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PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND 

 
On  , 2018, the Department of Social Services (the “Department”) sent 

  (the “Appellant”) a notice of action discontinuing her Medicaid for the 
Employed Disabled (“S05”) effective /18 because she did not make the required 
premium payments.  
 
On  , 2019, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing to appeal the 
Department’s discontinuance of her S05 assistance.   
 
On  , 2019, the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative 
Hearings (“OLCRAH”) issued a notice scheduling the administrative hearing for         

 , 2019.  
 
On  , 2019, in accordance with sections 17b-60, 17b-61, and 4-176e to         
4-189, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, OLCRAH held an administrative 
hearing.   
 
The following individuals participated at the hearing:   
 

 , Appellant 
 , Appellant’s Son 

Christine Faucher, Department’s Representative 
Christopher Turner, Hearing Officer 
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STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE 
 

The issue to be decided is whether the Department correctly discontinued the 
Appellant’s S05 coverage due to having an overdue premium.  

 
 FINDINGS OF FACT 

 
1.   , 2018, the Appellant submitted an application for S05 benefits. The 

Appellant was given a proofs we need form (“W-1348”) requesting the Appellant 
provide her four most recent paystubs and bank account verification by /18. 
(Exhibit 1: Application; Exhibit 2: W-1348; Exhibit 4: Case notes; Hearing summary) 

 
2. On  , 2018, the Department received the Appellant’s requested 

verifications. (Exhibit 4; Hearing summary) 
 

3. On  , 2018, the Department granted the Appellant’s S05 application. A 
Med-Connect premium invoice was sent to the Appellant indicating her S05  
premium would be  monthly. In addition, the notice showed the Appellant had 
a total premium amount due of  that included the months of  2017 
through  2017. (Exhibit 8A: Med-Connect Premium Invoice)  

 
4. On  , 2018, the Department sent the Appellant a Med-Connect premium 

invoice indicating her S05 assistance will end  , 2018 if her premium 
payments for the months of  2017 through  2017 as well as  2018 
through  2018 are not received by the last day of  2018. (Exhibit 
8B: Med-Connect Premium Invoice) 

 
5. On  , 2018, the Department discontinued the Appellant’s S05 for failure 

to pay premiums by the due date. (Exhibit 6: Notice dated 12/31/18) 
 

6. On  , 2019, the Appellant requested an administrative hearing. (Record) 
 

7. The Appellant is  years old  . (Exhibit 1) 
 

8. The Appellant receives $  in Social Security Disability Income. (Exhibit 1) 
 

9. The Appellant’s monthly premium charges and payments are as follows: 
             

Benefit Month Premium 
Amount 

Payment 
Amount 

Balance 

 2017  $0.00    

 2017  $0.00  

 2017  $0.00   

 2017  $0.00  

 2018  $0.00  

 2018  $0.00  
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 2018 $55.47 $55.47 $343.86 

    (Exhibit 7: S05 Balance summary) 
 
10.  The Appellant testified she did not pay her  2017,  2017, and  

2018 through  2018 premiums. The Appellant did pay her  2018 
premium. (Exhibit 7; Appellant’s testimony) 
 

11.  The Department agreed to remove the  2017 and  2017 premium amounts 
leaving an outstanding balance of $ . ($   ). (Department 
representative’s testimony) 

 
12.  The issuance of this decision is timely under section 17b-61(a) of Connecticut 

General Statutes, which requires that a decision be issued within 90 days of the 
request for an administrative hearing. The Appellant requested an administrative 
hearing on  , 2019 and this decision, therefore, was due no later than  

, 2019. (Hearing record) 
 

                                   CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
1. Connecticut General Statutes § 17b-2 provides that the Department of Social 

Services is designated as the state agency for the administration of (6) the Medicaid 
program pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
 

2. Connecticut General Statues § 17b-597 provides for a working persons with 
disabilities program. (a) The Department of Social Services shall establish and 
implement a working persons with disabilities program to provide medical assistance 
as authorized under 42 USC 1396a(a)(10)(A)(ii), as amended from time to time, to 
persons who are disabled and regularly employed. (b) The Commissioner of Social 
Services shall amend the Medicaid state plan to allow persons specified in 
subsection (a) of this section to qualify for medical assistance. The amendment shall 
include the following requirements: (1) That the person be engaged in a substantial 
and reasonable work effort as determined by the commissioner and as permitted by 
federal law and have an annual adjusted gross income, as defined in Section 62 of 
the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, or any subsequent corresponding internal 
revenue code of the United States, as amended from time to time, of no more than 
seventy-five thousand dollars per year; (2) a disregard of all countable income up to 
two hundred per cent of the federal poverty level; (3) for an unmarried person, an 
asset limit of ten thousand dollars, and for a married couple, an asset limit of fifteen 
thousand dollars; (4) a disregard of any retirement and medical savings accounts 
established pursuant to 26 USC 220 and held by either the person or the person’s 
spouse; (5) a disregard of any moneys in accounts designated by the person or the 
person’s spouse for the purpose of purchasing goods or services that will increase 
the employability of such person, subject to approval by the commissioner; (6) a 
disregard of spousal income solely for purposes of determination of eligibility; and 
(7) a contribution of any countable income of the person or the person’s spouse 
which exceeds two hundred per cent of the federal poverty level, as adjusted for the 
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appropriate family size, equal to ten per cent of the excess minus any premiums 
paid from income for health insurance by any family member, but which does not 
exceed the maximum contribution allowable under Section 201(a)(3) of Public Law 
106-170, as amended from time to time. 
 
Uniform Policy Manual (“UPM”) § 2540.85 provides there are two distinct groups of 
employed individuals between the ages of 18 and 64 inclusive who have a medically 
certified disability or blindness and who qualify for Medicaid as working individuals with 
disabilities. These groups are the Basic Insurance Group and the Medically Improved 
Group. There is a third group of employed individuals consisting of persons at least 18 
years of age who have a medically certified disability or blindness who also qualify for 
Medicaid as working individuals with disabilities. This is the Balanced Budget Act 
Group. Persons in this third group may be age 65 or older. 

 
UPM § 2540.85(A) provides for the Basic Insurance Group. An individual in this 
group, which is authorized under the Ticket to Work and Work Incentives Improvement 
Act of 1999 (TWWIIA), is subject to the conditions described below. 1. An individual in 
this group must be engaged in a substantial and reasonable work effort to meet the 
employment criterion. (a) Such effort consists of an activity for which the individual 
receives cash remuneration and receives pay stubs from his or her employer. (b) If the 
individual is self-employed, he or she must have established an account through the 
Social Security Administration and must make regular payments based on earnings as 
required by the Federal Insurance Contributions Act. (c) that an individual who meets 
the employment criterion but then loses employment through no fault of his or her 
own, for reasons such as a temporary health problem or involuntary termination, 
continues to meet the employment criterion for up to one year from the date of the 
loss of employment. The individual must maintain a connection to the labor market 
by either intending to return to work as soon as the health problem is resolved, or by 
making a bona fide effort to seek employment upon an involuntary termination. 
 
The Department correctly determined the Appellant was eligible for the Basic 
Insurance Group as she is working and receives pay stubs from her employer. 
 

3. UPM § 2540.85(A)(4) provides the individual may be required to pay the Department 
a monthly premium for medical coverage if the gross monthly counted income of the 
individual and spouse (minus Impairment-Related Work Expenses described at UPM 
5035.10 C) exceeds 200% of the federal poverty level (FPL) for the appropriate 
family size, including dependent children living in the home. 
 
UPM § 3545.15(A)(1) provides individuals receiving Medicaid as Working Individuals 
with Disabilities may be required to pay the Department a premium for Medicaid 
coverage if the individual's gross income, plus the gross income of his or her spouse, 
minus Impairment-Related Work Expenses, exceeds 200 percent of the federal poverty 
level for the appropriate family size. 
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UPM § 3545.15(A)(5) provides an individual owing the Department a monthly 
Medicaid premium must pay the premium by the end of the month for which coverage 
is requested. 

 
UPM § 3545.15(B)(1) provides an individual is not eligible for Medicaid coverage if he 
or she fails to pay the Medicaid premium by the date due. 
 
UPM § 3545.15(B)(2) provides if a Medicaid recipient fails to pay the Medicaid 
premium by the date due, his or her benefits are terminated at the end of the following 
month. 
 
UPM § 3545.15(B)(3) provides individuals whose Medicaid benefits are terminated for 
non-payment of premium remain ineligible under this coverage group until they have 
paid the Department for all premiums owed. 
                     
The Department correctly discontinued the Appellant’s S05 coverage effective 

 , 2018 as the Appellant has an overdue S05 premium of $ .  
 

 
DECISION 

 
 
      The Appellant’s appeal is denied.         
 
                                                           
 
 
 
                                                                                                __________________ 

             Christopher Turner 
                         Hearing Officer 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
Cc:  Tricia Morelli, Operations Manager, Manchester DSS 
       Christine Faucher, Fair Hearing Liaison, Manchester DSS 
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 RIGHT TO REQUEST RECONSIDERATION 
 
The appellant has the right to file a written reconsideration request within 15 days of 
the mailing date of the decision on the grounds there was an error of fact, law, and new 
evidence has been discovered, or other good cause exists. If the request for 
reconsideration is granted, the appellant will be notified within 25 days of the request 
date. No response within 25 days means that the request for reconsideration has been 
denied. The right to request a reconsideration is based on §4-181a (a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Reconsideration requests should include specific grounds for the request: for example, 
indicate what error of fact or law, what new evidence, or what other good cause exists. 
 
Reconsideration requests should be sent to Department of Social Services, Director, 
Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations, and Administrative Hearings, 55 Farmington 
Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105. 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL 
 
The appellant has the right to appeal this decision to Superior Court within 45 days of 
the mailing of this decision, or 45 days after the agency denies a petition for 
reconsideration of this decision, if the petition for reconsideration was filed timely with 
the Department. The right to appeal is based on §4-183 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes. To appeal, a petition must be filed at Superior Court. A copy of the petition 
must be served upon the Office of the Attorney General, 55 Elm Street, Hartford, CT 
06106, or the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services, 55 Farmington 
Avenue, Hartford, CT 06105. A copy of the petition must also be served on all parties to 
the hearing. 
 
The 45-day appeal period may be extended in certain instances if there is good cause.  
The extension request must be filed with the Commissioner of the Department of Social 
Services in writing no later than 90 days from the mailing of the decision. Good cause 
circumstances are evaluated by the Commissioner or his designee in accordance with 
§17b-61 of the Connecticut General Statutes. The Agency's decision to grant an 
extension is final and is not subject to review or appeal. 
 
The appeal should be filed with the clerk of the Superior Court in the Judicial District of 
New Britain or the Judicial District in which the appellant resides. 

 
 


