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  _________________________________                    Effective Date: June 1, 2022 

                             Deidre S. Gifford, MD, MPH, Commissioner                                Contact: Keri.Lloyd@ct.gov 

 

TO: Free-Standing Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Residential Treatment Facilities 

 

RE: Implementation of Medicaid and Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) 

Reimbursement for SUD Treatment at Free-Standing Residential Treatment Facilities 

Effective for dates of service on and after June 

1, 2022, the Department of Social Services 

(DSS) will reimburse substance use disorder 

(SUD) residential treatment services in free-

standing SUD residential treatment facilities 

for all Medicaid eligible members, inclusive of 

HUSKY A, C, and D, as well as members 

eligible for the Children’s Health Insurance 

Plan (CHIP), also known as HUSKY B. 

Collectively, Medicaid and CHIP are known as 

the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program 

(CMAP). SUD services in residential 

treatment facilities are covered for adolescents 

who are at least 13 years of age and adults of 

any age. This coverage implements the state’s 

SUD demonstration waiver under section 1115 

of the Social Security Act (Demonstration), 

which was recently approved by the U.S. 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 

(CMS). 

 

Initial Provider Eligibility and Provisional 

Certification: 

All existing and licensed SUD residential 

treatment providers that receive state funding 

from the Departments of Mental Health and 

Addiction Services (DMHAS), Children and 

Families (DCF), Social Services, Correction 

(DOC) or the Judicial Branch (Judicial) will be 

eligible to enroll in the Connecticut Medical 

Assistance Program (CMAP) under a 

provisional certification, so long as the 

provider complies with all applicable 

requirements, including those described 

below.  SUD residential providers with a DCF 

license serving children must receive 

provisional certification from DCF or its 

designated agent.  SUD residential providers 

with a Department of Public Health (DPH) 

license serving adults must receive provisional 

certification from DMHAS or its agent.  SUD 

residential providers that hold both licenses 

and serve children and adults must receive 

provisional certification from DCF and 

DMHAS or their agents.  

 

Upon receiving written notice of provisional 

certification, the provider may initiate 

enrollment into CMAP. Providers must submit 

their provisional certification approval 

document as part of their enrollment 

documentation and an acknowledgement of the 

24-month deadline for full ASAM certification 

signed by the Chief Executive Officer, 

Executive Director or equivalent. Providers 

who are already enrolled in CMAP as a 63/001 

(Drug and Alcohol Abuse Center; Inpatient) 

Provider Type and Specialty do not require a 

new enrollment but must submit their 

certification, acknowledgement and an 

addendum to the provider enrollment 

agreement to their existing enrollment no later 

than May 31, 2021. All reenrollment deadlines 

remain in effect; the enrollment period will not 

be extended as a result of this process.  

 

Provisional certification is required for each 

level of care and is valid for up to 24 months 

from the enrollment effective date in CMAP.  

To qualify for and maintain provisional 

certification, providers must successfully 

complete a provisional certification 

application process, meet initial criteria and 

progressively achieve staffing and program 

milestones during the provisional certification 

period, including implementation of the 

American Society of Addiction Medicine 

(ASAM) guidelines that have been adopted by 
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the state, which is currently the ASAM 3rd 

edition. All references to ASAM criteria below 

refer to the third edition of ASAM currently 

adopted by the state. The state will notify 

providers if there is a change to the state’s 

implemented edition of the ASAM clinical 

guidelines.   

 

Any provider that does not maintain 

provisional certification while progressing 

toward full certification, or who fails to 

achieve full certification from DMHAS or 

DCF, or their designated agent, within 24 

months of the enrollment effective date, will 

be disenrolled from CMAP for this service.   

 

Ongoing Enrollment and Full Certification: 

During the provisional certification period, 

DMHAS and DCF, or their designated 

agent(s), will conduct an initial assessment and 

ongoing monitoring of all providers to ensure 

continuous progress to meet the ASAM 

requirements, state standards and project 

milestones is occurring.  A monitoring tool 

will be shared with providers so they can self-

assess throughout the provisional certification 

period and will be utilized by each state agency 

and/or designated agents during compliance 

visits. 

 

All providers must maintain provisional 

certification and achieve full certification in 

order to maintain enrollment in CMAP. At the 

end of the provisional certification period, all 

certified providers must maintain full 

compliance with all ASAM requirements and 

state standards and receive full certification 

from DMHAS and/or DCF or their designated 

agents, or they will be disenrolled from 

CMAP. If at any time a provider loses their full 

certification status, the provider must regain 

full certification before reenrollment with 

CMAP can occur. A second provisional 

certification period will not be provided. Full 

certification status designations will be valid 

for three years from date of approval. 

DMHAS, and/or DCF or their designated 

agents will be responsible for conducting 

compliance monitoring and recertification 

activities under this Demonstration. 

 

Provider Type/Specialty and Taxonomy: 

All residential providers will enroll in CMAP 

as a 63/001 (Drug and Alcohol Abuse Center; 

Inpatient) Provider Type and Specialty using 

taxonomy 324500000X (Substance Use 

Rehabilitation Facility).  As a reminder, the 

NPI and taxonomy must match what is on the 

NPPES website.   

 

Provider Monitoring: 

DMHAS and DCF, directly and/or through 

their designated agent(s), will monitor 

providers during the provisional certification 

period and throughout the entire duration of the 

Demonstration, including any extensions.  

Providers that achieve full certification must 

participate in ongoing monitoring.   

 

Provider Training: 

The state agencies referenced above are 

committed to initial and ongoing training for 

providers.  Provider training topics will be 

conducted by various entities, including the 

state agencies and their agents, depending on 

the topic of the training.  Provider training will 

include, but not be limited to, the following 

topics: 

 

• CMAP enrollment 

• Provisional certification process 

• Authorization procedures 

• Billing procedures  

• Motivational interviewing 

• SNAP Benefits Management 

• The ASAM Criteria, 3rd edition 

 

Although the state is arranging for this training 

to help providers adapt to the new 

requirements and procedures for SUD 

services, each provider is independently 

responsible to understand and comply with all 

applicable requirements and procedures. 
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Existing Authorizations: 

There are several scenarios whereby a provider 

may have an existing authorization from a state 

agency (DCF, DOC, Judicial) or an agent of a 

state agency (Beacon Health Options [Beacon] 

or Advanced Behavioral Health [ABH]) to 

provide services to a CMAP member that was 

in effect immediately before the effective date 

noted above.  All existing authorizations with 

ABH will be honored for through the 

authorization end-date given by ABH, even if 

that date extends beyond June 1, 2022 based on 

the understanding that those previous 

authorizations ensured that the services met the 

Medicaid program’s requirements, including, 

but not limited to, the statutory definition of 

medical necessity in section 17b-259b(a) of the 

Connecticut General Statutes. All 

authorizations from ABH will be transitioned 

to Beacon, the CMAP behavioral health 

Administrative Services Organization (ASO).   

 

For dates of service from June 1, 2022 through 

June 30, 2022, prior authorization will not be 

required.  Effective July 1, 2022 for dates of 

service of July 1, 2022 and forward, prior 

authorization will be required and obtained 

through Beacon, as outlined below. Beacon 

will outreach to providers to ensure 

appropriate review of all prior authorization 

and concurrent review requests for CMAP 

eligible members in alignment with medical 

necessity and ASAM criteria for dates of 

service beginning on July 1, 2022.  

 

New Authorizations: 

For any new admissions of CMAP eligible 

members on or after July 1, 2022, providers 

will need to seek authorization from Beacon 

and document that admission to the ASAM 

Level of Care (LOC) is supported using a 

multidimensional psychosocial assessment as 

outlined in the ASAM criteria. Treatment plans 

consistent with the requirements of ASAM 

criteria based on the multidimensional 

assessment must be developed and 

documented for all CMAP eligible members. 

This is applicable to all CMAP eligible 

members regardless of the referring entity, 

including other state agencies.  For example, if 

a Judicial facility refers a member to a 

residential facility and that individual is 

eligible for CMAP, the provider must seek 

authorization from Beacon.  

 

External Toxicology Laboratory Testing 

and Billing Guidelines: 

Toxicology testing for substance use disorder 

purposes is an important treatment component 

for residential treatment programs.  Testing 

serves as a part of the clinical review of 

residents in a residential setting.  External 

toxicology laboratory tests are not included in 

the Department’s rate for residential treatment 

services and should therefore be billed 

separately by the external laboratory directly to 

CMAP.  

 

All external toxicology laboratory tests 

ordered shall be medically necessary for each 

member. No more than four external 

toxicology laboratory tests may be ordered 

under a single standing order.  No more than 

one external toxicology test may be ordered 

per week.  Each external toxicology laboratory 

test in excess of one per week requires a 

specific order from a qualified physician, 

physician assistant (PA) or advanced practice 

registered nurse (APRN) that is documented in 

the medical record of the member and explains 

why such additional external toxicology 

laboratory test or tests is medically necessary. 

In each member’s medical record, the 

Physician/PA/APRN shall include clinical 

documentation demonstrating the need for any 

external laboratory testing ordered or referred 

by the provider. The provider shall also include 

documentation in each member’s medical 

record that appropriate medical personnel 

employed by the provider have reviewed and 

interpreted external laboratory tests and 

explain in the medical records how such 

interpretation of the tests has affected the 

member’s plan of care. 
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Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program (SNAP) Requirements:  

Providers who elect to request the use of the 

member’s SNAP benefits, if applicable, must 

be authorized directly by the U.S. Department 

of Agriculture (USDA) Food and Nutrition 

Service (FNS) as a SNAP retailer. Providers 

must designate an employee as an authorized 

representative. The provider must provide DSS 

with a list of currently participating residents, 

monthly, that includes a statement signed by a 

responsible agency official attesting to the 

validity of the list.  As the state’s SNAP 

agency, DSS is required to conduct periodic 

random on-site visits to assure the accuracy of 

the list.  The provider may not receive more 

than one half of the benefit allotment prior to 

the 16th of the month. The provider must have 

the means to return the benefits to the 

individual’s Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) 

account through a refund, transfer or other 

means. All correspondence to DSS regarding 

SNAP should be directed to: Todd Mallard 

(todd.mallard@ct.gov).  

 

When an individual leaves the treatment 

center, the center must perform the following: 

• Notify DSS. If possible, the center must 

provide the household with a change report 

form to report to DSS the household's new 

address and other circumstances after 

leaving the center and must advise the 

household to return the form to the 

appropriate office of DSS within 10 days. 

After the household leaves the treatment 

center, the center can no longer act as the 

household's authorized representative for 

certification purposes or for obtaining or 

using benefits. 

• Provide the individual with its EBT card if 

it was in the possession of the treatment 

center. The treatment center must return to 

DSS any EBT card not provided to 

departing residents by the end of each 

month. 

• If no benefits have been spent on behalf of 

the individual household, the center must 

return the full value of any benefits already 

debited from the household's current 

monthly allotment back into the 

household's EBT account at the time the 

household leaves the center. 

• If the benefits have already been debited 

from the EBT account and any portion 

spent on behalf of the household, the 

following procedures must be followed. 

o If the individual leaves prior to the 16th 

day of the month, the center must 

ensure that the household has one-half 

of its monthly benefit allotment 

remaining in its EBT account unless 

DSS issues semi-monthly allotments 

and the second half has not been posted 

yet. 

o If the individual leaves on or after the 

16th day of the month, DSS, at its 

option, may require the center to give 

the household a portion of its allotment. 

If the center is authorized as a retailer, 

DSS may require the center to provide 

a refund for that amount back to the 

household's EBT account at the time 

that the household leaves the center. 

Under an EBT system where the center 

has an aggregate EBT card, DSS may, 

but is not required to, transfer a portion 

of the household's monthly allotment 

from a center's EBT account back to the 

household's EBT account. In either 

case, the household, not the center, 

must be allowed to have sole access to 

any benefits remaining in the 

household's EBT account at the time 

the household leaves the center. 

• If the individual has already left the 

treatment center, and as a result, the 

treatment center is unable to return the 

benefits, the treatment center must advise 

DSS, and DSS must effect the return 

instead. These procedures are applicable at 

any time during the month. 

 

Billing Guidelines: 

Providers may bill for the treatment services 

for every CMAP eligible member who was in 

treatment at the facility on the day that they 
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occupied a bed until the next calendar day.  For 

example, if a member was admitted at any time 

on January 2nd up until 11:59 p.m. on January 

2nd, and that member occupied a bed on 

January 2nd and the morning of January 3rd, the 

provider may bill for January 2nd.  Providers 

may not bill for services on the day of 

discharge.   

 

The amount, frequency, and duration of 

covered SUD services must be provided in 

accordance with the member’s individualized 

treatment plan and ASAM criteria and must 

also comply with the Medicaid program’s 

statutory definition of medical necessity in 

section 17b-259b(a) of the Connecticut 

General Statutes.  The applicable levels of care 

for the provision of SUD services and the 

service components covered within each 

setting, each of which aligns with the ASAM 

levels of care, are as detailed below. 

 

For dates of service on and after June 1, 2022 

where the provider is actively working to 

ensure full compliance with ASAM criteria 

specific to that level of care, providers may bill 

for services under provisional certification as 

they work diligently and continuously towards 

meeting applicable compliance requirements 

and full certification.   

 

During the provisional certification period, 

providers may bill for services even though 

they may not meet the full ASAM 

requirements and state standards. Service 

duration requirements by level of care are in 

effect upon implementation of the program.  

For example, the per diem rates may be billed 

during the provisional certification period even 

if, to the extent necessary, clinical or treatment 

hours are performed by the staff without the 

full qualifications required in the provider 

standards.  This is only applicable during the 

provisional certification period as providers 

actively work towards full compliance and full 

certification. Staff should continue to operate 

within their scope of practice as applicable 

under state law.  

 

The residential treatment facility must fully 

comply with ASAM criteria on or before the 

date that its provisional certification 

expires.  Once a facility’s provisional 

certification expires or is revoked, Medicaid 

will pay the residential treatment facility for 

SUD services only if the residential 

treatment facility has obtained and 

maintains applicable full certification from 

the state or its agent(s), as detailed above, 

and fully complies with ASAM criteria and 

maintains such compliance on an ongoing 

basis.  

 

Medicaid payment for residential SUD 

services is all-inclusive and includes payment 

for all of the following categories of services: 

assessment and individualized treatment plan 

development; therapy; health assessments, 

health monitoring, health education requiring a 

medical license (in one of the categories of 

qualified practitioners for this service) for an 

individual or group session with members to 

learn specific ways of coping and progressing 

in their recovery; peer support; service 

coordination; skill building and psycho-

education. Psychotropic and other medication 

management (including prescribing, 

monitoring, administration and observation of 

self-administration, as applicable) are included 

to the extent medically necessary and as 

permitted under state law. The cost of the 

medications is billed separately. 

 

Each provider must obtain all licenses and 

certifications applicable to all age cohorts 

(children, adults, or both) that it serves and all 

levels of care that it providers.  For services 

provided outside the state to a CMAP enrolled 

provider as authorized by the state in 

accordance with federal regulations in 42 

C.F.R. § 431.52, the provider facility and each 

practitioner employed by or working under 

contract to the facility must have comparable 

credentials in the state in which the facility is 
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located, as determined by DSS and 

documented during the provider enrollment 

process. 

 

Medication for Addiction Treatment 

(MAT) Billing Requirements: 

As noted above, the rates include psychotropic 

and other medication management (including 

prescribing, monitoring, administration and 

observation of self-administration, as 

applicable) are included to the extent 

medically necessary and as permitted under 

state law. The following physician 

administered MAT may be provided and billed 

in residential treatment facilities who employ 

or contract with a qualified and enrolled 

prescriber and must have the corresponding 

NDC listed on the claim:  

 

HCPCS Description 

J0571 Buprenorphine, oral, 1 mg 

J0572 

Buprenorphine/naloxone, oral, 

less than or equal to 3 mg 

buprenorphine 

J0573 

Buprenorphine/naloxone, oral, 

greater than 3 mg, but less than or 

equal to 6 mg buprenorphine 

J0574 

Buprenorphine/naloxone, oral, 

greater than 6 mg, but less than or 

equal to 10 mg buprenorphine 

J0592 

Injection, buprenorphine 

hydrochloride, 0.1 mg 

J2310 

Injection, naloxone 

hydrochloride, per 1 mg 

J2315 

Injection, naltrexone, depot form, 

1 mg 

Q9991 

Injection, buprenorphine 

extended-release (sublocade), less 

than or equal to 100 mg 

Q9992 

Injection, buprenorphine 

extended-release (sublocade), 

greater than 100 mg 

 

Billing Codes: 

Effective June 1, 2022, the following codes 

must be used for CMAP eligible members. 

Each code is a per diem rate and may be billed 

when a member is at the facility for the entire 

day and overnight.  Billing on the day of 

discharge is not permitted. Providers should 

bill both a treatment code (“Tx” in the below 

table) and a room and board code (“R&B” in 

the below table) for each billable date of 

service. Providers must include the modifiers 

for their respective ASAM Level of Care as 

outlined below. 

 

 

An SUD diagnosis must be the primary 

diagnosis on all claims.   

 

* CMAP eligible members who are referred by 

DOC:  providers must include the modifier HZ 

“Criminal Justice Agency Fund” on any claim 

for those members who are referred by DOC. 

 

ASAM Level of Care 

Description 

Procedure Codes 

and Modifiers* 

3.1 Clinically Managed 

Low-Intensity Residential 

Services 

Tx:     H2034 

R&B: H0047 HF 

3.2 Clinically Managed 

Residential Withdrawal 

Management 

Tx:     H0010 

R&B: H0047 HG 

3.3 Clinically Managed 

High-Intensity Residential 

Tx:     H2036 HI 

R&B: H0047 HI 

3.5 Clinically Managed 

High Intensity Residential  

Tx:     H2036 

R&B: H0047 

3.5 Clinically Managed 

Population-Specific High 

Intensity Residential – 

Pregnant and Parenting 

Women 

Tx:     H2036 HD 

R&B: H0047 HD 

3.7 Medically Monitored 

Intensive Inpatient 

Treatment 

Tx:     H2036 HV 

R&B: H0047 HV 

3.7 Medically Monitored 

Intensive Inpatient 

Treatment – Co-occurring 

Enhanced 

Tx:     H2036 HE 

R&B: H0047 HE 

3.7 Withdrawal 

Management- Clinically 

Monitored Inpatient 

Withdrawal Management 

Tx:     H0011 

R&B: H0047 HW 
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CMAP eligible members who are referred by 

the Judicial Branch: providers must include the 

modifier H9 “Court-Ordered” on any claim for 

those members referred by Judicial. 

  

Other CMAP Covered Services Available: 

Medicaid members who are in a psychiatric 

hospital or free-standing residential SUD 

treatment facility may access other Medicaid-

covered services such as medical, dental, 

laboratory, and non-emergency medical 

transportation.  Similarly, CHIP members who 

are in the hospital or facility may also access 

other CHIP-covered services, such as medical, 

dental, and laboratory services. 

 

Accessing the Fee Schedule:  

The updated fee schedule can be accessed and 

downloaded by accessing the Connecticut 

Medical Assistance Program (CMAP) Web 

site: www.ctdssmap.com.  From this Web 

page, go to “Provider”, then to “Provider Fee 

Schedule Download”.  Click on the “I accept” 

button and proceed to click on the “Free-

Standing Substance Use Disorder (SUD) 

Residential Treatment Facilities” fee schedule.  

To access the CSV file, press the control key 

while clicking the CSV link, then select 

“Open”. 

 

Posting Instructions:  

Policy transmittals can be downloaded from 

the Web site at www.ctdssmap.com. 

 

Distribution:   

This policy transmittal is being distributed to 

providers of the CMAP by Gainwell 

Technologies. 

 

Responsible Unit:   

DSS, Division of Health Services, Integrated 

Care Unit, Behavioral Health, Keri Lloyd, at 

keri.lloyd@ct.gov  

 

Date Issued:  May 2022 

https://www.ctdssmap.com/
https://www.ctdssmap.com/
https://www.ctdssmap.com/
mailto:keri.lloyd@ct.gov

