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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

 
Beginning   2021, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) 
determined   (the “Appellant”) eligible for benefits of $89.00 per month under 
the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (“SNAP”). 
 
On   2021, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing because she 
disagreed with the Department’s calculation of her SNAP benefits.  
 
On   2021, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative 
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for 

  2021. 
 
On   2021, the Appellant requested a continuance which OLCRAH granted. 
 
On   2021, the OLCRAH issued a notice scheduling the administrative 
hearing for   2021. 
 
On   2021, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61, and 4-176e to 4-
189, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an administrative 
hearing. 
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The following individuals called in for the hearing:   
 

  Appellant  
Christopher Filek, Department’s Representative 
Lisa Nyren, Hearing Officer 
 

 
STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 

 
The issue to be decided is whether the Department’s calculation of SNAP benefits as 
$89.00 per month beginning   2021 was correct. 
 

 
FINDINGS OF FACT 

 
1. The Appellant receives SNAP benefits for herself.  (Hearing Record) 

  
2. The Appellant is -  (  years old.  (Appellant Testimony) 
 
3. Beginning   2021, the Social Security Administrative increased the 

Appellant’s Social Security benefits for which she receives under her father’s claim xxx-
xx-xxxx-C1 (“SSDI-C1”) from $569.00 per month to $1,034.00 per month.  (Stipulated) 

 
4. The Appellant receives $360.00 per month Social Security benefits under her own 

claim number (“SSDI”).  (Stipulated) 
 

5. The Appellant lives alone.  (Appellant’s Testimony)  
 

6. The Appellant incurs out of pocket medical expenses.  The Department determined the 
Appellant’s monthly out of pocket medical expenses as $416.53 per month based on 
the last renewal application submitted by the Appellant. The Department determined 
the monthly excess medical deduction under the SNAP as $381.53.  $416.53 out of 
pocket medical expenses - $35.00 Department deductible = $381.53.  (Exhibit 4:  
Federal SNAP-Income Test and Department Representative’s Testimony) 

 
7. The Appellant has not submitted new medical receipts to the Department.  (Appellant’s 

Testimony) 
 

8. The landlord charges $1,050.00 per month for rent, but the Appellant pays $49.00 per 
month after   subsidizes her rent.  The Appellant does not have a 
lease for the apartment.   (Appellant’s Testimony and Exhibit 2:  Federal SNAP-Income 
Test) 

 
9. The Appellant pays for oil to heat her apartment.  The Appellant receives energy 

assistance under the Connecticut Energy Assistance Program (“CEAP”) during the 
winter months to help pay for oil.  (Appellant’s Testimony) 
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10. The Appellant received the standard utility allowance of $736.00 under the SNAP.  

(Exhibit 4:  Federal SNAP – Income Test and Department Representative’s Testimony) 
 

11. The maximum monthly SNAP allotment for   2021 for a household of one 
equaled $234.00.  (Department Representative’s Testimony) 

 
12. The Department determined the Appellant eligible for $89.00 per month under the 

SNAP effective   2021.  (Exhibit 2:  Federal SNAP - Income Test) 
 

13. Due to the public health emergency, the Department issued a SNAP supplemental 
benefit bringing the Appellant’s  2021 SNAP allotment total to $234.00, the 
maximum allowed under the SNAP. 

 
14. Beginning,   2021, the maximum monthly SNAP allotment, for a household of 

one, equals $250.00.  (Department Representative’s Testimony) 
 

15. Beginning   2021, the Department determined the Appellant eligible for 
$123.00 per month under the SNAP due to increases in the maximum SNAP 
allotments and shelter deductions.  (Department Representative’s Testimony) 

 
16. The Department determines eligibility for the authorization of supplemental pandemic 

benefits monthly.  At the time of this hearing, it is not known if a supplemental benefit 
will be issued for  2021.  (Department Representative’s Testimony) 

 
17. The Appellant is seeking an increase in her monthly SNAP allotment to ensure she 

maintains a nutritious diet due to current health concerns and the pandemic.  
(Appellant’s Testimony) 

 
18. The issuance of this decision is timely under Title 7 Section 273.15(c) of the Code of 

Federal Regulations, which requires that a decision be issued within 60 days of the 
request for an administrative hearing.  The Appellant requested an administrative 
hearing on   2021.  However, the hearing which was originally scheduled 
for   2021 was rescheduled at the request of the Appellant which 
caused a -day delay.  Because this -day delay resulted from the Appellant’s 
request, this decision is not due until   2021 and therefore timely. 

 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW  
 

1. Section 17b-2(7) of the Connecticut General Statutes (“Conn. Gen. Stats.”) provides 
that the Department of Social Services is designated as the state agency for the 
administration of the supplemental nutrition assistance program pursuant to the Food 
and Nutrition Act of 2008. 
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2. Title 7 Section 273.1(a)(1) of the Code of Federal Regulations (“CFR”) provides that “a 
household is composed of one of the following individuals or groups of individuals, 
unless otherwise specified in paragraph (b) of this section:  an individual living alone.” 

 

The Department correctly determined an assistance unit of one. 
  

3. Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 

Unearned income shall include but not be limited to annuities; pensions; retirement, 
veteran’s or disability benefits; worker’s or unemployment compensation including any 
amounts deducted to repay claims for intentional program violations as provided in § 
272.12; old-age, survivors, or social security benefits; strike benefits; foster care 
payments for children or adults who are considered members of the household; gross 
income minus the cost of doing business derived from rental property in which a 
household member is not actively engaged in the management of the property at least 
20 hours a week.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.9(b)(2)(ii) 
 
The Department correctly included the Appellant’s SSDI-C1 and SSDI income 
when calculating the SNAP benefits for the assistance unit.  
  

4. Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 

Determining Income-Anticipating income.  For the purpose of determining the 
household’s eligibility and level of benefits, the State agency shall take into account 
the income already received by the household during the certification period and any 
anticipated income the household and the State agency are reasonably certain will 
be received during the remainder of the certification period. If the amount of income 
that will be received, or when it will be received, is uncertain, that portion of the 
household's income that is uncertain shall not be counted by the State agency. For 
example, a household anticipating income from a new source, such as a new job or 
recently applied for public assistance benefits, may be uncertain as to the timing and 
amount of the initial payment. These moneys shall not be anticipated by the State 
agency unless there is reasonable certainty concerning the month in which the 
payment will be received and in what amount. If the exact amount of the income is 
not known, that portion of it which can be anticipated with reasonable certainty shall 
be considered as income. In cases where the receipt of income is reasonably certain 
but the monthly amount may fluctuate, the household may elect to income average. 
Households shall be advised to report all changes in gross monthly income as 
required by §273.12.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(c)(1)(i) 
 
Federal regulation provides as follows:   
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Income only in month received. Income anticipated during the certification period shall 
be counted as income only in the month it is expected to be received, unless the 
income is averaged.  Whenever a full month's income is anticipated but is received on 
a weekly or biweekly basis, the State agency shall convert the income to a monthly 
amount by multiplying weekly amounts by 4.3 and biweekly amounts by 2.15, use the 
State Agency's PA conversion standard, or use the exact monthly figure if it can be 
anticipated for each month of the certification period.  Nonrecurring lump-sum 
payments shall be counted as a resource starting in the month received and shall not 
be counted as income.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(c)(2)(i) 
 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s gross monthly SSDI-C1 
benefit as $1,034.00 per month. 
 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s gross monthly SSDI 
benefit as $360.00 per month. 

 
5. Federal regulation provides in pertinent part as follows:   

 
Deductions shall be allowed only for the following household expenses: 
 
Standard deduction – 48 States, District of Columbia, Alaska, Hawaii, and the Virgin 
Islands.  Effective October 1, 2002, in the 48 States and the District of Columbia, 
Alaska, Hawaii, and the Virgin Islands, the standard deduction for household sizes one 
through six shall be equal to 8.31 percent of the monthly net income eligibility standard 
for each household size established under paragraph (a)(2) of this section rounded up 
to the nearest whole dollar.  For household sizes greater than six, the standard 
deduction shall be equal to the standard deduction for a six-person household. 
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.9(d)(1)(i) 
 
For the period October 1, 2020 through September 30, 2021, the standard deduction 
for the 48 States and DC for a household of one equals $167.00.  (United States 
Department of Agriculture (“USDA”), Food and Nutrition Service (“FNS”) Memorandum  
SNAP – Fiscal Year 2021 Cost-of-Living Adjustments, July 29, 2020) 
 
For the period October 1, 2021 through September 30, 2021, the standard deduction 
for the 48 States and DC for a household of one equals $177.00.  (USDA, FNS 
Memorandum  SNAP – Fiscal Year 2021 Cost-of-Living Adjustments, August 9, 2021) 
 
Excess medical deduction.  That portion of medical expenses in excess of $35 per 
month, excluding special diets, incurred by any household member who is elderly or 
disabled as defined in § 271.2. Spouses or other persons receiving benefits as a 
dependent of the SSI or disability and blindness recipient are not eligible to receive 
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this deduction but persons receiving emergency SSI benefits based on presumptive 
eligibility are eligible for this deduction. Allowable medical costs are: 
 

i. Medical and dental care including psychotherapy and rehabilitation 
services provided by a licenses practitioner authorized by State law or other 
qualified health professional. 
 
ii. Hospitalization or outpatient treatment, nursing care, and nursing home 
care including payments by the household for an individual who was a 
household member immediately prior to entering a hospital or nursing home 
provided by a facility recognized by the State. 

 
iii. Prescription drugs, when prescribed by a licensed practitioner authorized 
under State law, and other over-the-counter medication (including insulin), 
when approved by a licensed practitioner or other qualified health 
professional. 

 
iv. Health and hospitalization insurance policy premiums. The costs of health 
and accident policies such as those payable in lump sum settlements for 
death or dismemberment or income maintenance policies such as those that 
continue mortgage or loan payments while the beneficiary is disabled are not 
deductible; 

 
v. Medicare premiums related to coverage under Title XVIII of the Social 
Security Act; any cost-sharing or spend down expenses incurred by Medicaid 
recipients; 

 
vi. Dentures, hearing aids, and prosthetics; 

 
vii. Securing and maintaining a seeing eye or hearing dog including the cost 
of dog food and veterinarian bills; 

 
viii. Eyeglasses prescribed by a physician skilled in eye disease or by an 
optometrist; 

 
ix. Reasonable cost of transportation and lodging to obtain medical treatment 
or services; 

 
x. Maintaining an attendant, homemaker, home health aide, or childcare 
services, housekeeper, necessary due to age, infirmity, or illness. In addition, 
an amount equal to the one person benefit allotment shall be deducted if the 
household furnishes the majority of the attendant's meals. The allotment for 
this meal related deduction shall be that in effect at the time of initial 
certification. The State agency is only required to update the allotment 
amount at the next scheduled recertification; however, at their option, the 
State agency may do so earlier. If a household incurs attendant care costs 
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that could qualify under both the medical deduction of § 273.9(d)(3)(x) and 
the dependent care deduction of § 273.9(d)(4), the costs may be deducted as 
a medical expense or a dependent care expense, but not both. 

 
7 C.F.R.§ 273.9(d)(3)  
 

Anticipating expenses. The State agency shall calculate a household's 
expenses based on the expenses the household expects to be billed for 
during the certification period. Anticipation of the expense shall be 
based on the most recent month's bills, unless the household is 
reasonably certain a change will occur. When the household is not 
claiming the utility standard, the State agency may anticipate changes 
during the certification period based on last year's bills from the same 
period updated by overall price increases; or, if only the most recent bill 
is available, utility cost increases or decreases over the months of the 
certification period may be based on utility company estimates for the 
type of dwelling and utilities used by the household. The State agency 
shall not average past expenses, such as utility bills for the last several 
months, as a method of anticipating utility costs for the certification 
period. At certification and recertification, the household shall report and 
verify all medical expenses. The household's monthly medical 
deduction for the certification period shall be based on the information 
reported and verified by the household, and any anticipated changes in 
the household's medical expenses that can be reasonably expected to 
occur during the certification period based on available information 
about the recipient's medical condition, public or private insurance 
coverage, and current verified medical expenses. The household shall 
not be required to file reports about its medical expenses during the 
certification period. If the household voluntarily reports a change in its 
medical expenses, the State agency shall verify the change in 
accordance with § 273.2(f)(8)(ii) if the change would increase the 
household's allotment. The State agency has the option of either 
requiring verification prior to acting on the change, or requiring the 
verification prior to the second normal monthly allotment after the 
change is reported. In the case of a reported change that would 
decrease the household's allotment, or make the household ineligible, 
the State agency shall act on the change without requiring verification, 
though verification which is required by § 273.2(f)(8) shall be obtained 
prior to the household's recertification. If a child in the household 
reaches his or her second birthday during the certification period, the 
$200 maximum dependent care deduction defined in § 273.9(d)(4) shall 
be adjusted in accordance with this section not later than the 
household's next regularly scheduled recertification. 
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(d)(4) 
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Excess shelter deduction.  Monthly shelter expenses in excess of 50 percent of the 
household's income after all other deductions in paragraphs (d)(1) through (d)(5) of 
this section have been allowed. If the household does not contain an elderly or 
disabled member, as defined in §271.2 of this chapter, the shelter deduction cannot 
exceed the maximum shelter deduction limit established for the area. For fiscal year 
2001, effective March 1, 2001, the maximum monthly excess shelter expense 
deduction limits are $340 for the 48 contiguous States and the District of Columbia, 
$543 for Alaska, $458 for Hawaii, $399 for Guam, and $268 for the Virgin Islands. 
FNS will set the maximum monthly excess shelter expense deduction limits for fiscal 
year 2002 and future years by adjusting the previous year's limits to reflect changes 
in the shelter component and the fuels and utilities component of the Consumer 
Price Index for All Urban Consumers for the 12 month period ending the previous 
November 30. FNS will notify State agencies of the amount of the limit. Only the 
following expenses are allowable shelter expenses: 
 
A. Continuing charges for the shelter occupied by the household, including rent, 

mortgage, condo and association fees, or other continuing charges leading to the 
ownership of the shelter such as loan repayments for the purchase of a mobile 
home, including interest on such payments. 

 
B. Property taxes, State and local assessments, and insurance on the structure 

itself, but not separate costs for insuring furniture or personal belongings. 
 

C. The cost of fuel for heating; cooling (i.e., the operation of air conditioning 
systems or room air conditioners); electricity or fuel used for purposes other than 
heating or cooling; water; sewerage; well installation and maintenance; septic 
tank system installation and maintenance; garbage and trash collection; all 
service fees required to provide service for one telephone, including, but not 
limited to, basic service fees, wire maintenance fees, subscriber line charges, 
relay center surcharges, 911 fees, and taxes; and fees charged by the utility 
provider for initial installation of the utility. One-time deposits cannot be included. 

 
D. The shelter costs for the home if temporarily not occupied by the household 

because of employment or training away from home, illness, or abandonment 
caused by a natural disaster or casualty loss. For costs of a home vacated by the 
household to be included in the household's shelter costs, the household must 
intend to return to the home; the current occupants of the home, if any, must not 
be claiming the shelter costs for SNAP purposes; and the home must not be 
leased or rented during the absence of the household. 

 
E. Charges for the repair of the home which was substantially damaged or 

destroyed due to a natural disaster such as a fire or flood. Shelter costs shall not 
include charges for repair of the home that have been or will be reimbursed by 
private or public relief agencies, insurance companies, or from any other source. 

 
7 C.F.R. § 273.9(d)(6)(ii) 
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 “Elderly ... means a member of a household who is 60 years of age or older.”  7 § 

C.F.R. 271.2 
 

6. Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 
Standard utility allowances. With FNS approval, a State agency may develop the 
following standard utility allowances (standards) to be used in place of actual costs 
in determining a household's excess shelter deduction: an individual standard for 
each type of utility expense; a standard utility allowance for all utilities that includes 
heating or cooling costs (HCSUA); and, a limited utility allowance (LUA) that 
includes electricity and fuel for purposes other than heating or cooling, water, 
sewerage, well and septic tank installation and maintenance, telephone, and 
garbage or trash collection. The LUA must include expenses for at least two utilities. 
However, at its option, the State agency may include the excess heating and cooling 
costs of public housing residents in the LUA if it wishes to offer the lower standard to 
such households. The State agency may use different types of standards but cannot 
allow households the use of two standards that include the same expense. In States 
in which the cooling expense is minimal, the State agency may include the cooling 
expense in the electricity component. The State agency may vary the allowance by 
factors such as household size, geographical area, or season. Only utility costs 
identified in paragraph (d)(6)(ii)(C) of this section must be used in developing 
standards.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.9(d)(6)(iii)(A) 
 
For the period October 1, 2020 through September 30, 2021, the standard utility 
allowance for Connecticut equals $736.00.  (United States Department of Agriculture, 
Food and Nutrition Service SNAP SUA Table FY2021, October 1, 2020) 
 
For the period October 1, 2021 through September 30, 2022, the standard utility 
allowance for Connecticut equals $783.00.  (USDA, FNS Memorandum  SNAP – 
Fiscal Year 2021 Cost-of-Living Adjustments, August 9, 2021) 
 
Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 
A standard with a heating or cooling component must be made available to 
households that incur heating or cooling expenses separately from their rent or 
mortgage and to households that receive direct or indirect assistance under the Low 
Income Home Energy Assistance Act of 1981 (LIHEAA). A heating or cooling 
standard is available to households in private rental housing who are billed by their 
landlords on the basis of individual usage or who are charged a flat rate separately 
from their rent. However, households in public housing units which have central 
utility meters and which charge households only for excess heating or cooling costs 
are not entitled to a standard that includes heating or cooling costs based only on 
the charge for excess usage unless the State agency mandates the use of standard 
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utility allowances in accordance with paragraph (d)(6)(iii)(E) of this section. 
Households that receive direct or indirect energy assistance that is excluded from 
income consideration (other than that provided under the LIHEAA) are entitled to a 
standard that includes heating or cooling only if the amount of the expense exceeds 
the amount of the assistance. Households that receive direct or indirect energy 
assistance that is counted as income and incur a heating or cooling expense are 
entitled to use a standard that includes heating or cooling costs. A household that 
has both an occupied home and an unoccupied home is only entitled to one 
standard.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.9(d)(6)(iii)(C)      

  
For  2021, the Department correctly determined the standard 
deduction for a household of one under the SNAP equals $167.00 per month.  
Refer to Conclusion of Law (“COL”) # 9. 
 
Beginning   2021, the Department correctly determined the standard 
deduction for a household of one under the SNAP equals $177.00 per month.  
Refer to COL # 9. 
 
The Department correctly applied the Appellant’s medical expense deduction as 
$381.53 at time of recertification as the Appellant has not submitted any 
additional or updated medical expenses to the Department.  ($416.53 monthly 
medical expense - $35.00 Appellant’s portion = $381.53)  Refer to COL # 9. 

 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant eligible for the SUA because 
she incurs heating costs.  For  2021, the SUA equaled $736.00.  
Beginning  , 2021, the SUA equals $783.00. 

 
For  2021, the Department correctly determined the Appellant’s 
shelter costs as $785.00.  Refer to COL # 9. 
 
Beginning   2021, the Department correctly determined the Appellant’s 
shelter costs as $832.00.  Refer to COL # 9. 
 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant is not subject to the 
maximum shelter hardship deduction because she meets the elderly criteria 
under SNAP regulations. 

 
For  2021, the Department correctly determined the shelter hardship 
as $362.26.  Refer to COL # 9.  
 
Beginning   2021, the Department correctly determined the shelter 
hardship as $414.26.  Refer to COL # 9. 

 
7. Federal regulation provides as follows:   
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Calculating net income and benefit levels-Net monthly income.   To determine a 
household’s net monthly income, the State agency shall: 

 
A. Add gross monthly income earned by all household members and the total monthly 

unearned income of all household members, minus income exclusions, to 
determine the household’s total gross income.  Net losses from the self-
employment income of a farmer shall be offset in accordance with § 
273.11(a)(2)(iii). 

B. Multiply the total gross monthly earned income by 20 percent and subtract that 
amount from the total gross income; or multiply the total gross monthly earned 
income by 80 percent, and add that to the total monthly unearned income, minus 
income exclusions.  If the State agency has chosen to treat legally obligated child 
support payments as an income exclusion in accordance with § 273.9(c)(17), 
multiply the excluded earnings used to pay child support by 20 percent and subtract 
that amount from the total gross monthly income. 

C. Subtract the standard deduction.  
D. If the household is entitled to an excess medical deduction as provided in § 

273.9(d)(3), determine if total medical expenses exceed $35.  If so, subtract that 
portion which exceeds $35.  

E.  Subtract allowable monthly dependent care expenses, if any, as specified un 
273.9(d)(4) for each dependent. 

F.  If the State agency has chosen to treat legally obligated child support payments in 
accordance with § 273.9(d)(5) 

G.  Subtract the homeless shelter deduction, if any, up to the maximum of $143. 
H.  Total the allowable shelter expenses to determine shelter costs, unless a 

deduction has been subtracted in accordance with paragraph (e)(1)(i)(G) of this 
section.  Subtract from total shelter costs 50 percent of the household’s monthly 
income after all the above deductions have been subtracted.  The remaining 
amount, if any, is the excess shelter costs.  If there is no excess shelter cost, the 
net monthly income has been determined.  If there is excess shelter cost, compute 
the shelter deduction according to paragraph (e)(1)(i)(I) of this section. 

I. Subtract the excess shelter costs up to the maximum amount allowed for the area 
(unless the household is entitled to the full amount of its excess shelter expenses) 
from the household’s monthly income after all other applicable deductions.  
Households not subject to a capped shelter expense shall have the full amount 
exceeding 50 percent of their net income subtracted.  The household’s net monthly 
income has been determined. 

 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(e)(1)(i) 

 
8. Federal regulation provides as follows:   

 
Except as provided in paragraphs (a)(1), (e)(2)(iii) and (e)(2)(vi) of this section, the 
household's monthly allotment shall be equal to the maximum SNAP allotment for 
the household's size reduced by 30 percent of the household's net monthly income 
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as calculated in paragraph (e)(1) of this section. If 30 percent of the household's net 
income ends in cents, the State agency shall round in one of the following ways:  
The State agency shall round the 30 percent of net income up to the nearest higher 
dollar.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(e)(2)(ii)(A)(1) 
 

9. Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 

Thrifty Food Plan (TFP) and Maximum SNAP Allotments.  Maximum SNAP allotment 
level. Maximum SNAP allotments shall be based on the Thrifty Food Plan (TFP) as 
defined in §271.2, and they shall be uniform by household size throughout the 48 
contiguous States and the District of Columbia. The TFP for Hawaii shall be the TFP 
for the 48 States and DC adjusted for the price of food in Honolulu. The TFPs for 
urban, rural I, and rural II parts of Alaska shall be the TFP for the 48 States and DC 
adjusted by the price of food in Anchorage and further adjusted for urban, rural I, 
and rural II Alaska as defined in §272.7(c). The TFPs for Guam and the Virgin 
Islands shall be adjusted for changes in the cost of food in the 48 States and DC, 
provided that the cost of these TFPs may not exceed the cost of the highest TFP for 
the 50 States. The TFP amounts and maximum allotments in each area are adjusted 
annually and will be prescribed in a table posted on the FNS web site, at 
www.fns.usda.gov/fsp.  
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(e)(4)(i) 
 
For the period October 1, 2020 through September 30, 2021, the maximum SNAP 
allotment for the 48 States and DC for a household of one equals $204.00.  (USDA, 
FNS Memorandum  SNAP – Fiscal Year 2021 Cost-of-Living Adjustments, July 29, 
2020) 
 
The maximum SNAP allotment for the 48 States and D.C. for a household of one 
increased to $234.00 per month beginning January 1, 2021 under the Consolidated 
Appropriations Act 2021 signed on December 27, 2020.  (USDA, FNS Memorandum 
SNAP – Temporary Increase in Maximum Allotments due to Covid-19, December 28, 
2020) 
 
For the period October 1, 2021 through September 30, 2022, the maximum SNAP 
allotment for the 48 States and DC for a household of one equals $250.00.  (USDA, 
FNS Memorandum SNAP – Fiscal Year 2022 Cost-of-Living Adjustments, August 16, 
2021) 

 
The Department correctly determined the SNAP benefit as $89.00 effective 

 2021.  Refer to SNAP benefit calculation below.  
 
SNAP BENEFIT CALCULATION    
INCOME 

Earned Income $00.00 

Less 20% -$00.00 

Total earned income $00.00 

Unearned Income SSDI-C1 $1,034.00 
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Unearned Income SSDI +$360.00 

Total unearned income $1,394.00 

Total INCOME $1,394.00 

Less standard deduction -$167.00 

Less medical expenses $381.53 

Adjusted gross income $845.47 

SHELTER COSTS  

Rent $49.00 

SUA +$736.00 

Total shelter costs $785.00 

SHELTER HARDSHIP  

Shelter costs $785.00 

Less 50% of adjusted gross 
income 

-$422.74 

Total shelter hardship $362.26 
(Cannot exceed 

$569 unless 
elderly or 
disabled) 

ADJUSTED NET INCOME  

Adjusted gross income $845.47 

Less shelter hardship -$362.26 

Net Adjusted Income (NAI) $483.21 

BENEFIT CALCULATION  

Thrifty Food Plan for #  
Person/s 

$234.00 

Less 30% of NAI -$145.00 

SNAP award $89.00 

 
Beginning  , 2021, the Department correctly increased the Appellant’s 
SNAP benefit to $123.00 per month due to SNAP Fiscal Year 2022 Cost-of-Living 
adjustments which increased the standard deduction, SUA, and maximum SNAP 
allotment.  Refer to calculation below. 
 

INCOME 

Earned Income $00.00 

Less 20% -$00.00 

Total earned income $00.00 

Unearned Income SSDI-C1 $1,034.00 

Unearned Income SSDI +$360.00 

Total unearned income $1,394.00 

Total INCOME $1,394.00 

Less standard deduction -$177.00 

Less medical expenses $381.53 

Adjusted gross income $835.47 

SHELTER COSTS  

Rent $49.00 

SUA +$783.00 

Total shelter costs $832.00 
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SHELTER HARDSHIP  

Shelter costs $832.00 

Less 50% of adjusted gross 
income 

-$417.74 

Total shelter hardship $414.26 
(Cannot exceed 

$597 unless 
elderly or 
disabled) 

ADJUSTED NET INCOME  

Adjusted gross income $835.47 

Less shelter hardship -$414.26 

Net Adjusted Income (NAI) $421.21 

BENEFIT CALCULATION  

Thrifty Food Plan for #  
Person/s 

$250.00 

Less 30% of NAI -$127.00 

SNAP award $123.00 

 
 

DISCUSSION 
 

The Appellant’s SSDI-C1 benefit increased from $569.00 per month to $1,034.00 per 
month beginning   2021 resulting in an increase in monthly household income 
by $465.00.  This increase in household income caused the regular monthly SNAP benefit 
to decrease effective   2021.  However, the Families First Coronavirus 
Response Act authorized a 15% increase in the Fiscal Year 2021 maximum SNAP 
allotment for a household of one from $204.00 to $234.00 and additional supplemental 
emergency allotments to SNAP households to address temporary food needs during the 
pandemic through  2021.  At this time, Connecticut continues to evaluate and 
authorize monthly SNAP-eligible households additional emergency food benefits equaling 
the maximum SNAP allotment for the household size on a month-by-month basis which 
included the months of  2021 and  2021.  The Department correctly 
calculated the Appellant’s regular monthly benefit of $89.00 per month for  
2021 and $123.00 per month beginning   2021. 

 
 

DECISION 
 
The Appellant’s appeal is denied.   
 
 
 
 

       Lisa A. Nyren  

       Lisa A. Nyren 
       Fair Hearing Officer 
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CC:  Brian Sexton, DSS RO 50 
Christopher Filek, DSS RO 50 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 

 

The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the 
mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new evidence 
has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for reconsideration is 
granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request date.  No response 
within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been denied.  The right to 
request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT  
06105. 
 

 
RIGHT TO APPEAL 

 

The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of the 
mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for reconsideration 
of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the 
Department.  The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  
To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the petition must be 
served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT  06106 
or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington Avenue 
Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to the 
hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee in 
accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's decision to 
grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 
 




