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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 
 

On   2021, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) sent 
  (the “Appellant”) a notice denying his application for the Aid to the 

Aged, Blind, and Disabled (“AABD”) program due to having a gross income more than 
the program limit.  
 
On   2022, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to contest the 
Department’s action.  
 
On   2022, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative 
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for  

 2022. 
 
On   2022, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61, and 4-176e to            
4-184, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an administrative 
hearing by telephone conference.  
 

The following individuals participated in the hearing: 
 

   Appellant’s Counsel 
Ni’ta Freeman, Department’s Representative 
Christopher Turner, Hearing Officer 
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Two additional decisions will be issued concerning the Department’s denial of the 
Appellant’s MAABD and MSP applications. 
 

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 
 

The issue is whether the Department’s decision to deny the Appellant’s AABD 
application was correct.  

 
                                                                         FINDINGS OF FACT 

 
1. On   2021, the Department received an application for cash assistance from 

the Appellant’s counsel. The Appellant is  years old (  ) and resides in 
a licensed boarding home. (Exhibit 1: Application)  
 

2. On   2021, the Department issued a notice of action to the Appellant 
denying his request for AABD due to having a gross income more than the program 
limit. (Exhibit 2: Notice) 

 
3. The Appellant’s monthly Social Security Income (“SSA”) for 2021 is $2,401.30. 

(Exhibit 3: SSA printout; Counsel’s testimony) 

 
4. The maximum monthly Supplemental Security Income (“SSI”) benefit for 2021 is 

$794.00 and 300% of $794.00 equals $2,382.00. (Record)  
 
5. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 17b-61(a), 

(“Conn. Gen. Stat.”) which requires a decision to be rendered within 90 days of the 
request for an administrative hearing. The Appellant’s counsel requested an 
administrative hearing on   2022, with this decision due no later than            

  2022. (Record) 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-601 provides the Commissioner of Social Services shall adopt 
regulations in accordance with the provisions of chapter 54 establishing the method 
by which payments are made for recipients of the state supplement program who are 
residents of licensed residential care homes, as defined in section 19a-490, and a 
rated housing facility, as defined in section 17b-82. Such regulations shall provide for 
the safeguarding of residents' personal funds with respect to any homes, or rated 
housing facilities that handle such funds. Regulations concerning payment for 
residents shall provide for payment to the licensed residential care home or rated 
housing facility for the period during which the recipient makes such home or facility 
his or her residence, without regard to periods during which the recipient is absent, 
provided (1) the recipient's bed at the home or facility would otherwise be available 
during such absence, and (2) the recipient can reasonably be expected to return to 
the home or facility before the end of the month following the month in which the 
recipient leaves the home or facility. If the department determines that a resident of a 
home or rated housing facility who applies for state supplement benefits is eligible for 
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such benefits, the department shall pay the home or facility at a per diem or monthly 
rate less any applied income due from the resident. Any retroactive adjustment to the 
rate of such a home or facility by the commissioner that results in money due to such 
home or facility shall be made to such home or facility directly, and any such 
adjustment that results in an overpayment to the home or facility shall be paid by the 
home or facility to the department. If a retroactive adjustment to the rate of such home 
or facility results in a current resident becoming eligible for state supplement benefits, 
and such resident applies for state supplement benefits, the department may 
determine the start date of eligibility for state supplement benefits to be the later of the 
resident's admission date or the date ninety days prior to the date the department 
receives the application. 
 
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies § 17b-198-2 defines AABD as the state 
supplement to the aged, blind, or disabled administered pursuant to section 17b-600 
of the Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
The Department has the authority to administer and determine eligibility for the 
AABD program under the provisions outlined in state statute and regulation.  

 
2. “The department’s uniform policy manual (“UPM”) is the equivalent of a state 

regulation and, as such, carries the force of law.” Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 Conn. Supp. 
175, 178 (1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-10; Richard v. Commissioner of Income 
Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d 712 (1990)). 
 

3. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-82 provides “Rated Housing Facility” means (1) a boarding 
facility or home, except for a community companion home, licensed by the Department 
of Developmental Services, the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services  
or the Department of Children and Families. 
 
Conn Gen. Stat. § 19a-490 (a) provides in relevant part “Institution” means a hospital, 
short-term hospital special hospice, hospice inpatient facility, residential care home or 
nursing home facility. 
 
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 19a-490 (c) provides “residential care home” or “rest home” means 
a community residence that furnishes, in single or multiple facilities, food and shelter 
to two or more persons unrelated to the proprietor and, in addition, provides services 
that meet a need beyond the basic provisions of food, shelter and laundry and may 
qualify as a setting that allows residents to receive home and community-based 
services funded by state and federal programs. 
 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant is a resident of a residential 
care home also referred to as a licensed boarding home. 
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4. UPM § 5050.13(A)(1) provides that Social Security Income is treated as unearned 
income in all programs.  

 
The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s gross SSA is 
$2,401.30 per month. 
 

5. UPM § 2015.05 (A) provides that the assistance unit in AABD and MAABD consists 
of only one member. In these programs, each individual is a separate assistance unit. 
(B) An eligible spouse in the home applies for and receives assistance as a separate 
assistance unit. (C) Any other member of the household who meets the eligibility 
requirements for the program is also a separate assistance unit of one. 
 
UPM § 5515.05(B)(1) provides that the needs group for an applicant or recipient under 
the AABD program includes the following: a. the applicant or recipient; and b. the 
spouse of the applicant or recipient: (1) when they share the same home regardless of 
whether one or both are applying for or receiving assistance; and (2) through the end of 
the month of separation, should one occur.  
 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant is an assistance unit of one. 
 

6. UPM § 5520.10 provides in relevant part that income eligibility for AABD is 
determined by subjecting a monthly income amount to a gross income test. 
 
UPM § 5520.10 (A) provides for the gross income eligibility test. 1. If the needs group 
comprises only the individual applicant or recipient, the assistance unit's total gross 
monthly income is compared to the gross monthly income limit of 300% of the maximum 
SSI benefit for an individual who has no income and lives in his or her own home. 3. If 
the amount of the gross income exceeds the limit used, there is no eligibility for the 
individual or for either member of the couple for whom eligibility is being determined. 

 

The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s gross income of $2,401.30 
exceeded the program limit of $2,382.00 and is therefore ineligible for AABD. 

                      

    DECISION 
 

The Appellant’s appeal is denied. 
 
      

                                                                                                               __ _______________ 
                           Christopher Turner 

                                          Hearing Officer 
 
 
    Cc: Rachel Anderson, Operations Manager New Haven 

               Mathew Kalarickal, Operations Manager New Haven 
               Lisa Wells, Operations Manager New Haven 

            Ni’ta Freeman, DSS New Haven          
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the 
mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact, law, and new evidence 
has been discovered, or other good cause exists. If the request for reconsideration is 
granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request date.  No response within 
25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been denied. The right to request a 
reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to the Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hearings, 55 Farmington Avenue, 
Hartford, CT 06105-3725. 
 
                                                RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to the Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for reconsideration 
of this decision if the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the Department. The 
right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut General Statutes. To appeal, a petition 
must be filed at Superior Court. A copy of the petition must be served upon the Office of the 
Attorney General, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106, or the Commissioner of the 
Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105-3725. A copy 
of the petition must also be served to all parties to the hearing. 
 
The 45-day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause. The 
extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services 
in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision. Good cause circumstances 
are evaluated by the Commissioner or her designee following §17b-61 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes. The Agency's decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to 
review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of New 
Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 
 

 


