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10. The  Tax Return Transcripts show two separate yearly self-employment 
income sources for the Appellant’s spouse. Also listed are any expense 

deductions. (Exhibit 2) 
 

Income #1 Amount 

Gross Receipts or Sales $36,800.00 

  

Expenses for Income #1 Amount 

Car & Truck Expenses $17,858.00 

Depreciation $0.00 

Insurance (Other than Health) $0.00 

Mortgage Interest $0.00 

Legal and Professional Services $0.00 

Repairs and Maintenance $0.00 

Travel $0.00 

Meals and Entertainment $0.00 

Wages $0.00 

Other Expenses $838.00 

Total Expenses $18,837.00 

  

Income #2 Amount 

Gross Receipts or Sales $8,817.00 

  

Expenses for Income #2 Amount 

Car & Truck Expenses $0.00 

Depreciation $0.00 

Insurance (Other than Health) $0.00 

Mortgage Interest $0.00 

Legal and Professional Services $0.00 

Repairs and Maintenance $0.00 

Travel $0.00 

Meals and Entertainment $0.00 

Wages $0.00 

Other Expenses $0.00 

Total Expenses $0.00 

 

11. In its calculations to find the monthly self-employment income, the Department did 
not use the $838 “Other Expense” listed above. The Appellant’s spouse testified 

that the “Other Expense” constitutes his cell phone bill. (Calculations Listed Below, 
Appellant’s Testimony)  
 

12. The Appellant does not pay for any Child Support expenses or Dependent Care 
costs. The Appellant’s spouse has an out-of-pocket medical expense that is paid 
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monthly, but the Appellant never reported that expense to the Department. 
(Appellant’s Testimony)  

 
13. The Appellant pays $600 per month in rent. All utilities are included in the rent. 

(Exhibit 1, Exhibit 4, Exhibit 6) 

 
14. Effective  2020, the Appellant’s SNAP benefit decreased to $333 per 

month. (Exhibit 1, Exhibit 3) 

 

15. On  2021, the hearing record was reopened in order for the Department 
to further explain which self-employment expenses that were used in the monthly 
income calculation. Compliance was due by  2021. (OLCRAH Reopen 

Letter) 
 

16. On  2021, the Department submitted an explanation of expenses, 

but was unable to clarify what the expenses were, or whether or not those 

expenses were counted. (Department’s Email) 

 

17. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 17b-

61(a), which requires that a decision be issued within 60 days of the request for an 
administrative hearing. The hearing request was received on , 2020. 
An additional  days were added for the reopening of the record, therefore, this 

decision is due no later than  2021.  
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
1. Section 17b-2 of the Connecticut General Statutes authorizes the Commissioner 

of the Department of Social Services to administer the SNAP program in 

accordance with federal law. 
 

2. “General. No household may participate beyond the expiration of the certification 

period assigned in accordance with §273.10(f) without a determination of eligibility 
for a new period. The State agency must establish procedures for notifying 
households of expiration dates, providing application forms, scheduling interviews, 

and recertifying eligible households prior to the expiration of certification periods. 
Households must apply for recertification and comply with interview and 
verification requirements.” Title 7 of the Code of Federal Regulations (“C.F.R.”) § 

273.14(a) 
 
The Department correctly issued the Appellant a W-1ER Renewal of 

Eligibility form. The Appellant’s SNAP certification period correctly ended on 
, 2020. The Department processed the renewal in a timely manner, 

correctly resulting in the Appellant’s new certification period beginning 

 2020. 
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3. “Household members meeting citizenship or alien status requirements. No person 
is eligible to participate in the Program unless that person is: (1) A U.S. citizen (2) 

A U.S. non-citizen national.” 7 C.F.R. § 273.4 (a) (1) & (2) 
 

4. “Ineligible household members. The following persons are not eligible to participate 

as separate households or as a member of any household: (i) Ineligible aliens and 
students as specified in §§273.4 and 273.5, respectively.” 7 C.F.R. § 273.1 (b)(7)(i) 
 

5. “Special household requirements—(1) Required household combinations. The 
following individuals who live with others must be considered as customarily 
purchasing food and preparing meals with the others, even if they do not do so, 

and thus must be included in the same household, unless otherwise specified. (i) 
Spouses; (ii) A person under 22 years of age who is living with his or her natural 
or adoptive parent(s) or step-parent(s)” 7 C.F.R. § 273.1 (b)(1)(i) & (ii) 

 

The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s spouse must be 
added to the SNAP Assistance Unit, effective  2020, as he is now 
a citizen of the United States.  

 
6. “Definition of income. Household income shall mean all income from whatever 

source excluding only items specified in paragraph (c) of this section. (ii) The gross 

income from a self-employment enterprise, including the total gain from the sale of 
any capital goods or equipment related to the business, excluding the costs of 
doing business as provided in paragraph (c) of this section.” 7 C.F.R. §273.9 (b)(ii) 

 
7. “Income exclusions. Only the following items shall be excluded from household 

income and no other income shall be excluded:… The cost of producing self-

employment income. The procedures for computing the cost of producing self-
employment income are described in §273.11.” 7 C.F.R. § 273.9 (c)(9) 
 

8. “Self-employment income. The State agency must calculate a household's self-

employment income as follows: (1) Averaging self-employment income. (i) Self-
employment income must be averaged over the period the income is intended to 
cover, even if the household receives income from other sources. If the averaged 

amount does not accurately reflect the household's actual circumstances because 
the household has experienced a substantial increase or decrease in business, 
the State agency must calculate the self-employment income on the basis of 

anticipated, not prior, earnings.” 7 C.F.R. § 273.11 (a)(1)(i) 
 

9. “Determining monthly income from self-employment. (i) For the period of time over 
which self-employment income is determined, the State agency must add all gross 

self-employment income (either actual or anticipated, as provided in paragraph 
(a)(1)(i) of this section) and capital gains (according to paragraph (a)(3) of this 
section), exclude the costs of producing the self-employment income (as 

determined in paragraph (a)(4) of this section), and divide the remaining amount 
of self-employment income by the number of months over which the income will 
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be averaged. This amount is the monthly net self-employment income. The 
monthly net self-employment income must be added to any other earned income 

received by the household to determine total monthly earned income.” 7 C.F.R. § 
273.11 (a)(2)(i) 
 

10. “Allowable costs of producing self-employment income. (1) Allowable costs of 

producing self-employment income include, but are not limited to, the identifiable 
costs of labor; stock; raw material; seed and fertilizer; payments on the principal of 
the purchase price of income-producing real estate and capital assets, equipment, 

machinery, and other durable goods; interest paid to purchase income-producing 
property; insurance premiums; and taxes paid on income-producing property.” 7 
C.F.R. § 273.11 (b)(1) 

 

The Department correctly determined the monthly income, after allowable 

costs, for self-employment Income #2, as listed in the chart above. (also see 

Exhibit 2: 2019 Tax Return Transcript) 

 

The Department correctly determined that there are no allowable costs listed 

under “Expenses” on the  Tax Return Transcript. The Department 

correctly calculated the income as follows: 

$8,817 (gross income) - $0 (allowable costs) = $8,817  

$8,817 / 12 months = $734.75 monthly net self-employment income.  

The $734.75 is accurately reflected on Exhibit 6. 

 

The Department incorrectly determined the monthly income, after allowable 

costs, for self-employment Income #1, as listed in the chart above.  

 

Under Income #1, the allowable costs of doing business (listed as expenses) 

are $17,858 in Car/Truck Expenses, and $838 in Other Expenses (which the 

Appellant’s spouse testified as being his yearly cell phone bill).  

 

The total yearly expenses should equal out to $18,696.  

($17,858 + $838 = $18,696) 

 

However, the Tax Transcript lists the total yearly expenses as $18,837. This 

creates a difference of $141 between the total reported yearly expense figure 

and the sum of the actual expenses listed.  

($18,837 - $18,696 = $141) 

 

The Department incorrectly determined the Appellant’s monthly net self-

employment income for Income #1 as $1,566.75. 
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The Department incorrectly added only the $17,858 Car/Truck Expense and 

the $141 unexplained expense. They excluded the $838 Other Expense for 

their calculation. 

($17,858 + $141 = $17,999) 

 

The incorrect total expense was then subtracted from the total gross self-

employment income for Income #1, and then divided by 12 months. 

($36,800 - $17,999 = $18,801 / 12 months = $1,566.75 net self-employment 

income) 

 

In short, the monthly determination for Income #1 is incorrect because the 

Department failed to incorporate the $838 Other Expense in their calculation. 

They also used an unexplained $141 expense in their calculation, as well.  

 

DISCUSSION 
 

The only way the Department was able to determine the monthly net self-
employment income of $1,566.75 was to only take into consideration the $17,858 
Car/Truck Expense and the $141 unexplained expense.  

 
Though the Department stated in their email that the $838 “Other” Expense is being 
counted, the math listed above shows that it is not being counted. That expense 

should be counted, as the Appellant’s spouse testified this is his cell phone bill. 
Given the nature of his work as a , a cell phone is 
a necessary business expense and therefore should be counted.  

 
DECISION 

Appellant’s appeal is REMANDED back to the Department. 

 
 

ORDER 

 
The Department must take the following actions. Compliance is due by  

. 
 

1. Recalculate the net self-employment income of Income #1 using the $17,858 
Car/Truck Expense, the $838 Other Expense and the $141 expense (if 
applicable). This should be updated back to  2020.  
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________________________ 
Joshua Couillard 

Fair Hearing Officer 
 
 

 
Pc. Rachel Anderson, New Haven Regional Operational Manager 
      Cheryl Stuart, New Haven Regional Operational Manager 

      Lisa Wells, New Haven Regional Operational Manager  
      Ferris Clare, Fair Hearing Liaison  
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 

The Appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the 
mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 

evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists. If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date. No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 

denied. The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-1181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 

 

Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, or what other good cause exists. 

 

Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT 

06105-3725. 

 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 

 

The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court with 45 days of the 
mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies petition for reconsideration 
of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the 
Department. The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut General 

Statutes. To appeal, a petition must be fooled at Superior Court. A copy of the petition 
must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 53 Elm Street, Hartford, CT 
06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 

Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105-3725. A copy of the petition must also be served on all 
parties to the hearing.  

The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause. 
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision. Good cause 

circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee in 
accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes. The Agency’s decision to 
grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 

The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 




