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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On

2020, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) sent

e "Appellant”) a notice of action that indicated the Appellant's Medicaid for the
Employed Disabled (“S05”) premium was recalculated effective- 2020, due to the
unemployment benefits.

On H 2020, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to appeal the
Department’s decision.

On , 2020, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for
2020.

On , 2020, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61, and 4-176e to 4-184,
inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held a telephonic
administrative hearing.

The following individuals participated in the hearing:
, Appellant

Ferris Clare, Department’s Representative
Swati Sehgal, Hearing Officer



. On

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE

The issue to be decided is whether the Department correctly determined the
Appellant is obligated to pay her SO5 premium as calculated by the Department.

FINDINGS OF FACT

2020, the Appellant contacted the Department and reported a change
in her income. (Hearing Summary, Appellant’s Testimony)

. The Appellant reported her employment as * ended as offjjilij. 2020

and in 2020, she started to receive $798.00 ($198.00, Unemployment Benefit +
$600.00 Federal Pandemic Unemployment Benefit) a week in Unemployment
Benefits. (Appellant’s Testimony, Hearing summary)

. The Appellant also receives $919.00 a month in Social Security Disability Income
(“SSDI”). (Appellant’s Testimony)

. On q 2020, the Department calculated the Appellant’s total Unemployment
Income to $3431.40 monthly ($798.00 a week x 4.3). (Exhibit 1:NOA dated /120,
Hearing summary)

. On[l. 2020, The Department determined the Appellant’s total monthly income
equals 4682.90 ($3431.40; Unemployment benefits+$919.00; SSDI+$332.50 income
from dog sitting). (Exhibit 1, Hearing Summary)

. on |l 2020, the Department determined that the Appellant's monthly premium
charges as $255.49 a month. (Exhibit 1and Hearing Summary)

. on [ 2020, the Appellant requested the Administrative hearing. (Exhibit A:
Hearing Request)

. on 2. 2020, the Department removed the Appellant’s self-employment income
and calculated the Appellant's total income equals $4350.40 (3431.40;
Unemployment Benefit+$919; SSDI).

. on ] 2020, the Department recalculated the Appellant's Monthly premium
charges as $222.24. (Exhibit 2: NOA, [Jjj/20)

10.The Federal Poverty Level used by the Department in its SO5 premium calculation

was $2,128.00 monthly. (Record; Hearing summary)

11.0n |} 2020, the Department issued a Notice to the Appellant informing her of a

change in monthly premium. (Exhibit 2)



12. The issuance of this decision is timely under section 17b-61(a) of Connecticut
General Statutes, which requires that a decision be issued within 90 days of the
request for an administrative hearing. The Appellant requested an administrative
hearing on [l 2020. with this decision due no later than || 2020.
(Hearing Record)

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Connecticut General Statutes (“Conn. Gen. Stat.”) 8§ 17b-2 provides that the
Department of Social Services is designated as the state agency for the administration
of (6) the Medicaid program pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act.

2. “The department's Uniform Policy Manual (*UPM”) is the equivalent of state
regulation and, as such, carries the force of law.” Bucchere v. Rowe, 43 Conn. Supp.
175, 178 (1994) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-10; Richard v. Commissioner of
Income Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601, 573 A.2d 712 (1990)).

3. Conn. Gen. Stat. 8§ 17b-597 provides for working persons with disabilities program.
(&) The Department of Social Services shall establish and implement a working
persons with disabilities program to provide medical assistance as authorized under
42 USC 1396a(a)(10)(A)(ii)), as amended from time to time, to persons who are
disabled and regularly employed. (b) The Commissioner of Social Services shall
amend the Medicaid state plan to allow persons specified in subsection (a) of this
section to qualify for medical assistance. The amendment shall include the following
requirements: (1) That the person be engaged in a substantial and reasonable work
effort as determined by the commissioner and as permitted by federal law and have
an annual adjusted gross income, as defined in Section 62 of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1986, or any subsequent corresponding internal revenue code of the United
States, as amended from time to time, of no more than seventy-five thousand dollars
per year; (2) a disregard of all countable income up to two hundred per cent of the
federal poverty level; (3) for an unmarried person, an asset limit of ten thousand
dollars, and for a married couple, an asset limit of fifteen thousand dollars; (4) a
disregard of any retirement and medical savings accounts established pursuant to
26 USC 220 and held by either the person or the person’s spouse; (5) a disregard of
any moneys in accounts designated by the person or the person’s spouse for the
purpose of purchasing goods or services that will increase the employability of such
person, subject to approval by the commissioner; (6) a disregard of spousal income
solely for purposes of determination of eligibility; and (7) a contribution of any
countable income of the person or the person’s spouse which exceeds two hundred
per cent of the federal poverty level, as adjusted for the appropriate family size,
equal to ten per cent of the excess minus any premiums paid from income for health
insurance by any family member, but which does not exceed the maximum
contribution allowable under Section 201(a)(3) of Public Law 106-170, as amended
from time to time.



4. UPM 8§ 2540.85 provides there are two distinct groups of employed individuals
between the ages of 18 and 64 inclusive who have a medically certified disability or
blindness and who qualify for Medicaid as working individuals with disabilities. These
groups are the Basic Insurance Group and the Medically Improved Group. There is a
third group of employed individuals consisting of persons at least 18 years of age who
have a medically certified disability or blindness who also qualify for Medicaid as
working individuals with disabilities. This is the Balanced Budget Act Group. Persons in
this third group maybe age 65 or older.

5. UPM § 2540.85(A) provides for the Basic Insurance Group. An individual in this
group, which is authorized under the Ticket to Work and Work Incentives Improvement
Act of 1999 (TWWIIA), is subject to the conditions described below. 1. An individual in
this group must be engaged in a substantial and reasonable work effort to meet the
employment criterion. (a) Such effort consists of an activity for which the individual
receives cash remuneration and receives pay stubs from his or her employer. (b) If the
individual is self-employed, he or she must have established an account through the
Social Security Administration and must make regular payments based on earnings as
required by the Federal Insurance Contributions Act. (c) that an individual who meets
the employment criterion but then loses employment through no fault of his or her
own, for reasons such as a temporary health problem or involuntary termination,
continues to meet the employment criterion for up to one year from the date of the
loss of employment. The individual must maintain a connection to the labor market
by either intending to return to work as soon as the health problem is resolved or by
making a bona fide effort to seek employment upon an involuntary termination.

The Department correctly determined the Appellant is a single individual
eligible for the Basic Insurance Group as she at least 18 years of age and
younger than 65, has substantial and reasonable work effort, receives SSDI or
SSI.

6. UPM 8§ 5025.05 (B) (2) provides that if income is received on other than a monthly
basis, the estimate of income is calculated by multiplying 4.3 by a representative
weekly amount that is determined as follows: b. if income varies from week to week,
a representative period of at least four consecutive weeks is averaged to determine
the representative weekly amount. d. if income is received on other than a weekly or
monthly basis, the income is converted to a representative weekly amount by dividing
the income by the number of weeks covered.

The Department determined unemployment benefits for the Appellant as
follows: $798x4.3=$3431.40.

7. UPM 8 2540.85(A)(4) provides that an individual may be required to pay the
Department a monthly premium for medical coverage if the gross monthly counted
income of the individual and spouse (minus Impairment-Related Work Expenses
described at UPM 5035.10 C) exceeds 200% of the federal poverty level (FPL) for
the appropriate family size, including dependent children living in the home.



8. UPM § 3545.15(A)(1) provides individuals receiving Medicaid as Working Individuals
with Disabilities may be required to pay the Department a premium for Medicaid
coverage if the individual's gross income, plus the gross income of his or her spouse,
minus Impairment-Related Work Expenses, exceeds 200 percent of the federal poverty
level for the appropriate family size.

9. UPM 8§ 3545.15(A)(2) provides the amount of the individual's monthly Medicaid
premium is equal to 10% of the excess monthly income described above, minus the
amount of any monthly payments for health insurance made by the individual or
spouse for any family member.

10.UPM 8 5035.10 (C) provides for Impairment Related Work Expenses. 1. Certain
work expenses which are related to enabling the individuals to be employed are
deducted from earned income in determining eligibility and calculating benefits for: a.
recipients of assistance to the disabled; and b. recipients of assistance to the aged
who received assistance to the disabled in the month before they became 65 years
of age. 2. Impairment related work expenses are not used to determine the initial
eligibility of an applicant for assistance based upon disability. 3. Impairment-related
work expenses include but are not limited to, the following: a. attendant services
including help with personal or employment functions; f. non-medical equipment
which can be associated with enabling the individual to be employed; g. drugs and
medical services directly related to reducing, controlling or eliminating an impairment
or its symptoms; h. all other miscellaneous expenses not cited above but which can
be associated with the individual's disability and with enabling the individual to be
employed including transportation, medical supplies, vehicular medications, etc.

The Department correctly excluded Impairment Related Work Expenses as
none were declared by the Appellant.

The Department correctly determined the Appellant's S05 premium was
$222.40 per month. $4350.40 ($3431.40 Unemployment Benefit + $919.00 SSDI)
- $2,128.00 FPL = $2222.40. $2222.40 x 0.10 (10%) = $222.24.

The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s monthly SO5 premium of
$222.24.

DISCUSSION

The Appellant believes that her unemployment benefit amount should not be
counted to calculate her S05 premium because it includes $600.00 of Federal
Pandemic Unemployment Benefit. She further stated that there is no option for her
to decline this Pandemic Unemployment benefits and as a result, she is losing her
medical benefits. The Department explained to the Appellant that she is actively



Cc:

receiving medical benefits under Husky C-working Disable. However, she is now
responsible to pay a premium of $222.24 a month for such benefits. The Appellant
was informed that she should contact the Department as soon as her Federal
Pandemic Unemployment benefits end so the Department could recalculate her
monthly premium for S05.

DECISION

The Appellant’s appeal is denied.

Swati Sehgal
Hearing Officer

Rachel Anderson, Operations Manager, DSS, R.O. #20, New Haven
Cheryl Stuart, Operations Manager, DSS, R.O. #20, New Haven
Lisa Wells, Operations Manager, DSS, R.O. #20, New Haven

Ferris Clare, Fair Hearing Liaison, DSS, R.O. #20, New Haven



RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION

The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact, law, and new
evidence has been discovered, or other good cause exists. If the request for
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request
date. No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been
denied. The right to request a reconsideration is based on 84-18la (a) of the
Connecticut General Statutes.

Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example,
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists.

Reconsideration requests should be sent to Department of Social Services, Director,
Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hearings, 55 Farmington
Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105.

RIGHT TO APPEAL

The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for
reconsideration of this decision, if the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with
the Department. The right to appeal is based on 84-183 of the Connecticut General
Statutes. To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court. A copy of the petition
must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, CT
06106, or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington
Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105. A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to
the hearing.

The 45-day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision. Good cause
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or her designee in accordance with
817b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes. The Agency's decision to grant an
extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal.

The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides.






