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STATEMENTS OF THE ISSUE 
 

 
The first issue is whether the Appellant's income exceeds the Medically Needy 
Income Limit (“MNIL”) for Medicaid. 

 
The second issue is whether the Appellant must meet a spenddown amount 
before being eligible for Medicaid. 

  
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

1. The Appellant is  years old [  and disabled. (Appellant’s 
Testimony) 
 

2. The Appellant’s assistance unit consists of one member.  (Hearing Summary; 
Exhibit 1: MAABD Income Test) 

 
3. The Appellant resides in  Connecticut. (Appellant’s Testimony; 

Hearing Record) 
 
4. The Appellant receives monthly benefits from Social Security Disability 

(“SSDI”) in the amount of $878.00 and (“SSI”) of $3.00. (Appellant’s 
Testimony, Hearing Summary, Exhibit 1: MAABD Income Test) 
 

5. The Appellant is enrolled in Medicare Part A and B and is active on the 
Medicare Saving Plan Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries program which pays 
the Appellant’s Medicare Part B monthly premiums. (Department’s Testimony; 
Hearing Record) 

 
6. The Department determined the Appellant eligible for MAABD under a spend-

down totaling $93.72 for the period of  2019, through , 
2019 because her monthly net income of $539.00 exceeds the Husky C 
income limit of $523.38 by $15.62 per month. ($15.62 excess income x 6 
months spend-down period = $93.72.  (Hearing Summary; Exhibit 2: Ma 
Spend-down; Department’s Testimony)  
 

7. The Appellant has not submitted any medical expenses to be applied towards 
her 2019 through  2019 spend-down period. (Hearing Record; 
Post Hearing Exhibit 3: Document Search; Department’s Testimony) 

 
8. The issuance of this decision is timely under Connecticut General Statutes 

17b-61(a), which requires that a decision be issued within 90 days of the 
request for an administrative hearing.  The Appellant requested an 
administrative hearing on  2019. Therefore, this decision is due not 
later than , 2019. 



 3 

 CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. Section 17b-2 of the Connecticut General Statutes authorizes the 
Commissioner of the Department of Social Services to administer the Medicaid 
program. 

 
2. “The Department’s Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) is the equivalent of a state 

regulation and, as such, carries the force of law.”  Bucchere V Rowe, 43 Conn 
Supp. 175 178 (194) (citing Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-10; Richard v. 
Commissioner of Income Maintenance, 214 Conn. 601,573 A.2d712 (1990)). 

 
3. Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) § 2540.01 (A) provides that in order to qualify 

for medical assistance, an individual must meet the conditions of at least one 
coverage group. 

 
UPM § 2540.01 (C) provides that individuals qualify for medical assistance 
(“MA”) as medically needy if:  
 
1.  their income or assets exceed the limits of the Aid to Families with  
     Dependent Children (“AFDC”) or Aid to the Aged, Blind, and Disabled  
    (“AABD”) programs; and 
2.  their assets are within the medically needs asset limit; and 
3.  their income either; (a) is within the Medically Needy Income Limit  
      (“MNIL”)’ or (b) can be reduced to the MNIL by a spend-down of medical  
      expenses. 
  

4. UPM § 5515.05 (C)(2) provides in part that the needs group for an MAABD 
unit includes the following: the applicant or recipient. (Cross Reference: 
2540.85)  

 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant’s needs group 
consists of one member.  
 

5. UPM § 4530.15 (A) pertains to the medical assistance standards. It provides 
that a uniform set of income standards is established for all assistance units 
who do not qualify as categorically needy.  It further states that the MNIL of 
an assistance unit varies according to the size of the assistance unit and the 
region of the state in which the assistance unit resides. 

 
6. UPM § 4530.15(B) provides that the medically needy income limit is the 

amount equivalent to 143 percent of the benefit amount that ordinarily would 
be paid under the AFDC program to an assistance unit of the same size with 
no income for the appropriate region of residence 

 
UPM § 4510.10(A)(1) provides that the State of Connecticut is divided into 
three geographic regions on the basis of a similarity in the cost of housing.  
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Separate standards of need are established for each state region.  The 
standard of need which is applicable to a particular assistance unit is based 
on (a) The current region of residence; and (b) The appropriate needs group 
size. 
UPM § 4510. (B)(2) provides  is part of Region C. 
 
The Department correctly determined that the MNIL for the Appellant’s 
assistance unit for one person residing in Region C is $523.38.  

  
7. UPM § 5050.13(A) (1) provides that income from Social Security is treated as 

unearned income for all programs. 
 

UPM § 5050.13 (B) (2) & (4) provides in part that SSI income is treated as 
unearned income and SSI income is excluded from consideration in determining 
the applicant’s or recipients eligibility for medical assistance. 
 
The Department correctly excluded the Appellant’s SSI income. 
 
The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s total monthly 
countable unearned income is $878.00 ($878.00 SSDI). 

 
8. UPM § 5050.13(A)(2) provides that Social Security income is subject to 

unearned income disregards in the Aid to the Aged, Blind, and Disabled 
(“AABD”) and Medicaid for the Aid to the Aged, Blind, and Disabled (“MAABD”) 
programs. 

 
9.  UPM § 5030.15(A) provides that except as provided in section 5030.15(D).,  
      unearned income disregards are subtracted from the unit member's total  
      gross monthly unearned income. 
 
10. UPM § 5030.15(B)(1)(a) provides that the disregard is $227.00 for those  

individuals who reside in their own homes in the community or who live as 
roomers in the homes of others and those who reside in long term care 
facilities, shelters for the homeless or battered women shelters. Effective 
January 1, 2008, and each January 1st thereafter, this disregard shall be   
increased to reflect the annual cost of living adjustment used by the Social 
Security Administration.  The current unearned income disregard is $339.00. 

 
    The Department correctly subtracted the current standard unearned 
     income disregard of $339.00 per month from the Appellant’s gross  
     monthly income.   

 
11.  UPM § 5045.10 (C)(1) provides that except for determining AABD eligibility  

and benefit amounts for individuals residing in long term care facilities, 
applied unearned income is calculated by reducing the gross unearned 
income amount by the appropriate disregard based upon living 
arrangements.  
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UPM § 5045.10 (E) provides that the assistance unit’s total applied income is 
the sum of the unit’s applied earnings, applied unearned income, and the 
amount deemed.  
 
The Department correctly calculated the Appellant’s total applied 
income at $539.00 ($878.00 SSDI - $339.00 = $539.00). 
 

12.    UPM § 5520.20(B)(1) provides that a six-month period for which eligibility 
will be determined is established to include the month of application and the 
five consecutive calendar months which follow.   

 
13.   UPM § 5520.20(B)(5) provides that the total of the assistance unit's applied   

  income for the six-month period is compared to the total of the MNIL's for the 
  same six-months. 

 
14.   UPM § 5520.20(B)(5)(b) provides that when the unit's total applied income is  

   greater than the total MNIL, the assistance unit is ineligible until the excess  
   income is offset through the spenddown process. 
 

15.   UPM § 5520.25 (B)(7) provides in part that when the amount of the assistance 
   unit's monthly income exceeds the MNIL, income eligibility for a medically  
   needy assistance unit does not occur until the amount of excess income is 
   offset by medical expenses. This process of offsetting is referred to as a  
   spend-down. Income eligibility for the assistance unit exists as of the day  
   when excess income is totally offset by medical expenses. 

 
  The Department correctly determined that the Appellant‘s applied  
   income exceeds the MNIL by $15.62 ($539.00 - $523.38 = $15.62).  

 
   The Department correctly determined that the Appellant’s six-month  
   spenddown amount is $93.72 ($15.62 x 6 months) for the period from  
    to  .    

 
DECISION 

 
 

 The Appellant's appeal is DENIED. 
 

___ _________ 
       Shelley Starr 
       Hearing Officer 

Peter Bucknall, DSS, Waterbury 
Jamel Hilliard, DSS, Waterbury 
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RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days 
of the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact or law, 
new evidence has been discovered or other good cause exists.  If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the 
request date.  No response within 25 days means that the request for 
reconsideration has been denied.  The right to request a reconsideration is based 
on §4-181a (a) of the Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request:  for 
example, indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good 
cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to: Department of Social Services, 
Director, Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals, 55 Farmington Avenue, 
Hartford, CT  06105-3725. 
 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days 
of the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, provided that the petition for reconsideration was 
filed timely with the Department.  The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes.  To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior 
Court.  A copy of the petition must be served upon the Office of the Attorney 
General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, CT  06106 or the Commissioner of the 
Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105.  A 
copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to the hearing. 
 
The 45 day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good 
cause.  The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the 
Department of Social Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of 
the decision.  Good cause circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or 
the Commissioner’s designee in accordance with §17b-61 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.  The Agency's decision to grant an extension is final and is not 
subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District 
of New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 
 

 




