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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

    
The Department of Social Services (the “Department”) reduced the 
Appellant’s) benefits under the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (“SNAP”) 
from $247.00 per month to $204.00 per month beginning  2020. 
 
On , 2020, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to contest 
the Department’s decision to reduce such benefits. 
 
On  2020, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative 
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for 

 2020. 
 
On , 2020, the Appellant requested a continuance which the OLCRAH 
granted. 
 
On  2020, the OLCRAH issued a notice scheduling the administrative 
hearing for  2020. 
 
On  2020, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61 and 4-176e to 4-189 
inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an administrative hearing.  
 
The following individuals called in for the hearing: 
 

, Appellant 
Kate MacKenzie, Department Representative 
Lisa Nyren, Fair Hearing Officer 
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STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 
 
The issue to be decided is whether the Department correctly calculated the Appellant’s 
monthly SNAP benefits beginning , 2020. 
 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

1. The Appellant receives benefits under the SNAP for a household of two:  herself 
and her son.  (Hearing Record) 
  

2. The Appellant is age  and not disabled.  (Appellant’s Testimony and 
Exhibit 1:  Online Application) 
 

3. The son is  and not disabled.  (Appellant’s Testimony and Exhibit 
1:  Online Application) 
 

4. The Appellant receives unemployment compensation benefits (“UCB”) of 
$432.00 per week.  (Appellant’s Testimony, Department Representative’s 
Testimony and Exhibit 5:  Department of Labor UCB) 
 

5. The Appellant attends  (“college”) part time.  The 
Appellant does not receive financial aid for college.  (Appellant’s Testimony) 
 

6. The Appellant sends her son to a licensed home daycare program one day per 
week so that she may complete her college assignments.  The Appellant pays 
$50.00 per week for childcare.  (Appellant’s Testimony) 
 

7. The Appellant pays $50.00 per month for prescription reflux medication for her 
son which is not covered by medical insurance.  (Appellant’s Testimony) 
 

8. The Appellant pays $675.00 per month for rent and pays for the electricity and 
heating costs in the apartment.  The Appellant’s apartment uses oil heat.  The 
Appellant did not receive energy assistance for the prior heating season.  
(Appellant’s Testimony) 
 

9. In 2020, the Department reduced the Appellant’s SNAP benefits from 
$247.00 per month to $204.00 per month.  The Department calculated ongoing 
SNAP benefits as $107.00.  (Hearing Record) 
 

10. The issuance of this decision is timely under United States Department of 
Agriculture Food and Nutrition Services Connecticut waiver approved on April 
9,2020 which extends the time frame required to issue a decision under Title 7 
Section 273.15(c) of the Code of Federal Regulation from 60 days to 120 days of 
the request for an administrative hearing.  The Appellant requested an 
administrative hearing on  2020. However, the hearing which was 
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originally scheduled for , 2020 was rescheduled at the request of the 
Appellant which caused a  day delay.  Because this  delay 
resulted from the Appellant’s request, this decision is due not later than  
2021. 
 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. Section 17b-2(7) of the Connecticut General Statutes (“Conn. Gen. Stats.”) 
provides that the Department of Social Services is designated as the state 
agency for the administration of the supplemental nutrition assistance program 
pursuant to the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008. 
  

2. Title 7 of the Code of Federal Regulations (“C.F.R.”) Section 273.1(a)(3) provides 
for the “General household definition. A household is composed of one of the 
following individuals or groups of individuals, unless otherwise specified in 
paragraph (b) of this section:  A group of individuals who live together and 
customarily purchase food and prepare meals together for home consumption.” 
 
Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 
Special household requirements—(1) Required household combinations. The 
following individuals who live with others must be considered as customarily 
purchasing food and preparing meals with the others, even if they do not do so, 
and thus must be included in the same household, unless otherwise specified.  A 
person under 22 years of age who is living with his or her natural or adoptive 
parent(s) or step-parent(s).   
 
7 C.F.R.§ 273.1(b)(1)(ii) 
 

3. The Department correctly determined as assistance unit of two, the Appellant 
and her son. 
  

4. “Definition of income.  Household income shall mean all income from whatever 
source excluding only items specified in paragraph (c) of this section.”  7 C.F.R. § 
273.9(b) 
 
Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 
Unearned income shall include, but not be limited to:  Annuities; pensions; 
retirement, veteran's, or disability benefits; worker's or unemployment 
compensation including any amounts deducted to repay claims for intentional 
program violations as provided in §272.12; old-age, survivors, or social security 
benefits; strike benefits; foster care payments for children or adults who are 
considered members of the household; gross income minus the cost of doing 
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business derived from rental property in which a household member is not 
actively engaged in the management of the property at least 20 hours a week.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.9(b)(2)(ii) 
  

5. The Department correctly included the Appellant’s UCB income when calculating 
the SNAP benefits for the household. 
 

6. Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 
Determining income—(1) Anticipating income. (i) For the purpose of determining 
the household's eligibility and level of benefits, the State agency shall take into 
account the income already received by the household during the certification 
period and any anticipated income the household and the State agency are 
reasonably certain will be received during the remainder of the certification 
period. If the amount of income that will be received, or when it will be received, 
is uncertain, that portion of the household's income that is uncertain shall not be 
counted by the State agency. For example, a household anticipating income from 
a new source, such as a new job or recently applied for public assistance 
benefits, may be uncertain as to the timing and amount of the initial payment. 
These moneys shall not be anticipated by the State agency unless there is 
reasonable certainty concerning the month in which the payment will be received 
and in what amount. If the exact amount of the income is not known, that portion 
of it which can be anticipated with reasonable certainty shall be considered as 
income. In cases where the receipt of income is reasonably certain but the 
monthly amount may fluctuate, the household may elect to income average. 
Households shall be advised to report all changes in gross monthly income as 
required by §273.12.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(c)(1)(i),  
 
Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 
Income only in month received. (i) Income anticipated during the certification 
period shall be counted as income only in the month it is expected to be 
received, unless the income is averaged. Whenever a full month's income is 
anticipated but is received on a weekly or biweekly basis, the State agency shall 
convert the income to a monthly amount by multiplying weekly amounts by 4.3 
and biweekly amounts by 2.15, use the State Agency's PA conversion standard, 
or use the exact monthly figure if it can be anticipated for each month of the 
certification period. Nonrecurring lump-sum payments shall be counted as a 
resource starting in the month received and shall not be counted as income.  
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(c)(2)(i)   
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7. Based on the hearing record, the Department’s calculation of the Appellant’s 
monthly gross income cannot be determined.  However, based on SNAP 
regulations, the Appellant’s gross monthly UCB benefit equals $1,857.60 under 
the SNAP.  ($432.00 per week x 4.3 weeks = $1,857.60) 
 

8. “Determining deductions.  Deductible expenses include only certain dependent 
care, shelter, medical and, at State agency option, child support costs as 
described in § 273.9.  7 C.F.R.§ 273.10(d) 
 
Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 
Expenses shall only be deductible if the service is provided by someone outside 
of the household and the household makes a money payment for the service. For 
example, a dependent care deduction shall not be allowed if another household 
member provides the care, or compensation for the care is provided in the form 
of an inkind benefit, such as food.  
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(d)(1)(ii) 
 
“Conversion of deductions.  The income conversion procedures in paragraph 
(c)(2) of this section shall also apply to expenses billed on a weekly or biweekly 
basis.”  7 C.F.R.§ 273.10(d)(5) 
 

9. Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 
Income deductions.  Deductions shall be allowed only for the following household 
expenses:   
 
Standard deduction—(i) 48 States, District of Columbia, Alaska, Hawaii, and the 
Virgin Islands. Effective October 1, 2002, in the 48 States and the District of 
Columbia, Alaska, Hawaii, and the Virgin Islands, the standard deduction for 
household sizes one through six shall be equal to 8.31 percent of the monthly net 
income eligibility standard for each household size established under paragraph 
(a)(2) of this section rounded up to the nearest whole dollar. For household sizes 
greater than six, the standard deduction shall be equal to the standard deduction 
for a six-person household. 
 
7 C.F.R.§ 273.9(d)(1)(i) 
 
Excess medical deduction. That portion of medical expenses in excess of $35 
per month, excluding special diets, incurred by any household member who is 
elderly or disabled as defined in §271.2. Spouses or other persons receiving 
benefits as a dependent of the SSI or disability and blindness recipient are not 
eligible to receive this deduction but persons receiving emergency SSI benefits 
based on presumptive eligibility are eligible for this deduction. ...  
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7 C.F.R. § 273.9(d)(3) 
 
Federal regulation provides as follows: 
 
Elderly or disabled member means a member of a household who: 
 
1. Is 60 years of age or older; 
2. Receives supplemental security income benefits under title XVI of the Social 

Security Act or disability or blindness payments under titles I, II, X, XIV, or XVI 
of the Social Security Act; 

3. Receives federally or State-administered supplemental benefits under section 
1616(a) of the Social Security Act provided that the eligibility to receive the 
benefits is based upon the disability or blindness criteria used under title XVI 
of the Social Security Act; 

4. Receives federally or State-administered supplemental benefits under section 
212(a) of Pub. L. 93-66; 

5. Receives disability retirement benefits from a governmental agency because 
of a disability considered permanent under section 221(i) of the Social 
Security Act. 

6. Is a veteran with a service-connected or non-service-connected disability 
rated by the Veteran's Administration (VA) as total or paid as total by the VA 
under title 38 of the United States Code; 

7. Is a veteran considered by the VA to be in need of regular aid and attendance 
or permanently housebound under title 38 of the United States Code; 

8. Is a surviving spouse of a veteran and considered by the VA to be in need of 
regular aid and attendance or permanently housebound or a surviving child of 
a veteran and considered by the VA to be permanently incapable of self-
support under title 38 of the United States Code; 

9. Is a surviving spouse or surviving child of a veteran and considered by the VA 
to be entitled to compensation for a service-connected death or pension 
benefits for a nonservice-connected death under title 38 of the United States 
Code and has a disability considered permanent under section 221(i) of the 
Social Security Act. “Entitled” as used in this definition refers to those 
veterans' surviving spouses and surviving children who are receiving the 
compensation or pension benefits stated or have been approved for such 
payments, but are not yet receiving them; or 

10. Receives an annuity payment under: section 2(a)(1)(iv) of the Railroad 
Retirement Act of 1974 and is determined to be eligible to receive Medicare 
by the Railroad Retirement Board; or section 2(a)(1)(v) of the Railroad 
Retirement Act of 1974 and is determined to be disabled based upon the 
criteria used under title XVI of the Social Security Act. 

11. Is a recipient of interim assistance benefits pending the receipt of 
Supplemented Security Income, a recipient of disability related medical 
assistance under title XIX of the Social Security Act, or a recipient of 
disability-based State general assistance benefits provided that the eligibility 
to receive any of these benefits is based upon disability or blindness criteria 
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established by the State agency which are at least as stringent as those used 
under title XVI of the Social Security Act (as set forth at 20 CFR part 416, 
subpart I, Determining Disability and Blindness as defined in Title XVI). 

 
7 C.F.R. § 271.2 
 
Dependent care. Payments for dependent care when necessary for a household 
member to search for, accept or continue employment, comply with the 
employment and training requirements as specified under §273.7(e), or attend 
training or pursue education that is preparatory to employment, except as 
provided in §273.10(d)(1)(i). Costs that may be deducted are limited to the care 
of an individual for whom the household provides dependent care, including care 
of a child under the age of 18 or an incapacitated person of any age in need of 
care. The costs of care provided by a relative may be deducted so long as the 
relative providing care is not part of the same SNAP household as the child or 
dependent adult receiving care. Dependent care expenses must be separately 
identified, necessary to participate in the care arrangement, and not already paid 
by another source on behalf of the household. If a household incurs attendant 
care costs that could qualify under both the medical deduction of §273.9(d)(3)(x) 
and dependent care deduction of §273.9(d)(4), the costs may be deducted as a 
medical expense or a dependent care expense, but not both. Allowable 
dependent care costs include:   
 
i. The costs of care given by an individual care provider or care facility; 
ii. Transportation costs to and from the care facility; and 
iii. Activity or other fees associated with the care provided to the dependent 

that are necessary for the household to participate in the care. 
 
7 C.F.R.§ 273.9(d)(4) 
 
Excess shelter deduction. Monthly shelter expenses in excess of 50 percent of 
the household's income after all other deductions in paragraphs (d)(1) through 
(d)(5) of this section have been allowed. If the household does not contain an 
elderly or disabled member, as defined in §271.2 of this chapter, the shelter 
deduction cannot exceed the maximum shelter deduction limit established for the 
area. For fiscal year 2001, effective March 1, 2001, the maximum monthly 
excess shelter expense deduction limits are $340 for the 48 contiguous States 
and the District of Columbia, $543 for Alaska, $458 for Hawaii, $399 for Guam, 
and $268 for the Virgin Islands. FNS will set the maximum monthly excess 
shelter expense deduction limits for fiscal year 2002 and future years by 
adjusting the previous year's limits to reflect changes in the shelter component 
and the fuels and utilities component of the Consumer Price Index for All Urban 
Consumers for the 12 month period ending the previous November 30. FNS will 
notify State agencies of the amount of the limit. Only the following expenses are 
allowable shelter expenses:   
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A. Continuing charges for the shelter occupied by the household, including rent, 
mortgage, condo and association fees, or other continuing charges leading to 
the ownership of the shelter such as loan repayments for the purchase of a 
mobile home, including interest on such payments. 

B. Property taxes, State and local assessments, and insurance on the structure 
itself, but not separate costs for insuring furniture or personal belongings. 

C. The cost of fuel for heating; cooling (i.e., the operation of air conditioning 
systems or room air conditioners); electricity or fuel used for purposes other 
than heating or cooling; water; sewerage; well installation and maintenance; 
septic tank system installation and maintenance; garbage and trash 
collection; all service fees required to provide service for one telephone, 
including, but not limited to, basic service fees, wire maintenance fees, 
subscriber line charges, relay center surcharges, 911 fees, and taxes; and 
fees charged by the utility provider for initial installation of the utility. One-time 
deposits cannot be included. 

D. The shelter costs for the home if temporarily not occupied by the household 
because of employment or training away from home, illness, or abandonment 
caused by a natural disaster or casualty loss. For costs of a home vacated by 
the household to be included in the household's shelter costs, the household 
must intend to return to the home; the current occupants of the home, if any, 
must not be claiming the shelter costs for SNAP purposes; and the home 
must not be leased or rented during the absence of the household. 

E. Charges for the repair of the home which was substantially damaged or 
destroyed due to a natural disaster such as a fire or flood. Shelter costs shall 
not include charges for repair of the home that have been or will be 
reimbursed by private or public relief agencies, insurance companies, or from 
any other source.   

 
7 C.F.R.§ 273.9(d)(6)(ii) 
 
Standard utility allowances:  A standard with a heating or cooling component 
must be made available to households that incur heating or cooling expenses 
separately from their rent or mortgage and to households that receive direct or 
indirect assistance under the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Act of 1981 
(LIHEAA). A heating or cooling standard is available to households in private 
rental housing who are billed by their landlords on the basis of individual usage 
or who are charged a flat rate separately from their rent. However, households in 
public housing units which have central utility meters and which charge 
households only for excess heating or cooling costs are not entitled to a standard 
that includes heating or cooling costs based only on the charge for excess usage 
unless the State agency mandates the use of standard utility allowances in 
accordance with paragraph (d)(6)(iii)(E) of this section. Households that receive 
direct or indirect energy assistance that is excluded from income consideration 
(other than that provided under the LIHEAA) are entitled to a standard that 
includes heating or cooling only if the amount of the expense exceeds the 
amount of the assistance. Households that receive direct or indirect energy 
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assistance that is counted as income and incur a heating or cooling expense are 
entitled to use a standard that includes heating or cooling costs. A household that 
has both an occupied home and an unoccupied home is only entitled to one 
standards.   
 
7 C.F.R.§ 273.9(d)(6)(iii)(C) 
 

10. The Department correctly determined the Appellant entitled to the standard 
deduction equaling $167.00 per month.  Refer to Conclusions of Law (“COL”) 
#17. 
 

11. The Department correctly determined the Appellant not entitled to the excess 
medical deduction for the purchase of reflux medication for her son because no 
one in the household meets the criteria as elderly or disabled.  Only those 
households that contain an elderly or disabled member may qualify for an excess 
medical deduction.   
 

12. Based on the hearing record, whether or not the Department allowed a 
dependent care deduction is not known.  However, as the Appellant is enrolled in 
higher education and pays for child care, the Appellant meets the eligibility 
criteria for the dependent care deduction.  The dependent care deduction equals 
$215.00 per month.  ($50.00 per week x 4.3 weeks = $215.00)  Refer to COL 
#17. 
 

13. Based on the hearing record, the amount of the excess shelter deduction applied 
to the SNAP calculation cannot be determined.  However, the Appellant is 
entitled to an excess shelter deduction of $586.00 based on her rent expense of 
$675.00 per month and the standard utility allowance of $736.00.  Refer to COL 
#17. 
 

14. Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 
Calculating net income and benefit levels-(1) Net monthly income.  To determine 
a household’s net monthly income, the State agency shall: 
 
A. Add the gross monthly income earned by all household members and the 

total monthly unearned income of all household members, minus income 
exclusions, to determine the household's total gross income. Net losses from 
the self-employment income of a farmer shall be offset in accordance with 
§273.11(a)(2)(iii). 

B. Multiply the total gross monthly earned income by 20 percent and subtract 
that amount from the total gross income; or multiply the total gross monthly 
earned income by 80 percent and add that to the total monthly unearned 
income, minus income exclusions. If the State agency has chosen to treat 
legally obligated child support payments as an income exclusion in 
accordance with §273.9(c)(17), multiply the excluded earnings used to pay 



 10 

child support by 20 percent and subtract that amount from the total gross 
monthly income. 

C. Subtract the standard deduction. 
D. If the household is entitled to an excess medical deduction as provided in 

§273.9(d)(3), determine if total medical expenses exceed #35.  If so, subtract 
that portion which exceeds $35. 

E. Subtract allowable monthly dependent care expenses if, any, as specified 
under § 273.9(d)(4) for each dependent. 

F. If the State agency has chosen to treat legally obligated child support 
payments as a deduction rather than an exclusion in accordance with § 
273.9(d)(5), subtract allowable monthly child support payments in accordance 
with § 273.9(d)(5). 

G. Subtract the homeless shelter deduction, if any, up to the maximum of $143. 
H. Total the allowable shelter expenses to determine shelter costs, unless a 

deduction has been subtracted in accordance with paragraph (e)(1)(i)(G) of 
this section. Subtract from total shelter costs 50 percent of the household's 
monthly income after all the above deductions have been subtracted. The 
remaining amount, if any, is the excess shelter cost. If there is no excess 
shelter cost, the net monthly income has been determined. If there is excess 
shelter cost, compute the shelter deduction according to paragraph (e)(1)(i)(I) 
of this section. 

I. Subtract the excess shelter cost up to the maximum amount allowed for the 
area (unless the household is entitled to the full amount of its excess shelter 
expenses) from the household's monthly income after all other applicable 
deductions. Households not subject to a capped shelter expense shall have 
the full amount exceeding 50 percent of their net income subtracted. The 
household's net monthly income has been determined. 

 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(e)(1)(i) 
 

15. “In calculating net monthly income, the State agency shall use one of the 
following two procedures:  Round down each income and allotment calculation 
that ends in 1 through 49 cents and round up each calculation that ends in 50 
through 99 cents.”  7 C.F.R. § 273.10(e)(1)(ii) 
 

16. Federal regulation provides as follows:  
 
Except as provided in paragraphs (a)(1), (e)(2)(iii) and (e)(2)(vi) of this section, 
the household's monthly allotment shall be equal to the maximum SNAP 
allotment for the household's size reduced by 30 percent of the household's net 
monthly income as calculated in paragraph (e)(1) of this section. If 30 percent of 
the household's net income ends in cents, the State agency shall round in one of 
the following ways:  The State agency shall round the 30 percent of net income 
up to the nearest higher dollar.   
 
7 C.F.R.§ 273.10(e)(2)(ii)(A)(1) 
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Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 
Thrifty Food Plan (TFP) and Maximum SNAP Allotments.  Maximum SNAP 
allotment level. Maximum SNAP allotments shall be based on the TFP as defined 
in §271.2, and they shall be uniform by household size throughout the 48 
contiguous States and the District of Columbia. The TFP for Hawaii shall be the 
TFP for the 48 States and DC adjusted for the price of food in Honolulu. The 
TFPs for urban, rural I, and rural II parts of Alaska shall be the TFP for the 48 
States and DC adjusted by the price of food in Anchorage and further adjusted 
for urban, rural I, and rural II Alaska as defined in §272.7(c). The TFPs for Guam 
and the Virgin Islands shall be adjusted for changes in the cost of food in the 48 
States and DC, provided that the cost of these TFPs may not exceed the cost of 
the highest TFP for the 50 States. The TFP amounts and maximum allotments in 
each area are adjusted annually and will be prescribed in a table posted on the 
FNS web site, at www.fns.usda.gov/fsp.   
 
7 C.F.R.§ 273.10(e)(4)(i) 
 

17. The Department incorrectly determined the Appellant’s monthly SNAP benefit as 
$204.00 per month beginning  2020.  The correct benefit is $107.00 
per month. 

 

INCOME 

Earned Income $00.00 

Less 20% -$00.00 

Total  

Plus Unearned Income +$1,857.60 

Total $1,857.60 

Less standard deduction -$167.00 

Less child care costs -$215.00 

Adjusted gross income $1,475.60 

SHELTER COSTS  

Rent $675.00 

SUA +$736.00 

Total shelter costs $1,411.00 

SHELTER HARDSHIP  

Shelter costs $1,411.00 

Less 50% of adjusted 
gross income 

-$737.80 

Total shelter hardship $673.20 
(Can not exceed 

$586 unless elderly or 
disabled) 

ADJUSTED NET INCOME  

Adjusted gross income $1,475.60 

Less shelter hardship -$586.00 
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Net Adjusted Income 
(NAI) 

$889.60 

BENEFIT CALCULATION  

Thrifty Food Plan for #  
Person/s 

$374.00 

Less 30% of NAI -$267.00 

SNAP award $107.00 

 
 

 
DECISION 

 
The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
       __________________________  
       Lisa A. Nyren 
       Fair Hearing Officer 
 
 
CC:  Cheryl Stuart, DSS RO #40 
Kate MacKenzie, DSS RO #40 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the 
mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new evidence 
has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for reconsideration is 
granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request date.  No response 
within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been denied.  The right to 
request a reconsideration is based on § 4-181a (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes.  
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT  
06105. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of the 
mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for reconsideration 
of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the 
Department.  The right to appeal is based on § 4-183 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the petition must 
be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT  
06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington Avenue 
Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to the 
hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee in 
accordance with § 17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's decision to 
grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 
 
 
 
 




