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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

On  2021, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) denied 

 (the “Appellant”) application for Husky C Medicaid benefits. 

On  2021, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to contest the 

Department’s decision to deny such benefits.    

On 2021, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative 

Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for 
2021. 

On , 2021, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17-61 and 4-176e to 4-189 
inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an administrative hearing. 

The following individuals were present at the hearing: 

, Appellant 

, Appellant’s daughter and representative 
Ferris Clare, Department’s Representative 
Scott Zuckerman, Hearing Officer 
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February 11,  $3,391.20 

 # 

 

March 9,  $1,740.13 

  $6707.33     Total 

 

9. The asset limit for the Husky C Medicaid program for a household of two is 
$2400.00.  (Hearing summary and Department’s testimony) 

 

10. On , 2021, the Department sent the Appellant a Notice of Action denying 
the Appellant’s application for Husky C Medicaid.    The notice stated the value of 
your assets is more than the amount we allow you to have.  (Exhibit 3: Notice of 

Action, /2021)  
 

11. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 17b-

61(a), which requires that a decision be issued within 90 days of the request for an 
administrative hearing.  The Appellant requested an administrative hearing on 

 2021. Therefore, this decision is due not later than , 2021, and 
is therefore timely.  (Hearing Record)  

 
 

 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 

1. Section 17b-260 of the Connecticut General Statutes provides for the 
administration of the Medicaid program pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act. 

 
2. “The department’s uniform policy manual is the equivalent of a state regulation and, 

as such, carries the force of law.”  Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 Conn. Supp. 175, 178(1994) 

(citing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-10; Richard v. Commissioner of Income Maintenance, 
214 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d 712 (1990)).  

 

3. “The asset limit for Medicaid for a needs group of two is $2400.00.” Uniform Policy 
Manual (“UPM”) § 4005.10(A)(2)(b) 

 

4. “The Department counts the assistance unit’s equity in an asset toward the asset 
limit if the asset is not excluded by state or federal law and is either available to 
the unit, or deemed available to the unit.”  UPM § 4005.05 (B)(1) 

 
5. UPM § 4005.05 (B)(2) provides that under all programs except Food Stamps, the 

Department considers an asset available when actually available to the individual 

or when the individual has the legal right, authority or power to obtain the asset, or 
to have it applied for, his or her general or medical support.   
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6. “An assistance unit is not eligible for benefits under a particular program if the units 
equity in counted assets exceeds the asset limit for the particular program.”  UPM 

§ 4005.05 (D) (2)   
 

7.   UPM § 4030.50 (A) provides that Bank accounts include the following.  This list is 
not all inclusive. 

 

    1. Savings account; 

    2. Checking account; 

    3. Credit union account; 

    4. Certificate of deposit; 

   6. Patient account at long-term care facility; 

    7. Children's school account; 

    8. Trustee account; 

    9. Custodial account.         

 

8. “That part of a checking account to be considered as a counted asset during a 
given month is calculated by subtracting the actual amount of income the 
assistance unit deposits into the account that month from the highest balance in 

the account for that month.“ UPM § 4030.05(B)  
 

9. UPM 4030.05 (C) provides that money which is received as income during a month 

and deposited into an account during the month is not considered as an asset for 
that month, unless the source of the money is:  

 

1.  an income tax refund; or 
 
2.  cash received upon the transfer or sale of property; or 

 
3.  a security deposit returned by the landlord.   
 

On  2021, the Department correctly determined the Appellant’s and 
his spouse’s bank accounts are countable assets and must be counted 
toward the Medicaid asset limit of $2400.00.   

 
The Department correctly determined the total assets of $6707.33 exceed the 
asset limit of $2400.00.   

 
The Department correctly determined that the Appellant did not meet the 
eligibility requirement of having assets under the $2400.00 asset limit. 
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The Department correctly denied the Appellant’s application for Husky C 
Medicaid benefits because his assets were over the Medicaid limit of   

$2400.00 for a household of two.   
 
 

 
 

DECISION 

 
 
           The Appellant’s appeal is DENIED. 

 
 
 

 
      ______________________  
              Scott Zuckerman 

              Hearing Officer 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
CC:    Rachel Anderson, Operations Manager, DSS, New Haven Regional Office 
          Cheryl Stuart, Operations Manager, DSS, New Haven Regional Office 

          Lisa Wells, Operations Manager, DSS, New Haven Regional Office 
          Ferris Clare, Fair Hearing Liaison, DSS, New Haven Regional Office 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of the 

mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, new evidence 
has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for reconsideration is 
granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request date.  No response 

within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been denied.  The right to 
request a reconsideration is based on § 4-181a (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes.  
 

Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 

Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, 
CT  06105. 

 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 

 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of the 
mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for reconsideration 

of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with the 
Department.  The right to appeal is based on § 4-183 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court.  A copy of the petition 

must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, 
CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue Hartford, CT 06105.  A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 

the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 

cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of 
Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision.  Good 
cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or the Commissioner’s 

designee in accordance with § 17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  The Agency's 
decision to grant an extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 

The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 

New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 

 

 

 




