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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 
 
On  2020, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) issued  

 (the “Appellant”) a Notice of Action (“NOA”).  The notice stated that the Department 
reduced the Appellant’s benefits under the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
(“SNAP”) beginning  2020 to $16.00. 
 
On  2020, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing because she 
disagreed with the Department’s action to reduce her SNAP benefits to $16.00 beginning 

 2020.  
 
On  2020, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hearings 
(“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for  2020. 
 
On  2020, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61, and 4-176e to 4-189, 
inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an administrative hearing. 
 
The following individuals called in for the hearing:   
 

, Appellant  
Kristy Martinez, Department’s Representative 
Lisa Nyren, Hearing Officer 
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STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 
 

The issue to be decided is whether the Department correctly calculated the Appellant’s 
monthly SNAP benefits beginning  2020 as $16.00. 
 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 
1. The Appellant receives SNAP benefits for herself.  (Hearing Record) 

  
2. The Appellant is  ) years old born on .  (Appellant Testimony) 
 
3. The Appellant receives a gross pension of $1,644.68 per month.  (Stipulated) 

 
4. The Appellant lives alone except when family members stay over to help her out.  

(Appellant’s Testimony) 
 

5. The Appellant lives in low income housing and pays $418.00 per month for rent.  
(Appellant’s Testimony) 

 
6. Heat is included in the rent, but the Appellant pays for electricity which includes 

increased costs for cooling during the summer months.  (Appellant’s Testimony) 
 

7. The Appellant received the standard utility allowance of $736.00 under the SNAP.  
(Department Representative’s Testimony, Exhibit 5:  Federal SNAP-Income Test, 
Exhibit 6:  SNAP Computation Worksheet, and Exhibit 7:  SNAP Computation 
Worksheet) 

 
8. On  2020, the Department received proof of monthly pension and out of 

pocket medical expense for dental coverage costing $74.66 per month.  (Exhibit 1:  
Pension Paystub) 

 
9. The Department determined the Appellant’s monthly out of pocket medical expenses 

as $74.66.  The Department determined the monthly excess medical deduction under 
the SNAP as $39.66.  [$74.66 - $35.00 = $39.66]  (Exhibit 7:  SNAP Computation 
Worksheet) 
 

10. The Department determined the Appellant eligible for $16.00 per month under the 
SNAP effective  2020.  (Hearing Record) 

 
11. The issuance of this decision is timely under Executive Order 7M issued on March 25, 

2020 which extends the time frame required to issue a decision under Connecticut 
General Statute § 17b-61(a), from 90 days to 120 days of the request for an 
administrative hearing.  The Appellant requested an administration hearing on  

 2020.  Therefore, this decision is due  2020. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW  
 

1. Section 17b-2(7) of the Connecticut General Statutes (“Conn. Gen. Stats.”) provides 
that the Department of Social Services is designated as the state agency for the 
administration of the supplemental nutrition assistance program pursuant to the Food 
and Nutrition Act of 2008. 

2. Section 273.1(a)(1) of the Title 7 of the Code of Federal Regulations (“C.F.R.”) 
provides that “a household is composed of one of the following individuals or groups 
of individuals, unless otherwise specified in paragraph (b) of this section:  an individual 
living alone.” 

Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) § 2020.05(A) provides that a group of individuals living 
together, buying food, preparing meals for home consumption and eating together 
are, as a general rule, a Food Stamp assistance unit. 

3. The Department correctly determined an assistance unit of one. 
  

4. “The department’s uniform policy manual is the equivalent of a state regulation and, 
as such, carries the force of law.”  Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 Conn. Supp. 175, 178 
(1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat, § 17b-10; Richard v. Commissioner of Income 
Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d 712(1990)) 

 
5. “Household income shall mean all income from whatever source excluding only 

items specified in paragraph (c) of this section.”  7 C.F.R. § 273.9(b) 
 

Departmental policy provides as follows: 
 
In consideration of income, the Department counts the assistance unit’s available 
income, except to the extent that it is specifically excluded.  Income is considered 
available if it is: 

1. Received directly by the assistance unit; or 
2. Received by someone else on behalf of the assistance unit and the unit 

fails to prove that it is inaccessible; or 
3. Deemed by the Department to benefit the assistance unit. 

      
     UPM § 5005(A) 
 
6. Federal regulation provides as follows:   

 
Unearned income shall include but not be limited to annuities; pensions; retirement, 
veteran’s or disability benefits; worker’s or unemployment compensation including any 
amounts deducted to repay claims for intentional program violations as provided in § 
272.12; old-age, survivors, or social security benefits; strike benefits; foster care 
payments for children or adults who are considered members of the household; gross 
income minus the cost of doing business derived from rental property in which a 
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household member is not actively engaged in the management of the property at least 
20 hours a week.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.9(b)(2)(ii) 
 
“Payments received by the assistance unit from annuity plans, pensions and trusts are 
considered unearned income.”  UPM § 5050.09(A) 
 
“Unearned income is income which does not constitute compensation for work or 
services performed or business conducted and includes returns from capital 
investments when the individual is not actively involved in the production of the 
income.” UPM § 5000.01  
 

7. The Department correctly included the Appellant’s pension income when calculating 
the SNAP benefits for the assistance unit.  
  

8. Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 

Determining Income-Anticipating income.  For the purpose of determining the 
household’s eligibility and level of benefits, the State agency shall take into account 
the income already received by the household during the certification period and any 
anticipated income the household and the State agency are reasonably certain will 
be received during the remainder of the certification period. If the amount of income 
that will be received, or when it will be received, is uncertain, that portion of the 
household's income that is uncertain shall not be counted by the State agency. For 
example, a household anticipating income from a new source, such as a new job or 
recently applied for public assistance benefits, may be uncertain as to the timing 
and amount of the initial payment. These moneys shall not be anticipated by the 
State agency unless there is reasonable certainty concerning the month in which the 
payment will be received and in what amount. If the exact amount of the income is 
not known, that portion of it which can be anticipated with reasonable certainty shall 
be considered as income. In cases where the receipt of income is reasonably 
certain but the monthly amount may fluctuate, the household may elect to income 
average. Households shall be advised to report all changes in gross monthly income 
as required by §273.12.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(c)(1)(i) 
 
Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 
Income only in month received. Income anticipated during the certification period shall 
be counted as income only in the month it is expected to be received, unless the 
income is averaged.  Whenever a full month's income is anticipated but is received on 
a weekly or biweekly basis, the State agency shall convert the income to a monthly 
amount by multiplying weekly amounts by 4.3 and biweekly amounts by 2.15, use the 
State Agency's PA conversion standard, or use the exact monthly figure if it can be 
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anticipated for each month of the certification period.  Nonrecurring lump-sum 
payments shall be counted as a resource starting in the month received and shall not 
be counted as income.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(c)(2)(i) 
 
“If income is received on a monthly basis, a representative monthly amount is used as 
an estimate of income.”  UPM § 5025.05(B)(1) 

  
9. The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s gross monthly pension as 

$1,644.68 per month. 
 

10. Federal regulation provides as follows:  
 

Income eligibility standards. Participation in the Program shall be limited to those 
households whose incomes are determined to be a substantial limiting factor in 
permitting them to obtain a more nutritious diet. Households which contain an 
elderly or disabled member shall meet the net income eligibility standards for SNAP. 
Households which do not contain an elderly or disabled member shall meet both the 
net income eligibility standards and the gross income eligibility standards for SNAP. 
Households which are categorically eligible as defined in §273.2(j)(2) or 273.2(j)(4) 
do not have to meet either the gross or net income eligibility standards. The net and 
gross income eligibility standards shall be based on the Federal income poverty 
levels established as provided in section 673(2) of the Community Services Block 
Grant Act (42 U.S.C. 9902(2)) 
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.9(a) 

 
Federal regulation provides as follows:   

 
The State agency, at its option, may extend categorical eligibility to the following 
households only if doing so will further the purposes of the Food and Nutrition Act of 
2008:  Any household (except those listed in paragraph (j)(2)(vii) of this section) in 
which all members receive or are authorized to receive non-cash or in-kind services 
from a program that is less than 50 percent funded with State money counted for 
MOE purposes under Title IV-A or Federal money under Title IV-A and that is 
designed to further purposes one and two of the TANF block grant, as set forth in 
Section 401 of P.L. 104-193. States must inform FNS of the TANF services under 
this paragraph that they are determining to confer categorical eligibility.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.2(j)(2)(ii)(A) 

 
“An assistance unit is considered categorically eligible for the SNAP if program at least 
one member of the assistance unit receives or is authorized to receive TANF-funded 
services under the Help for People in Need Program.”  UPM § 2545.05(A)(2) 
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“Those assistance unit's which qualify as categorically eligible are not subjected to 
gross or applied income eligibility tests.”  UPM § 5520.40(C) 
 
Section P-5520.36 of the UPM provides for the gross income limit under expanded 
categorical eligibility as 185% of the federal poverty level. 

 
11. The Department of Health and Human Services lists the annual 2019 Poverty 

Guideline for the 48 Contiguous States and the District of Columbia as $12,490.00 
for a household of one.  [Federal Register, Vol. 84, No, 22, February 1, 2019 
pp1168] 
  

12. Under expanded categorical eligibility, the gross income limit for a household of two 
is $1,926.00 per month.  ($12,490.00 annually / 12 months = $1,040.8333 x 185% = 
$1925.541667)  

 
13. The Department correctly determined the gross household income as $1,644.68. 

 
14. The Department correctly determined the SNAP household as categorically eligible 

under expanded categorical eligibility because the household income of $1,644.68 
is below the SNAP income limit of $1,926.00 under expanded categorical eligibility. 

 
15. The Department correctly determined the SNAP household is not subject to the 

gross income test and the net income test because the household is categorically 
eligible. 

 
16. “Deductible expenses include only certain dependent care, shelter, medical and, at 

State agency option, child support costs as described in § 273.9.”  7 C.F.R. § 
273.10(d) 

 
17. Federal regulation provides as follows:   

 
Deductions shall be allowed only for the following household expenses:  Standard 
deduction—(i) 48 States, District of Columbia, Alaska, Hawaii, and the Virgin 
Islands. Effective October 1, 2002, in the 48 States and the District of Columbia, 
Alaska, Hawaii, and the Virgin Islands, the standard deduction for household sizes 
one through six shall be equal to 8.31 percent of the monthly net income eligibility 
standard for each household size established under paragraph (a)(2) of this section 
rounded up to the nearest whole dollar. For household sizes greater than six, the 
standard deduction shall be equal to the standard deduction for a six-person 
household.  
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.9(d)(1)(i) 

 
“The FS income disregard is subtracted from the combined monthly total of the unit's 
gross unearned income and net earned income. The amount of the disregard is 



 - 7 - 

established by the USDA and is revised annually effective October 1. The appropriate 
disregard is subtracted without any durational limitation.”  UPM § 5030.20(A) 
 
“The disregard is used both as part of the determination of eligibility as well as for the 
calculation of benefits.  UPM § 5030.20(B) 
 
Effective October 1, 2019 through September 30, 2020 the standard deduction for 
the 48 States & District of Columbia for a household of 2 is $167.00.  (United States 
Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Service, Fiscal Year (FY) 2019 
Maximum Allotments and Deductions, www.fns.usda.gov/snap, Memorandum SNAP 
– Fiscal Year 2019 Cost-of-Living Adjustments, July 24, 2019) 

 
18. The Department correctly determined the standard disregard as $167.00. 

  
19. Federal regulation provides as follows:  

 
Excess shelter deduction.  Monthly shelter expenses in excess of 50 percent of the 
household's income after all other deductions in paragraphs (d)(1) through (d)(5) of 
this section have been allowed. If the household does not contain an elderly or 
disabled member, as defined in §271.2 of this chapter, the shelter deduction cannot 
exceed the maximum shelter deduction limit established for the area. For fiscal year 
2001, effective March 1, 2001, the maximum monthly excess shelter expense 
deduction limits are $340 for the 48 contiguous States and the District of Columbia, 
$543 for Alaska, $458 for Hawaii, $399 for Guam, and $268 for the Virgin Islands. 
FNS will set the maximum monthly excess shelter expense deduction limits for fiscal 
year 2002 and future years by adjusting the previous year's limits to reflect changes 
in the shelter component and the fuels and utilities component of the Consumer 
Price Index for All Urban Consumers for the 12 month period ending the previous 
November 30. FNS will notify State agencies of the amount of the limit. Only the 
following expenses are allowable shelter expenses: 
 
A. Continuing charges for the shelter occupied by the household, including rent, 

mortgage, condo and association fees, or other continuing charges leading to the 
ownership of the shelter such as loan repayments for the purchase of a mobile 
home, including interest on such payments 

B. Property taxes, State and local assessments, and insurance on the structure 
itself, but not separate costs for insuring furniture or personal belongings  

C. The cost of fuel for heating; cooling (i.e., the operation of air conditioning 
systems or room air conditioners); electricity or fuel used for purposes other than 
heating or cooling; water; sewerage; well installation and maintenance; septic 
tank system installation and maintenance; garbage and trash collection; all 
service fees required to provide service for one telephone, including, but not 
limited to, basic service fees, wire maintenance fees, subscriber line charges, 
relay center surcharges, 911 fees, and taxes; and fees charged by the utility 
provider for initial installation of the utility. One-time deposits cannot be included 
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D. The shelter costs for the home if temporarily not occupied by the household 
because of employment or training away from home, illness, or abandonment 
caused by a natural disaster or casualty loss. For costs of a home vacated by the 
household to be included in the household's shelter costs, the household must 
intend to return to the home; the current occupants of the home, if any, must not 
be claiming the shelter costs for food stamp purposes; and the home must not 
be leased or rented during the absence of the household 

E. Charges for the repair of the home which was substantially damaged or 
destroyed due to a natural disaster such as a fire or flood. Shelter costs shall not 
include charges for repair of the home that have been or will be reimbursed by 
private or public relief agencies, insurance companies, or from any other source.  
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.9(d)(6)(ii) 

 
 Department policies provides as follows:   
  
 The amount of shelter expenses which exceeds 50% of that portion of the assistance 

unit's income which remains after all other deductions have been subtracted is 
allowed as an additional deduction.  Shelter expenses are limited to the following: 

      
a. rent, mortgage payments, and any continuing charges leading to ownership of 

the property occupied by the assistance unit excluding any portions allowed as 
self-employment deductions in multiple-family dwellings; 

b. taxes, state and local assessments, and insurance on real property; 
c. the entire amount paid as a condominium fee; 
d. utility costs including the following: 

1. heat; 
2. cooking fuel; 
3. electricity; 
4. water; 
5. sewer charges; 
6. garbage collection; 
7. basic monthly charge including taxes for a telephone; 
8. installation charges for a utility. 

e. for eligible residents of group homes who make a single payment for room, 
meals, and medical expenses, the amount of the payment identified for room 
and meals which exceeds the thrifty food plan for the number of persons in the 
household and 

f. non-reimbursable costs of repairing a home which was damaged due to a 
natural disaster. 

 
UPM § 5035.15(F)(1) 
 
“Shelter expenses are allowed as deductions for the assistance unit if they are 
incurred in relation to a home which is occupied by the assistance unit.”  UPM § 
5035.15(F)(2)(a)(1) 
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“Elderly ... means a member of a household who is 60 years of age or older.”  7 § 
C.F.R. 271.2 
 
“An elderly person, the context used by the Food Stamp program, means a person 
who is sixty or more years of age.”  UPM § 5000.01 

 
20. Federal regulation provides as follows:   

 
Standard utility allowances. With FNS approval, a State agency may develop the 
following standard utility allowances (standards) to be used in place of actual costs 
in determining a household's excess shelter deduction: an individual standard for 
each type of utility expense; a standard utility allowance for all utilities that includes 
heating or cooling costs (HCSUA); and, a limited utility allowance (LUA) that 
includes electricity and fuel for purposes other than heating or cooling, water, 
sewerage, well and septic tank installation and maintenance, telephone, and 
garbage or trash collection. The LUA must include expenses for at least two utilities. 
However, at its option, the State agency may include the excess heating and cooling 
costs of public housing residents in the LUA if it wishes to offer the lower standard to 
such households. The State agency may use different types of standards but cannot 
allow households the use of two standards that include the same expense. In States 
in which the cooling expense is minimal, the State agency may include the cooling 
expense in the electricity component. The State agency may vary the allowance by 
factors such as household size, geographical area, or season. Only utility costs 
identified in paragraph (d)(6)(ii)(C) of this section must be used in developing 
standards.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.9(d)(6)(iii)(A) 
 
Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 
A standard with a heating or cooling component must be made available to 
households that incur heating or cooling expenses separately from their rent or 
mortgage and to households that receive direct or indirect assistance under the Low 
Income Home Energy Assistance Act of 1981 (LIHEAA). A heating or cooling 
standard is available to households in private rental housing who are billed by their 
landlords on the basis of individual usage or who are charged a flat rate separately 
from their rent. However, households in public housing units which have central 
utility meters and which charge households only for excess heating or cooling costs 
are not entitled to a standard that includes heating or cooling costs based only on 
the charge for excess usage unless the State agency mandates the use of standard 
utility allowances in accordance with paragraph (d)(6)(iii)(E) of this section. 
Households that receive direct or indirect energy assistance that is excluded from 
income consideration (other than that provided under the LIHEAA) are entitled to a 
standard that includes heating or cooling only if the amount of the expense exceeds 
the amount of the assistance. Households that receive direct or indirect energy 



 - 10 - 

assistance that is counted as income and incur a heating or cooling expense are 
entitled to use a standard that includes heating or cooling costs. A household that 
has both an occupied home and an unoccupied home is only entitled to one 
standard.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.9(d)(6)(iii)(C) 

      
 “A standard utility allowance determined annually by the agency to reflect changes in 

utility costs is used to represent the total monthly utility expenses of the assistance 
unit if:  the assistance unit incurs heating fuel or cooling costs separately from rent or 
mortgage payments.”  UPM § 5035.15(F)(6)(a) 

 
21. The Department correctly determined the Appellant eligible for the SUA of $736.00 

because the Appellant incurs cooling costs.  
  

22. The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s shelter costs as $1,154.00.  
($418.00 rent + $736.00 SUA = $1,154.00 shelter costs) 

 
23. The Department correctly determined the shelter hardship as $434.99.  Refer to 

Conclusion of Law (“COL”) # 34. 
 

24. Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 

Excess medical deduction.  That portion of medical expenses in excess of $35 per 
month, excluding special diets, incurred by any household member who is elderly or 
disabled as defined in § 271.2.  Spouses or other persons receiving benefits as a 
dependent of the SSI or disability and blindness recipient are not eligible to receive 
this deduction by persons receiving emergency SSI benefits based on presumptive 
eligibility are eligible for this deduction.  Allowable medical costs are: 

 
I. Medical and dental care including psychotherapy and rehabilitation services 

provided by a licensed practitioner authorized by State law or other qualified 
health professional. 

II. Hospitalization or outpatient treatment, nursing care, and nursing home care 
including payments by the household for an individual who was a household 
member immediately prior to entering a hospital or nursing home provided by a 
facility recognized by the State. 

III. Prescription drugs, when prescribed by a licensed practitioner authorized under 
State law, and other over-the-counter medication (including insulin), when 
approved by a licensed practitioner or other qualified health professional. 
A. Costs of medical supplies, sick-room equipment (including rental) or other 

prescribed equipment are deductible; 
B. The cost of any Schedule I controlled substance under The Controlled 

Substances Act, 21 U.S.C. 801 et seq., and any expenses associated with 
its use, are not deductible. 
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IV. Health and hospitalization insurance policy premiums.  The costs of health and 
accident policies such as those payable in lump sum settlements for death or 
dismemberment or income maintenance policies such as those that continue 
mortgage or loan payments while the beneficiary is disabled are not deductible; 

V. Medicare premiums related to coverage under Title XVIII of the Social Security 
Act; any cost-sharing or spenddown expenses incurred by Medicaid recipients; 

VI. Dentures, hearing aids, and prosthetics; 
VII. Securing and maintaining a seeing eye or hearing dog including the cost of dog 

food and veterinarian bills; 
VIII. Eye glasses prescribed by a physician skilled in eye disease or by an 

optometrist; 
IX. Reasonable cost of transportation and lodging to obtain medical treatment or 

services; 
X. Maintaining an attendant, homemaker, home health aide, or child care services, 

housekeeper, necessary due to age, infirmity, or illness. In addition, an 
amount equal to the one person benefit allotment shall be deducted if the 
household furnishes the majority of the attendant's meals. The allotment for 
this meal related deduction shall be that in effect at the time of initial 
certification. The State agency is only required to update the allotment 
amount at the next scheduled recertification; however, at their option, the 
State agency may do so earlier. If a household incurs attendant care costs 
that could qualify under both the medical deduction of §273.9(d)(3)(x) and the 
dependent care deduction of §273.9(d)(4), the costs may be deducted as a 
medical expense or a dependent care expense, but not both. 
 

7 C.F.R. § 273.9(d)(3) 
 

“Members of the assistance unit who are elderly or disabled are allowed medical 
expenses as deductions.”  UPM § 5035.15(E)(1) 
 
Department policy provides as follows: 
 
The incurred or anticipated medical expenses which may be deducted are limited to 
the following: 

a. Medical and dental care including psychotherapy and rehabilitation services 
provided by a licensed practitioner authorized by State law or other qualified 
health professional; 

b. Hospitalization or outpatient treatment, nursing care, and care in a long term 
care facility recognized by the State.  These expenses include payments made 
by the assistance unit to a facility on behalf of someone who was an assistance 
unit member at the time of admission to facility; 

c. Prescription and nonprescription medications when prescribed or 
recommended as treatment for a condition by a licensed practitioner authorized 
under State law; and the cost of postage for purchasing prescription 
medications by mail; 

d. Purchase or rental of prescribed medical supplies and sick room equipment; 
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e. Premiums for health and hospitalization insurance except for those which are 
written to provide lump-sum settlements in the event of death or 
dismemberment or to protect and maintain income; 

f. Premiums for Medicare under Title XVIII of the Social Security Act; 
g. Medical expenses paid by the applicant or recipient under Medicaid 

spenddown or cost-sharing requirements; 
h. Dentures, hearing aids, and prosthetics; 
i. Security and maintaining a seeing eye or hearing dog including the cost of dog 

food and veterinarian bills; 
j. Eye glasses prescribed by physician skilled in eye disease or by an 

optometrist; 
k. Reasonable cost for transportation and lodging necessary to obtaining medical 

treatment or services; 
l. Services of an attendant, homemaker, home health aide, child care provider, or 

housekeeper necessitated by age, infirmity, or illness of a unit member.  The 
amount of this expense includes an amount equal to the one-person coupon 
allotment if the assistance unit provides the majority of the person’s meals. 

 
UPM § 5035.15(E)(4) 
 
“Each assistance unit which qualifies to have medical expenses treated as deductions 
is responsible for meeting the initial $35 of expenses each month.”  UPM § 
5035.15(E)(6) 
 
Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 
Anticipating expenses. The State agency shall calculate a household's expenses 
based on the expenses the household expects to be billed for during the certification 
period. Anticipation of the expense shall be based on the most recent month's bills, 
unless the household is reasonably certain a change will occur. When the 
household is not claiming the utility standard, the State agency may anticipate 
changes during the certification period based on last year's bills from the same 
period updated by overall price increases; or, if only the most recent bill is available, 
utility cost increases or decreases over the months of the certification period may be 
based on utility company estimates for the type of dwelling and utilities used by the 
household. The State agency shall not average past expenses, such as utility bills 
for the last several months, as a method of anticipating utility costs for the 
certification period. At certification and recertification, the household shall report and 
verify all medical expenses. The household's monthly medical deduction for the 
certification period shall be based on the information reported and verified by the 
household, and any anticipated changes in the household's medical expenses that 
can be reasonably expected to occur during the certification period based on 
available information about the recipient's medical condition, public or private 
insurance coverage, and current verified medical expenses. The household shall not 
be required to file reports about its medical expenses during the certification period. 
If the household voluntarily reports a change in its medical expenses, the State 
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agency shall verify the change in accordance with §273.2(f)(8)(ii) if the change 
would increase the household's allotment. The State agency has the option of either 
requiring verification prior to acting on the change, or requiring the verification prior 
to the second normal monthly allotment after the change is reported. In the case of 
a reported change that would decrease the household's allotment, or make the 
household ineligible, the State agency shall act on the change without requiring 
verification, though verification which is required by §273.2(f)(8) shall be obtained 
prior to the household's recertification. If a child in the household reaches his or her 
second birthday during the certification period, the $200 maximum dependent care 
deduction defined in §273.9(d)(4) shall be adjusted in accordance with this section 
not later than the household's next regularly scheduled recertification. 
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(d)(4) 
 
“An elderly or disabled assistance unit member who provides an estimate of the 
medical expenses he or she expects to incur over a certification period that does not 
exceed twelve months can choose to have medical expenses averaged over the 
certification period.”  UPM § 5035.15(E)(2) 

 
25. The Department correctly determined the monthly dental premium of $74.66 as a 

qualifying medical deduction.   
   

26. The Department correctly calculated the Appellant’s medical expense deduction as 
$39.66.  ($74.66 monthly medical expense - $35.00 Appellant’s portion = $39.66) 

 
27. Federal regulation provides as follows:   

 
Calculating net income and benefit levels-Net monthly income.   To determine a 
household’s net monthly income, the State agency shall: 

 
A. Add gross monthly income earned by all household members and the total 

monthly unearned income of all household members, minus income exclusions, to 
determine the household’s total gross income.  Net losses from the self-
employment income of a farmer shall be offset in accordance with § 
273.11(a)(2)(iii). 

B. Multiply the total gross monthly earned income by 20 percent and subtract that 
amount from the total gross income; or multiply the total gross monthly earned 
income by 80 percent, and add that to the total monthly unearned income, minus 
income exclusions.  If the State agency has chosen to treat legally obligated child 
support payments as an income exclusion in accordance with § 273.9(c)(17), 
multiply the excluded earnings used to pay child support by 20 percent and 
subtract that amount from the total gross monthly income. 

C. Subtract the standard deduction.  
D. If the household is entitled to an excess medical deduction as provided in § 

273.9(d)(3), determine if total medical expenses exceed $35.  If so, subtract that 
portion which exceeds $35.  
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E.  Subtract allowable monthly dependent care expenses, if any, as specified un 
273.9(d)(4) for each dependent. 

F.  If the State agency has chosen to treat legally obligated child support payments in 
accordance with § 273.9(d)(5) 

G.  Subtract the homeless shelter deduction, if any, up to the maximum of $143. 
H.  Total the allowable shelter expenses to determine shelter costs, unless a 

deduction has been subtracted in accordance with paragraph (e)(1)(i)(G) of this 
section.  Subtract from total shelter costs 50 percent of the household’s monthly 
income after all the above deductions have been subtracted.  The remaining 
amount, if any, is the excess shelter costs.  If there is no excess shelter cost, the 
net monthly income has been determined.  If there is excess shelter cost, compute 
the shelter deduction according to paragraph (e)(1)(i)(I) of this section. 

I. Subtract the excess shelter costs up to the maximum amount allowed for the area 
(unless the household is entitled to the full amount of its excess shelter expenses) 
from the household’s monthly income after all other applicable deductions.  
Households not subject to a capped shelter expense shall have the full amount 
exceeding 50 percent of their net income subtracted.  The household’s net monthly 
income has been determined. 

 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(e)(1)(i) 

 
Department policy provides as follows: 
 
The amount of applied income upon which the level of Food Stamps benefits is 
based is calculated in the following way: 
 
A. The monthly net earned income amount is calculated by reducing monthly 

earnings by: 
1. The actual amount of self-employment expenses, if applicable; and 
2. Any earned income deductions approved by the Social Security 

Administration in regards to individual self-support plans (Cross 
reference: 5035.15); and 

3. A deduction of 20% of the gross earnings for personal employment 
expenses. 

B. The monthly net earned income is added to the monthly gross unearned income 
amount and the total of the income deemed to the unit. 

C. The amount of applied income is calculated by reducing the combined total of net 
earnings, gross unearned income and deemed income by the following in the 
order presented: 
1. A deduction for farming losses, if any; 
2. A disregard of $167.00 per month {effective 10/1/19} 
3. A deduction for unearned income to be used to fulfill a bona-fide plan to 

achieve self-support (PASS); Cross reference: 5035.15 
4. The appropriate deduction for work related dependent care expenses; 
5. A deduction for allowable medical expenses for those assistance unit 

members who qualify; 
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6. A deduction for legally obligated child support when it is paid for a child who is 
not a member of the assistance unit; 

7. A deduction for shelter hardship, if application.  (Cross Reference 5030 – 
Income Disregards” and 5035 “Income Deductions”) 

D. The remaining amount after the disregards and deductions are subtracted is the 
amount of the unit’s applied income.  

 
UPM § 5045.15 
 

28. The Department correctly determined the household’s net applied income as 
$1,003.03.  Refer to COL # 34. 
 

29. Federal regulation provides as follows:   
 

Except as provided in paragraphs (a)(1), (e)(2)(iii) and (e)(2)(vi) of this section, the 
household's monthly allotment shall be equal to the maximum SNAP allotment for 
the household's size reduced by 30 percent of the household's net monthly income 
as calculated in paragraph (e)(1) of this section. If 30 percent of the household's net 
income ends in cents, the State agency shall round in one of the following ways:  
The State agency shall round the 30 percent of net income up to the nearest higher 
dollar.   
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(e)(2)(ii)(A)(1) 
 
Department policy provides as follows: 
 
In the FS program, the amount of benefits is calculated by:   

1. Multiplying the assistance unit’s applied income by 30%; and 
2. Rounding the product up to the next whole dollar if it ends in 1-99 

cents; and 
3. Subtracting the rounded product from the FS standard of assistance 

for the appropriate unit size.  (Cross Reference 5000 – Treatment of 
Income, 4500 – Standards of Assistance) 

 
UPM § 6005 
 

30. The Department correctly determined 30% of the net adjusted income as $301.00.  
($1,003.03 x 30% = $300.909)  Refer to COL # 34. 

 
31. Federal regulation provides as follows:   

 
Thrifty Food Plan (TFP) and Maximum SNAP Allotments.  Maximum SNAP allotment 
level. Maximum SNAP allotments shall be based on the Thrifty Food Plan (TFP) as 
defined in §271.2, and they shall be uniform by household size throughout the 48 
contiguous States and the District of Columbia. The TFP for Hawaii shall be the TFP 
for the 48 States and DC adjusted for the price of food in Honolulu. The TFPs for 
urban, rural I, and rural II parts of Alaska shall be the TFP for the 48 States and DC 
adjusted by the price of food in Anchorage and further adjusted for urban, rural I, 
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and rural II Alaska as defined in §272.7(c). The TFPs for Guam and the Virgin 
Islands shall be adjusted for changes in the cost of food in the 48 States and DC, 
provided that the cost of these TFPs may not exceed the cost of the highest TFP for 
the 50 States. The TFP amounts and maximum allotments in each area are 
adjusted annually and will be prescribed in a table posted on the FNS web site, at 
www.fns.usda.gov/fsp.  
 
7 C.F.R. § 273.10(e)(4)(i) 
 
The United States Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Services provides as 
follows: 
 
Effective October 1, 2019 through September 30, 2020 the maximum SNAP allotment 
for the 48 states and District of Columbia for a household of one is $194.00 and the 
minimum SNAP allotment for a household of 1 or 2 is $16.00.  (United States 
Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Services, Fiscal Year (FY) 2020 
Maximum Allotments and Deductions, www.fns.usda.gov/snap, Memorandum SNAP 
– Fiscal Year 2020 Cost-of-Living Adjustments, July 24, 2019) 

 
“The Thrifty Food Plan represents the minimum food expenditure that is required to 
meet an assistance unit’s basic monthly nutritional requirements and the maximum 
amount of benefits available to a qualified assistance unit with no applied income.”  
UPM § 4535.10(A)(1) 

 
“The Thrifty Food Plan standards vary according to the size of the assistance units 
and are uniform statewide for assistance unit of equal size.”  UPM § 4535.10(A)(2) 

 
“The Thrifty Food Plan for a qualified assistance unit with no applied income for a 
household of one is $194.00.”  UPM § P-4535.10 
 
“The standard of assistance for a qualified assistance unit with no applied income is 
the Thrifty Food Plan amount for the appropriate assistance unit size as established 
by the USDA.  The Thrifty Food Plan amounts are revised annually effective 
October 1.”  UPM § 4535.10(B) 

 
32. “Except during an initial month, all eligible one-person and two-person households 

shall receive minimum monthly allotments equal to the minimum benefit.  The 
minimum benefit is 8 percent of the maximum allotment for a household of one, 
rounded to the nearest who dollar.”  7 C.F.R. § 273.10(e)(2)(ii)(C)  
 
“In all months except the initial month of eligibility:  assistance units consisting of 1 
or 2 members which have a calculated benefit amount of less than the minimum 
amount established by the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008, which is equal to 8 
percent of the cost of the thrifty food plan for a household containing one member, 
rounded to the nearest who dollar increment.  UPM § 6020.15(C)(2)(c) 
 

33. The Department correctly determined the Appellant eligible for the minimum monthly 
allotment of $16.00 under the SNAP effective  2020.  Refer to SNAP benefit 
calculation below.  

 

SNAP BENEFIT CALCULATION    

INCOME 

Earned Income $00.00 

Less 20% -$00.00 
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Total  

Plus Unearned Income +$1,644.68 

Gross Income $1,644.68 

Less standard deduction -$167.00 

Less medical deduction -$39.66 

Adjusted gross income $1,438.02 

SHELTER COSTS  

Rent $418.00 

SUA +$736.00 

Total shelter costs $1,154.00 

SHELTER HARDSHIP  

Shelter costs $1,154.00 

Less 50% of adjusted 
gross income 

-$719.01 

Total shelter hardship $434.99 
(Can not exceed 

$569 unless elderly 

or disabled) 
ADJUSTED NET INCOME  

Adjusted gross income $1,438.02 

Less shelter hardship -$434.99 

Net Adjusted Income 

(NAI) 

$1,003.03 

BENEFIT CALCULATION  

Thrifty Food Plan for #  
Person/s 

$194.00 

Less 30% of NAI -$301.00 

 

SNAP award 

$00.00 

$16.00 

 

 

 

DECISION 
 
The Appellant’s appeal is denied.   
 

 

 

 

       ___________________________  
       Lisa A. Nyren 
       Fair Hearing Officer 
 
CC:  Peter Bucknall, DSS RO 60 
Jamel Hilliard, DSS RO 60 
Kristy Martinez, DSS RO60 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT  
06105. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee in 
accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's decision 
to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 

 
 




