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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 
  
On , 2021, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) issued 

 (the “Appellant”) a Notice of Action stating that she was being denied HUSKY 
C Medicaid assistance for the Aged, Blind, and Disabled because she did not meet the 
program requirements. 
 
On  2021, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to contest the 
Department’s action to deny her HUSKY C Medicaid assistance.    
 
On  2021, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative 
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling an administrative hearing for  

 2021. 
 
On  2021, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61 and 4-176e to 4-
189, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an administrative 
hearing.   The following individuals were present at the hearing:   
 

, Appellant 
Lauren Hilliker, Eligibility Services Specialist, Department’s Representative 
Roberta Gould, Hearing Officer 
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  STATEMENTS OF THE ISSUE 
 

The issue to be decided is whether the Department’s action to deny the Appellant Husky 
C Medicaid Assistance for the Aged, Blind, and Disabled because the Department has 
determined that she did not meet the program requirements is correct. 

  
         FINDINGS OF FACT 

 
1. On  2021, the Appellant applied for Medicaid assistance for herself.  (Exhibit 

3: Case notes and Hearing summary) 
 

2. The Appellant receives self-employment earnings of $22,000.00 per year from  
.  (Exhibit 1 and Hearing summary) 

 
3. The Appellant is sixty-two (62) years old. (Appellant’s testimony) 

 
4. The Appellant is not blind or disabled. (Exhibit 3 and Appellant’s testimony) 

 
5. On , 2021, the Department issued a notice to the Appellant that she was 

being denied Husky C Medicaid Assistance for the Aged, Blind, and Disabled because 
she did not meet the program requirements. (Exhibit 1: Notice of action dated 

 and Hearing summary) 
 

6. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes § 17b-
61(a), which requires that the decision be issued within 90 days of the request for an 
administrative hearing. The Appellant requested an administrative hearing on 

 2021. Therefore, the decision is due not later than , 2022.  
 

    CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. Section 17b-2 of the Connecticut General Statutes authorizes the Commissioner of the 
Department of Social Services to administer the Medicaid program. 
 

2. Title 20 of the Code of Federal Regulations (“CFR”) § 416.905 defines disability as the 
inability to do any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable 
physical or mental impairment which can be expected to result in death or which has 
lasted or can be expected to last a continuous period of not less than 12 months.  It 
requires that, in order to meet this definition, an individual must have a severe 
impairment, which makes the individual unable to do previous work or any other 
substantial gainful activity which exists in the national economy.  To determine if the 
individual can do any other work, consideration is given to residual functional capacity 
and to age, education and work experience. 
 

3. “The Department’s Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) is the equivalent of a state 
regulation and, as such, carries the force of law.” (Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 Connecticut 
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Supp. 175, 178 (1994) (citing Connecticut General Statutes § 17b-10; Richard v. 
Commissioner of Income Maintenance, 214 Connecticut 601, 573 A.2d 712 (1990)). 

 

4. UPM § 2525.15 provides for categorical eligibility requirements for State Supplement 
and related Medicaid: 

 
A. To meet the age requirement for State Supplement and related Medicaid based 

on disability, the individual must be eighteen (18) years of age through Sixty-five 
(65) years of age. 

 
B. To meet the age requirement for State Supplement and related Medicaid based 

on old age, the individual must be sixty-five (65) years of age or older. 
 

C. There is no age requirement for an individual qualifying for State Supplement 
benefits as a resident of a long term care facility. 

 
5. UPM § 2530.05 provides that:  

 
A. To qualify for the State Supplement or related Medical Assistance programs on the 

basis of disability, the individual must be disabled as determined by SSA or the 
Department. The individual must be found to have an impairment which: 
 

1. is medically determinable; and 

 

2. is severe in nature; and 

 

3. can be expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be 

expected to last for a continuous period of not less than twelve (12) 

months; and 

 

4. except as provided in paragraph C below, prevents the performance 

of previous work or any other substantial gainful activity which exists 

in the national economy. 

 

B. Except as provided in paragraph C below, the medical criteria the Department 

uses for determining disability are the same as those used for evaluating 

disability under SSI in accordance with 20 CFR Chapter III Appendices 1 and 2. 

 

C. Under the Medicaid coverage group “Working Individuals with Disabilities”, the 

individual must have a medically determinable impairment. However, the 

individual’s ability to perform substantial gainful activity has no effect on the 

disability determination (Cross reference: 2540.85) 
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The Department correctly determined that the Appellant does not meets the 
criteria for Medicaid assistance to the aged, blind, and disabled programs 
because she has not been determined to be blind or disabled, and is has not yet 
turned age 65 years of age. 
 

     On  2021, the Department correctly denied the Appellant Husky 
     C Medicaid Assistance for the Aged, Blind and Disabled because she did not 
     meet the categorical eligibility requirements. 
 

       
       
          DECISION 

 
 The Appellant's appeal is DENIED. 
 
               
 
 

 
________________ 

        Roberta Gould 
        Hearing Officer 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 Cc:  Brian Sexton, Social Services Operations Manager, DSS Middletown 
        Lauren Hilliker, Eligibility Services Specialist, DSS Middletown 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 

The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the 

mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new evidence 

has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for reconsideration is 

granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request date.  No response 

within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been denied.  The right to 

request a reconsideration is based on § 4-181a (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes.  

Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 

indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 

Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 

Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, 

CT  06105. 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 

The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of the 

mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for reconsideration 

of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the 

Department.  The right to appeal is based on § 4-183 of the Connecticut General 

Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the petition 

must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, 

CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 

Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 

the hearing. 

The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 

cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of 

Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good 

cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s 

designee in accordance with § 17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's 

decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 

The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 

New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 

 

 




