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The Department copied the income and expenses from the Schedule C into the 
ImpaCT system. The ImpaCT system calculated the self-employment income to be 
$8,291.17. The Department was unable to provide evidence or testimony to 
substantiate its calculation of the self-employment income (Ex. 1: Federal SNAP-
Income Test, Ex. 5: SNAP Computation Sheet, Department Testimony, Hearing 
Record) 

 
3. On , 2022, the Department calculated the amount of child support the 

Appellant’s spouse pays (for a child not residing in the home) to be $384.41 per month. 
(Ex. 5: SNAP Computation Sheet, Department Testimony) 

     
4. The household’s shelter expenses include a monthly mortgage totaling $1,377.59, 

monthly property taxes totaling $377.45, and utility expense which vary monthly. (Ex.  
2: Case Note dated /22, Ex. 3: NOA dated /22)  

 
5. On , 2022, the Department denied the SNAP application because the 

monthly net income of the household was more than the limit for this program and the 
household did not meet the SNAP program requirements. (Ex. 3: NOA dated 

/22) 
 

6. On , 2022, the Appellant reported to the  regional office to 
review the denial of her application. The Department added a medical expense 
deduction (expense paid for a child outside of home) totaling $428.00 to the ImpaCT 
system and reinstated SNAP effective  2022. SNAP was subsequently 
denied again as the household’s income exceeded the program’s limit. (Ex. 2: Case 
Note dated /22) 
 

7. As of  2022, the SNAP gross income limit for a household of seven was 
$6,985.00. (Hearing Record) 
 

8. As of  20222, the SNAP net income limit for a household of seven was 
$3,493.00. (Hearing Record) 

 
9. On , 2023, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to dispute 

the denial of SNAP benefits. (Hearing Record) 
 
10. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 17b-61(a) 

which requires that a decision be issued within  days of the request for an 

administrative hearing. The Appellant requested an administrative hearing on January 

 2022, making this decision is due no later than  2023, as , 

2023, falls on a weekend. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 

1. Section 17b-2 of the Connecticut General Statutes authorizes the Department of 

Social Services to administer the SNAP in accordance with Federal law. 

 

2. “Participation in the Program shall be limited to those households whose incomes are 

determined to be a substantial limiting factor in permitting them to obtain a more 

nutritious diet. Households which contain an elderly or disabled member shall meet 

the net income eligibility standards for SNAP. Households which do not contain an 

elderly or disabled member shall meet both the net income eligibility standards and 

the gross income eligibility standards for SNAP. Households which are categorically 

eligible as defined in § 273.2(j)(2) or 273.2(j)(4) do not have to meet either the gross 

or net income eligibility standards. The net and gross income eligibility standards shall 

be based on the Federal income poverty levels as provided in section 673(2) of the 

Community Services Block Grant Act (42 U.S.C. 9902(2).” Title 7 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations (“C.F.R.”) § 273.9(a) 

 

3. “Regular Categorical Eligibility (“RCE”). The following households are categorically 

eligible for SNAP benefits unless the entire household is institutionalized as defined 

in § 273.1(e) or disqualified for any reason from receiving SNAP benefits. (A) Any 

household (except those listed in paragraph (j)(2)(vii) of this section) in which all 

members receive or are authorized to receive cash through a PA program funded in 

full or in part with Federal money under Title IV-A or with State money counted for 

maintenance of effort (MOE) purposes under Title IV-A; (B) Any household (except 

those listed in paragraph (j)(2)(vii) of this section) in which all members receive or are 

authorized to receive non-cash or in-kind benefits or services from a program that is 

more than 50 percent funded with State money counted for MOE purposes under Title 

IV-A or Federal money under Title IV-A and that is designed to forward purposes one 

and two of the TANF block grant, as set forth in Section 401 of P.L. 104-193. (C) Any 

household (except those listed in paragraph (j)(2)(vii) of this section) in which all 

members receive or are authorized to receive non-cash or in-kind benefits or services 

from a program that is more than 50 percent funded with State money counted for 

MOE purposes under Title IV-A or Federal money under Title IV-A and that is designed 

to further purposes three and four of the TANF block grant, as set forth in Section 401 

of P.L. 104-193, and requires participants to have a gross monthly income at or below 

200 percent of the Federal poverty level. (D) Any household in which all members 

receive or are authorized to receive SSI benefits, except that residents of public 

institutions who apply jointly for SSI and SNAP benefits prior to their release from the 

institution in accordance with § 273.11(i), are not categorically eligible upon a finding 

by SSA of potential SSI eligibility prior to such release. The State agency must 
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consider the individuals categorically eligible at such time as SSA makes a final SSI 

eligibility and the institution has released the individual. (E) Any household in which 

all members receive or are authorized to receive PA and/or SSI benefits in accordance 

with paragraphs (j)(2)(i)(A) through (j)(2)(i)(D) of this section.” 7 C.F.R § 273.2(j)(1)-

(5) 

 

4. “Expanded Categorical Eligibility (“ECE”). The State agency, at its option, may extend 

categorical eligibility to the following households only if doing so will further the 

purposes of the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008: (A) Any household (except those listed 

in paragraph (j)(2)(vii) of this section) in which all members receive or are authorized 

to receive non-cash or in-kind services from a program that is less than 50 percent 

funded with State money counted for MOE purposes under Title IV-A or Federal 

money under Title IV-A and that is designed to further purposes one and two of the 

TANF block grant, as set forth in Section 401 of P.L. 104-193. States must inform FNS 

of the TANF services under this paragraph that they are determining to confer 

categorical eligibility. (B) Subject to FNS approval, any household (except those listed 

in paragraph (j)(2)(vii) of this section) in which all members receive or are authorized 

to receive non-cash or in-kind services from a program that is less than 50 percent 

funded with State money counted for MOE purposes under Title IV-A or Federal 

money under Title IV-A and that is designed to further purposes three and four of the 

TANF block grant, as set forth in Section 401 of P.L 104-193, and requires participants 

to have a gross monthly income at or below 200 percent of the Federal poverty level. 

(iii) Any household in which one member receives or is authorized to receive benefits 

according to paragraphs (j)(2)(i)(B), (j)(2)(i)(C), (j)(2)(ii)(A) and (j)(2)(ii)(B), of this 

section and the State agency determines that the whole household benefits.” 7 C.F.R. 

§ 273.2(j)(2)(ii)(A)-(B) and (iii)  

 

The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s household does not 

meet the RCE or ECE criteria. Therefore, the Appellant’s household is subject 

to both the gross income and net income eligibility tests. 

 

5. “Required Household Combinations. The following individuals who live with others 

must be considered as customarily purchasing food and preparing meals with the 

others, even if they do not do so, and thus must be included in the same household, 

unless otherwise specified. (i) Spouses (ii) A person under 22 years of age who is 

living with his or her natural or adoptive parent(s) or step-parent(s).” 7 C.F.R. § 

273.1(b)(1)(i) & (ii) 

 

The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s household must be 

considered an assistance unit size of seven as the household includes the 
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Appellant, her spouse and their five children who are all under the age of twenty-

two (22). 

 

6. “Self-Employment Income. The gross income from a self-employment enterprise, 

including the total gain from the sale of any capital goods or equipment related to the 

business, excluding the costs of doing business as provided in paragraph (c) of this 

section. Ownership of rental property shall be considered a self-employment 

enterprise; however, income derived from the rental property shall be considered 

earned income only if a member of the household is actively engaged in the 

management of the property at least an average of 20 hours a week. Payments from 

a roomer or boarder, except foster care boarders, shall also be considered self-

employment income.” 7 C.F.R. § 273.9(b)(1)(ii) 

 

7. “Allowable costs of producing self-employment income. Allowable costs of producing 

self-employment income include, but are not limited to, the identifiable costs of labor; 

stock; raw material; seed and fertilizer; payments on the principal of the purchase price 

of income-producing real estate and capital assets, equipment, machinery, and other 

durable goods; interest paid to purchase income-producing property; insurance 

premiums; and taxes paid on income-producing property.” 7 C.F.R. § 273.11(b)(1) 

 

Based on the evidence and testimony provided, it is unclear if the Department 

deducted the appropriate allowable self-employment expenses from the gross 

self-employment income. 

 

8. “Disallowed Self-Employment Expenses. In determining net self-employment income, 

the following items are not allowable costs of doing business: (i) net losses from 

previous periods; (ii) Federal, State, and local income taxes, money set aside for 

retirement purposes, and other work-related personal expenses (such as 

transportation to and from work), as these expenses are accounted for by the 20 

percent earned income deduction specified in § 273.9(d)(2); (iii) Depreciation; and (iv) 

Any amount that exceeds the payment a household receives from a boarder for 

lodging and meals.” 7 C.F.R. § 273.11(b)(2)(i)-(iv) 

 

Based on the evidence and testimony provided, it is unclear if the Department 

properly disallowed the expenses specified in 7 C.F.R. § 273.11(b)(2)(i)-(iv).   

 

Based on the evidence and testimony provided, it is unclear if the Department 

calculated the self-employment income correctly. 
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9. “Determining deductions. Deductible expenses include only certain dependent care, 

shelter, medical and, at State agency option, child support costs as described in § 

273.9. (1) Disallowed expenses. (i) Any expense, in whole or part, covered by 

educational income which has been excluded pursuant to the provisions of § 

273.9(c)(3) shall not be deductible. For example, the portion of rent covered by 

excluded vendor payments shall not be calculated as part of the household's shelter 

cost. In addition, an expense which is covered by an excluded vendor payment that 

has been converted to a direct cash payment under the approval of a federally 

authorized demonstration project as specified under § 273.9(c)(1) shall not be 

deductible. However, that portion of an allowable medical expense which is not 

reimbursable shall be included as part of the household's medical expenses. If the 

household reports an allowable medical expense at the time of certification but cannot 

provide verification at that time, and if the amount of the expense cannot be 

reasonably anticipated based upon available information about the recipient's medical 

condition and public or private medical insurance coverage, the household shall have 

the nonreimbursable portion of the medical expense considered at the time the 

amount of the expense or reimbursement is reported and verified. A dependent care 

expense which is reimbursed or paid for by the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills 

Training (JOBS) program under title IV-F of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 681) or 

the Transitional Child Care (TCC) program shall not be deductible. A utility expense 

which is reimbursed or paid by an excluded payment, including HUD or FmHA utility 

reimbursements, shall not be deductible. (ii) Expenses shall only be deductible if the 

service is provided by someone outside of the household and the household makes a 

money payment for the service. For example, a dependent care deduction shall not 

be allowed if another household member provides the care, or compensation for the 

care is provided in the form of an in-kind benefit, such as food. (2) Billed expenses. 

Except as provided in paragraph (d)(3) of this section a deduction shall be allowed 

only in the month the expense is billed or otherwise becomes due, regardless of when 

the household intends to pay the expense. For example, rent which is due each month 

shall be included in the household's shelter costs, even if the household has not yet 

paid the expense. Amounts carried forward from past billing periods are not 

deductible, even if included with the most recent billing and actually paid by the 

household. In any event, a particular expense may only be deducted once. (4) 

Anticipating expenses. The State agency shall calculate a household's expenses 

based on the expenses the household expects to be billed for during the certification 

period. Anticipation of the expense shall be based on the most recent month's bills, 

unless the household is reasonably certain a change will occur. When the household 

is not claiming the utility standard, the State agency may anticipate changes during 

the certification period based on last year's bills from the same period updated by 

overall price increases; or, if only the most recent bill is available, utility cost increases 



8 
 

or decreases over the months of the certification period may be based on utility 

company estimates for the type of dwelling and utilities used by the household. The 

State agency shall not average past expenses, such as utility bills for the last several 

months, as a method of anticipating utility costs for the certification period. At 

certification and recertification, the household shall report and verify all medical 

expenses. The household's monthly medical deduction for the certification period shall 

be based on the information reported and verified by the household, and any 

anticipated changes in the household's medical expenses that can be reasonably 

expected to occur during the certification period based on available information about 

the recipient's medical condition, public or private insurance coverage, and current 

verified medical expenses. The household shall not be required to file reports about 

its medical expenses during the certification period. If the household voluntarily reports 

a change in its medical expenses, the State agency shall verify the change in 

accordance with § 273.2(f)(8)(ii) if the change would increase the household's 

allotment. The State agency has the option of either requiring verification prior to 

acting on the change or requiring the verification prior to the second normal monthly 

allotment after the change is reported. In the case of a reported change that would 

decrease the household's allotment, or make the household ineligible, the State 

agency shall act on the change without requiring verification, though verification which 

is required by § 273.2(f)(8) shall be obtained prior to the household's recertification. If 

a child in the household reaches his or her second birthday during the certification 

period, the $200 maximum dependent care deduction defined in § 273.9(d)(4) shall 

be adjusted in accordance with this section not later than the household's next 

regularly scheduled recertification.” 7 C.F.R. § 273.10(d)(1)(i) -(ii)(2)(4) 

 

10. “Legally Obligated Child Support. At its option, the State agency may provide a 

deduction, rather than the income exclusion provided under paragraph (c)(17) of this 

section, for legally obligated child support payments paid by a household member to 

or for a nonhousehold member, including payments made to a third party on behalf of 

the nonhousehold member (vendor payments) and amounts paid toward child support 

arrearages. Alimony payments made to or for a nonhousehold member shall not be 

included in the child support deduction. A State agency that chooses to provide a child 

support deduction rather than an exclusion in accordance with this paragraph (d)(5) 

must specify in its State plan of operation that it has chosen to provide the deduction 

rather than the exclusion.” 7 C.F.R. § 273.9(d)(5) 

 

The Department correctly allowed for a monthly child support deduction 

totaling $384.41. 
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11. “Excess medical deduction That portion of medical expenses in excess of $35 per 

month, excluding special diets, incurred by any household member who is elderly or 

disabled as defined in § 271.2. Spouses or other persons receiving benefits as a 

dependent of the SSI or disability and blindness recipient are not eligible to receive 

this deduction but persons receiving emergency SSI benefits based on presumptive 

eligibility are eligible for this deduction. Allowable medical costs are: (1) Medical and 

dental care including psychotherapy and rehabilitation services provided by a licensed 

practitioner authorized by State law or other qualified health professional. (ii) 

Hospitalization or outpatient treatment, nursing care, and nursing home care including 

payments by the household for an individual who was a household member 

immediately prior to entering a hospital or nursing home provided by a facility 

recognized by the State. (iii) Prescription drugs, when prescribed by a licensed 

practitioner authorized under State law, and other over-the-counter medication 

(including insulin), when approved by a licensed practitioner or other qualified health 

professional. (iv) Health and hospitalization insurance policy premiums. The costs of 

health and accident policies such as those payable in lump sum settlements for death 

or dismemberment or income maintenance policies such as those that continue 

mortgage or loan payments while the beneficiary is disabled are not deductible. (v) 

Medicare premiums related to coverage under Title XVIII of the Social Security Act; 

any cost-sharing or spend down expenses incurred by Medicaid recipients; (vi) 

Dentures, hearing aids, and prosthetics; (vii) Securing and maintaining a seeing eye 

or hearing dog including the cost of dog food and veterinarian bills; (viii) Eye glasses 

prescribed by a physician skilled in eye disease or by an optometrist; (ix) Reasonable 

cost of transportation and lodging to obtain medical treatment or services; (x) 

Maintaining an attendant, homemaker, home health aide, or child care services, 

housekeeper, necessary due to age, infirmity, or illness. In addition, an amount equal 

to the one person benefit allotment shall be deducted if the household furnishes the 

majority of the attendant's meals. The allotment for this meal related deduction shall 

be that in effect at the time of initial certification. The State agency is only required to 

update the allotment amount at the next scheduled recertification; however, at their 

option, the State agency may do so earlier. If a household incurs attendant care costs 

that could qualify under both the medical deduction of § 273.9(d)(3)(x) and the 

dependent care deduction of § 273.9(d)(4), the costs may be deducted as a medical 

expense or a dependent care expense, but not both.” 7 C.F.R. § 273.9(d)(3)(i)-(x) 

 

The Department correctly allowed for a medical expense deduction for an 

individual who could not establish SNAP eligibility on their own (does not reside 

in the household) and for whom the EDG is paying the expense for. 
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12. “Excess shelter deduction. Monthly shelter expenses in excess of 50 percent of the 

household's income after all other deductions in paragraphs (d)(1) through (d)(5) of 

this section have been allowed. If the household does not contain an elderly or 

disabled member, as defined in § 271.2 of this chapter, the shelter deduction cannot 

exceed the maximum shelter deduction limit established for the area. For fiscal year 

2001, effective March 1, 2001, the maximum monthly excess shelter expense 

deduction limits are $340 for the 48 contiguous States and the District of Columbia, 

$543 for Alaska, $458 for Hawaii, $399 for Guam, and $268 for the Virgin Islands. 

FNS will set the maximum monthly excess shelter expense deduction limits for fiscal 

year 2002 and future years by adjusting the previous year's limits to reflect changes 

in the shelter component and the fuels and utilities component of the Consumer Price 

Index for All Urban Consumers for the 12 month period ending the previous November 

30. FNS will notify State agencies of the amount of the limit. Only the following 

expenses are allowable shelter expenses: (A) Continuing charges for the shelter 

occupied by the household, including rent, mortgage, condo and association fees, or 

other continuing charges leading to the ownership of the shelter such as loan 

repayments for the purchase of a mobile home, including interest on such payments. 

(B) Property taxes, State and local assessments, and insurance on the structure itself, 

but not separate costs for insuring furniture or personal belongings.7 C.F.R. § 

273.9(d)(6)(ii)(A) & (B) 

 

The Department correctly allowed for a monthly mortgage deduction totaling 

$1,377.59. 

 

The Department correctly allowed for a monthly property tax deduction totaling 

$377.45. 

 

13. “Standard Deduction. (i) 48 States, District of Columbia, Alaska, Hawaii, and the Virgin 

Islands.  Effective October 1, 2002, in the 48 States and the District of Columbia, 

Alaska, Hawaii, and the Virgin Islands, the standard deduction for household sizes 

one through six shall be equal to 8.31 percent of the monthly net income eligibility 

standard for each household size established under paragraph (a)(2) of this section 

rounded up to the nearest whole dollar. For household sizes greater than six, the 

standard deduction shall be equal to the standard deduction for a six-person 

household. (ii) Guam.  Effective October 1, 2002, in Guam, the standard deduction for 

household sizes one through six shall be equal to 8.31 percent of double the monthly 

net income eligibility standard for each household size for the 48 States and the 

District of Columbia established under paragraph (a)(2) of this section rounded up to 

the nearest whole dollar. For household sizes greater than six, the standard deduction 

shall be equal to the standard deduction for a six-person household. (iii) Minimum 
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deduction levels.  Notwithstanding paragraphs (d)(1)(i) and (d)(1)(ii) of this section, 

the standard deduction for FY 2009 for each household in the 48 States and the 

District of Columbia, Alaska, Hawaii, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands shall not be 

less than $144, $246, $203, $289, and $127, respectively. Beginning FY 2010 and 

each fiscal year thereafter, the amount of the minimum standard deduction is equal to 

the unrounded amount from the previous fiscal year adjusted to the nearest lower 

dollar increment to reflect changes for the 12-month period ending on the preceding 

June 30 in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers published by the 

Bureau of Labor Statistics of the Department of Labor, for items other than food. .” 7 

C.F.R. § 273.9 (d)(1)(i)-(iii) 

 

14. The United States Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Services issued 

general guidance pertaining to the changes to the Standard Deductions (see: 

www.fns.usda.gov/snap/allotment/COLA):  

 

“The following table provides the monthly maximum allotment and allowable 

deductions for fiscal year 2023 (effective October 1, 2022, through September 30, 

2023).”  

 

 

Household Size Standard Deduction Amount 

1 $193.00 

2 $193.00 

3 $193.00 

4 $193.00 

5 $225.00 

6+ $258.00 

  

The Department correctly applied the $258.00 Standard Deduction. 

  

15. “Standard Utility Allowance. (A) With FNS approval, a State agency may develop the 

following standard utility allowances (standards) to be used in place of actual costs in 

determining a household's excess shelter deduction: an individual standard for each 

type of utility expense; a standard utility allowance for all utilities that includes heating 

or cooling costs (HCSUA); and, a limited utility allowance (LUA) that includes 

electricity and fuel for purposes other than heating or cooling, water, sewerage, well 

and septic tank installation and maintenance, telephone, and garbage or trash 

collection. The LUA must include expenses for at least two utilities. However, at its 

option, the State agency may include the excess heating and cooling costs of public 

housing residents in the LUA if it wishes to offer the lower standard to such 

households. The State agency may use different types of standards but cannot allow 
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households the use of two standards that include the same expense. In States in 

which the cooling expense is minimal, the State agency may include the cooling 

expense in the electricity component. The State agency may vary the allowance by 

factors such as household size, geographical area, or season. Only utility costs 

identified in paragraph (d)(6)(ii)(C) of this section must be used in developing 

standards. (C) A standard with a heating or cooling component must be made 

available to households that incur heating or cooling expenses separately from their 

rent or mortgage and to households that receive direct or indirect assistance under 

the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Act of 1981 (LIHEAA). A heating or cooling 

standard is available to households in private rental housing who are billed by their 

landlords on the basis of individual usage or who are charged a flat rate separately 

from their rent. However, households in public housing units which have central utility 

meters and which charge households only for excess heating or cooling costs are not 

entitled to a standard that includes heating or cooling costs based only on the charge 

for excess usage unless the State agency mandates the use of standard utility 

allowances in accordance with paragraph (d)(6)(iii)(E) of this section. Households that 

receive direct or indirect energy assistance that is excluded from income consideration 

(other than that provided under the LIHEAA) are entitled to a standard that includes 

heating or cooling only if the amount of the expense exceeds the amount of the 

assistance. Households that receive direct or indirect energy assistance that is 

counted as income and incur a heating or cooling expense are entitled to use a 

standard that includes heating or cooling costs. A household that has both an 

occupied home and an unoccupied home is only entitled to one standard.” 7 C.F.R. § 

273.9(d)(6)(iii)(A) and (C) 

 

The Department correctly applied the Standard Utility Allowance (“SUA”) of 

$921.00. 

 

16. “Income eligibility standards. The net and gross income eligibility standards shall be 

based on the Federal income poverty levels established as provided in section 673(2) 

of the Community Services Block Grant Act (42 U.S.C. 9902(2)). (1) The gross income 

eligibility standards for SNAP shall be as follows: (i) The income eligibility standards 

for the 48 contiguous States and the District of Columbia, Guam and the Virgin Islands 

shall be 130 percent of the Federal income poverty levels for the 48 contiguous States 

and the District of Columbia. (2) The net income eligibility standards for SNAP shall 

be as follows: (i) The income eligibility standards for the 48 contiguous States and the 

District of Columbia, Guam and the Virgin Islands shall be the Federal income poverty 

levels for the 48 contiguous States and the District of Columbia.” 7 C.F.R. § 

273.9(a)(1)(i) & (2)(i) 
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While the Department correctly determined no EDG member is elderly or 

disabled, it is unclear based on the evidence and testimony provided, if the 

household’s total non-excluded gross income is less than the gross income 

limit for a EDG size of seven which is $6,985.00. 

 

The Department’s exhibit # 1 (Federal SNAP-Income Test) shows a gross 

income of $8,291.17 which exceeds the gross income limit for a household of 

seven which is $6,985.00. The same test however also shows the gross income 

test results are “not applicable”. The Department was unable to provide 

evidence or testimony to explain why the gross income test did not apply in this 

instance. 

 

17.  “Calculating net income and benefit levels. (1) Net monthly income. (i) To determine 

a household’s net monthly income, the State agency shall: (A) Add the gross monthly 

income earned by all household members and the total monthly unearned income of 

all household members, minus income exclusions, to determine the household's total 

gross income. Net losses from the self-employment income of a farmer shall be offset 

in accordance with § 273.11(a)(2)(iii). (B) Multiply the total gross monthly earned 

income by 20 percent and subtract that amount from the total gross income; or multiply 

the total gross monthly earned income by 80 percent and add that to the total monthly 

unearned income, minus income exclusions. If the State agency has chosen to treat 

legally obligated child support payments as an income exclusion in accordance with 

§ 273.9(c)(17), multiply the excluded earnings used to pay child support by 20 percent 

and subtract that amount from the total gross monthly income. (C) Subtract the 

standard deduction. (D) If the household is entitled to an excess medical deduction as 

provided in § 273.9(d)(3), determine if total medical expenses exceed $35. If so, 

subtract that portion which exceeds $35. (E) Subtract allowable monthly dependent 

care expenses, if any, as specified under § 273.9(d)(4) for each dependent. (F) If the 

State agency has chosen to treat legally obligated child support payments as a 

deduction rather than an exclusion in accordance with § 273.9(d)(5), subtract 

allowable monthly child support payments in accordance with § 273.9(d)(5). (G) 

Subtract the homeless shelter deduction, if any, up to the maximum of $143. (H) Total 

the allowable shelter expenses to determine shelter costs, unless a deduction has 

been subtracted in accordance with paragraph (e)(1)(i)(G) of this section. Subtract 

from total shelter costs 50 percent of the household's monthly income after all the 

above deductions have been subtracted. The remaining amount, if any, is the excess 

shelter cost. If there is no excess shelter cost, the net monthly income has been 

determined. If there is excess shelter cost, compute the shelter deduction according 

to paragraph (e)(1)(i)(I) of this section. (I) Subtract the excess shelter cost up to the 

maximum amount allowed for the area (unless the household is entitled to the full 
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amount of its excess shelter expenses) from the household's monthly income after all 

other applicable deductions. Households not subject to a capped shelter expense 

shall have the full amount exceeding 50 percent of their net income subtracted. The 

household's net monthly income has been determined. (ii) In calculating net monthly 

income, the State agency shall use one of the following two procedures: (A) Round 

down each income and allotment calculation that ends in 1 through 49 cents and round 

up each calculation that ends in 50 through 99 cents; or (B) Apply the rounding 

procedure that is currently in effect for the State's Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families (TANF) program. If the State TANF program includes the cents in income 

calculations, the State agency may use the same procedures for SNAP income 

calculations. Whichever procedure is used, the State agency may elect to include the 

cents associated with each individual shelter cost in the computation of the shelter 

deduction and round the final shelter deduction amount. Likewise, the State agency 

may elect to include the cents associated with each individual medical cost in the 

computation of the medical deduction and round the final medical deduction amount.” 

7 C.F.R. 273.10 (e)(1)(i)-(ii) 

 

“Benefit Calculation. (A) Except as provided in paragraphs (a)(1), (e)(2)(iii) and 

(e)(2)(vi) of this section, the household's monthly allotment shall be equal to the 

maximum SNAP allotment for the household's size reduced by 30 percent of the 

household's net monthly income as calculated in paragraph (e)(1) of this section. If 30 

percent of the household's net income ends in cents, the State agency shall round in 

one of the following ways: (1) The State agency shall round the 30 percent of net 

income up to the nearest higher dollar; or (2) The State agency shall not round the 30 

percent of net income at all. Instead, after subtracting the 30 percent of net income 

from the appropriate Thrifty Food Plan, the State agency shall round the allotment 

down to the nearest lower dollar. (iii) For an eligible household with three or more 

members which is entitled to no benefits (except because of the proration 

requirements of paragraph (a)(1) and the provision precluding issuances of less than 

$10 in an initial month of paragraph (e)(2)(ii)(B)) of this section: (A) he State agency 

shall deny the household's application on the grounds that its net income exceeds the 

level at which benefits are issued.” 7 C.F.R. § 273.10(e)(1)(i)-(ii) and (2)(ii)-(iii)(A) 

 

Based on the evidence and testimony provided, it is unclear as to if the 

household’s  net income exceeds the SNAP net income limit for a household of 

seven ($3,493.00) because (1) it is unclear if the household’s gross income was 

calculated correctly and (2) if the gross income  limit did in fact exceed the 

income limit as the Department’s records indicate, the deductions listed in 

Conclusions of Law #’s 12-20 would not have been applied/counted.   
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The Department’s exhibit # 1 (Federal SNAP-Income Test) shows the gross 

income test was “not applicable” therefore the net income test was applied. 

After all the appropriate deductions were applied it was determined the 

household failed the net income test therefore SNAP was denied 

 
 

DECISION 
 
 

    The Appellant’s appeal is REMANDED to the Department for the following actions: 
 

1. The Department shall rescreen SNAP benefits effective , 2022 
 
2. The Department shall review the allowable and disallowed self-employment    
    expenses and compare them to expenses reflected in the ImpaCT system. 
 
3. The Department shall, if necessary, make any appropriate adjustments to the  
    expenses and determine the household’s eligibility for SNAP benefits. 
 
4. The Department shall issue a new Notice of Action to the Appellant once an eligibility  
    determination has been made. 
 
Proof of compliance with this order is due to the undersigned by  2023 and 
shall consist of a copy of the Notice of Action. 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 

________________________ 
Joseph Alexander 

Administrative Hearing Officer  
 
 
 
 
 
 
               CC: Brian Sexton, Operations Manager, DSS, Middletown Regional Office 
            Chris Filek, Hearing Liaison, DSS, Middletown Regional Office 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 

 

The Appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the 
mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new evidence 
has been discovered or other good cause exists. If the request for reconsideration is 
granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request date. No response 
within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been denied. The right to 
request a reconsideration is based on §4-1181a (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes. 

Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, or what other good cause exists. 

Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT 
06105-3725. 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 

The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court with 45 days of the 
mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies petition for reconsideration of 
this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the 
Department. The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut General Statutes. 
To appeal, a petition must be fooled at Superior Court. A copy of the petition must be 
served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 
or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 
Hartford, CT 06105-3725. A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to the 
hearing.  

The 45-day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause. 
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision. Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or her designee in accordance with 
§17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes. The Agency’s decision to grant an 
extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 

The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 




