What Other States are Doing

Vermont:
= MOR (OPIS price + FM ($0.50))
* DOR plus Cash Discount Maine: Different CEAP Pricing Models:
+ (Contract Price Price not to exceed
DOR price or Contract Margin Over Rack (MOR) - The MOR model of
New York: ‘ Elr::;? (Price Protection reimbursement is basing the wholesale oil price on the
« MOR (OPIS price + FM } "rar:kf” or term!na_l prn:_e, to which a fixed margin is added.
($0.31 - $0.41), or retail The f!xed margm_ls dem_gned to cover expenses from the
price if lower, N terminal to the final point of sale.
* DOR or retail price if ) )
lower "\0{‘(;5‘/ Discount Off Retail (DOR) = Under the DOR model, vendors
(o N agree to be paid the daily retail price at the time of delivery,
1 New Hampshire: less a certain amount per gallon discount.
—— Agencies negotiate with ve_ndors
Most cases lowest Cash price

Retail Price: Price charged by the vendor on the day of
delivery

Massachusetts:
+ MOR (OPIS price+ FM {$0.75))

Retail Cash Price: Price charged by the vendor when the
customer pays cash, usually lower than retail price

Rhode Island — whichever is lower:
= Retail Cash Price of the day, or
the Contract Price vendor and client
agreed upon

Contract Price: Price to be paid during the season, but
charged by the vendor and agreed upon at the beginning of

the season
Connecticut:
»| MOR with County Differential
*« MOR (OPIS price + FM ($0.50) + Some states have limitations on the amount of fees their
County Differential), or retail vendors can charge

price if lower

Source: Energy Vendor and Local Administering Agency Agreements | The LIHEAP Clearinghouse (hhs.gov)




Deliverable Fuel — Additional Details on Other State Approaches

Below is information on LIHEAP deliverable fuel payment approaches in several states identified in relation to Program Year 2023-
2024.

Massachusetts

The Margin Over Rack (“MOR”) pricing method is used by local Administrating Agencies (LAA’s) to purchase #2 fuel oil from local
dealers on behalf of their clients.

Dealers receive either the MOR price (based on OPIS data) or their current posted price for the delivery date, whichever is less. Qil
vendors are required by their vendor agreement to submit delivery tickets with their current retail price. This information is entered
into each Local Administering Agencies’ database. The software programs used by LAAs are designed to compare the retail price of
oil and the MOR price for the date of delivery. The lesser of the two is paid to the vendor. The difference between the two is
considered the savings generated or leveraged resources.

The price posted each day is used for the pricing of deliveries made the following day.

Vermont

The MOR price is calculated and posted by the Office of Fuel & Utility Assistance and is based on the Vermont Fuel Assistance Rack
Price (VFARP). The VFARP for oil, kerosene/ULSD and propane will be determined each day and will be calculated based on averages
or “weighted” averages of daily rack prices (OPIS) and then adding a $.50 margin. The VFARP will be posted beginning October 31 on
the Office of Fuel & Utility Assistance website: http://dcf.vermont.gov/benefits/fuel-assistance/rack. The VFARP will be posted each
day and is applicable to fuel deliveries the following day.

Alternatively, the Supplier agrees to apply at the time of delivery a discount off retail (DOR), which is a fixed discount of $0.15 per
gallon off the Supplier’s daily posted retail price, in addition to the Supplier’s regular cash or prompt payment discount. Under a DOR
agreement, any taxes associated with the Supplier’s distribution of fuel may be included in the Supplier’s daily-posted retail price or
itemized, as long as those pricing practices are in accordance with Federal and State law, and the method chosen is applied
consistently among all customers


http://dcf.vermont.gov/benefits/fuel-assistance/rack

Fuel suppliers who are certified and wish to decertify from the Fuel Program at any time or make a once-a-year change between
MOR and DOR pricing agreements at any time, including during the winter heating season, must provide the Fuel & Utility Office
with 30 days written notice of their intent to decertify from the Fuel Program or make a one-time pricing agreement change.

New York

NY operates a fuel buying component intended to expand the buying power of LIHEAP dollars by obtaining a lower than retail price
for LIHEAP purchased oil, kerosene and propane. This discounted price materially enhances the purchasing power of LIHEAP eligible
households.

Attached link to New York’s Vendor Document that outlines the Margin Over Rack (MOR) and the Discount Off Retail (DOR) options
HEAP Vendor Agreement - Deliverable Non-Utility Services Component (ny.gov).

e Of Note: For every gallon of heating oil delivered to an eligible household the home energy supplier will charge against that
household’s LIHEAP benefit the lesser of:

o The home energy supplier’s normal price for heating oil for that customer on the date of delivery (i.e., the price
the customer would have been charged in the absence of this program, with any adjustments for normal or
promotional discounts or pricing), or

o The MOR LIHEAP Only Heating Qil Program Price, which will be calculated by adding a margin of 35 cents to the
previous day’s average rack price for your designated terminal or for your selected terminal if your company has
opted to use a non-OPIS terminal.

Maryland
Payments to Suppliers

Local Administering Agencies (LAAs) issue LIHEAP payments to non-utility fuel suppliers that have signed the Energy Supplier
Agreement with the state. The payment is for the total benefit amount, minus 3% (except for those customers in crisis status);
however, the energy supplier is required to give the customer credit for the entire benefit as stated on the EDS. Payment checks and


https://otda.ny.gov/programs/heap/documents/Vendor-Agreement-Non-Utility.pdf

copies of the EDS are mailed together to the supplier. LAAs shall generate and reconcile the Duplicate Payment Report every
Monday by close of business.

Rhode Island
The vendor agrees to charge the lower of:
1. The vendor's daily posted price per gallon on the day of delivery, or

2. Any price per gallon agreement the vendor and client entered into.

New Hampshire

The Supplier will charge the eligible household, in the normal billing process, any difference between the actual cost of the home
energy and the amount of the payment made by a community action agency as Subgrantee of the State of New Hampshire Fuel
Assistance Program. The Supplier is required to apply any discounts for “prompt payment” if they use a variable pricing structure.



