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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

  
On , 2022, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) sent 

 (the “Appellant”) a Notice of Action (“NOA”) stating that her 
Medicaid for the Employed Disabled (“MED”) has a premium amount of $202.55 
effective  2022.     
  
On , 2022, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to contest 
the Department’s action.    
 
On  2022, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative 
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a Notice scheduling the administrative hearing for 

 2022.    
 
On  2022, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61 and 4-176e to 4-
189, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an 
administrative hearing by phone.  The following individuals were present at the 
hearing:   
 

, Appellant 
Marybeth Mark, Department’s Representative 
Scott Zuckerman, Hearing Officer 
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STATEMENTS OF THE ISSUE 
 

The issue to be decided is whether the Department correctly determined the 
Appellant must pay a monthly premium of $202.55 for her Medicaid for the 
Employed Disabled as calculated by the Department.   

  
 

 FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

1. The Appellant is a recipient of MED.  (Hearing Record)  
 

2. On , 2022, the Department received the Appellant’s online renewal 
form.  The Appellant reported employment at .   (Exhibit 1: Renewal 
form, , 2022)  

 
3. On  2022, the Department processed the Appellant’s renewal and 

used the Appellant’s two most recent biweekly wages stubs as reported by 
the work number from  company.  The wages 
were as follows: , 2022, $2,115.83 +  2022, $1,875.37.  The 
projected monthly gross wages of $4290.54.  (Hearing Summary and Exhibit 
2: The work number employment and wage history) 

 
4. Based on the Appellant’s wages the Department determined the Appellant 

must pay a monthly premium of $202.55.  (Hearing Summary) 
 

5. On , 2022, the Department sent the Appellant a Notice of Action.  The 
notice stated the Appellant was eligible to continue Husky C – working 
disabled Medicaid benefits through , 2023, and that her monthly 
premium amount is $202.55.  (Exhibit 5: NOA, , 2022)   

 
6. On   2022, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing. 

(Hearing Record)  
 

7. On , 2022, the Department reviewed work number wages in review of 
the hearing and projected monthly gross wages based on the following 
wages: , 2022, $1875.37 and , 2022, $1,974.05.  The 
Department determined a monthly average of $4138.13.  (Hearing Summary 
and Exhibit 2)  

 
8. On  2022, the Department sent the Appellant a Notice of Action.  The 

notice stated that based on the review the new MED premium amount is 
$187.31 beginning  2022.  (Exhibit 5: NOA , 2022) 
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9. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 
17b-61(a), which requires that a decision be issued within 90 days of the 
request for an administrative hearing.  The Appellant requested an 
administrative hearing on , 2022. Therefore, this decision is due not 
later than  2022, and is therefore timely. (Hearing Record)  

 
 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. Section 17b-2 of the Connecticut General Statutes authorizes the 
Commissioner of the Department of Social Services to administer the Medicaid  
program. 
 

2. “The Department of Social Services shall establish and implement a working 
persons with disabilities program to provide medical assistance as authorized 
under 42 USC 1396a(a)(10)(A)(ii), as amended from time to time, to persons 
who are disabled and regularly employed.”  Conn Gen. Stat. § 17b – 597(A) 

3. State statute provides as follows:  

The Commissioner of Social Services shall amend the Medicaid state plan to 
allow persons specified in subsection (a) of this section to qualify for medical 
assistance. The amendment shall include the following requirements: (1) That 
the person be engaged in a substantial and reasonable work effort as 
determined by the commissioner and as permitted by federal law and have an 
annual adjusted gross income, as defined in Section 62 of the Internal 
Revenue Code of 1986, or any subsequent corresponding internal revenue 
code of the United States, as amended from time to time, of no more than 
seventy-five thousand dollars per year; (2) a disregard of all countable income 
up to two hundred per cent of the federal poverty level; (3) for an unmarried 
person, an asset limit of ten thousand dollars, and for a married couple, an 
asset limit of fifteen thousand dollars; (4) a disregard of any retirement and 
medical savings accounts established pursuant to 26 USC 220 and held by 
either the person or the person's spouse; (5) a disregard of any moneys in 
accounts designated by the person or the person's spouse for the purpose of 
purchasing goods or services that will increase the employability of such 
person, subject to approval by the commissioner; (6) a disregard of spousal 
income solely for purposes of determination of eligibility; and (7) a 
contribution of any countable income of the person or the person's spouse 
which exceeds two hundred per cent of the federal poverty level, as adjusted 
for the appropriate family size, equal to ten per cent of the excess minus any 
premiums paid from income for health insurance by any family member, but 
which does not exceed the maximum contribution allowable under Section 
201(a)(3) of Public Law 106-170, as amended from time to time. 
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Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-597(b) 
 

4. “The Department’s uniform policy manual is the equivalent of a state   
regulation and, as such, carries the force of law.” Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 
Conn. Supp. 175, 178 (1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-10; Richard v. 
Commissioner of Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d (1990)). 

 
5. Section 2540.85 of the Uniform Policy Manual provides as follows:   

 
There are two distinct groups of employed individuals between the ages of 18 
and 64 inclusive who have a medically certified disability or blindness and 
who qualify for Medicaid as working individuals with disabilities.  These 
groups are the Basic Insurance Group and the Medically Improved Group.  
There is a third group of employed individuals consisting of persons at least 
18 years of age who have a medically certified disability or blindness who 
also qualify for Medicaid as working individuals with disabilities.  This is the 
Balanced Budget Act Group.  Persons in this third group may be age 65 or 
older. 
 

6. Department policy provides for Working Individuals with Disabilities Balanced 
Budget Act Group as follows:   
 
1. An individual in this group, which is authorized under the Balanced Budget 

Act of 1997 (BBA), is subject to the same conditions described in section 
2540.85 A concerning employment status, income eligibility tests, asset 
eligibility tests and computation of premiums. 

 
2. An individual in this group who is age 65 or older is eligible for Medicaid as 

long as he or she meets all the eligibility requirements of section 2540.85 
A and has a medically certified disability or blindness. 

 
UPM § 2540.85(C) 

 
 
7. Department policy provides for payment of a monthly premium for medical 

coverage as follows:  
 
The individual may be required to pay the Department a monthly premium for 
medical coverage if the gross monthly counted income of the individual and 
spouse (minus Impairment-Related Work Expenses described at UPM 5035.10 
C) exceeds 200% of the federal poverty level (FPL) for the appropriate family 
size, including dependent children living in the home. 
 
   a. The amount of the premium is equal to 10% of this excess, 
minus the monthly amount of any payments for health insurance made by the 
individual or spouse for any family member.  
 
   b. For an individual described in this paragraph whose net family 
income is greater than 250% of the FPL but does not exceed 450% of the FPL 
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for the appropriate family size, the premium for Medicaid coverage cannot 
exceed 7.5% of the individual's net family income. 
 
   c. Net family income consists of the applied monthly income of the 
individual plus that of his or her spouse. 
 

(1) Applied monthly income of the individual is 
described in  
Section 2540.85A.2.b. 

 
     (2) The applied monthly income of an individual's eligible 

spouse is computed the same way as is the 
individual's. 

 
     (3) The applied monthly income of an individual's 

ineligible spouse consists of the spouse's gross 
monthly income with no allowance for any disregards 
or deductions. 

 
     UPM § 2540.85(A)(4) 
 
8. “For past months the Department uses the exact amount of the unit's 

available income received or deemed in the month.”  UPM § 5025.05(A)(1) 
 
9. “If income is received on other than a monthly basis, the estimate of income is 

calculated by multiplying 4.3 by a representative weekly amount that is 
determined as follows: if income is the same each week, the regular weekly 
income is the representative weekly amount. “UPM § 5025.05(B)(2)(a) 

 
On  2022, the Department correctly determined the Appellant’s 
monthly gross income of $4290.54 ($2115.83 + $1875.37 = $3991.20 / 
4weeks = $997.80 x 4.3 = $4290.54).  
 
On  2022, the Department correctly determined the Appellant’s 
monthly gross of $4138.13 ($1875.37 + $1974.05 = $3849.42 / 4 weeks = 
$962.35 x 4.3 = $4138.13)  
 
On  2022, the Department correctly determined the Appellant’s 
MED premium was $187.31 ($4138.13 gross income - $2265.00 [200% 
Federal Poverty Level (“FPL”)] = $1873.13 x .10(10%) = $187.31. 
 
 
 

DISCUSSION 
 

The Appellant does not agree that she should pay a monthly premium for 
Medicaid for the Employed Disabled, indicating she did not have a premium 
prior to the renewal.  The Department was correct in calculating the 
Appellant’s gross income as reported on the work number, employment 
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services payroll information.  The Department correctly calculated a premium 
based on the projected income.  
 
On the day of the hearing the Appellant sent a screen shot from an 
application on her cell phone explaining that she gives part of her tips to other 
employees (“tipping out”) at the restaurant where she works as a food server.  
The Appellant stated the tipping out, comes out of her reported gross pay. 
She stated the tipping out of her gross pay is not indicated on her wage stubs, 
only on the application on her phone.  The Appellant stated the gross pay 
reported on the work number is not what she receives.  
 
On , 2022, and  2022, the Department correctly processed the 
premium based on the gross wages as reported by the work number.  There 
is no provision in Departmental policy that discusses tips to other employees 
out of an employee’s gross pay.  There was no information on the work 
number earnings report for the Department to have knowledge of such 
practice.  There was no proof provided at the time of the , 2022, or 

 2022, determination of the premium amount for the Department.         
 
 
 

 
 DECISION 
 

 
 The Appellant's appeal is DENIED. 

 
Scott Zuckerman 

       Scott Zuckerman 
       Hearing Officer 
 
 
 
 
 

 Pc:  Jessica Carroll, Operations Manager, DSS, Norwich Regional Office 
        Marybeth Mark, Fair Hearings Liaison, DSS, Norwich Regional Office 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new 
evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based on § 4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes.  
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT  
06105. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed 
timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on § 4-183 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the 
petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 165 Capitol Avenue, 
Hartford, CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 
Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on 
all parties to the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s designee in 
accordance with § 17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's decision 
to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 

 




