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Department of Social Services Coronavirus Relief Fund (CRF)  

Behavioral Health Provider Grants 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) 

REVISED August 21, 2020 

 

Question: Which providers are eligible to receive a CRF grant? 

Answer:  

To be eligible to receive a CRF grant, behavioral health clinics, behavioral health clinicians, 

residential detoxification facilities, private residential treatment facilities and methadone clinic 

providers must (1) be enrolled in good standing in the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program 

(CMAP); 2) have received Medicaid payments in the first quarter of 2020 (January to March); 

and (3) meet all applicable requirements stated in the DSS Notice of CRF Payment Standard 

Form; and 4) for providers that will receive CRF grants of $25,000 or more, complete and 

submit to DSS a CRF Payment Cost Report Form.   

 

Question: How can CRF grant funds be utilized? What are the restrictions around use of these 

funds? 

Answer:  

CRF payments may be used only for specific documented costs and expenses incurred due to 

the COVID-19 public health emergency, consistent with federal law and guidance, but excluding 

general costs such as business interruption related to COVID-19 closures, even if those general 

costs are federally allowable. Allowable costs include: 

 

a. Employee wages specifically related to Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19), including 

hazard pay, overtime and comparable costs for practitioners affiliated with the Recipient 

who work under contract to the Recipient and whose services are billed by the Recipient to 

health care payers; 

 

b. New costs related to COVID-19, including personal protective equipment, cleaning and 

housekeeping supplies, costs related to provision of telehealth services, costs related to 

enabling employees to telework, COVID-19 testing, and screening of patients, visitors, and 

employees for COVID-19; and 

 

c. Other specific, documented COVID-19 related costs that are eligible for the use of CRF 

funding under Section 601(a) of the Social Security Act, as added pursuant to Section 5001 

of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (P.L. 116-136) and associated 
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federal CRF requirements and guidance (collectively, “Federal CRF requirements”), but not 

including any general costs such as business interruption related to COVID-19 closures, 

regardless of whether such general costs would be permissible under Federal CRF 

Requirements. 

 

 

Question: What is the process for receiving a CRF grant? 

Answer:  

In brief: 

 

To draw down CRF grant funds, eligible providers must as soon as possible, but no later than 

August 28, 2020, do the following (please see below for more detail): 

 all eligible must log into each of their existing Connecticut Medical Assistance Program 

(CMAP) secure Web portal accounts, download the required Notice of CRF Payment 

Standard Form (CRF Payment Form) and sign the form(s) electronically; and 

 all eligible providers that will receive CRF grant payments of $25,000 or more must also 

download a CRF Payment Cost Report Form (CRF Cost Report) from the DSS website, 

complete the form and send it to the dedicated DSS email address identified below. 

 

More detail: 

 

DSS’s Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) contractor DXC Technology will post a 

CRF Payment Form specific to each eligible provider type on the CMAP secure web portal.  Each 

eligible provider that wishes to apply for CRF payments must log into their CMAP secure Web 

portal account(s) at www.ctdssmap.com and then select the menu option for “CRF Payment” 

(on the far right side of the menu bar) to read and electronically sign the Notice of CRF Payment 

Standard Form.  Please review the entire Notice of CRF Payment Standard Form carefully.  

Providers that have multiple AVRS IDs will need to log in to each AVRS account to review and 

sign each of the Notice of CRF Payment Standard Forms.   

 

Each provider that will receive total CRF payment(s) of $25,000 or more (i.e., total CRF 

payments to all of the provider’s AVRS IDs) must also complete and submit a CRF Payment 

Cost Report to DSS as soon as possible and not later than August 28, 2020.  The completed cost 

report must be received before DSS will process CRF payments and must also document any 

PPP loan forgiveness received or expected to be received.  If actual or expected PPP loan 

forgiveness payments and CRF payments exceed applicable costs, CRF payments will be 

reduced or recouped to the full extent necessary to avoid duplicate payments for the same 

costs.  The cost report form is posted to the DSS Web site at  http://www.ct.gov/dss/crf-grants .  

https://www.ctdssmap.com/
http://www.ct.gov/dss/crf-grants
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Completed cost reports must be submitted to CRF.CostReports@ct.gov.  In addition, if revisions 

are necessary, providers may submit revised cost reports no later than September 30, 2020. 

Providers must complete all process steps identified above before DSS can process CRF 

payments.   

 

Question: How does a provider access its secure CMAP web portal account(s)? 

Answer:  

Providers should previously have established their secure Web portal accounts.  If a provider 

has not accessed those accounts within the past 90 days, the provider may be prompted to 

reset its password or unlock its account.  Please refer to Provider Bulletin (PB) 18-34, Enhanced 

Secure Web Site Features for Password Resets, Locked Accounts, and Disabled Accounts for 

self-service features that will be of support. If a provider has attempted to use these self-

service features, but remains unable to access its account, please contact the Provider 

Assistance Center at 1-800-842-8440.   

 

 

Question: How did DSS determine the amount of the grants, and what period of time do they 

cover? 

Answer:  

The overall grant levels have been determined based upon applying a percentage increase on 
all Medicaid payments for the period of July 1, 2019 through December 31, 2019 to certain 
behavioral health providers. The resulting amounts are then adjusted to reflect the quarterly 
April 1, 2020 through June 30, 2020 period that the grant is intended to address. The 
percentage increase applied for the affected providers are noted below: 
 

 10% for behavioral health clinicians 

 10% for behavioral health clinics 

 10% for methadone clinics 

 20% for private residential treatment facilities 

 20% for residential detoxification services 
 
Grant distributions by provider are based upon each provider’s prorated share of the total 
Medicaid payments for the January 1, 2020 through March 31, 2020 quarter. This was done 
with the intent of utilizing a more recent period that was not significantly affected by COVID-19. 
 

 

mailto:CRF.CostReports@ct.gov
https://www.ctdssmap.com/CTPortal/Information/Get%20Download%20File/tabid/44/Default.aspx?Filename=PB18_34.pdf&URI=Bulletins/PB18_34.pdf
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Question: How will funds received under the federal Paycheck Protection Program affect CRF 

grants?  

Answer:  

If providers apply for or receive a loan from the federal Paycheck Protection Program (PPP), at 

any point in time during 2020, they must: (1) ensure that no CRF payments will be used to cover 

costs that the provider has reported or anticipates reporting on a PPP loan forgiveness 

application; and (2) reduce their CRF payment request(s) accordingly.   

 

Providers that are required to file a CRF Cost Report must also document any PPP loan 

forgiveness that they receive or expect to receive.  If actual or expected PPP loan forgiveness 

payments and CRF payments exceed applicable costs, DSS will reduce or recoup CRF payments 

to the full extent necessary to avoid duplicate payments for the same costs.  

 

Question: What types of documentation are required for the CRF grant? Is a separate audited 

financial statement required? 

Answer:  

Only costs and expenses incurred due to the COVID-19 public health emergency, consistent 

with federal law and CRF guidance, and with supporting documentation, will be eligible for CRF 

payments. Providers must document and maintain records of COVID-19 costs. 

 

Question: Will DSS be providing additional CRF or other State funding after June 30, 2020 to 

reimburse COVID-19 related costs since the Governor’s emergency declaration will be in place 

and COVID activity will remain in the community? 

Answer:  

No. The CRF funding period ends on June 30, 2020. 

 

Question: Where can a provider find more information about the CRF grant process? 

Answer:  

Additional details regarding CRF grant payments are posted to the DSS Web site at:  

http://www.ct.gov/dss/crf-grants . 

 

 

http://www.ct.gov/dss/crf-grants

