a   change   in   the   Consumer   Price   Index   (CPI)   to  a   minimum   of$24,720.00   and   a   maximum   of$123,600.00,   as   of   January   1,   2018.   The  maximum   Minimum   Monthly   Needs   Allowance   (MMNA)   for institutionalized   individuals   with   a  spouse   living   in   the   community   increased   due   to   a   change   in   the   CPI   to   $3,090.00,   effective  January   1,   2018.     The   special   Categorically     Needy   Income   Limit   (CNIL)   for   institutionalized   applicants   and  recipients   increased   to   $2,250.00   per   month   for   an   assistance   unit   of   one.     The   special   CNIL   for  Connecticut Home   Care   (CHC)   applicants   and   recipients   increased   to   $2,250.00,   effective  January  1,   2018.  

