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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 
    
 
On  2019, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) 
sent   (the “Appellant”) a Notice of Action (“NOA) discontinuing 
his benefits under the Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (“SNAP”, 
also known as Food Stamps) effective  2019.  
 
On  2019, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to 
contest the Department’s decision to discontinue such benefits. 
 
On  , 2019, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and 
Administrative Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the 
administrative hearing for , 2019. 
 
On  2019, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17-61 and 4-176e to 4-
189 inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an 
administrative hearing.  
 
The following individuals were present at the hearing: 
 

, the Appellant,  
Javier Rivera, Fair Hearing Liaison, DSS, Hartford 
Maureen Foley-Roy, Fair Hearing Officer 
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STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 
 

The issue to be decided is whether the Department’s decision to discontinue the 
Appellant’s SNAP benefits was correct.  
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

1. The Appellant has received at least 3 months of SNAP benefits. 
(Department representative’s and Appellant’s testimony) 
 

2. The Appellant resides in Bolton, Connecticut. He is forty one years old and 
he has no minor children living with him. He receives medical assistance 
from the Department. (Hearing record and Appellant’s testimony) 
 

3. On   2019, the Department issued a notice of action 
discontinuing the Appellant’s SNAP benefits effective  2019.  
The notice stated the reason for discontinuance was that the Appellant 
had reached the three month time limit for receiving SNAP benefits by 
able bodied adults without children. (Exhibit 1:Notice of Discontinuance) 
 

4. On  2019, the Appellant signed a W1460-Request for 
Exemption from Time Limit form. He did not mark off any of the exemption 
reasons as applying to him. (Exhibit 4: Form 1460 Request for Exemption 
from the SNAP Time Limit) 
 

5. The Appellant has applied for and been denied Social Security disability 
benefits due to a medical condition. There are times that he cannot work 
and he continues to pursue disability benefits. The Appellant has not 
informed the Department of his medical condition. (Appellant’s testimony) 
 

6. The issuance of this decision is timely under the Code of Federal 
Regulations § 273.15 which states that a decision must be reached and 
the household notified within 60 days of receipt of a request for a fair 
hearing. The Appellant requested an administrative hearing on  

, 2019. Thus this decision was due not later than , 2019 
and is therefore timely.  

 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. Connecticut General Statute § 17b-2(7) provides that the Department of 
Social Services is designated as the state agency for the administration of 
the supplemental nutrition assistance program pursuant to the Food and 
Nutrition Act of 2008. 
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2. Title 7 of the Code of Federal Regulations (“CFR”) § 273.7 provides for the 
food stamp work requirements. This section outlines the Food Stamp 
Program work requirements at length. Certain individuals are required to 
register and participate in employment and/or training as a condition of 
eligibility. 

 
3. Title 7 CFR § 273.24(b) provides in part that individuals are not eligible to 

participate in the Food Stamp Program as a member of any household if 
the individual received food stamps for more than three countable months 
during any three-year period. 
 

4. “The Department’s Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) is the equivalent of a 
state regulation and, as such, carries the force of law.” Bucchere v Rowe, 43 
Conn Supp. 175 178 (194) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-10; Richard 
v.Commissioner of Income Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601, 573 
A.2d712(1990)). 
 

5. UPM § 3512.15 (B) (1) provides that any individual who is not exempt and 
who fails to comply with the work requirements can only receive Food 
Stamp benefits for three full months in each 36 month period. 
 

6. Title 7 CFR § 273.24(c) provides for exceptions and states that the time 
limit does not apply to an individual if he or she is: (1) Under 18 or 50 
years of age or older; (2) Determined by the State agency to be medically 
certified as physically or mentally unfit for employment. An individual is 
medically certified as physically or mentally unfit for employment if he or 
she: (i) Is receiving temporary or permanent disability benefits issued by 
governmental or private sources;(ii) is obviously mentally or physically 
unfit for employment as determined by the State agency; or(iii) If the 
unfitness is not obvious, provides a statement from a physician, 
physician's assistant, nurse, nurse practitioner, designated representative 
of the physician's office, a licensed or certified psychologist, a social 
worker, or any other medical personnel the State agency determines 
appropriate, that he or she is physically or mentally unfit for employment. 
(3) a parent (natural, adoptive, or step) of a household member under age 
18, even if the household member who is under 18 is not himself eligible 
for food stamps; (4) residing in a household where a household member is 
under age 18, even if the household member who is under 18 is not 
himself eligible for food stamps; (5) otherwise exempt from work 
requirements under section 6(d)(2) of the Food Stamp Act, as 
implemented in regulations at § 273.7(b); or (6) pregnant. 
 

7. Title 7 CFR § 273.7(b)(1) provides that the following persons are exempt 
from Food Stamp Program work requirements: (i) A person younger than 
16 years of age or a person 60 years of age or older. A person age 16 or 
17 who is not the head of a household or who is attending school, or is 
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enrolled in an employment training program, on at least a half-time basis, 
is also exempt. If the person turns 16 (or 18 under the preceding 
sentence) during a certification period, the State agency must register the 
person as part of the next scheduled recertification process, unless the 
person qualifies for another exemption. (ii) A person physically or mentally 
unfit for employment. For the purposes of this paragraph (b), a State 
agency will define physical and mental fitness; establish procedures for 
verifying; and will verify claimed physical or mental unfitness when 
necessary. However, the State agency must not use a definition, 
procedure for verification, or verification that is less restrictive on food 
stamp recipients than a comparable meaning, procedure, or determination 
under the State agency's program funded under title IV-A of the Social 
Security Act. (iii) A person subject to and complying with any work 
requirement under title IV of the Social Security Act. If the exemption 
claimed is questionable, the State agency is responsible for verifying the 
exemption. (iv) A parent or other household member responsible for the 
care of a dependent child under 6 or an incapacitated person. If the child 
has his or her 6th birthday during a certification period, the State agency 
must work register the individual responsible for the care of the child as 
part of the next scheduled recertification process, unless the individual 
qualifies for another exemption. (v) A person receiving unemployment 
compensation. A person who has applied for, but is not yet receiving, 
unemployment compensation is also exempt if that person is complying 
with work requirements that are part of the Federal-State unemployment 
compensation application process. If the exemption claimed is 
questionable, the State agency is responsible for verifying the exemption 
with the appropriate office of the State employment services agency. (vi) 
A regular participant in a drug addiction or alcoholic treatment and 
rehabilitation program. (vii) An employed or self-employed person working 
a minimum of 30 hours weekly or earning weekly wages at least equal to 
the Federal minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours. This includes migrant 
and seasonal farm workers under contract or similar agreement with an 
employer or crew chief to begin employment within 30 days (although this 
will not prevent individuals from seeking additional services from the State 
employment services agency). For work registration purposes, a person 
residing in areas of Alaska designated in § 274.10(a)(4)(iv) of this chapter, 
who subsistence hunts and/or fishes a minimum of 30 hours weekly 
(averaged over the certification period) is considered exempt as self-
employed. An employed or self-employed person who voluntarily and 
without good cause reduces his or her work effort and, after the reduction, 
is working less than 30 hours per week, is ineligible to participate in the 
Food Stamp Program under paragraph (j) of this section. (viii) A student 
enrolled at least half-time in any recognized school, training program, or 
institution of higher education. Students enrolled at least half-time in an 
institution of higher education must meet the student eligibility 
requirements listed in § 273.5. A student will remain exempt during normal 
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periods of class attendance, vacation, and recess. If the student 
graduates, enrolls less than half-time, is suspended or expelled, drops out, 
or does not intend to register for the next normal school term (excluding 
summer), the State agency must work register the individual, unless the 
individual qualifies for another exemption.  

 
The Department correctly determined that the Appellant was not exempt 
from the work requirement based upon the information that the Appellant 
had provided to the Department.  
 

8. UPM § 3512.15 defines the 36-month time limits for Food Stamp recipients 
who do not meet the work requirements. It provides in part: 
 

            A. Determining the 36 Month Period  
 
   1. The 36 month time limit is determined by looking at a fixed 36 

month period, as defined by the Department. 
 

2. Under no circumstances can the Department look back prior to 
December 1, 1996. 

 
3. The Department uses the same 36 month period for all 

individuals subject to the time limit. 
 

4. An individual begins a new 36 month period when the old period 
ends. 

   
  B. Three Month Time Limit 

 
   1. Any individual who is not exempt and who fails to comply with 

the work requirements can only receive Food Stamp benefits 
for three full months in each 36 month period. 

 
   2. The three full months of Food Stamp assistance received by an 

individual failing to comply with the work requirements do not 
have to be consecutive. 

 
9. Title 7 of the CFR § 273.24(b)(3) provides that the state agency may 

measure and track the three-year period as it deems appropriate.  The 
State agency may use either a “fixed” or “rolling” clock.  If the State 
agency chooses to switch tracking methods it must inform FNS in writing.  
With respect to a State, the three year period: 
 
i. Shall be measured and tracked consistently so that individual who 

are similarly situated are treated the same; and 
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ii. Shall not include any period before the earlier of November 22, 
1996, or the date the State notified food stamp recipient of the 
application of Section 824 of the Personal Responsibility and Work 
Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (Pub. L. 104-193). 

 
10. UPM § 3512.15(A)(1) provides that the 36-month time limit is determined 

by looking at a fixed 36 month period, as defined by the Department. 
 

11. UPM § 3512.15(A)(3) provides that the Department uses the same 36-
month period for all individuals subject to the time limit. 
 
The Department was correct when it discontinued the Appellant’s 
SNAP benefits because he was subject to work requirements and 
had received three full months of benefits.   
 

DISCUSSION 
 

The Appellant testified that he has medical conditions that sometimes prevent 
him from working and that he has applied for disability benefits. He stated that 
had not provided this information to the Department. The Department sent a form 
regarding the exemptions from the time limits but the Appellant returned that form 
without indicating that he has medical conditions. Based upon the information 
that the Appellant had provided to the Department, the Department was correct 
when it discontinued his SNAP benefits because he did not meet the work 
requirements.  
 
 

DECISION 
 
The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED. 
 
 

     

 ___  
       Maureen Foley-Roy 
       Fair Hearing Officer 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
CC:  Tricia Morelli, Social Services Operations Managers, DSS, Manchester 
Javier Rivera, Fair Hearing Liaison, DSS, Hartford 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT  
06105. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee in 
accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's decision 
to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 

 
 
 




