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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 
 

On  the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) issued  
 (the “Appellant”) a Notice of Action (“NOA”) advising the Appellant of her 

eligibility for benefits under the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (“SNAP”) for 
$0.00 for  and $64.00 per month, effective  

 
On  the Department issued the Appellant a NOA advising the Appellant of 
her eligibility for benefits under the SNAP for $23.00 per month, effective  
 
On  the Appellant requested an administrative hearing because she 
disagrees with the amount of her SNAP benefits. 
 
On  the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hearings 
(“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for  
 
On  in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61 and 4-176e to 4-184 
inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held a telephonic 
administrative hearing. The following individuals participated in the hearing: 
 

 Appellant 
Carmen Ferrer, Department’s Representative 
Sara Hart, Hearing Officer 
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11. The Appellant is eligible for the Medicare Savings Program, which pays the cost of 
the Appellant’s Medicare B premium.  (Department’s Testimony)  

 

12. On  the Department issued a NOA to the Appellant advising that her 
SNAP benefits would be $0.00 for the benefit period start date of  
through  and $64.00 per month, effective   The NOA 
listed the Appellant as the sole eligible household member and noted that the Child 
was not eligible for SNAP because he did not meet the requirements for a student. 
(Exhibit 2:   

 

13. On  the Department issued a second NOA to the Appellant advising 
that her SNAP benefits would be $23.00, effective   The NOA listed the 
Child as an ineligible member because he did not meet the requirements for a 
student.  (Exhibit 3: NOA  

 

14. On  the Appellant requested a fair hearing to contest the amount of 
her SNAP benefits and the Department’s determination that the Child was an 
ineligible higher education student.  (Hearing Record) 

 

15. On  the Department determined that the Child was an eligible higher-
education student through relaxed student exemptions under the Public Health 
Emergency (“PHE”).  The Department further determined that a technological issue 
with the Department’s Impact eligibility system resulted in the incorrect omission of 
the Child from the Appellant’s SNAP household and benefit computation.  
(Department’s Testimony) 

 

16. On  the Department’s hearing liaison informed the Department’s 
technology department of the issue with the Department’s Impact system, requesting 
correction of the error.  (Department’s Testimony) 

 

17. The issuance of this decision is timely under Title 7 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations (“C.F.R.”) § 273.15(c)(1) which provides that the State agency shall 
issue a decision within 60 days of receipt of a request for a fair hearing The 
Appellant requested an administrative hearing on  with this decision due by 

  The hearing record remained open for fourteen additional days; 
therefore, this decision is due no later than  (Hearing Record) 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. Section 17b-2(7) of the Connecticut General Statutes provides that the Department 
of Social Services is designated as the state agency for the administration of the 
supplemental nutrition assistance program pursuant to the Food and Nutrition Act of 
2008. 
 
The Department has the authority to review the Appellant’s SNAP eligibility 
and determine benefit amounts. 
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2. 7 C.F.R. § 273.2(c)(4)(iv) provides for the application date and states the date of 
application is the date the application is received by the State agency. State 
agencies must document the application date on the application. If the application is 
received outside normal business hours the State agency will consider the date of 
application the next business day. 
 
The hearing record lacks evidence of a  SNAP application date.  
The evidence provided by the Department supports that the Appellant applied 
for SNAP on  

3. 7 C.F.R. § 273.1(a) provides for household concept and states that a household is 

composed of one of the following individuals or groups of individuals, unless 
otherwise specified in paragraph (b) of this section. 

7 C.F.R. § 273.1(b)(1) provides for required household combinations. The following 
individuals who live with others must be considered as customarily purchasing food 
and preparing meals with the others, even if they do not do so, and thus must be 
included in the same household, unless otherwise specified.  

ii. A person under 22 years of age who is living with his or her natural or 
adoptive parent(s) or step-parent(s).                                  

The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s household size of two 
members, including the Appellant and her son. 
 

3. 7 C.F.R. § 273.9(b) states that household income shall mean all income from 
whatever source excluding only items specified in paragraph (c) of this section. 
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.9(b)(2)(iii) provides unearned income shall include but not be limited 
to support or alimony payments made directly to the household from non-household 
members. 

 
The Department correctly considered the Appellant’s SSDI unearned income 
in the calculation of SNAP benefits. 
 

4. 7 C.F.R. § 273.10(c)(1)(i) provides that for the purpose of determining the 
household's eligibility and level of benefits, the state agency shall take into account 
the income already received by the household during the certification period and any 
anticipated income the household and the State agency are reasonably certain will 
be received during the remainder of the certification period. If the amount of income 
that will be received, or when it will be received, is uncertain, that portion of the 
household's income that is uncertain shall not be counted by the State agency. For 
example, a household anticipating income from a new source, such as a new job or 
recently applied for public assistance benefits may be uncertain as to the timing and 
amount of the initial payment. These moneys shall not be anticipated by the State 
agency unless there is reasonable certainty concerning the month in which the 
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payment will be received and in what amount. If the exact amount of the income is 
not known, that portion of it which can be anticipated with reasonable certainty shall 
be considered as income. In cases where the receipt of income is reasonably certain 
but the monthly amount may fluctuate, the household may elect to income average. 
Households shall be advised to report all changes in gross monthly income as 
required by § 273.12. 
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(c)(1)(ii) provides in part that income received during the past 30 
days shall be used as an indicator of the income that is and will be available to the 
household during the certification period.  
 
The Department correctly determined the household’s income equaled $1,782.00 
per month. 

5. 7 C.F.R. § 273.5(a) provides an individual who is enrolled at least half-time in an 
institution of higher education shall be ineligible to participate in SNAP unless the 
individual qualifies for one of the exemptions contained in paragraph (b) of this 
section. An individual is considered to be enrolled in an institution of higher 
education if the individual is enrolled in a business, technical, trade, or vocational 
school that normally requires a high school diploma or equivalency certificate for 
enrollment in the curriculum or if the individual is enrolled in a regular curriculum at a 
college or university that offers degree programs regardless of whether a high 
school diploma is required.  
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.5(c) provides the enrollment status of a student shall begin on the 
first day of the school term of the institution of higher education. Such enrollment 
shall be deemed to continue through normal periods of class attendance, vacation 
and recess, unless the student graduates, is suspended or expelled, drops out, or 
does not intend to register for the next normal school term (excluding summer 
school). 
 
The Department correctly determined that the Child is continually enrolled at 
least half-time as a higher education student at . 
 

6. 7 C.F.R. § 273.5(b) provides that to be eligible for the program, a student as defined 
in paragraph (a) of the section must meet at least one of the following criteria:(1) be 
age 17 or younger or age 50 or older; (2) be physically or mentally unfit; (3) be 
receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy Families under Title IV of the Social 
Security Act; (4) be enrolled as a result of participation in the Job Opportunities and 
Basic Skills program under Title IV of the Social Security Act or its successor 
program; (5) Be employed for a minimum of 20 hours per week and be paid for such 
employment or, if self-employed, be employed for a minimum of 20 hours per week 
and receiving weekly earnings at least equal to the Federal minimum wage 
multiplied by 20 hours. The State agency may choose to determine compliance with 
this requirement by calculating whether the student worked an average of 20 hours 
per week over the period of a month, quarter, trimester or semester. State agencies 
may choose to exclude hours accrued during academic breaks that do not exceed 
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one month. A state agency that chooses to average student work hours must specify 
this choice and specify the time period over which the work hours will be averaged in 
its State plan of operation; (6) Be participating in a State or Federally financed work-
study program during the regular school year. (1) To qualify under this provision, the 
student must be approved for work study at the time of application for SNAP 
benefits, the work-study must be approved for the school term, and the student must 
anticipate actually working during that time. The exemption shall begin with the 
month in which the school term begins or the month work study is approved, 
whichever is later. Once begun, the exemption shall continue until the end of the 
month in which the school term ends, or it becomes known that the student has 
refused an assignment. (ii) The exemption shall not continue between terms when 
there is a break of a full month or longer unless the student is participating in work-
study during the break. (7) Be participating in an on-the-job training program. A 
person is considered to be participating in an on-the-job training program only during 
the period of time the person is being trained by the employer; (8) be responsible for 
the care of a dependent household member under the age of 6; (9) Be responsible 
for the care of a dependent household member who has reached the age of 6 but is 
under age 12 when the State agency has determined that adequate child care in not 
available to enable the student to attend class and comply with the work 
requirements of paragraph ()(5) or (b) (6) of this section. (10) Be a single parent 
enrolled in an institution of higher education on a full-time basis (as determined by 
the institution) and be responsible for the care of a dependent child under age 12. (i) 
This provision applies in those situations where only one natural, adoptive or 
stepparent (regardless of marital status) is in the same SNAP household as the 
child. (ii) If no natural, adoptive or stepparent is in the same SNAP household as the 
child, another fulltime student in the same SNAP household as the child may qualify 
for eligible student status under this provision if he or she has parental control over 
the child and is not living with his or her spouse. (11) Be assigned to or placed in an 
institution of higher education through or in compliance with the requirements of one 
of the programs identified in paragraphs (b)(11)(i) through (b)(11)(iv) of this section. 
Self-initiated placements during the period of time the person is enrolled in one of 
these employment and training programs shall be considered to be in compliance 
with the requirements of the employment and training program in which the person is 
enrolled provided that the program has a component for enrollment in an institution 
of higher education and that program accepts the placement. Persons who 
voluntarily participate in one of the employment and training programs and are 
placed in an institution of higher education through or in compliance with the 
requirements of the program shall also qualify to the exemption. The programs are 
(i) A program under the Job Training Partnership Act of 1974 (29 U.S. C. 1501, et 
seq.); (ii) An employment and training program under § 273.7, subject to the 
condition that the course or program of study, as determined by the State agency; 
(a) Is part of a program of career and technical education as defined in section 3 of 
the Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Act of 2006 (20 U.S. C. 2302) 
designed to be completed in not more than 4 years at an institution of higher 
education as defined in section 102 of the Higher Education Act of 1965 (20U.S.C. 
2296; or (B) is limited to remedial courses, basic adult education, literacy, or English 
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as a second language. (iii) A program under section 236 of the Trade Act of 1974 
(19 U.S.C.2296; or (IV) An employment and training program for low-income 
households that is operated by a State or local government where one or more of 
the components of such program is at least equivalent to an acceptable SNAP 
employment and training program component as specified in §273.7(e)(1). Using the 
criteria in § 273.7(e)1), State agencies shall make the determinations as to whether 
or not the programs qualify.  
 
The Department correctly determined that the Child does not meet any of the 
student exemptions under 7 C.F.R. § 273.5(b). 
 

7. PUBLIC LAW 116–260—DEC. 27, 2020 CONSOLIDATED APPROPRIATIONS 
ACT, 2021 Section (e) provides for provisions for impacted students and states that 
(1) IN GENERAL.—Notwithstanding any other provision of law, not later than 20 
days after the date of the enactment of this Act, eligibility for supplemental nutrition 
assistance program benefits shall not be limited under section 6(e) of the Food and 
Nutrition Act of 2008 (7 U.S.C. 2015(e)) for an individual who— (A) is enrolled at 
least half-time in an institution of higher education; and (B)(i) is eligible to participate 
in a State or federally financed work study program during the regular school year as 
determined by the institution of higher education; or (ii) in the current academic year, 
has an expected family contribution of $0 as determined in accordance with part F of 
title IV of the Higher Education Act of 195 (20 U.S.C. 1087kk et. seq.). (2) 
SUNSET.— (A) INITIAL APPLICATIONS.—The eligibility standards authorized 
under paragraph (1) shall be in effect for initial applications for the supplemental 
nutrition assistance pro[1]gram until 30 days after the COVID–19 public health 
emergency is lifted. (B) RECERTIFICATIONS.—The eligibility standards authorized 
under paragraph (1) shall be in effect until the first recertification of a household 
beginning no earlier than 30 days after the COVID–19 public health emergency is 
lifted. 
 

United States Department of Agriculture (“USDA”) memo dated October 12, 2022 
provides for the end of Temporary Student Exemptions in the Consolidated 
Appropriations Act, 2021 for SNAP and states:   Under the CAA, States must stop 
applying the temporary exemptions at the household’s next recertification beginning 
no earlier than 30 days after the Federal PHE ends. This means that students 
recertifying in the first full calendar month that begins at least 30 days after the end 
of the PHE will no longer have the temporary exemptions applied to their case. For 
households recertifying after the Federal PHE is lifted but before the first full month 
beginning at least 30 days after the end of the Federal PHE, States will process 
applications using the temporary exemptions. States must base eligibility for the 
temporary student exemptions on the date the household applies for recertification, 
not the date of processing.  
 
The Appellant’s submission of her SNAP application on  
occurred prior to the ending of the PHE on   Because the Child 
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had an EFC of $0, he met the eligible student criteria under the PHE expanded 
student exemptions.  
 

6. 7 C.F.R. § 273.9(d)(1)(i) provides for the standard deduction. 48 States, District of 
Columbia, Alaska, Hawaii, and the Virgin Islands. Effective October 1, 2002, in the 
48 States and the District of Columbia, Alaska, Hawaii, and the Virgin Islands, the 
standard deduction for household sizes one through six shall be equal to 8.31 
percent of the monthly net income eligibility standard for each household size 
established under paragraph (a)(2) of this section rounded up to the nearest whole 
dollar. For household sizes greater than six, the standard deduction shall be equal to 
the standard deduction for a six-person household. 
 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant eligible for the $193.00 
standard deduction. 

 

7. 7 C.F.R § 273.9(d)(6)(iii) provides in relevant part the following: Standard utility 
allowances. (A) With FNS approval, a State agency may develop the following 
standard utility allowances (standards) to be used in place of actual costs in 
determining a household's excess shelter deduction: an individual standard for each 
type of utility expense; a standard utility allowance for all utilities that includes 
heating or cooling costs (HCSUA); 

The Department correctly determined the Appellant is entitled to the SUA, 
which is $921.00. 
 

8. 7 C.F.R. § 273.10(e)(1)(i) provides the following: Calculating net income and benefit 
levels-(1) Net monthly income.  To determine a household’s net monthly income, the 
State agency shall: 

 
A. Add the gross monthly income earned by all household members and the 

total monthly unearned income of all household members, minus income 
exclusions, to determine the household's total gross income. Net losses from 
the self-employment income of a farmer shall be offset in accordance with 
§273.11(a)(2)(iii). 

B. Multiply the total gross monthly earned income by 20 percent and subtract 
that amount from the total gross income; or multiply the total gross monthly 
earned income by 80 percent and add that to the total monthly unearned 
income, minus income exclusions. If the State agency has chosen to treat 
legally obligated child support payments as an income exclusion in 
accordance with §273.9(c)(17), multiply the excluded earnings used to pay 
child support by 20 percent and subtract that amount from the total gross 
monthly income. 

C. Subtract the standard deduction. 
D. If the household is entitled to an excess medical deduction as provided in 

§273.9(d)(3), determine if total medical expenses exceed #35.  If so, subtract 
that portion which exceeds $35. 
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E. Subtract allowable monthly dependent care expenses if, any, as specified 
under § 273.9(d)(4) for each dependent. 

F. If the State agency has chosen to treat legally obligated child support 
payments as a deduction rather than an exclusion in accordance with § 
273.9(d)(5), subtract allowable monthly child support payments in accordance 
with § 273.9(d)(5). 

G. Subtract the homeless shelter deduction, if any, up to the maximum of $143. 
H. Total the allowable shelter expenses to determine shelter costs, unless a 

deduction has been subtracted in accordance with paragraph (e)(1)(i)(G) of 
this section. Subtract from total shelter costs 50 percent of the household's 
monthly income after all the above deductions have been subtracted. The 
remaining amount, if any, is the excess shelter cost. If there is no excess 
shelter cost, the net monthly income has been determined. If there is excess 
shelter cost, compute the shelter deduction according to paragraph (e)(1)(i)(I) 
of this section. 

I. Subtract the excess shelter cost up to the maximum amount allowed for the 
area (unless the household is entitled to the full amount of its excess shelter 
expenses) from the household's monthly income after all other applicable 
deductions. Households not subject to a capped shelter expense shall have 
the full amount exceeding 50 percent of their net income subtracted. The 
household's net monthly income has been determined. 

   
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(e)(2)(ii)(A) provides the following: Except as provided in 
paragraphs (a)(1), (e)(2)(iii) and (e)(2)(vi) of this section, the household's monthly 
allotment shall be equal to the maximum SNAP allotment for the household's size 
reduced by 30 percent of the household's net monthly income as calculated in 
paragraph (e)(1) of this section. If 30 percent of the household's net income ends in 
cents, the State agency shall round in one of the following ways:  (1) “The State 
agency shall round the 30 percent of net income up to the nearest higher dollar”.   

7 C.F.R.§ 273.10(e)(4) provides the following: Thrifty Food Plan (TFP) and 
Maximum SNAP Allotments. (i) Maximum SNAP allotment level. Maximum SNAP 
allotments shall be based on the TFP as defined in §271.2, and they shall be 
uniform by household size throughout the 48 contiguous States and the District of 
Columbia. The TFP for Hawaii shall be the TFP for the 48 States and DC adjusted 
for the price of food in Honolulu. The TFPs for urban, rural I, and rural II parts of 
Alaska shall be the TFP for the 48 States and DC adjusted by the price of food in 
Anchorage and further adjusted for urban, rural I, and rural II Alaska as defined in 
§272.7(c). The TFPs for Guam and the Virgin Islands shall be adjusted for changes 
in the cost of food in the 48 States and DC, provided that the cost of these TFPs 
may not exceed the cost of the highest TFP for the 50 States. The TFP amounts and 
maximum allotments in each area are adjusted annually and will be prescribed in a 
table posted on the FNS web site, at www.fns.usda.gov/fsp.   

The Department incorrectly calculated the Appellant’s SNAP amount because 
it failed to include the Child as an eligible SNAP household member.  The 
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Appellant’s correct SNAP award cannot be established based on the hearing 
record. 

 

     DISCUSSION 
 

This decision does not confer the Child’s eligibility for the SNAP, but rather orders 
the Department to further evaluate the Child’s eligibility because he met expanded 
SNAP student exemptions under the PHE in place at the time of the Appellant’s 
application.   
 

DECISION 
 

The Appellant’s appeal is GRANTED.   
 
 

ORDER 
 
1. The Department shall reopen the Appellant’s  SNAP application. 

 
2. The Department shall add the Child to the Appellant’s SNAP award, effective 

 as an eligible higher education student and continue to determine 
SNAP eligibility for the Appellant’s household of 2 eligible members. 

 
3. Compliance with this order is due to the undersigned no later than  

, and shall consist of an updated NOA and Impact SNAP Income Test 
Pages for  through  

 
 

 
 
 

  
________________________ 

Sara Hart 
Fair Hearing Officer 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

CC: Carmen Ferrer, Department Representative Stamford Regional Office 

  Shahar Thadal, Operations Manager, Stamford Regional Office 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 

The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the 
mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new evidence 
has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for reconsideration is 
granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request date.  No response 
within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been denied.  The right to 
request a reconsideration is based on § 4-181a (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes.  

Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 

Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, 
CT  06105. 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 

The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of the 
mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for reconsideration 
of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the 
Department.  The right to appeal is based on § 4-183 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the petition must 
be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 

The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 
cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of 
Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good 
cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee 
in accordance with § 17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's decision 
to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 

The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 




