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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 
 

 2021, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) issued a Notice of 
Action (“NOA”) to (the “Appellant”) advising her that her Supplemental 
Nutrition Assistance Program (“SNAP”) benefits would be $104.00 per month, effective 

2021. 
 

 2021, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing because she 
disagrees with the amount of her SNAP benefits.  
 

, 2021, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hearings 
(“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for  2021.  
 

, 2021, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61, and 4-176e to 4-189, 
inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an administrative hearing. 
 
The following individuals were present at the hearing:   
 

, the Appellant 
Nicole Caldwell, Department’s Representative 
Veronica King, Hearing Officer 
 
The hearing record was left open for the submission of additional document. 
2021, the hearing record closed.  
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STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 

 
The issue to be decided is whether the Department correctly calculated the Appellant’s 

2021 and ongoing SNAP benefits. 
 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

1. The Appellant is a recipient of the SNAP program. She receives SNAP benefits for 
herself, her husband and two minor children. She has a SNAP household of four 
members. (Appellant’s Testimony and Hearing Record) 
 

2. The Appellant’s husband receives $777 per month in gross Social Security Disability 
benefits, “SSDI”. (Appellant’s Testimony and Hearing Record) 

 
3. On or about 2021, the Appellant started receiving $2,513.94 per month in 

gross worker’s compensation benefits. (Exhibit 1: Benefit statement, Appellant’s 
Testimony and Hearing Record) 

 
4. The Appellant is responsible for $1,670.79 per month for a mortgage. The Appellant 

don’t pay childcare and the SNAP household don’t have a child support obligation. 
(Appellant’s Testimony and Exhibit 3: W1216 SNAP Computation sheet) 

 
5.  2021, the Department reviewed the Appellant’s redetermination form to 

determine eligibility for the SNAP benefits beyond the certification period of 
2021. The Department determined that the Appellant’s household received a total of 
$3,290.94 ($777 + $2,513.94) gross unearned income per month. (Exhibit 3 and 
Hearing Record) 

 
6.  2021, the Department sent the Appellant an NOA informing the 

Appellant that she will receive $104 per month in SNAP benefits effective 
2021. (Exhibit 4: NOA, 21) 

 
7. The issuance of this decision is timely under the Code of Federal Regulations § 

273.15 which states that a decision must be reached, and the household notified 
within 60 days of receipt of a request for a fair hearing.  The Appellant requested an 
administrative hearing on  2021; therefore, this decision is due not later than 

2021. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW  
 

1. Section 17b-2 of the Connecticut General Statutes, authorizes the Commissioner of 
the Department of Social Services to administer the SNAP program in accordance with 
federal law. 
 

2. Title 7 of the Code of Federal Regulations (“CFR”) § 273.14(a) provides as follows: 
General. No household may participate beyond the expiration of the certification period 
assigned in accordance with §273.10(f) without a determination of eligibility for a new 
period. The State agency must establish procedures for notifying households of 
expiration dates, providing application forms, scheduling interviews, and recertifying 
eligible households prior to the expiration of certification periods. Households must 
apply for recertification and comply with interview and verification requirements. 

 
3. “The Department’s Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) is the equivalent of a state 

regulation and, as such, carries the force of law.” Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 Conn. Supp. 
175, 178 (1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-10; Richard v. Commissioner of 
Income Maintenance, 2017 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d 712 (1990)). 

 

4. Title 7 of CFR § 273.9 (b)(2)(ii) provides that unearned income shall include, but not 
be limited to: Annuities, pensions, retirement, veteran’s, or disability benefits, worker’s 
or unemployment.  

 
      UPM § 5005(A)(1) provides in relevant part the Department counts the assistance 

units available income, and that income is considered available if it is received directly 
by the assistance unit.  

 
      The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s husband Social 

Security and the Appellant’s worker’s compensation benefits unearned income 
must be included when calculating the SNAP benefits for the assistance unit.  

      
5. Title 7 of CFR § 273.9(d)(1)&(3) provides for standard deductions and excess medical 

deductions. 
 

UPM § 5035.15 (E) provides that members of the assistance unit who are elderly or 
disabled are allowed medical expenses as deductions.  An elderly or disabled 
assistance unit member who provides an estimate of the medical expenses he or she 
expects to incur over a certification period that does not exceed twelve months can 
choose to have medical expenses averaged over the certification period. 
 
The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s household does 
contain an elderly or disabled household member. 

    
6. UPM § 5045.15  provides that the amount of applied income upon which the level of 

SNAP benefits is based is calculated in the following way: 
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   A. The monthly net earned income amount is calculated by reducing monthly 
earnings by: 

 
    1. the actual amount of self-employment expenses, if applicable; and 
 
    2 . any earned income deductions approved by the Social Security 

Administration in regards to individual self-support plans (Cross 
reference: 5035.15); and 

 
    3. a deduction of 20% of the gross earnings for personal employment 

expenses. 
 
   B. The monthly net earned income is added to the monthly gross unearned 

income amount and the total of the income deemed to the unit. 
 
   C. The amount of applied income is calculated by reducing the combined total 

of net earnings, gross unearned income and deemed income by the 
following in the order presented: 

 
    1. a deduction for farming losses, if any; 
 
    2. a disregard of $181.00 per month; {effective 2020} 
  
           3. a deduction for unearned income to be used to fulfill a bona-fide plan 

to achieve self-support (PASS); Cross reference: 5035.15 
    4. the appropriate deduction for work related dependent care expenses; 
 
    5. deduction for allowable medical expenses for those assistance unit 

members who qualify; 
 
    6. a deduction for legally obligated child support when it is paid for a 

child who is not a member of the assistance unit; 
 
    7. a deduction for shelter hardship, if applicable.  
 
     (Cross References:  5030 - "Income Disregards" and 5035 "Income  

Deductions") 
 

D.   The remaining amount after the disregards and deductions are subtracted 
is the amount of the unit's applied income. 

 
The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s household  
receive a total of $3,290.94 ($777 + $2,513.94) gross unearned income per  
month. 

 
       The Department correctly applied the $181.00 standard deduction to the 

Appellant’s total unearned income and determine the adjusted gross 
unearned income as $3,109.94 ($3, 290.94 - $181). 
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7. Title 7 CFR § 273.9(d)(6)(ii) provides for excess shelter deduction. 
     
UPM § 5035.15(F)(1) provides for the calculation of the shelter hardship for the SNAP 
and states in part that the amount of shelter expenses which exceeds 50% of that 
portion of the assistance unit's income which remains after all other deductions have 
been subtracted is allowed as an additional deduction.  Shelter expenses are limited to 
the following:      

a. rent, mortgage payments, and any continuing charges leading to 
ownership of the property occupied by the assistance unit excluding 
any portions allowed as self-employment deductions in multiple-
family dwellings; 
 

9. Title 7 CFR § 273.9(d)(6)(iii) provides for the standard utility allowances. 
      
 UPM § 5035.15(F)(6) provides that a standard utility allowance determined          

annually by the agency to reflect changes in utility costs is used to represent the total       
monthly utility expenses of the assistance unit if: 

      
   a. the assistance unit incurs heating fuel or cooling costs 

separately from rent or mortgage payments; and 
   b. the bill is established on the basis of individualized metering of 

service to the unit; or 
   c. the costs are paid: 
    (1) totally or partially by the unit; or 
    (2) partially from a federal means-tested energy program 

directly to the service provider or to the recipient when 
these payments are less than the unit's total monthly 
heating or cooling costs; or 

    (3) totally by CEAP regardless of whether the payment is 
made to the unit or directly to the service provider. 

 
10. Title 7 C.F.R. § 271.2 provides for the maximum shelter deduction. 

 
UPM § 5035.15(F)(10) provides that for those units which do not have any members 
who are elderly or disabled, a maximum shelter hardship is revised annually effective 
October 1. (Maximum shelter hardship effective  2021, is $586.00). 
 
The Department correctly applied the Standard Utility Allowance (“SUA”) of 
$736.00. 
 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s shelter costs was 
$2,406.79 ($1,6070.79 rent + $736.00 SUA).  
 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s shelter hardship cost was 
$851.82 ($2,406.79 - $1,554.97(50% of the Adjusted Gross Income $3,109.94 *.5) 
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      Shelter hardship cannot exceed $586 unless SNAP household has a member 60  
      or older or disable. 

 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s household has a member 
receiving disability benefits and therefore the Appellant’s household shelter 
hardship was $851.82. 

 
      The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s net adjusted income was 

$2,258.12 ($3,109.94 adj. gross - $851.82 shelter hardship). 
 

11. Title 7 of CFR § 273.10(e)(2)(ii)(A)(1) provides for the monthly SNAP benefit 
calculation. 

       
UPM § 6005(C) provides that in the SNAP, the amount of benefits is calculated by: 
(1) multiplying the assistance unit's applied income by 30%; and (2) rounding the 
product up to the next whole dollar if it ends in 1-99 cents; and (3) subtracting the 
rounded product from the Food Stamp standard of assistance for the appropriate 
unit size. 
 

2021, 30% of the Appellant’s net adjusted income, rounded up, was 
$678 ($2,258.12 *.30). 
  

12. Effective  of 2021, the Appellant’s SNAP benefits are computed as   follows:  
 
             SNAP BENEFIT CALCULATION - 20 

INCOME 

Earned Income $0 

Less 20% earned income 
deduction 
 

$0 
$0 

+ Unearned income  $3,290.94 

Less standard deduction -$181.00 

  

Adjusted gross income $3,109.94 

SHELTER COSTS  

Mortgage $1,670.79 

SUA +$736.00 

Total shelter costs $2,406.79 

SHELTER HARDSHIP  

Shelter costs $2,406.79 

Less 50% of adjusted 
gross income 

-$1,554.94 
$851.82 

Total shelter hardship **$851.82 
(Cannot exceed $586 

unless elderly or 
disabled) 
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ADJUSTED NET INCOME  

Adjusted gross income $3,109.94 

Less shelter hardship -$851.82 
Net Adjusted Income 
(NAI) 

$2,258.12 

BENEFIT CALCULATION  

Thrifty Food Plan for 4 
Person 

$782 

Less 30% of NAI -$678 

SNAP award $104 

 
 
On  2021, the Department correctly calculated the Appellant’s SNAP 
benefits as $104.00 per month effective  2021. 

 
        
          
 
 

DECISION 
 
 

 
The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED, 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                                                                  
   Veronica King 

   Hearing Officer 
 
 
 
 
 
Cc: Yecenia Acosta, Tim Latifi, Robert Stewart, DSS Operations Manager, RO #30  
       Bridgeport 
       Nicole Caldwell, Department’s Representative, Fair Hearing Liaison RO#30  
       Bridgeport 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on § 4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes.  
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, 
CT  06105. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on § 4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 165 Capitol Avenue, 
Hartford, CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 
Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on 
all parties to the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 
cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department 
of Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the 
decision.  Good cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the 
Commissioner’s designee in accordance with § 17b-61 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.  The Agency's decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to 
review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 




