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NOTICE OF DECISION

PARTY

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

2020, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) sent

On
- (“‘Appellant’) a notice of action denying her application for

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (“SNAP”) benefits due to her household
status as students of higher education.

on [ 2020, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing by telephone to
contest the Department’s denial of such benefits.

on I 2020, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for ||}

Il 2020.

on I 2020, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61, and 4-176e to
4-184, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an administrative
hearing by telephone.

The following individuals participated by telephone:

I ppellant

Lindsay Valle, Department’s Representative
Christopher Turner, Hearing Officer
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STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE

The issue to be decided is whether the Department was correct to deny the Appellant’s
SNAP application due to the household’s student status.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. on | 2020, the Department received the Appellant’s online application for
SNAP. (Exhibit 1: Application)

2. On [ 2020, the Department conducted a SNAP telephone interview with
the Appellant. The Appellant is a full-time student at ||l Community College

taking four classes. The Appellant’s brother is enrolled full-time at the
h Training School. (Exhibit 2: Case notes; Hearing summary)

3. on I 2020, the Department sent the Appellant a notice indicating her
SNAP application was denied due to not meeting the eligible student requirements.
(Exhibit 3A: Notice)

4. The assistance unit is comprised of the Appellant (DOB i) and her brother
(0OB ). (Exhibit 1; Hearing record; Appellant’s testimony)

5. There were no types of income, earned or unearned, received by the Appellant when
her application for assistance was completed. (Hearing record; Appellant’s testimony)

6. The Appellant and her brother have their high school diploma or equivalent.
(Appellant’s testimony)

7. The Appellant and her brother are over the age of 17 and younger than 50. (Record;
Appellant’s testimony)

8. The Appellant and her brother are not caring for a minor child, receiving Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families benefits or working an average of 20 hours per week.
(Hearing record; Appellant’s testimony)

9. The Appellant, or her brother, are not participating in a State or federally financed
work study program or an on the job training program. (Appellant’s testimony)

10. The issuance of this decision is timely under Title 7 of the Code of Federal
Regulations § 273.15 (c) (1) which provides that within 60 days of receipt of a
request for a fair hearing, the State agency shall assure that the hearing is
conducted, a decision is reached, and the household and local agency is notified of
the decision. The Appellant requested an administrative hearing on |l 2020;
therefore, this decision was due no later than [JJJJilf 2020. (Hearing record)
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Connecticut General Statutes 8§ 17b-2 provides that the Department of Social
Services is designated as the state agency for the administration of (7) the
supplemental nutrition assistance program pursuant to the Food and Nutrition Act of
2008.

2. “The department’s Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) is the equivalent of state
regulation and, as such, carries the force of law.” Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 Conn. Supp.
175, 178 (1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-10; Richard v. Commissioner of
Income Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d 712 (1990)).

3. Title 7 of the Code of Federal Regulations (“C.F.R.”) § 273.5 (a) provides that an
individual who is enrolled at least half-time in an institution of higher education shall
be ineligible to participate in SNAP unless the individual qualifies for one of the
exemptions contained in paragraph (b) of this section. An individual is considered to
be enrolled in an institution of higher education if the individual is enrolled in a
business, technical, trade, or vocational school that normally requires a high school
diploma or equivalency certificate for enrollment in the curriculum or if the individual
is enrolled in a regular curriculum at a college or university that offers degree
programs regardless of whether a high school diploma is required.

7 C.F.R. 8 273.5 (b) provides that to be eligible for the program, a student as
defined in paragraph (a) of the section must meet at least one of the following
criteria. (1) Be age 17 or younger or age 50 or older; (2) Be physically or mentally
unfit; (3) Be receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy Families under Title IV of the
Social Security Act; (4) Be enrolled as a result of participation in the Job
Opportunities and Basic Skills program under Title IV of the Social Security Act or its
successor program; (5) Be employed for a minimum of 20 hours per week and be
paid for such employment or, if self-employed, be employed for a minimum of 20
hours per week and receiving weekly earnings at least equal to the Federal
minimum wage multiplied by 20 hours. The State agency may choose to determine
compliance with this requirement by calculating whether the student worked an
average of 20 hours per week for a month, quarter, trimester or semester. State
agencies may choose to exclude hours accrued during academic breaks that do not
exceed one month. A State agency that chooses to average student work hours
must specify this choice and specify the time period over which the work hours will
be averaged in its State plan of operation; (6) Be participating in a State or federally
financed work-study program during the regular school year. (7) Be participating in
an on-the-job training program. A person is considered to be participating in an on-
the-job training program only during the period of time the person is being trained by
the employer (8) Be responsible for the care of a dependent household member
under the age of 6; (9) Be responsible for the care of a dependent household
member who has reached the age of 6 but is under age 12 when the State agency
has determined that adequate child care is not available to enable the student to
attend class and comply with the work requirements of paragraph (b)(5) or (b)(6) of
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this section. (10) Be a single parent enrolled in an institution of higher education on a
full-time basis (as determined by the institution) and be responsible for the care of a
dependent child under age 12. (i) This provision applies in those situations where
only one natural, adoptive or stepparent (regardless of marital status) is in the same
food stamp household as the child. (ii) If no natural, adoptive or stepparent is in the
same SNAP household as the child, another full-time student in the same SNAP
household as the child may qualify for eligible student status under this provision if
he or she has parental control over the child and is not living with his or her spouse.
(11) Be assigned to or placed in an institution of higher education through or in
compliance with the requirements of one of the programs identified in paragraphs
(b)(11)(i) through (b)(11)(iv) of this section. Self-initiated placements during the
period of time the person is enrolled in one of these employment and training
programs shall be considered to be in compliance with the requirements of the
employment and training program in which the person is enrolled provided that the
program has a component for enroliment in an institution of higher education and
that program accepts the placement. Persons who voluntarily participate in one of
these employment and training programs and are placed in an institution of higher
education through or in compliance with the requirements of the program shall also
qualify for the exemption.

UPM 8§ 3020 provides that there is a technical eligibility requirement relating to
student status only in the Food Stamp program. Other student requirements for AFDC
(cross-reference 2500) are categorical requirements.

UPM 8§ 3020.05 provides that some students must meet specific qualifications in
addition to all other eligibility requirements in order to be eligible for Food Stamps. A.
Unconditionally qualified. Students who are otherwise eligible qualify if they are in: 4. a
trade or technical school which does not qualify as an institution of higher education.
a. Trade schools or vocational-technical schools are considered as institutions of
higher education only for students enrolled for completion of curriculum requiring a
high school diploma or the equivalent.

UPM § 3020.05 (C) provides for student enrollment. 1. A student is considered
enrolled in school no earlier than the first day of the school term. 2. Normal vacations,
holidays or recess do not interrupt student status. 3. A student who graduates is
suspended, expelled, drops out or does not intend to register for the next normal
school term (excluding summer school) loses student status.

The Department correctly determined that the Appellant is a student at an
institution of higher education attending half time or more enrolled for
completion of curriculum requiring a high school diploma or the equivalent.

The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s brother is a student
of an institution of higher education attending half time or more enrolled for
completion of curriculum requiring a high school diploma or the equivalent.
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The Department correctly determined that the Appellant and her brother are
not employed a minimum of 20 hours per week.

The Department correctly determined that the Appellant does not meet the
above conditions in order to be eligible for SNAP.

The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s brother does not
meet the above conditions in order to be eligible for SNAP.

The Department correctly determined that the Appellant and her brother are
ineligible for SNAP benefits due to their student status.

DISCUSSION

In order to receive SNAP benefits as a student enrolled in higher education, an
individual must be working a minimum of 20 hours per week or otherwise be
exempt from participation. In the present case, the Appellant, as well as her brother,
is a full-time student who was not employed at the time of application and not
excused from meeting the criteria for participation in the SNAP. As a result, the
Appellant and her brother are not eligible for SNAP.

DECISION

The Appellant’s appeal is denied.

Christopher Turner
Hearing Officer

Cc: Yecenia Acosta, Operations Manager Stamford
Lindsay Valle, DSS Stamford
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION

The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.If the request for
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request
date. No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been
denied. The right to request a reconsideration is based on 84-18la (a) of the
Connecticut General Statutes.

Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example,
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists.

Reconsideration requests should be sent to Department of Social Services, Director,
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford,
CT 06105-3725.

RIGHT TO APPEAL

The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for
reconsideration of this decision if the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with
the Department. The right to appeal is based on 84-183 of the Connecticut General
Statutes. To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court. A copy of the petition
must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 EIm Street, Hartford, CT
06106, or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington
Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105-3725. A copy of the petition must also be served on all
parties to the hearing.

The 45-day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision. Good cause
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee in
accordance with 817b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes. The Agency's decision to
grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal.

The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides.




