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STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 

 
The issue to be decided is whether the Department correctly denied the Appellant’s 
application for AABD benefits.   

 
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

1. On  2020, the Appellant reapplied for cash benefits under the AABD 
program. (Exhibit 1: Case Notes and Appellant’s Testimony) 
 

2. The Appellant receives $783.00 per month in Supplemental Security Income 
(“SSI”) benefits (Exhibit 1 and Exhibit B: SSI Letter, Exhibit 3: Notice of Action, 

/20)  
 

3. The Appellant shares an apartment with three other people, they all share one 
kitchen. She has a total monthly rent obligation of $550.00. (Exhibit 1 and 
Appellant’s Testimony, Exhibit C: Copy of Lease) 
 

4. The Department calculated the Appellant’s AABD eligibility using $783.00 gross 
income and a standard living disregard of $351.00 per month.  (Exhibit 2: State 
Supplement Calculation Sheet and Hearing Record) 
 

5. On  2010, The Department sent the Appellant an NOA denying her 
application for cash benefits under the AABD program, because her net income 
is more than the limit for the program. (Exhibit 5) 
 

6. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 17b-
61(a), which requires that a decision be issued within 90 days of the request for 
an administrative hearing. The Appellant requested an administrative hearing on 

 2020. This decision, therefore, was due no later than  
2020. However, the hearing, which was originally scheduled for  was 
rescheduled for  2020, at the request of the Appellant, which 
caused a 28-day delay. Because this 28-day delay resulted from the Appellant’s 
request, this decision is not due until  2020.  (Hearing Record) 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
 

1. Section 17b-2 of the Connecticut General Statutes authorizes the Commissioner of 
the   Department of Social Services to administer the Aid to the Aged, Blind, and 
Disabled (AABD) State Supplement program. 
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2. State Statute provides that the Commissioner of Social Services shall administer 
the program of state supplementation to the Supplemental Security Income 
Program provided for by the Social Security Act and state law. The commissioner 
may delegate any powers and authority to any deputy, assistant, investigator or 
supervisor, who shall have, within the scope of the power and authority so 
delegated, all of the power and authority of the Commissioner of Social Services. 
The commissioner shall establish a standard of need based on the cost of living in 
this state for the temporary family assistance program and the state-administered 
general assistance program. The commissioner shall make a reinvestigation, at 
least every twelve months, of all cases receiving aid from the state, except that 
such reinvestigation may be conducted every twenty-four months for recipients of 
assistance to the elderly or disabled with stable circumstances, and shall maintain 
all case records of the several programs administered by the Department of Social 
Services so that such records show, at all times, full information with respect to 
eligibility of the applicant or recipient. In the determination of need under any public 
assistance program, such income or earnings shall be disregarded as federal law 
requires, and such income or earnings may be disregarded as federal law permits. 
In determining eligibility, the commissioner shall disregard from income Aid and 
Attendance pension benefits granted to a veteran, as defined under section 27-103, 
or the surviving spouse of such veteran. The commissioner shall encourage and 
promulgate such incentive earning programs as are permitted by federal law and 
regulations.  [Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-104(a)] 
 

3. “The Department’s Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) is the equivalent of a state 
regulation and, as such, carries the force of law.” Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 Conn. 
Supp. 175, 178 (1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-10; Richard v. Commissioner 
of Income Maintenance, 2017 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d 712 (1990)). 
 

4. UPM § 4520.05 provides that the basic needs of AABD assistance units consist of 
the sum of a personal needs standard that is uniform for all assistance units 
belonging to the same type of housing classification, and a shelter standard that 
varies according to: the housing classification, the actual cost of the housing, and 
rates or limits established by the Department. 
 

5. UPM § 4520.05(A)(2) provides that AABD assistance units are classified by living 
arrangement into the following categories: (a) Residents of rated housing facilities; 
(b) Residents of housing which is not rated; and (c) Residents of long term care 
facilities. 
 

6. UPM § 4520.15(A) provides that individuals living in the following types of housing 
are classified as residing in non-rated housing: (a) home owned property; (b) rented 
living arrangements; (c) room, including a hotel or motel room; (d) room and board 
in a housing unit that is not a licensed boarding facility; (e) all other housing that is 
not classified as a rated housing facility. 

The Department correctly determined that the Appellant lives in non-rated   
housing. 
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7. UPM § 4520.15(B)(1) provides that the personal needs standard for assistance 

units residing in non-rated housing contains a cost allowance for the following 
expenses: clothing, cooking fuel, electricity, food, heat, hot water, household 
supplies, laundry, personal incidentals, telephone, transportation. 

 
8. UPM § 4520.15(B)(2) provides that the standard of assistance for personal needs 

for an individual residing in non-rated housing is $170.06 per month. 
 
The Department correctly determined that the Appellant qualified for a 
personal needs allowance of $170.06 per month because she resides in non-
rated housing. 

 
9. UPM § 4520.15(C)(1)(a) provides that an individual is considered to be living in Level 

1 Housing in the following situations: (1) he or she is living in commercial housing or 
in a Department of Mental Health (DMH) sanctioned supervised apartment and not 
sharing a bedroom with any other individual; (2) he or she is living in a shelter for 
the homeless or for battered women; (3) he or she is living in any type of housing 
not mentioned in (1) or (2) above, and is not sharing his or her bedroom, bathroom 
or kitchen with another individual.   

 
10. UPM § 4520.15(C)(2)(a) provides that an individual is considered to be living in 

Level 2  Housing in the following situations:  (1) he or she is sharing a bedroom in 
any type of housing except a shelter for the homeless or a shelter for battered 
women; (2) he or she is sharing a bathroom or kitchen in any housing except a 
shelter for the homeless, a shelter for battered women, a DMH sanctioned 
supervised apartment, or commercial housing. 

 
The Department correctly determined that the Appellant resides in Level 2 
Housing. 

 
11. UPM § 4520.15(C)(2)(b) provides the standard of assistance for shelter for 

assistance units living in  Level 2 Housing is the amount that the assistance unit is 
obligated to pay for housing, up to $200  per month.  This includes rent, mortgage 
principal and interest, fire insurance premiums, property taxes, and water bills. 
 

12. UPM § 4520.05 (B)(5) states that the assistance unit's basic needs are equal to the 
sum of the personal and shelter need standards. 
   
The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s monthly basic 
needs equal $370.06 ($170.06, personal needs standard + $200.00, rent). 
 
 

13. UPM § 5005 provides for consideration of income and states: 
 
A. In consideration of income, the Department counts the assistance unit's   

available income, except to the extent that it is specifically excluded.  Income is 
considered available if it is: 

   1. received directly by the assistance unit; or 
 
            2. received by someone else on behalf of the assistance unit and the unit     
                       fails to prove that it is inaccessible; or 
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              3. deemed by the Department to benefit the assistance unit. 
 
        B. The Department does not count income which it considers to be   
                inaccessible to the assistance unit. 
 
        C. The Department computes applied income by subtracting certain disregards  
                and deductions, as described in this section, from counted income. 
 

D. The Department uses the assistance unit's applied income to determine   
     income eligibility and to calculate the amount of benefits. 

 
14. UPM § 5050.13 provides for treatment of specific types of income and states in 

part: A. Social Security and Veterans' Benefits (1) Income from these sources is 
treated as unearned income in all programs (2) This income is subject to unearned 
income disregards in the AABD and MAABD programs. B. Supplemental Security 
Income, SSI income is treated as unearned income for applicants or recipients of 
the State Supplement programs. It is subject to reduction by unearned income 
disregards when determining eligibility and calculating the amount of benefits for 
assistance units residing in rated and non-rated housing.  

The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s monthly gross 
income from SSI in the amount of $783.00. 
 

15. UPM § 5030.15(B)(1)(a) provides for standard disregards and stated that the 
disregard is $227.00 for those individuals who reside in their own homes in the 
community or who live as roomers in the homes of others and those who reside 
in long term care facilities, shelters for the homeless or battered women shelters. 
Effective January 1, 2008, and each January 1st thereafter, this disregard shall 
be increased to reflect the annual cost of living adjustment used by the Social 
Security Administration. The current standard disregard equals $351.00 per 
month as of October 1, 2019. 

 
16. UPM § 5045.10 (E) provides that the assistance unit's total applied income is the 

sum of the unit's applied earnings, applied unearned income, and the amount 
deemed. 
 
The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s applied income 
equals $432.00 ($783.00, gross unearned income - $351.00, disregard). 
 
 

17. UPM §5520.10 (B)(1) provides that if the needs group comprises only the 
individual applicant or recipient, the assistance unit's total applied income is 
compared to the total needs of the individual. 
 
The Appellant’s monthly applied income of $432.00 exceeds her verified total 
needs of $370.00. 
 
The Department correctly denied the Appellant’s application for cash 
benefits under the AABD program. 
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DECISION 
 

 
The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED.   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

         ______________ 
         Swati Sehgal 

         Hearing Officer 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

CC: Brian Sexton, DSS Operations Manager, RO #50 Middletown 
        Christopher Filek, Fair Hearing Liaison, DSS, RO #50 Middletown 
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      RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, 
CT  06105-3725. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 
cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department 
of Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the 
decision.  Good cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the 
Commissioner’s designee in accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.  The Agency's decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to 
review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 
 
 




